Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles What Is the Mission of the Church?: Making Sense of Social Justice, Shalom, and the Great Commission - eBook

Crossway Books & Bibles What Is the Mission of the Church?: Making Sense of Social Justice, Shalom, and the Great Commission - eBook

Christians today define mission more broadly and variably than ever before. Are we, as the body of Christ, headed in the same direction or are we on divergent missions?

Some argue that the mission of the Church is to confront injustice and alleviate suffering, doing more to express God's love for the world. Others are concerned that the church is in danger of losing its God-centeredness and thereby emphasize the proclamation of the gospel. It appears as though misunderstanding of mission persists.

Kevin DeYoung and Greg Gilbert argue in What is the Mission of the Church: Making Sense of Social Justice, Shalom, and the Great Commission that there is a lot that evangelicals can agree on if only we employ the right categories and build our theology of mission from the same biblical building blocks. Explaining key concepts like kingdom, gospel, and social justice, DeYoung and Gilbert help us to get on the same page-united by a common cause-and launch us forward into the true mission of the church.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for What Is the Mission of the Church?: Making Sense of Social Justice, Shalom, and the Great Commission - eBook
Review 1 for What Is the Mission of the Church?: Making Sense of Social Justice, Shalom, and the Great Commission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clarifying the Great Commission

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
David Gough
Location:Alexandria, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In this helpful book, Kevin DeYoung and Greg Gilbert offer insight into the distinction between the primary aspect of the Great Commission (which is making disciples) and its peripheral responsibility of social justice. Throughout its pages the reader is repeatedly charged to "keep the main thing the main thing." Yes, the Christian is instructed to care for "the least" in society and to safeguard this planet, but that is not the most essential part of the task Christ left for us to fulfill. Although this book appears to have been written with pastors and other church leaders in mind, the terminology is neither academic nor technical. Although believers--individually and collectively--should be zealous for good works, the communication of the Gospel must be done through words. Good deeds by believers, without the clear proclamation of the cross, are no more effective in reaching the lost than those motivated by humanitarian concerns. The authors bring this fact to the surface time and again, which makes this book well worth reading and assimilating. The final chapter, "The Great Commission Mission," provides an excellent summary of the book's thesis; and the epilogue (an imagined conversation between a seasoned pastor and one just beginning his ministry) allows the reader to "listen in" and see best where he needs to adjust his own understanding of our Lord's mandate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for What Is the Mission of the Church?: Making Sense of Social Justice, Shalom, and the Great Commission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Something New Toward the Conversation

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Reformed Reader
Location:Louisville
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kevin Deyoung and Greg Gilbert’s new book What is the Mission of the Church is part of a series of books that have come out over the last couple years on this very issue. After the release of Scott Vandrunen’s book Living in God’s Two Kingdoms there has been a revival in examining the two main arguments for the church’s mission. With the people that I have spoken to, most do not feel comfortable with the Redemptive/Restorative or the Vandrunen Two Kingdom approach to the mission of the church. Most people find Vandrunen’s approach to be too radical and missing the mark on several points. Those who disagree with Redemptive/Restorative view generally say that this approach distorts the gospel. The R/R approach is often caricatured as distorting the line between our works and the gospel. Most people who use this as an argument and/or use this argument alongside the slippery slope fallacy fall short of explaining scriptures connection of good works and mission of the church. I think Deyoung and Gilbert do a great job of taking some of the bite out of Two Kingdom theology and make it more palatable. In the end, I don’t feel as if they have truly offered a middle position, which it seems that was their purpose of the book. Deyoung and Gilbert promote a two kingdom theology, but do not use Vandrunen’s covenantal framework to do so. I think when confronted about this they may deny this, but that is exactly what it is. The fact that Michael Horton would blurb on the back of your book, confirms that you hold a Two-Kingdom approach (Joking). I wish D & G would address passages such as Ephesians 1:9-10, which seems to the thesis for book. Ephesians 1:9-10 explain how God is summing up all things under the headship of Christ.
Chapter two then explains how he is doing this, through the gospel. Chapter 3 and 4 are implications/ what a life looks like that has been changed by the gospel. Likewise I wish Deyoung and Girbert would have either addressed or better addressed more passages pertaining to the argument (e.g. Matthew 13:31- 33, Mark 4:26-28, 1 Cor 3:5-9, Psalm 90:17, Amos 5:21-4, Isaiah 1:11-17, Matthew 10:7-8, Galatians 6:10,and almost the entire book of Titus). I thoroughly enjoyed the book, but I want to wrestle with the issue a little more. I think their argument that the R/R view of culture brings confusion as to exactly what the mission of the church is does not stand. Following this line of thought one could also say that good works by believers may cause confusion as to what the gospel truly is. No one is making that claim that these things are the gospel. Only those who are attacking the position argue that it brings confusion to exactly what the gospel is. I think Piper’s illustration from T4G is helpful in bringing clarity here, “Good works are the fruit and not the root of salvation.” Likewise, Social Justice, helping the poor, ect are fruits of a gospel transformed life and not the root. Calling Christians to take part in these things is simply calling them to take part in the fulfillment of Eph 1:10. So, participation in the mission of the church, is participating in declaring the gospel and living a gospel transformed life, which includes social justice. So, is helping the poor and doing acts of social justice a part of the mission of the church? Yes! Are these works the gospel? No! Matthew 28:16-20 call for us to make disciples teaching them to obey Christ’s commands and this is an aspect of obeying those commands. I thoroughly enjoyed the book! The book offers a unique perspective to the conversation going on. I do not agree with everything both authors said, but I do appreciate their devotion to examining this issue exegetically. Additionally, I thought that the book’s chapter on social justice was very helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for What Is the Mission of the Church?: Making Sense of Social Justice, Shalom, and the Great Commission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Careful, practical, biblical exegetical treatment

