Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Berkley Trade Anna's Return, Pleasant Valley Series #3

Berkley Trade Anna's Return, Pleasant Valley Series #3

When Anna Beiler returns to the Pleasant Valley Amish after three years in the English world, she doesn't come alone-she comes with a baby daughter. Despite people's assumption, the child is not Anna's biological child but was adopted by her after the real mother, Anna's friend, tragically died. So Anna returns not seeking the redemption her family assumes. Instead, she's hoping to hide herself among the Plain People from the baby's violent father until she feels it's safe to go back into the world again. She tells herself she can do anything to protect her baby, even lie to the people who love her most. So she moves in with her brother Joseph and his wife Myra. She reconnects with her father, sister Leah, and Leah's new family. And she begins to spend time with Joseph's partner in his machine shop, Samuel, whose steady patience and thoughtful responses, which made him seem "slow" when they were children, now suggest to her a deeper understanding that sometimes infuriates her and more often makes her feel safe.

Returning isn't as easy as Anna had hoped, because it forces her to face the consequences of her own irresponsible behavior that led her to leave in the first place, and the pain she caused those she left behind. True redemption, she finds, is not a simple matter of pretend humility, but a deep change of the heart that means she will never be the same again. She learns, too, that redemption comes with a renewed love and appreciation for all the people in her life, the tightly bonded community that will always nuture and protect her.

Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Anna's Return, Pleasant Valley Series #3
Review 1 for Anna's Return, Pleasant Valley Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very uplifting!

Date:March 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susieque
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These books are "real life" happenings in a family, and are
encouraging to see how faith can make even hard circumstances turn out well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Anna's Return, Pleasant Valley Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fascinating stories.

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
LinDawn
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anna Beiler an Amish girl who has been living in the English world for a year or more, returns with a child ,to hide from the child's father who is dangerous and a drunkard, but seems to want the child back after signing papers to give the child up, after the mother of the baby died while she gave birth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Anna's Return, Pleasant Valley Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good book

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melody Szamrey
Location:New Castle,Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very good book to read.Could not put this book down.Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Anna's Return, Pleasant Valley Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
JJs Nana
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read thefirst two books in this set and loved them. I look forward to more from Marta Perry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Anna's Return, Pleasant Valley Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
In some ways, I think I came upon this book at the wrong time. Having read nothing but Amish fiction for a straight month and nothing but it (literally), I was a bit burnt out before I even started this one. The back cover blurb sounded great, really, but I felt like I had to make myself finish this one.
The story lagged a bit in several places, and I was disappointed that the relationship between Anna and Samuel didn't progress any faster than it did. There were also times when it was difficult to keep all the characters straight. I kept getting the relationships confused between which characters were siblings and which were cousins. Part of that could have easily been due to the fact that I have not yet read the first two books in this series.
I'm giving Anna's Return a rating of 3 stars because even though I had a tough time staying focused on the story, it was still a good one, especially with the Amish culture thrown in. Without the Amish aspect, it would've been quite dull.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Anna's Return, Pleasant Valley Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carey Harrison
This is the best book of the 3 in this series. I really enjoyed the characters and the in depth look at the Amish way of life versus the English way. Throughout the entire book I just wanted to take Anna aside and make her see what a great way of life her Amish roots offered her. I really felt as if I was a part of the story and found the book hard to put down. I highly recommend this!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Anna's Return, Pleasant Valley Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
I've read this whole series. Marta Perry writes a good book. Anna sure had her problems but she got thru them with God's help. The first two books in the series were great also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Anna's Return, Pleasant Valley Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Maureen Gerhard
I really enjoyed this book. My biggest problem was it was so long in coming I had to dig out Book 1 & 2 to brush up on what happen. Is this the conclusion or are there more to follow?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Anna's Return, Pleasant Valley Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2010
Martha Perry knows how to keep you looking ahead. This story like the other two is a verygood read about the Amish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Anna's Return, Pleasant Valley Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
June Thompson
This was a wonderful book. she is an excellent author and plan to keep an eye for any other books she writes. Shes way up there with the other Amish fiction writers that have been around for some years. good work and sure will pass along the book, author and story. thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Anna's Return, Pleasant Valley Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gene Layfield
Anna had a lot to learn about love and forgiveness. Samuel was a good man to show her a deep friendship as well as love, not only for Anna , but for Gracie.Learning to trust in this love was a long process for Anna. I liked the book very much. It is a must read, especially after reading the other two books in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Anna's Return, Pleasant Valley Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Eula Mckown
Anna's Return is a great ending to the Pleasant Valley series. In Leah's Choice Anna was introduced as the rebellious daughter. Anna's Return shows how much she matured in her three years in the English world. It also shows how everyone has to rely on others at times. It is a story that you can't put down until you finish it. Great job, Marta Perry!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Anna's Return, Pleasant Valley Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Emily Marshall
I thought it was a wonderful book as alll the Amish love stories.I will continue to read their love stories as long as they are written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Anna's Return, Pleasant Valley Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
pianomam
I very much enjoyed reading this series. Amish books are my favorite genre and Marta Perry keeps you interested with believable characters. This story, the third of the Pleasant Valley series, seems to show how the contemporary times are affecting the Amish orders. Book one and Book three were my personal favorites.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.