Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan A Season of Love - eBook

Zondervan A Season of Love - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 out of 1486%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Season of Love - eBook
Review 1 for A Season of Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Just did not keep my interest

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
tiggerire
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I was disappointed. The plot was kind of scattered and didn't keep my interest. I live in Lancaster and hear Deutch all the time....having the characters saying certain words (like Heemet) too many times in a row was just annoying and didn't seem genuine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Season of Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sorry to see this series end! 5 stars!!!

Date:December 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Poor Katie Kauffman has found herself in one of the worst predicaments imaginable. After returning back to Bird-in-Hand, Pennsylvania, back to the bakery she loves, she finds her best friends Lindsay and Lizzie Ann have found great Amish men to begin their courting. Katie on the other hand seems to think that she will grow old and only have the love of baking to keep her warm at nights. After finally being baptized as part of the Amish faith alongside her friends, she suddenly finds herself a bit of the odd person out. While Lindsay and Lizzie talk about wedding plans and of what type of life they envision for their families, Katie can't help but feel left out.
When she finds comfort in Jake Miller, a boy that works for her grandfather's shop as a carpenter apprentice, she finds herself attracted to him in ways she would have never imagined. She knows there isn't any possibility for them to go any further than just friends. Jake is a Mennonite while she comes from a strong and strict Amish family. They can never been anything more than just friends. However when Katie and Jake find themselves in a compromising situation, Katie's father, Robert rages out of control and ground Katie for a month. He forbids her to have anything to do with Jake even as just friends. However with Jake working with Katie's grandfather Eli on a cabinet for the bakery, it seems that there is more than fate pulling them together. Will Katie find a way to forget what can never be between Jake and herself? Or will Jake's long lost first love, Jessica be the only way out for them both?
In the conclusion to the Kauffman Amish Bakery Series, A Season of Love by Amy Clipston takes the reader in the 5th book to see how the remaining characters we've come to love and adore wrap up their lives. Lindsay Bedford returns from Virginia Beach with her GED in hand believing she can be just as smart as her sister, Jessica and finds a way to prove it. Now returning back to Pennsylvania where Katie has been caring for her ailing Aunt Rebecca who has been confined to bed rest due to complications with her pregnancy. Lindsay believes she is finally read to become Amish and in the process will see if love awaits her on the other side. Katie has to deal with her father's issues about dealing with what he believes is proper without waiting for all the facts to come in. It shows how damaging rumors and perception can be to an Amish family and must in fact cost her to be shunned. This is truly an unforgettable novel to wrap up life with the Kauffman family. You can read this one as a stand alone but trust me, you will want to go back and read them all. This is truly an exceptional ending to this series.
I received A Season of Love by Amy Clipston compliments of Barbour Publishing and Net Galley for my honest review and I have to say, I gladly give this one a 5 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Season of Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mommo
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great ending to this wonderful series. I enjoyed each book and quickly became involved in the lives of the characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Season of Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFUL

Date:September 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharon Leatherman
Location:OWOSSO, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS IS A GREAT COMPANION TO THE REST OF THE SERIES. I HAVE ENJOYED ALL OF THE VOL. I LIKE SERIES THAT TELL YOU ABOUT ALL OF THE CHARACTERS LIVES.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Season of Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific Story Line As Usual, Great Read!

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vana
Location:Plattsburgh, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent follow up in this series, very vivid detail, takes the reader into the lives of these young Amish Folks. Story line picks up right where the last installment in the series left off. Amy Clipston is terrific at capturing the depth of feeling of the characters, bringing them to life on each page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Season of Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Season of Love

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this final story in the Kauffman Amish Bakery series. By the time you read this far in a series, all the characters are familiar and feel like real people, flaws or virtues and all. I wanted to "catch up" with each family and see what was in store for them next. At times, Katie acted much younger than her age, but as sheltered as she is among the Amish community, maybe this is to be expected. Katie's parents bothered me with their hypocrisy, more concerned about their family's reputation than their daughter's needs, while the entire community knows Sadie is a vicious gossip and Robert's temper is out of control. Funny thing about the community in this book, they are super-involved in each other's lives, yet when Katie really needs someone to stand up for her, they all revert to "he's her father so there's nothing we can do." That is how abuse goes unchecked, and I would classify Robert as verbally abusive. Luckily, everything works out in the end. The plot lines were all tied up nicely by the end of the book, which leaves me feeling satisfied with the series as a whole.
Thanks to Zondervan Publishers, via NetGalley, for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Season of Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Amish Romance with Twists

Date:August 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In this fifth and final novel of the Kauffman Amish Bakery Series, when Katie’s friends pair up with their future husbands she feels left out. When Jake Miller begins working on the cabinetry at the bakery, she is attracted, but realizes that since he cannot be more than a friend since he is not Amish. When Katie is attacked, Jake comes to her rescue, but appearances cause Katie’s father to ground her, unfairly. Katie and Jake both feel the attraction, but the gap between Amish and Mennonite may be too far to bridge.
This is an interesting story, set in the Amish community, but showing that the Amish lifestyle is not as perfect as it may appear. This sweet romance has enough twists to make it a fun read. I would recommend it to all readers of Amish fiction, especially those that have enjoyed the previous books in the series and want to follow the story to completion.
Received Galley from NetGalley.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Season of Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This book in the series was just OK