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Matthew
Location:Paris, ON
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Mission creep" is a topic primarily discussed in military operations, but very applicable for the battle that the Church is called to undertake (1 Tim. 1:18). There are many things that the Church can do. There are many things that the Church should do. For centuries, often heated debates have dealt with doctrines like the Gospel, Kingdom, Church, Mission and a myriad of other topics applied to a such diverse fields as evangelism, discipleship, community, politics, and requests for assistance.
In the midst of a debate that has often generated more heat than light, Kevin DeYoung and Greg Gilbert have done some careful examination of the central mission of the Church with remarkable Biblical clarity in their new book, What Is the Mission of the Church?
The book is divided into three parts: “Understanding Our Mission,” “Understanding Our Categories,” and “Understanding What We Do And Why We Do It,” with part two being the bulk of the book.
Understanding Our Mission
DeYoung and Gilbert make the reasonable assumption that their present audience is primarily Christian (p. 15) and begin with the central question of: “What is the mission of the church?” Acknowledging that this is not strictly a biblical word as a noun (p. 17), yet a verb of dealing with one being sent. It implies that one is specifically sent to do something and therefore, not everything. That this is a particular assignment is an important distinction for it frames the terms of reference in the arguments to come. With a prayer for humility, understanding and pastoral approach, the authors present their thesis at the end of chapter one, stating, “We will argue that the mission of the church is summarized in the Great Commission passages…We believe the church is sent into the world to witness to Jesus by proclaiming the gospel and making disciples of all nations” (26). In chapter two, the authors begin their exegetical treatment of various biblical texts dealing with commission. In this examination they critique other views that take certain passages as paradigmatic for our understanding of the church’s mission, which certain other authors have taken above all others and unnaturally limited the mission. Putting it all together with questions of who, why, what, where, how, when and to whom? (p.. 59), DeYoung and Gilbert show how we must ask these important questions of biblical texts in order to understand exactly what the mission is.
Understanding Our Categories
Section two begins with chapter three showing how the topics of creation, fall, redemption, and consummation relate to mission. Chapter four highlights how those who take either a too "narrow" or too "wide" consideration of Gospel, have muddied the understanding of mission (p.93) through either dilution or reduction (p.111). Chapter five discusses how the kingdom of God relates to mission. Periodically, DeYoung and Gilbert summarize their argument combining their various examinations. Here they summarize what they examined in this section by saying that the kingdom of God is "God's redemptive reign, in the person of his Son, Jesus Messiah, which has broken into the present evil age and is now visible in the church" (p. 127). They explain how the kingdom will be finally and fully established, and how one gets into the kingdom. Section two concludes with an discussion of social justice, dealing with various passages that touch on loving one's neighbour, sin, responsibility, justice, kindness, humility, generosity, and faith shown through works. Always applying what is discussed, chapter seven ties all these complexities of determining a biblical theology of wealth, poverty, and material possession to what the authors admit they have yet to specifically define in "social justice" to such obvious yet political incorrect moral obligations of proximity priority (p. 183). Chapter eight concludes with a discussion of the New Heavens and the New Earth with the "cultural Mandate" (p. 208). The terms of reference are brilliant in any discussion of continuity/discontinuity.
Understanding What We Do and Why We Do It
Part three sums up the book as the authors helpfully discuss important distinctions such as duties of individual Christians versus duties of the institutional church looking at why and how we do good. What then is our responsibility? DeYoung and Gilbert present a quote from Gilbert J. Gresham Machen:
"The responsibility of the church in the new age is the same as its responsibility in every age. It is to testify that this world is lost in sin; that the span of human life—no, all the length of human history—is an infinitesimal island in the awful depths of eternity; that there is a mysterious, holy, living God, Creator of all, Upholder of all, infinitely beyond all; that he has revealed himself to us in his Word and offered us communion with himself through Jesus Christ the Lord; that there is no other salvation, for individuals or for nations, save this, but that this salvation is full and free, and that whoever possesses it has for himself and for all others to whom he may be the instrument of bringing it a treasure compared with which all the kingdoms of the earth—no, all the wonders of the starry heavens—are as the dust of the street. An unpopular message it is—an impractical message, we are told. But it is the message of the Christian church. Neglect it, and you will have destruction; heed it, and you will have life." (p.248).
DeYoung and Gilbert follow-up Machen's quote with these words: "It is not the church’s responsibility to right every wrong or to meet every need, though we have biblical motivation to do some of both. It is our responsibility, however—our unique mission and plain priority—that this unpopular, impractical gospel message gets told, that neighbors and nations may know that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God, and that by believing, they may have life in his name." (p. 249).
This summary and the epilogue are worth the price of the book itself. When the "floodgates open" in a dialogue between a seasoned Pastor and typical "missional" concerns, DeYoung and Gilbert effectively wrap up their previous theological considerations in helpful pastoral concerns. If all this was not helpful enough, the general and scriptural index enable this work to be a reference that will bode well in any consideration of mission.
Summary
Kevin DeYoung and Greg Gilbert provide a careful, practical, biblical exegetical treatment of social justice, peace and the great commission in a consideration of what is the mission of the church.
*A copy of this book has been graciously provided by Crossway to enable this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for What Is the Mission of the Church?: Making Sense of Social Justice, Shalom, and the Great Commission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well articulated philosophy of ministry

