Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Books By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook

Barbour Books By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook

Amelia Gladstone's hopes are tied up in the Titanic--hopes for a reunion with her sister and an introduction to an admirer. But when she offers a spare ticket to a down-and-out young man, her fate is about to change. Quentin Walpole us stunned when a sweet lady secures his passage to America--and even more surprised to find his wealthy father and older brother on board the ship. Suddenly Amelia finds herself caught between the attentions of two men, but who should she entrust her heart to? As the fateful night arrives, will Amelia lose everything to the icy waters?
Average Customer Rating:
4.742 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 out of 31100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook
Review 1 for By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"By The Light of the Silvery Moon" by Tricia Goyer

Date:September 30, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
"By The Light of the Silvery Moon" by Tricia Goyer is skillfully crafted with intricately interwoven lives enmeshed in major deep-rooted conflicts and characters that poignantly tug at one's heart-strings. Indepth historical research is accurately interspersed with the epitome of luxury to capture the magical mystic of the Titanic, highlighted by impending doom, in a tragic disaster waiting in the wings of time.
The Titanic was a ship of dreams, touted as "the greatest ship ever built." There has never been a ship like it before and there probably never will be again. It was intended to be much more than just a great engineering feat of mankind. It symbolized the dawn of hope and the promise of a bright future that was tragically not to be. In the history of the Titanic, time was destined to be an endlessly-flowing river.
Aboard the Titanic, Amelia Gladstone was all set to celebrate the historic advent of a splendid new era, heralding in the most luxurious ocean liners that ever sailed the seven seas. Determined to live in the present, Amelia decided not to let the anchor of memories pull her down and sink her flagging spirits. Nor would she allow the waves of worry to batter and bruise her heart. Amelia prayed to God to enable her to savour the present moment and live in the here and now. She wanted to be open to what God had in store for her future. Amelia's aching heart yearned for new horizons, fresh insights and a much stronger faith to sustain her through difficult times. Amelia loved God with all her heart but she knew she had not been as bold in sharing her faith as she should have been.
Quentin Walpole was wounded and scared. He longed for a friend whom he could trust. Amelia could see that gaze, deep down in his eyes. She wished she could do more for him, maybe even be that special friend he yearned for. Perhaps it would happen, on this ship of dreams and hope. Amelia wondered whether Quentin had people in his past life whom he missed dearly and longed to see again. Did Quentin's heart painfully ache "to know and be known, to love and be loved?"
Clarence Walpole missed his youngest son, Quentin, more than words could say. It had been five long years since Quentin had walked out of his heart and his life, claiming his share of his inheritance and squandering it away. Deep down in his heart, Clarence was sure thadaqs'npin w`q alive and well somewhere. If only he knew where he was. If only he could catch a glimpse of him. That would have comforted his father-heart as nothing else could.
Clarence was overwhelmed as he clung desperately to his faith. His heart ached with deep regrets as he struggled to hold back his tears. He could not afford to cry any more. He had already wept his heart out. He knew he had to be strong in order to prove that God's strength sustained him. What other choice did he have? Hope was his only option and his only way out. Clarence was well aware that God knew where Quentin was. He knew that he could trust God who loved Quentin even more than he did. At this moment, that knowledge had to be sufficient. He would trust God to take care of Quentin until the way opened up for him to see him again. When Clarence heard that Amelia had seen Quentin, he longed to see his son himself. "Give your sons to Me," an inner voice whispered compellingly in his heart. A peace flooded his whole being and he knew he had heard God's voice. "Lord, I am willing." Make me even more willing.
Amelia needed time alone by herself to recollect her thoughts and reaffirm her purpose for this voyage. She must make sure that she did not forget what lay behind her nor what was ahead. "May God fill your heart with a new love, to hold you up when the missing gets too terrible." She would pray for Quentin. A warm sensation enveloped her and a strange feeling of someone standing behind her pervaded her senses. She spun around but saw no one. An inner peace descended upon her heart and Amelia knew that she sensed the presence of God with her. A sudden conviction hit her that it was no strange coincidence that Quentin, his father, Clarence and his brother, Damien were all on this ship together. It was not by chance that she was offered an extra passenger's ticket on this ship which she gave to Quentin, on seeing him being dragged mercilessly off the gangplank. Amelia knew that God had a purpose for Quentin and He was instrumental in using her to meet his father and brother from whom he was estranged, despite being together on the same ship. Amelia knew that Quentin was in God's hands. She whispered a prayer that God would soften Quentin's heart and gently remind him of his father's love.
Amelia's heart ached as she thought of all the lonely years. Despite her pain and heartache, God had always been faithful to her. He had given her a brand new hope for her future. It marked a turning point in her life. It was both pointless and hopeless to think of what was past. She needed to focus on the present and look with hope to the future. She thought of Quentin. He was one of God's gifts to her. All he had to offer to her was his heart. When he gazed at her, his eyes reached deep down into her heart and moved her in a way no one had ever done before. When Amelia looked into Quentin's face, she felt a gentle peace stirring in her heart. She knew what she had never known before. Quentin was God's choice for her.
Quentin's heart felt full and complete. He knew that in order to win Amelia's affections, he would have to surrender. And he did just that. He prayed and surrendered, asking God to forgive all his past mistakes. Something snapped inside him and all his pain drained out into the hands of Jesus. "Quentin, who'd run away from love, now dared to hope love could be possible." Winning Amelia's heart was a gift Quentin felt he had no right to receive. Her simple innocence almost brought him to his knees.
As Amelia prayed for Quentin, God ministered to her heart that she was to guide Quentin into healing for his own pain. God had a gift of healing for Quentin that He wanted Amelia to deliver. "Lord, restore what was lost. Heal what's been broken. Whatever it takes." No matter what life held in the future for Amelia, she could never forget God's healing power that could easily restore in an instant what had been hurt and broken for so long.
When Quentin honored Amelia's words enough to lay down his pride and honor and reunite with his beloved father, Amelia knew deep down in her heart that she had hope for a brand new life with Quentin. She felt utterly cherished and saw with wide open eyes the amazing power of prayer at work. Prayer really made a huge difference in people's lives. Amelia realized this as seeds of love for Quentin were slowly germinating in the garden of her heart. She knew that she would have to trust God even more now than she had ever done before.
Amelia and Quentin learnt that none of their experiences in life would ever be wasted. God could take the broken pieces and fashion them into the most beautiful patterned mosaic. Something good would always come out of their past failures when they offered them to God to be transformed by His life-changing power. When Quentin bravely confronted the mistakes and failures of his life, and walked away from a past that had so often held him in chains, he made a fresh new start to life. Amelia and Quentin decided to trust God with what lay ahead. God would show them. As they grew closer to him, he would make a way where there was none. God had used Amelia to give Quentin the greatest gifts he could ever imagine - a reconciliation with God and with his own father. During the horrific ship wreck, both Amelia and Quentin sensed that God was just a whispered prayer away. His voice hovered over the dark waters, calling His children home. When Amelia thought she had lost Quentin, she acknowledged that she had lost the greatest treasure of all - love. God had given her Quentin's love briefly, only to lose him tragically, or so she thought, until she found him. "Amelia remembered Quentin's last smile. His last look of love." Faced with the imminent loss of the life of Quentin, the man whom she loved the most, and after being reunited with him, Amelia decided to put her utmost faith in God. "It's not what I put my faith in, it's who I put my faith in," she said.
© Miriam Jacob
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Realistic characters and storyline