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Big Mom
Location:Ingleside, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This story line did not have a major plot factor. Best suited to young women.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Season of Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Continuation of Story Line

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melanie
Location:Xenia OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I fell in love with this story from the very first book. She never fails us in her writing and story telling. I feel that I really know these people and want to laugh and cry with them. I am waiting for the next book, whenever that may be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Season of Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Kauffman Bakery series

Date:July 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Mccue
Location:Toledo, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I so enjoyed this series alot. Again another book that was hard to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Season of Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All 5 books in this series has been wonderful

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancy Younce
Location:Tennessee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amy Clipston is my all time favorite author. the first book of hers that i read was " A GIFT Of GRACE" after reading this book I became friends with her on facebook and i have learned she is not only a very good author but she is also a very good person. I now preorder all her books and can't wait until she writes another one.I would reccomend any book she writes especially the "KAUFFMAN AMISH BAKERY SERIES'
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Season of Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brilliant conclusion to the series

Date:June 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GENRE: AMISH ROMANCE
PUBLISHER: ZONDERVAN
PUBLICATION DATE: JUNE 15, 2012
RATING: 4.5 OUT OF 5 – EXCELLENT
PROS: Good conclusion to the series; ties up loose ends from previous books; relatable characters make you invest emotionally in the story
CONS: Katie’s father is over-bearing and can be difficult to read about
Newly baptised into the Amish church, Katie Kauffman longs for the love that her two best friends have found. When everyone around her seems to be growing up and getting married, Katie is staying the same. As much as she enjoys working for the family bakery alongside her grandmother and her cousins, she’s the fifth wheel to Lindsay and Lizzie Anne and their boyfriends whenever they attend youth gatherings, and she’s known for a long time that none of the boys in their district are going to interest her. But her loneliness starts to dissipate when she meets Jake Miller, a Mennonite carpenter who is helping her grandfather build new cabinets for the bakery. Jake’s mother was once Amish and left the community to marry someone outside their fold, but Jake has always felt a kinship to his grandparents’ faith. As innocent as their friendship is, Katie’s father forbids her to spend time with Jake and warns her of the consequences of forming a relationship with someone outside their faith. Katie doesn’t want to be shunned, but she can’t help but feel a connection to Jake, and a series of situations conspire to bring them together. Misunderstandings about the circumstances of her relationship with Jake cause Katie’s relationships with her parents to disintegrate, and Katie isn’t sure if she can ever find happiness. She knows that she cannot be with Jake, but she can’t help but care for him. Can she learn to let go and love someone of the same faith, or will something drastic have to occur in order for her and Jake to finally be together?
The conclusion to a popular series is always tricky. Do you choose to go out with a bang, or to quietly wrap up all of the storylines with a happy ending? I often find that while I enjoy the final book in a series, I don’t love it as much as the others, often just because tying up all of the loose ends doesn’t always make for a terribly compelling story. When it comes to the conclusion of the Kauffuman Amish Bakery series, Katie’s story wasn’t quite as complex as some of the other Kauffman books, but I was impressed with the way that A Season of Love managed to conclude several ongoing plot-threads without detracting from Katie’s story. I appreciated being able to learn more about Rebecca’s pregnancy, Lindsay’s blossoming relationship with Matthew, and Jessica’s non-relationship with Jake, as well as the details about Lizzie Anne and Samuel.
While Katie’s story occasionally takes the backseat so that we can catch up Lindsay and Matthew or other members of the Kauffman family, I never lost interest in her storyline. Like Lindsay, the protagonist of A Life of Joy, Katie is one of Amy’s younger heroines and is barely out of her teen years. To some of the more mature Amish readers, reading about such a young protagonist might not be so appealing. Even I was surprised to read about an eighteen-year-old contemplating marriage and planning her future...until I remembered that I got engaged at nineteen and will be married before my twenty-first birthday, so I have no right to complain about Katie. Although my upbringing and life experiences are very different to Katie’s, I could relate to the position she was at in her life and her desire to get married and start a family and be done with her dating years. I could even slightly relate to her father’s disapproval of her boyfriend, Jake. While my dad never forbade me to see Simon, he didn’t pay him a lot of attention when we first began dating. No boy is going to be good enough for daddy’s little girl, although Katie’s father definitely took a more extreme approach to this idea.
For me, Katie’s father was the biggest stumbling block in A Season of Love. On the one hand, his treatment of Katie made me really angry and I rooted for her to stand up to her father and call him out on how unfair he was being. A fictional character that can get me this riled up is definitely a sign of a talented author. But I can also see why a character like Robert Kauffman can be discouraging to read about. Stubborn father-figures are pretty prevalent in Amish fiction, and Robert is at least the second I’ve come across in Amy’s books alone. In fact, when I try to recall books containing supportive, caring Amish fathers, the only one I can think of is Laura Hilton’s Patchwork Dreams. Considering how many Amish books I’ve read in my lifetime, this is evidence that fathers like Robert Kauffman are unfortunately more common than they are not.
Considering how unrelenting and stubborn Robert was throughout the whole of A Season of Love, his turn-around towards the end didn’t seem entirely convincing, and he didn’t apologise for everything he’d said and done to Katie. I was glad that Katie reconciled with her father, but I did struggle to read about a girl, almost the same age as myself, who was under her parents’ rule and unable to speak up and defend herself even though she was a legal adult. I know that this is the way that the Amish community works, but I did wish that Katie had had more of a backbone and stuck up for herself rather than running off to cry in her room whenever her father shouted at her. To put it simply, I have mixed feelings about the conflict between Katie and her father. I loved that it got me so emotionally invested in the story, but I also felt uncomfortable reading about such an overbearing and narrow-minded father figure.
The end of a series has to have a happy ending, but thankfully A Season of Love didn’t overdo the happiness. I loved the way that Amy managed to get all of the principal characters from previous books into the final scene together without it seeming too contrived. The final chapter of A Season of Love was a brilliant conclusion to the Kauffman Amish Bakery series, and as much as I’m looking forward to whatever Amy’s writes about next, it’s a little sad to say goodbye to these characters who were one of my first introductions to Amish fiction. Even if you only pick up A Season of Love to find out how the cliff-hangers at the end of A Life of Joy are concluded, you can’t help but care about Katie Kauffman and sympathise with her desire to find the love and her frustrations over her family situation. Despite my struggles with Katie’s father I did really enjoy reading this book, and I will be anxiously awaiting the arrival of Amy’s next Amish novel in winter 2013.
Review title provided by Zondervan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Season of Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Book!