Date:October 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Dan
Location:Wichita, KS
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Any industry asks the question, "what is our mission?" That is the driving concept that businesses build their product line, service department and advertising around. Those companies that understand their mission and develop well grow. Those companies that don't understand their mission and don't develop it well do not succeed and eventually close their doors. Hallmark understands the greeting card business, McDonald's understands the fast food hamburger business and they have been successful.
So, why is it that the church doesn't seem to understand it's mission? Why is it that the church doesn't plan and develop their ministries to articulate and pursue it's mission? Why do we often get sidetracked into other areas of business that are not our true mission? If McDonald's started selling computers at their same site as fast food we would wonder what they are thinking. it's not necessarily wrong for them to diversify, but it would seem that they should stay in the food business not go into technology.
So, with the church, What is our Mission? Is it to just Shepherd the people that we already have? Is it go provide social services to the poor? Is it to stand up for Justice for the poor? Is it to stand up for immigration rights for those seeking a better lifestyle?
All those things are good and not necessarily bad for the church to be involved in, but they are not the main mission of the church. So, what is the main mission of the church. On page 69 DeYoung and Gilbert give their capsule summary, "then it should not surprise us in the least that Jesus would end his earthly ministry by telling his disciples, 'You will be my witnesses' (Acts 1:8). It shouldn't be surprising that he would launch them into history with the command, 'Go . . . and make disciples' (Matt. 28:19). After all, that's exactly how the great riddle is solved: sinful people are brought into God's presence by becoming disciples of Jesus through faith and repentance, and they can do that only through the witness of the apostles as they proclaim the good news about who Jesus is, what he has done, and how we should respond as a result."
The mission of the church is found through our study of the Bible. "It is a fourfold story that we find in the Bible. 1) Creation, 2) Fall, 3) Redemption and 4) Consummation." (see page 68 DeYoung and Gilbert are going to develop their summation and their concept of the fourfold story of the Bible throughout this book. Their desire is for the layman as well as the paid profession pastor to understand that the mission of the church is to be witnesses of Jesus and Jesus crucified. We need to teach the Bible strongly and not water down the principles and applications that we find. We are not to become just a social service agency, we are to stay a people committed to passionately declare the Glory of God through the story of the Bible and help people find their way to God through understanding the ministry of Jesus.
The author's will also be careful to remind us that as we get our mission correct and preach the Gospel correctly that people will come to know the Lord, join the Church universal and then change their lifestyles to conform to Christ. That change of lifestyle will mean that people will want to do community service, they will want to give to the poor, they will want to stand up for social justice and other issues, but they will do it as an offshoot of their main mission which is to preach Christ and preach Him crucified. To explain to people the mission of the Gospel as told through the Bible.
I appreciated the fact that DeYoung and Gilbert make it clear up front (page 25) that, "this is not a book by and for biblical or theological scholars," instead it is written clearly enough for laypeople as well as the theologically astute. Their goal was further stated on page 23 as, "we want Christians to understand the story line of the Bible and think more critically about specific texts within this story." I think that is well done in their book. They have not written this as Theological tome but they have written it clearly enough for all to understand but they still want us to THINK CRITICALLY about what we read and what the Bible has to say.
