Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Tomorrow's Sun - eBook

Barbour Publishing Tomorrow's Sun - eBook

Emily Foster's scars have faded, but she can't forgive herself for the accident that stole a young girl's dreams. Before she can allow herself to live again, she needs to make restitution. The first step toward her goal is gaining money by flipping a house built in 1847, but Jake Braden, her contractor, doesn't share her vision. Jake has bigger battles to fight as he tries to gain guardianship of his late sister's twins. When they discover the house was part of the historic Underground Railroad, they uncover clues about an old love story...and God's plan for their future.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tomorrow's Sun - eBook
Review 1 for Tomorrow's Sun - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grammiek
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a dash to the past while living a real life scenario. The author showed good comprehension of how emotions can run our life and why going back to scripture is so important. Making Jesus Christ the centre of our lives and turning control over to Him can heal us and in turn be able to bless others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tomorrow's Sun - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Donna W
Location:Hamilton, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent read. The author's ability to regularly shift the reader from the pre-civil war period to present day without losing the reader in the process was very well done. The characters, both historical and contemporary, were well-defined and I was equally vested in their outcomes. Looking forward to exploring the other books in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tomorrow's Sun - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The attraction between the characters is evident

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There were so many story lines going on at once in this book that it became a bit confusing at times. The main character, Emily Foster, decides to make over houses in hopes that she can make money quickly. She starts her first project and runs into some interesting dilemmas. Her contractor is one of them! Jake Braden has much on his mind when he takes on the job of helping Emily renovate an older house. He is in the process of gaining custody of his niece and nephew. The attraction between the two main characters is evident and watching them develop their relationship is a good part of this story.
There are numerous other story lines going on around the relationship of Emily and Jake. Can they work through their own issues and uncover all the history the house has to offer? The history that is woven into the story was done so with abrupt changes in the story line. Meaning you are reading a section of the story now and then the story changes to the history parts and leaves you in the middle of the main story. I found the jumping from one time period to the other a bit much. However, it was an interesting story idea and the author’s writing style is easy to read. I can not say I would read this book again but it did keep my attention long enough to finish the story!
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tomorrow's Sun - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I loved this cover but unfortunately for me , this is one of those books that I fell for the cover but not the tale inside the pages. In Tomorrow's Sun we meet Emily , who has just brought an old house in a local community with dreams of renovating and restoring it but in order to renovate it the way she wants to, she will have to completely tear it to pieces. When Emily arrives , she hires a contractor but when he hears what he wants done , he backs away with the thoughts of "How on earth can someone do something like that to this historical landmark?" . For Emily, this is just one more step on a selection of house-flipping projects she has in mind as a few years back Emily was in an accident-hence the cane we see her with that caused another girl to lose her life dreams and now Emily filled with guilt is doing everything in her power to gain the forgiveness of the girl. Though, this is a major detail about the story it is minor compared to the tale ahead as during construction Emily finds a hidden box of letters and a secret room in the house. Within the letters are one's written by a girl named Hannah who lived in this very house over a hundred years ago , soon through the letters Hannah and Emily's lives are intertwined. Is this God's way of keeping Emily in the house ?
Find out more in the first book of the Lost Sanctuary Series "Tomorrow's Sun" by Becky Melby.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tomorrow's Sun - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Loaded Book!

Date:January 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Emily comes to Rochester WI to flip a house she bought. She only plans to stay just long enough to get the job done and move on to her next house until she has enough money to pay a debit she really can never repay. She has no intention of making friends or getting close to anyone. She soon meets Jake who is a contractor and she hires him to do the work on the house. She soon finds herself getting to know Jake and and his family and finds it hard to not get close to them. A long the way she finds the house she has bought was once a part of the underground railroad back in the 1850’s. Will this discovery help her let go of her past that will haunt her no matter how many houses she flips?
Jake is busy worrying about his niece and nephew and how to get custody of them over their good for nothing stepdad. When he meets Emily he wonders if she needs saved from something. He soon finds himself caring for her but will her past and his family problems be to much for them to work through?
I will say I enjoyed this book but it’s a deep book with lots of things going on.
What I liked: I really liked the characters. The author did a good job telling their stories and explaining there feelings. I also felt this book had just the right amount of people telling the story. This book is brought to life by Emily, Jake, Lexi(Jakes niece) and Adam(Jakes nephew). I thought these different angles fit together very well to tell this story. The readers also get to go back in time to 1852 and learn about the underground railroad through the eyes of Hannah and Liam. There story was much shorter and was very much a side story that helped tell the main story but it was well put together and I wish we could have gotten to know them a little better. Plus the suspense at the climax of the book had me turning pages as fast as I could read!
What I did not like: There was a LOT going on in this book almost to much for me. Here are some of the things this book deals with. Trying to make right a wrong, death of a loved one, underground railroad, not being able to have children, child abuse etc. It’s all handled well and beautifully written but it’s a loaded book.
I am very glad I read this book. I really enjoyed it and loved learning about the underground railroad and how it worked. I could read a book on the subject alone! I also really liked how this book brings to light god’s forgiveness and love. I am looking forward to the next book in this series due out later this year.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tomorrow's Sun - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Intriguing Story

