Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Something New - eBook

Barbour Publishing Something New - eBook

Lil Landis's dreams lie outside the Conservative Mennonite world of her childhood. While she hopes to turn her flair for cooking into a career as head chef, her father expects her to settle down to a life as a wife and mother. As Lil struggles against expectations, her once-clear plans become muddled with problems--from her mother's depression to her family's failing farm. Then Fletch Stauffer, a veterinary student begins working at the Landis farm, hoping to fulfill some goals of his own...that don't include falling for the spunky Lil. Will determination cloud their thoughts until their ambitions--and love--disappear?
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Something New - eBook
Review 1 for Something New - eBook
This review is fromSomething New, Plain City Bridesmaids Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful and Sweet!

Date:May 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeannie Donaldson
Location:Statesboro, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was blessed to find this on sale after I had read the first book in this series, "Something Old", so the value was spectacular! This is a sweet story of a young Mennonite girl who is selfish and willful. She learns, through the ups and downs the Lord brings into her life. what selfishness does to even a pretty girl who follows all the "rules" of her denomination. She is trying to earn grace with God by following the ways with which she was reared, only to learn that the way she behaves means more to God than being legalistic.
After falling in love with a wonderful young man who is of another denomination, and feeling that she cannot be united with this good Christian man because of it, she almost loses him. Then God shows her what is really important is to follow His lead and her conscience rather than man-made laws. She is a more gracious, kind and loving person after she learns this important
lesson.
The continuing story of the three cousins who long ago names themselves "3 Bean Salad" at a summer church camp. Lil, Meagan, and Katy remained friends all through their teens and into adulthood. One of their goals was to live together as adults before they marry. How does that work out??? I recommend reading the first book to get a whole picture, but this book is good on its own as well.
Lots of surprises along the way made this an interesting story. I was pleased with the way things turned out. I'm a real sucker for a happy ending, & I was not disappointed with this book. I would recommend it for adults and teens alike. Maybe a mother and daughter could read it and discuss their own relationship in light of the things that Lil learns about her mother and family and how she relates to them. I truly enjoyed it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Something New - eBook
This review is fromSomething New, Plain City Bridesmaids Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

another page turner series

Date:July 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rose
Location:N. Berwick, ME
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
enjoyed book #1 & #2...looking forward to #3. I like reading series books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Something New - eBook
This review is fromSomething New, Plain City Bridesmaids Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Something New

Date:March 12, 2012
Lil Landis had dreams. She wanted to live in the doddy house with her best friend and be the Head Chef of a restaurant. Both were things that weren't common for a Conservative Mennonite. Young Women stayed home with their parents until they were married and they also didn't hold jobs outside the home. Lil was getting closer to living out her dreams when her mother became depressed. Lil was working at a restaurant as a cook. She was also living with her friend, Megan Weaver, when she was asked to go home to help with her mother. To make matters worse, her father confided in her that they may lose their farm.
One day, Lil accidentally backed into the car Fletch Staufffer was driving. Fletch was going to school to be a Veterinarian. He also was Mennonite, but went to a more liberal church. They both felt an instant attraction to one another. One day Fletch showed up with Lil's brother, Matt, for a family get together. They began to date, against her father's wishes. The biggest obstacle in their relationship was the difference in their beliefs
Fletch was the child of missionaries. His father had always seemed too busy to have a father-son relationship with him. A contributor to the missions, Marshall Lewis, stepped in as a father figure to Fletch. Marshall asked Fletch to do something that was unethical. Fletch could jeopardize his veterinary career if he chose to please Marshall. With Marshall paying for his schooling he felt pressure to do it. Fletch would have to let down either Marshall or Lil and her family with his actions.
Somebody was let down by Fletch's choice, besides Fletch himself. Who does Fletch hurt with his decision? Does Lil ever fully achieve her dreams? Do Lil and Fletch work out their differences? Read Something New to find out.
This is a clean, inspirational book so I was a little surprised that there were things such as, how Fletch seemed obsessed with Lil's waist and referring to Lil, "She smiled seductively" in it. I also wasn't sure of the ages of Lil and her friends. Lil seemed a little immature, she was always calling her cousin "Chump." I thought the ending was a little abrupt, there needed to be something more between the last two chapters. All that aside, I enjoyed the book. I found myself pulling for Fletch. Like most people in a questionable situation, he didn't realize he had choices. Lil seemed to be a little spoiled. She didn't like wearing Plain clothes, she couldn't stand living on a farm. By the end of the book Lil realized that she wasn't trusting God with her life and His plans for her. The main theme of this book is forgiveness. Each character needed forgiveness or to offer forgiveness in one form or another. It reminds us that we all need to have forgiveness in our own lives. I look forward to reading the other books in this series.
Plain City Bridesmaids Series
Something Old #1
Something New #2
Something Borrowed #3 (out 8/12)
I received a free copy of this e-book from NetGalley for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Something New - eBook
This review is fromSomething New, Plain City Bridesmaids Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The story is set in a Mennonite community in the s