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Dawn
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love is in the air in Bird-in-Hand, Pennsylvania for everyone except Katie Kauffman. To Katie it seems like all of her friends are moving forward with their lives and she is not. Her best friends Lindsay and Lizzie Anne are happy and in love. Lindsay has started to date Matthew Glick and Lizzie Anne and Samuel, who is Katie’s brother, are to be married. Katie feels left out and often the fifth wheel. She fills her days working at her grandmother’s bakery and taking care of her family. Katie desperately wants what her friends have, someone to love and to be loved. Jake Miller is a carpenter, who is tending to a broken heart. He is stuck in a rut. He goes to work every day, and every night he goes home to a frozen pizza. Jake starts a job at the Kauffman Amish Bakery doing some remodeling. While working Jake and Katie forge a friendship and become lunch buddies. Katie and Jake enjoy their time together but trouble is brewing. Katie is Amish and Jake is Mennonite. Katie’s family strongly warns her of the dangers of getting close to Jake. The Amish do not mix with the Mennonite. The bottom line is that it cannot happen. As they grow closer, Katie and Jake realize just how strong their feelings are. The end result is Katie being forbidden to see Jake. Having already joined church she has no choice but to comply. Can the boundaries be broken so that these star crossed lovers can be together? Will the ways of the Amish and Mennonite be their downfall before they even begin?
What a book! This is a great story with wonderful characters that you will immensely enjoy. I felt so bad for poor Katie throughout this book! Let’s just say her father is set in his ways. And that’s putting it mildly! Previous storylines are wrapped up beautifully, and I was left with a sense of contentment. It is always such a pleasure reading Amy’s books. A Season of Love is the final book of her Kauffman Amish Bakery Series, but no need to fret, Amy has many more books in the works!
This book was provided to me from Zondervan Publishers via NetGalley in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Season of Love - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great and Final Book in Series

Date:May 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Book was supplied to me by Zondervan Publishers through NetGalley for a review in return.
Book Description
Three young women are about to change their lives. Lizzie Anne and Samuel have decided to get married, and Lindsay is about to be baptized in the Amish faith and is courting Matthew. While Katie Kauffman is happy for her friends who seem to have settled their futures, she is also finding herself something of a fifth wheel.
My Review
This book is the fifth and final book in the Kauffman Amish Bakery Series by Amy Clipston. I love Amy’s books, I think I have read everyone of them. She is absolutely one of the most gifted writers about Amish fiction I have ever read.
This book is about Lindsay, Lizzie Anne and Katie. Lindsay returns home to her Aunt Rebecca’s house from Virginia taking care of her other aunt. She surprises everyone upon her arrival. Katie has been helping out and since Lindsay came home, she can go back to the bakery which is where her heart is. In the meantime, Lizzie Anne has been seeing Samuel, Katie’s brother and he proposes to Lizzie Anne and Lindsay starts seeing Matthew and Katie has no one. She starts back at the bakery and starts noticing Jake who is Mennonite and this is a big huge NO in Katie’s household. Her dad does some crazy things, in my opinion. I really felt sorry for Katie. A lot of things happen during these times and I just don’t want to spill the beans for anyone.
I really would suggest this book to read, especially if you have read the 4 previous books. This one is a GREAT book, I couldn’t put it down. I would definitely suggest this book to my family and friends. Thank you Amy for giving us such a great series of books, 5 of them in all. I won’t say anything else, you really need to pickup this book, it is wonderful.
Thank you Harvest House, for giving me the opportunity to read this book and give this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.