So, tackle this book with the desire to delve into your Bible and think through all that is stated. You might not agree with all they say, but if you think critically you will grow, you will learn and ask the Holy Spirit to enlighten you as to what you should be learning.
God bless and enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for What Is the Mission of the Church?: Making Sense of Social Justice, Shalom, and the Great Commission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Todd
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I want to be honest and disclose some information before I start this review. I have been waiting for a book just like this for some time. You see I love the Gospel. It is what drives me, and it is what motivates me. I also have to admit that there was a brief time in my life that I got really into the whole social gospel/social justice movement. Quickly though I began to see it as empty and shallow and lacking the meat of Christianity. I should also go on to say that as a preaching pastor I have said from the pulpit that the social gospel has led us to send many people well fed and warm further along the road to hell, because social gospel – the real gospel is no gospel at all. There is a reason that Peter says to the beggar at the gate beautiful that “I have no silver and gold, but what I do have I give to you. In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, rise up and walk!” Acts 3:6. Instead of giving alms and giving what this man thought he needed, John and Peter give this man the hope that is only found in Christ. That is the Gospel. The Gospel is the good news that Jesus Christ came and redeemed us from our sinful state through the Cross.
The Gospel is what this remarkable book by DeYoung & Gilbert is all about as well. The church in America and really worldwide is in the middle of a loud cacophony as to what is our mission. There are so many voices and so many ideas. It is sometimes hard to decipher what is the best, what is the right mission for us. That is where these two pastors faithfully speak truth and clarity into that dissonance. I was excited to read this book, and then several days before it arrived in the mail my excitement grew as I read through several negative reviews of the book and wondered why it was stirring such passion.
The book stirred passion in me as well, but positive passion. It seemed most of the negative reviews centered around the idea that DeYoung & Gilbert were deemphasizing social justice and the need for it. I never saw that in the book. In fact I saw the opposite. I saw the two authors say there is a need for more justice, or love as they prefer to call it, and I do like that term better as well. They point out the Biblical evidence for this need. They do nothing to lessen its importance in the lives of individual Christians.
What they do though is to bring more clarity to what the church should be about, and that is the Gospel. Our mission as a church is to go and seek the lost (Luke 19:10), to make disciples (Matthew 28:20), be witnesses to Jesus (Acts 1:8), and that means testifying to the crucifixion and resurrection. As the church our mission is the Gospel and anything that sidetracks us from that is not right.
I would hate to think what these negative reviews would do to some of my sermons where I have stated that anything taking us away from the Gospel message of the Cross is a sin. DeYoung & Gilbert never go that strongly with their language, rather they faithfully and humbly point out what we should be about as a church. In doing so they remove the need for a lot of the guilt inducing campaigns we are subjected to as believers. Give money here, go here to build a house, serve in this mission or ministry, only buy this product and not other brands. Many of those campaigns are good and can bring glory to God. However, as the authors point out, we should serve and give as God leads, not as others coerce.
I know this book will continue to stir debate, however I pray it stirs more dialogue and discussion and that it brings us back to the center of what is the main thing. I urge you to read this book and to do so with an open mind. You might not agree with the authors but listen to their Biblical proofs and be persuaded by the God of the Gospel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for What Is the Mission of the Church?: Making Sense of Social Justice, Shalom, and the Great Commission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Balanced, Biblical, Christ-Centered & Convicing

