Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kregel Publications Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes

Kregel Publications Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes

Lewis Sperry Chafer's complete and unabridged Systematic Theology is back! Warm, practical, often devotional, and entirely Christ-centered, Chafer's work is a detailed discussion of the dispensational premillennial system of theology. This 4-volume edition contains the complete text and indexes of the original 8-volume set. Approx. 3000 pages total, hardcovers from Kregel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes
Review 1 for Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Number One Theology Set

Date:July 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Andy Anderson
Location:Renton, Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely enjoy Basic Theology by C.C. Ryrie, and if I want additional detail for my study, I used this multi-volume systematic theology set by Chafer. I would like to provide a couple of quotes from two Giants of the Faith at Dallas Theological Seminary (see below).
"Chafer’s theology may be characterized as biblical, Calvinistic, premillennial, and dispensational; but chiefly he was a strong exponent of the grace of God. This central concept was related to his Calvinism (though he taught unlimited redemption); to his understanding of the distinctiveness of the church, the body of Christ, in the program of God (thus his dispensationalism); to his emphasis on the faithfulness of God to fulfill his promises to Israel (thus his premillennialism); and to grace as the ruling principle of the Christian life, coupled with an emphasis on the ministry of the Holy Spirit.
Chafer was a skilled theologian, as may be seen in his excellent and often unique treatment of soteriology and pneumatology, and his theological writings gave academic status to his dispensational premillennial viewpoint. Undoubtedly his teaching and his written and popular ministry exerted a major influence for biblical understanding on the church in the twentieth century." by C.C Ryrie
Chafer’s Systematic Theology stands alone among the other available theologies. Walvoord is quite correct when he writes, “For the first time modern Fundamentalism has been systematized in an unabridged systematic theology. The work is definitely creative and original. There is no other work in systematic theology which is comparable to it. Its form of treatment, method of interpretation, and unabridged character have no parallel. As a representative, authoritative, and comprehensive treatment of systematic theology it will occupy a place filled by no other publication.” John Walvoord
Journal of Ministry and Theology Volume 5. (2001)., 5(1), 36.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best systematic theology texts available today

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
DHerson1971
Location:Kalamazoo, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chafer's Systematic Theology is, by far, the best and most accurate texts on doctrine. Purchase it today, right now!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Conservative and thorough