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Something New, written by Dianne Christner, is book two in The Plain City Bridesmaids series. You do not have to read the others in the series to enjoy this book.
Lil Landis does not like living on the family farm. She would rather be a successful head chef. Her family needs her help as they go through some difficult times but helping them is hindering her ability to follow her dream.
When Lil literally runs into Fletch Stauffer she does not realize how much that encounter will change her life. Fletch is not happy with his current job and has dreams of his own. Will they fall in love and follow their dreams or take different paths that will tear them apart?
The story is set in a Mennonite community in the state of Ohio. The setting plays an important part in the story and the story itself would not have worked unless set there. You can’t really call this a romance or an adventure story. It is really just a story of two young people and how their lives change after meeting. The romance between them is there but is not the predominate story line. Overall this is a good book but not one I would read again.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based solely on my opinion of what I read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Something New - eBook
This review is fromSomething New, Plain City Bridesmaids Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extraordinary Book by Wonderful, Talented Author!

Date:February 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sissy Basset Hound Mom
Location:Jonesboro, Louisiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Something New" is an excellent read! I really enjoyed "Something Old" and thought it couldn't be matched, until I read "Something New". Dianne Christner has really let God lead her in her writing. This is obvious by the quality of the books she writes. I can hardly wait for book 3 in the series! Thank you, Dianne Christner, for blessing others with your talent.
Lil and Fletch's struggles are so true to life and typical of what many young people face today. They learn to trust God and let Him lead them in life's journey. This is something everyone should read, young people and older.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Something New - eBook
This review is fromSomething New, Plain City Bridesmaids Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Bonnet Book!

Date:February 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rachel
Location:Houston, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again, Dianne Christner has written a sweet, funny, and touching Bonnet Book. The characters are so real and I found it easy to connect to them. The problems they face are tough and Dianne has a way of showing how to deal with these situations with God's help. I enjoy reading Amish fiction and find Christner's books are up there with the best of them. Looking forward to book number 3!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Something New - eBook
This review is fromSomething New, Plain City Bridesmaids Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lil's story

Date:February 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janie
Location:Sarasota, Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed how the story continued from Something Old. Thought the characters seemed real. Loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Something New - eBook
This review is fromSomething New, Plain City Bridesmaids Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lil will accomplish her dreams: one way or another

Date:February 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gina Hott Books
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I’d love to say that I’m open-minded but after reading about a conservative Mennonite girl smiling seductively I’ve realized that I’m a bit rigid in what I expect from my characters. Nothing out of line happened – it was just a few word choices that made me back up.
This was a good book, both dramatic and light; it was well written and had interesting characters but there was just something missing for me to simply love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Something New - eBook
This review is fromSomething New, Plain City Bridesmaids Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Coming-of-Age Mennonite Romance