Date:October 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dave Jenkins
Location:Caldwell, Idaho
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is the Mission of the Church? Making Sense of Social Justice, Shalom, and the Great Commission is written by Pastors Kevin DeYoung and Greg Gilbert. This book has three parts; part one discusses understanding our mission, part two, understanding our categories, and part three understanding what we do, and why we do it. The book concludes with advice for the young, motivated, and missional.
What is the Mission of the Church was written out of the author's concern that many Christians are defining the mission of the church more broadly than ever before. As many Christians do this they are defining the mission of the church in terms of social justice or other such activities that are good, but not ultimate. What is the mission of the Church? In order to get to that answer the authors in part one spend considerable space in part one clearing away misconceptions about what people think by grounding the reader in the Word of God. The authors note on page 29 that, "Mission is the task we are given to fulfill. It's what Jesus sends us into the world to do. And if we want to figure out what Jesus sends disciples into the world to do, the best place to look is the Great Commission."
In part two the authors set the foundation by explaining what they mean by the mission of the Church. In doing this they helpfully walk the reader through understanding the Gospel and the kingdom of God. After they do this, the authors spend time examining a number of biblical texts on social justice in order to ground the discussion on social justice not in political theory but in the Word of God. Thankfully the authors do not stop at just explaining the biblical text, but apply the biblical text to the life of believers, and the Church. Part two is a very important part of the book that seeks to ground evangelicals in the Word of God and the Gospel of God uniting them by a common cause in order to launch us forward into the true mission of the Church.
The final part of the book examines the importance of gospel-centered good works and the great commission mission. In chapter nine the authors reorient the discussion on the mission of the Church by focusing on making disciples of all the nations. In chapter ten the authors give their definition of the mission of the Church, which is: The mission of the church is to go into the world and make disciples by declaring the gospel of Jesus Christ in the power of the Spirit and gathering these disciples into churches, that they might worship and obey Jesus Chris now and in eternity to the glory of God the Father (DeYoung & Gilbert, 241).
Many people today believe it is the church's responsibility to engage in cultural transformation, or other such activities, and while these ministries can be helpful towards the community; our ultimate mission is to declare the Gospel to our neighbors, and to the nations that they may be taken from spiritual darkness to new life in His name.
The last chapter of this book is one of the most interesting chapters I've read in a book in a long time. In epilogue Chris and Tim have a conversation about the mission of the Church. Chris is a young church planter fresh out of seminary while Tim is a seasoned Pastor. This conversation reinforces the point the authors are making that the mission of the Church isn't doing good things towards others or building programs, but rather to make disciples of Jesus Christ in the power of the spirit to the glory of God the Father.
What is the Mission of the Church? Making Sense of Social Justice, Shalom, and the Great Commission by Pastors Kevin DeYoung and Greg Gilbert is a well-written, biblical, Christ-centered exploration of the mission of the Church. The authors take on a topic that is often misunderstood, and set the conversation on the mission of the church within a biblical-theological framework which helps them to correct misconceptions, restore understanding from the Word of God, and help those on whatever side of the issue of the mission of the Church.
Reading this book will be challenging for some, and convicting for others. Understanding the mission of the Church is vital, so thinking through these things is extremely important. Thankfully Pastors DeYoung and Gilbert in writing this book have provides us (the reader) with a helpful treatment on issues related not only related to the mission of the Church, but also on topics that are very controversial to a lot of people such as social justice. The enduring legacy of this book, I believe will be in the fact that it by the grace of God will push forward the conversation on the mission of the Church by reorienting the discussion not around programs or activities, but around the Word of God, the Gospel of God, for the sake of making disciples of Jesus.
I recommend you pick up a copy of What is the Mission of the Church? Making Sense of Social Justice, Shalom, and the Great Commission is written by Pastors Kevin DeYoung and Greg Gilbert in order to be challenged, convicted, corrected, and edified as you join them in thinking through the ultimate mission of the Church to make disciples of Jesus Christ in the power of the spirit to the glory of God the Father.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Crossway as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for What Is the Mission of the Church?: Making Sense of Social Justice, Shalom, and the Great Commission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Irenic. Biblical. Sane. Practical