Date:December 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Issa
Location:São Paulo, Brazil
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eight volumes condensed in four supreme hardcover binding, lacking nothing upon aesthetics. Chafer is clearly orthodox and conservative concerning all of protestant doctrinal points, which positions, it is worth noting, are always sustained and supported by the Scriptures. He doesn't base his account on scholarship, which comes into play only sporadically and oftenly to serve as an example of some trend of thought.
Chafer employs Scripture's passages extensively, what makes the study rich and slow at the same time if one intends to check on every quote of the Bible. It is true that some of the passages evoked not always seems to corroborate to his point clearly, though always somewhat related to the issue, but that's the price one pays for fulfilling barely every page with intended Scripture's proof.
Conservative points of view are evident, as well as the criticism towards liberal theology, what grants that sometimes we have dogmatic assertions and scarce problematization on the question. Not always are we presented to the suposed "proofs" of the "enemy", only to their arguments, to which a steady refutation follows right away.
The volumes are definitely thorough, comprising every tradicional division of Systematic Theology and adding to it some new aspects the author finds proper to depict. Volume 8 is an index one, a tremendous aid for searching especific topics through the set. It should not surprise that there is an author index however lacking a systematized bibliography: that's due to the emphasis on biblical passages rather than scholarship authorities.
Curiously, it is a vast work though not properly deep. It brings lots of quotes from the Bible, but it is not the pourpose to discuss exegetically or hermeneutically some questions. To that, specific books are required, though a very good indication of the problem is offered in Chafer's presentation.
It is a recommended work, worthy of high complements and, naturally, some critics also.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gary Vickery
This is something every CHRISTIAN should read and know. BIBLE doctrine is not taught in CHURCHES anymore . This is why CHRISTIANITY and our county is in shambles.what a shame.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wesley W Whitehead
What an AWESOME set of volumes! I am currently reading through Vol 1 and I am blown away at the depth of thought that was put into this systematic theology. I have also referenced some topics of interest in the other volumes and they too have been equally impressive. If you want a true understanding of scriptural truths that haven't been corrupted by modern liberal apostate theologians belonging to the church of laodicea then this set of works is for you. Well worth the price!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
David Raby
Excellent material and a 'must have' for every serious student of the scriptures. I will be purchasing another set for a close friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kenneth Hudak
This is a valuable necessity for any serious student. I am comforted to know that if I have a question, this provides the answers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wilma King
I've only studied from Volume 4 for a class I've registered. The information is "reader friendly" for beginners.My concern is that I received a damaged book and was told by your company that a mailing label would be sent so that I may return the book. As of today, I have not received to mailing label. Please advise.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael Campbell
I got such a fantastic buy on this 4-volume set of Chafer's Systematic Theology (77% off regular price) that I considered buying a set for my pastor/teacher - but I found out that he has had a set of the single-volume units for over 20 years, and still uses them! This is a real bargain (I can't bring myself to say "steal")!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jesse Fuqua
I have been a believer for 28 years and what a great aid this work is in helping explore the wonders of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dan Hummel
First I read his He That Is Spiritual, and then Satan, and I was hooked to Dr. Chafer's writing and his scholarship and his logical presentation of all these deep ideas. But his Systematic Theology is supreme of all his works. Solidly Bible-based, mostly reformed with some clarification and omission corrections from other Systematic Theologies, Dr. Chafer's Systematic Theology is life-changing. When I suggested to a couple of people at our church that we study this together, it grew from a couple to 16 and counting! I have made review guides and assignments to make the study easy and practical, but still totally relying on Dr. Chafer's work, which is totally reliant on the Bible, or on other great scholars of the Word whom Dr. Chafer cites and quotes. Get this set and answer every question you have about the Christian faith and know which questions can't be answered.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roger Luther
In my opinion, this set is one of the best theological works money can buy. These books should be required reading for every pastor and serious student of God's Word and they should find prominence and usefulness in every pastor's library. Dr. R.L.Luther
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marlene Fitzgerald
I absolutely love the books. Iam sure I will get a blessing from them in my studies
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Maile Nagai
I am thrilled to own this volume especially at the price that you offered! I am enjoying the study that it allows and hope to dig deeper in my spiritual walk with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kenneth Head
Persons who seriously study the Bible should read Chafer's Systematic Theology. He is premillennial and dispensational, similar to C. I. Scofield.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Eduardo Ramirez
Excellent.Must have this set in the library for a true bible believer, great help to study the Word of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
pastor Jim
This is one of the best comprehensive books of theology I have ever read. It is conservative in its views and holds with Biblical exegesis.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
James Fire
From the very first time I opened this 4 Volume set of Systematic Theology, I knew I had purchased good, solid biblical provender!Chafer is thorough but not unnecessarily exhaustive. He provides a voice for the liberal opposition, but then offers his rebuttal, favoring a conservative, premillennial escatology that I find gratifying in a time where much of the church allegorizes to death the very Truth of God's most literal Word!Chafer is plain enough for the layman to glean rich, deep exposition, yet challenging enough for pastors and biblical scholars. I believe I have room to grow with these volumes in expanding my understanding of God's Holy Word, and heartily recommend this set to any one serious about their studies in scripture!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
David Quatt
This a great-quality reprint of a classic. The theological writings of Chafer (along with others) offer good, sound teachings on Biblical truths and are needed in a time when people will not endure sound doctrine. Even if one's theological interpretation is covenantal, he will still profit from reading this systematic. The rhetoric is scholarly but not cryptic, and the text is easy to read. The reader will see that Chafer holds his own with Richard Watson, the Hodges, Dabney, Wesley, Warfield, and others. Buying this set with Christian Book Distributors is worth the purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Chafer's Systematic Theology 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jacob Vo
It is a good deal for a great collection. It is an exceptional works of Dr. Chafer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>