Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishing Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook

Moody Publishing Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
19 out of 19100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook
Review 1 for Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Children's series

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My boys, age 6 & 8years love these books, and I enjoy them also. They are a good mix of real life boy adventures and Christian faith, struggles, and challenges. Shows the reader how to let his "light shine". Great series!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My boys love this series

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nellie
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great series. My boys ages 5, 7, and 9 are really enjoying them. They are adventurous stories with a Christian basis that keep kids and parents both happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding books

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
MusicMama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son, age 8, always complains about reading. He actually read this because he wanted to! Yippee!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Series

Date:January 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Angie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children and I really enjoy reading these books. The characters make them laugh and there is a wonderful biblical lesson in each story. This series is interesting for both girls and boys. The stories develop good plots and have mysteries for the children to solve. I am a picky parent who is very careful with what I allow my children to read, and I would recommend these books to anyone.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great books!!!!

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
MDavenport
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great books!!!! My husband read before my son read them. Found out later my Mom read these books when she was a kid and my little brother read them at a christian boys camp one summer. They all loved them!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I like the book because it has action and suspense

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alex316
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
'The Swamp Robber' is a fun, exciting story about a group of boys named Bill, Circus, Dragon Fly, Big Jim, Poetry and Little Jim. It all happens when Poetry finds a fake white beard in a tree hollow in the middle of Sugar Creek. I like this book because it has action and suspense. I hope you like it too when you read it.
Alex Tiansay, age 10
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Our family's all time favorite series

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
crazyquilter
Location:Chilliwack, BC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This series of books has been our family's all time favorite set of books and has endured for over two generations! Still just as enjoyable as a read a loud with our younger children as it was for our older, now adults.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

outstanding

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
dbursell
Location:Montana
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good book with a good message for young minds in today's world.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great buy!

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
elsheridan
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I were looking for books for our daughter, an avid reader. We were pleasantly surprised to find these books, as we have seen all the movies based on them that have been made so far. Our daughter was thrilled to get them, and we were able to give her a set of books instead of just one or two because of the great prices! Thanks, CBD!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Like Old Times

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Farm Gram
Location:South Dakota
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We read the Sugar Creek Gang to our sons when they were boys (in the late 80's). When I found the same set of books @ Christian Book I got them for our 8 year old grandson. He's already started reading them and likes them. He told me the teachers in his private Christian school recommend them too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
lucy
Location:washington, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product arrived in the time period. It was in very good condition. My granddaughter loves to read and these were just the kind she wanted. very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intergenerational appeal: gospel-centric

Date:September 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
PIKNIK
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was first introduced to the original series around 1949 -- an older brother, by then a grown-up, had had around two of the books in his library, and my mom passed them to me to read. I LOVED them, although I was a girl, and these books were about boys. They seemed closer to daily life than other kids' books I'd read. The gospel was central, in a normal way, and that was prime.
Years later, when my son was growing up, the new paper-back versions were available, and I must have purchased at least sixteen of them for him.
When I became a teacher-librarian, around the year 2000, in a Native-American school, on a 'reserve,' I realized that the basic, close-to-nature setting of the Sugar Creek series would be easy to relate to, so, based on the fact that this particular Canadian First Nation supported Christian values, had prayer in school, etc., I gained permission from the principal to include the full set of SCG books in the acquistions. They did get read.
Now, as a Sunday School teacher in a local church, I 'award' a SCG paperback after each Sunday School unit is completed. In addition, am sending them to my grand-niece and nephew on birthdays and the like.
Fab product, because it focuses on the gospel and a normal daily life!
Kind of educational, also, since, the first time I visited Chicago, for example, I knew something about it from a Sugar Creek book.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Books!

Date:August 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeff
Location:West Chester, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good books for young Christian readers. I read these growing up and they had a lasting influence on me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
buffy
Location:Canada,Ontario
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this series because we have some young boys at our church who are just getting started reading book and when I showed them to one of the boys he was excited to see them and took one home. My husband and son enjoyed these when they were young.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect little books for boys

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wendy Winans
Location:North Pole, AK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased these for our 11 yr old boy's homeschool book report books. They are an easy read with suspense and all the usual mysteries that boys enjoy, all wrapped around godly values. What more could we want.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
havenone
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's for my grandson for his birthday. I think not only he but his brother will enjoy these books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great books for kids and adults

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Surveybill
Location:MI
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 8 year old son loves the books, I have purchased the rest of the series and he is always reading them. Books contain many wholesome Christian values written in an interesting way for kids to understand.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful stories for kids.

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
SunShineSherry
Location:Jacksonville, NC 28540
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The books have wonderful lessons for my son. He is really enjoying them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best christian based adventure series

Date:October 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christina Blanton
Location:Kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son just turned 8 and has been engulfed in these stories for several months now; I am actually on here to order volumes 13 and up. Yes, the stories are based in a country setting in a period that has long been forgotten but he enjoys it just the same and even asks questions about different words or places that he doesn't understand. I like them because it teaches morals, values and even a conscience. He has mentioned several times how something is like...and then gives an example for how the Sugar Creek Boys have handled a situation. The time that we spend together reading these stories I not only LOVE but also helps spark conversations about situations he's faced with at school. Love this series! So glad it's still around!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sugar Creek Gang Set Books 1-6 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joy Feld
These books were purchased for my Grandsons and they thought they were great! They're Mom read them when she was their age and we have the complete library in our Christian school.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.