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Holly Smith
Location:Charleston, SC
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Broken, emotionally scarred, and determined, Emily Foster purchases a house in Michigan to atone for her past sins. Flipping the house seems like a quick way to reach her goal. The unnerving yet handsome contractor she hires seems reluctant to flip her historic house. Contractor Jake Braden has too much to deal with, including his recent goal of obtaining guardianship of his late sister's twins. When Emily and Jake uncover evidence that the house may have been a stop on the underground railroad, they attempt to uncover more clues about the house's past owners. The story of lost love in Emily's house sets the stage for what might become their own lost love.
Tomorrow's Sun, the first novel in the Lost Sanctuary series, is a riveting story that keeps the reader engaged with its mystery and in-depth characters. I literally couldn't put this book down.
Becky Melby has crafted a beautiful story that weds history and the present as she explores how the past has prepared, in some special way, to affect those in the future.
Filled with beautiful prose, witty dialogue, and a captivating story-line of danger, romance and healing, readers will come away from this story with fresh insight. Becky Melby pens a story of characters who experience transformation and change.
While this story is definitely engaging, readers might become a bit annoyed at how the author flashbacks to the past at the end of an incomplete scene that leaves one desperate to know what will happen next. It felt like an immediate jump from one plot to another. Though these scenes of the past are used to provide readers with important information that is pertinent to the scene in the present tense, I personally found it a bit jarring in the middle of an unfulfilled scene. Yes, she returned to the scene once the past was over, but it still felt like an interruption.
That said, the scenes of the past were most certainly intriguing and enjoyable, and they managed to capture the reader's imagination. I just wish the author had presented those scenes after she finished with the scene we'd been reading, instead of inserting it into the middle.
Another thing I found a bit unnerving, though it's done in a way that never leaves the reader confused, is the massive number of sub-plots and character goals involved in this story. It just seemed like far too many.
Again, the number of sub-plots never leaves the reader confused, and in fact, it's done with exquisite skill since Becky Melby blends them all together. Given the separate plot involving the past connection with the house two sub-plots would have been sufficient for this story.
I thoroughly enjoyed every moment of this story, and I loved the romance that develops between the characters! I definitely recommend Tomorrow's Sun.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tomorrow's Sun - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Two Stories in One

Date:December 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emily Foster is a woman on a mission – to renovate and profitably sell the 1840’s property she has just purchased in Rochester, Wisconsin, population 1100. She has fond memories of one summer spent in the old house, the summer nineteen years ago when she found God and had her first kiss. But Emily is not going to let sentimentality (or her own disabilities) stand in the way of her goal, but the house has mysteries hidden in a bundle of 160-year-old letters, a hidden cellar and an old quilt.
As Emily begins to renovate the house, she hires handsome handyman Jake to help, and he slowly begins to knock down her walls, both literally and figuratively. They discover a hidden cellar and suggestions that the house was once a stop on the Underground Railroad, a network of safe houses used by slaves seeking their freedom by escaping to Canada in the 1850’s. Meanwhile, Jake has problems of his own, in the form of help and interference from his 12-year-old twin nephew and niece. Their mother has died and he suspects their stepfather is threatening and mistreating them. He wants to gain custody, but can’t unless he can prove they are being abused - which they deny.
Tomorrow’s Sun is a story told in two parts, in two separate time periods. The main story is the present, the secondary story flashes back to the 1850’s, to Hannah Shaw, her secret beau Liam, and their secret lives as conductors on the Underground Railroad in a town where many people are pro-slavery, and a time when it is an offence to assist an escaped slave. Their story is almost more interesting than Emily’s, as it is told in a combination of letters found in the present, and excerpts from the past.
I enjoyed the book, but I found that Emily was a hard character to get to know, which made it hard to relate to Emily and therefore made her difficult for me to like. It is not that she was unlikeable; it was more than she felt unknowable. I did like the way the author wove the theme of slavery, both physical and emotional, into the story, and the way Emily eventually rediscovered her faith in God as she thawed emotionally.
Tomorrow’s Sun is the first book in Becky Melby’s Lost Sanctuary series, with the second stand-alone book, Yesterday’s Stardust, due to be published on 1 June 2012.
Thanks to Barbour Publishing and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.