Date:February 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lillian Mae Landis considers herself a plain woman in every aspect – birth, upbringing, church, clothes and looks. She has always dreamed of being something more, specifically, being head chef at a restaurant, despite the teaching of her Conservative Mennonite church that married women don’t work outside the home, and that such ambitions are prideful and therefore sinful. There are also problems at home – the family farm is almost bankrupt, her brother has left their Conservative church, and her mother is experiencing depression, which has (in their Conservative circles) a stigma of personal and spiritual failure.
Fletch Stauffer is also a Mennonite, but from a more progressive sect. He is a missionary kid, now training to be a vet at the advice of Marshall, a long-term financial contributor to his parents’ mission. His dream is to be ordinary, because living in Africa as a child meant he’d always been different from everyone else. Lily and Fletch meet after she backs into his car in the parking lot of the restaurant where she works. They are quickly attracted to each other, and get the opportunity to spend time together when Fletch’s vet internship brings him to the Landis pig farm.
Conflict arrives when Fletch is asked to undertake some voluntary work at an animal shelter, then makes an error of judgement that loses him the trust of the Landis family, including Lily. He then has to work through what he should have done, and make amends. Meanwhile, Lily is facing her own challenges, including what to do if her relationship with Fletch progresses, as she can’t imagine him joining her church, yet she knows it would hurt her family if she were to leave.
The story was initially confusing, as it started with three ten-year-old Mennonite girls at summer camp, then skipped forward several years without making clear exactly how old the friends now were. My initial reaction was that I’d accidentally stumbled on a Young Adult novel, which was not what I was expecting (while I have no objection to reading YA, I like to know in advance). While it soon became apparent that the three friends are now adults (as one had just married), parts of the novel still had a rather YA feel to them. I’m not sure if that was because of the young age and level of maturity of the protagonists (early 20’s, I think), because of a lack of worldliness in the Conservative Mennonite Church, or because of my personal views on the scriptural basis for some of the church rules, but it did mean that it took me a while to get into it. I also found the ending a bit abrupt, almost as though the last chapter was deleted to make room for the epilogue.
Something New follows on from Something Old (the story of Kate and Jake), so I’m guessing the next in the series will be Something Borrowed (the story of Mercy, the last of the three friends), possibly followed by Something Blue? They don’t have to be read in order, although many people do prefer to read in order to avoid spoilers. However, it’s a romance, which, by definition has to have a ‘happy ever after’. How much more of a spoiler could there be? I did enjoy Something New, but it was not, for me, a great novel. I would read more novels by Dianne Christner, but she won’t be one of those authors I read or buy automatically.
Thanks to Barbour Publishing and NetGalley for providing a free ebook to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Something New - eBook
This review is fromSomething New, Plain City Bridesmaids Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Liked it a lot!

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4.5 Stars!
Lil had to move back home after living on her own for a while to help take care of her mom who is struggling with depression. Lil really wants to be a head chief some day but feels torn between her family and her dream. Meeting Fletch only adds to her confusion.
Fletch is in Plain City to work for a vet so he can graduate. He meets Lil by chance and soon finds himself falling for her but he makes a choice that could end any chance between them. Will these two over come their differences to be together?
This is the 2nd book in the series and I really enjoyed it.
What I liked: This book was much more balanced in its story telling then the first book. I liked how we got to know both Lil and Fletch family’s and the author also laid the ground work for the third book as well. This book dealt with depression and handled it very well. This book also deals with the struggle between the more conservative Mennonite church and the more liberal. I was happy with the outcome of the story and how it worked to explain that its about the relationship with Christ yet the author did not undermine the beliefs of the more conservative church well done.
What I did not like: There was not much to not like about this book. Maybe how the situation with Lil’s mom ended up(don’t want to give anything away) was a little fairy tailish(every one ends up happy). Thought it was written very well so this is minor to me.
When it comes to series the 2nd book is not always one I really like because it’s the middle book, either you wish for more from the first or are already looking forward to the third. This book though was a solid middle series book. I really enjoyed it and loved the characters. Really looking forward to the 3rd book due out later this year!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Something New - eBook
This review is fromSomething New, Plain City Bridesmaids Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Ummm, A romance novel got me :-)

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I remember as a little girl in Upstate New York, that right after our camp, there was a group of Mennonite families who came to use the campground. My sisters both live in areas where Mennonite families are not uncommon: Ohio for one, and Sarasota, Florida for the other. This story, then piqued my interest, although I am not generally a romance novel reader. And, although this was a romance novel to an extent, it was also about more than that.
Also, although this is part of a series of books, I didn’t feel as though I missed anything, having only read the second. The story flowed, and I didn’t get the sense of a forced rehash of prior stories, like sometimes authors feel compelled to do to get readers caught up. This is really the story of how other people’s expectations (and even our own) can sometimes cause us, as Christians, to forget our first love.
Overall, it was a fun story of faith, love, and dreams, and while it was an easy read, it still offered some thought provoking moments. I may have to start reading romance novels more often. This one certainly changed my perspective on them to a degree.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.