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
smpsndj
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone will agree that the church needs to be doing what God has called it to do. Good so far. But ask someone what it is that the church needs to be doing, and the answers vary: Evangelism. Discipleship. Community outreach. Ministry programs. Feeding the poor. Building houses. Helping the local school. Engaging the art scene. Entering the political arena. Etc. This is not a “easy” or “light” topic to discuss. Rather, the question (which has been asked for centuries) often generates heated debates, which tend to turn ugly. Perhaps the reason why is that this question appears simple, but it is “deceptively” simple, in that the question concerns not only what the church should be doing, but it opens up “a can of worms” about what the Bible teaches concerning the Gospel, the Kingdom, the Church, mission/missions, etc.
Amidst the fury of cacophony and heated debate, Kevin DeYoung and Greg Gilbert have added an irenic voice with Biblical clarity and sanity in their new book, What Is the Mission of the Church?
The book is divided into three parts: “Understanding Our Mission,” “Understanding Our Categories,” and “Understanding What We Do And Why We Do It,” with part two being the bulk of the book.
Understanding Our Mission
The first section orients the reader to the oft-debated question, “What is the mission of the church?” The authors seek to make a corrective to much of the current thinking about mission, though they are careful to spell out what their corrective entails and what it does not entail. The authors present their thesis at the end of chapter one, stating, “We will argue that the mission of the church is summarized in the Great Commission passages…We believe the church is sent into the world to witness to Jesus by proclaiming the gospel and making disciples of all nations” (26). In chapter two, the authors critique other views that take certain passages as paradigmatic for our understanding of the church’s mission, such as Christopher J.H. Wright’s popular view of Gen. 12:1-3 detailed in his book The Mission of God. While these passages are helpful, they do not say what proponents have argued that they say.
Understanding Our Categories
Section two will prove incredibly helpful for the Christian with the authors’ carefully nuanced discussion of questions like the Gospel, the Kingdom, the grand narrative of Scripture, social justice, shalom, and how all of these fit into our understanding of the church’s mission. Because of the question, “What is the Gospel?” is hotly debated today, with one side being accused of making the Gospel too “narrow” and the other side making the Gospel too “wide,” the reader will find the discussion incredibly balanced and helpful. For, the authors argue (rightly) that the Gospel is both/and, because the Biblical authors can view the Gospel from a “wide angle” and from a “zoom lens.” However, DeYoung and Gilbert are careful to point out that the Cross is at the center of the Gospel and any talk of “Gospel” that ignores the cross, repentance, and faith is not a true Gospel.
The reader will also find the two chapters on social justice, exposition and application, incredibly helpful as DeYoung and Gilbert exegete the main passages typically used to support social justice and then they provide excellent, practical application for how we make sense of categories like “justice.”
Understanding What We Do and Why We Do It
Part three sums up the book as the authors helpfully discuss important distinctions such as duties of individual Christians versus duties of the institutional church (e.g. First Baptist Church). Here is where a lot of progress could be made in the discussion of these important matters if a careful distinction is made between the individual and the corporate church entity.
Summary
This book proves to be a trusted guide and a clear voice, rooted in the Scriptures, in the midst of a confusing discussion about the purpose and mission of the church. Buy it. Read it. Imbibe its message. Live it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for What Is the Mission of the Church?: Making Sense of Social Justice, Shalom, and the Great Commission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

What IS the mission of the church?

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
GiniB
Location:Dallas, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeYoung and Gilbert have authored a thoughtful look at the mission of the church. The first task they undertook was to sort through the different ideas and definitions of mission. They do arrive at what seems a reasonable definition, which means I generally agree with it. Much of the book is devoted to developing their theme that mission and ministries can be distinctly different, even to the place of losing sight of one another altogether.
Another point they make later is that the church, a Christian, and a bunch of Christians do not necessarily have the same focus, mission, or ministry. That is a very important point and I think needs to revisited and expanded. The confusion that these authors see about the mission of the church is based in that area, I think.
But, as well written as this book is, the crowning glory for it is the epilogue, a fictitious conversation between a young church starter and a mature pastor. If for no other reason than this epilogue, this book needs to be on the required reading list for pastors and church starters/planters.
There’s isn’t too much to say on the down side about this work. I do feel that one thing that will hurt this book is the title. It will be one of several on the shelf with the word mission in the title.
That said, I do want to say this book is definitely worth the read. It is thought provoking, and well written. It helped me sort through some areas related to mission versus ministry.
This book was provided by Crossway via netGalley for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.