Date:May 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
dkread
Location:Montrose, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very realistic situations and life-like characters marked this retelling of the Titanic disaster. It kept me turning pages and reading longer than I should have at times. Very satisfying ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

By the Light of the Silvery Moon

Date:October 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tricia Goyer's account of the Titanic sinking is one of many books released this year during the 100th anniversary, but one of the best. What happens when you mix the Titanic sinking with the biblical Prodigal Son story? A fun read! Amelia, Quentin, and Damien are well-written characters. I think some of the funniest moments of the book came in Amelia's letters from her intended in New York! The descriptions of the Titanic's decor, class accommodations, and meals brought me right onto the ship. Knowing that the ship was going to sink, I wondered who would live and who would die among all the people, real and imagined, in this story. The scenes when the ship sank and the survivors couldn't help all those poor people in the water were gripping; they really made the sinking more real to me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Titanic Story

Date:June 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I realized that this was historical fiction about the Titanic, I was ecstatic! I have had a fascination with this great ship since I did a report on it back in sixth grade. And with the 100th year anniversary, it could not be better timing.
I was immensely pleased with the research that the author did for this book. She added in everything from the near collision when it set sail to the screams of the doomed passengers in the water. For the first time, I understood why no one survived who was not in the lifeboat. And I understood the precarious position of those lifeboats. I know I may have heard it before, but suddenly it made sense.
I was enthralled by the story. I was able to tell early on that one of the stories was an updated retelling of the Prodigal Son parable. I loved the twist the author put in the story.
Amelia is a character that spoke to my heart--as did Quentin. I am amazed at how God continues to use historical Chrisitan fiction to speak to my heart. I have been blaming myself lately for the part I have played in my current domestic issue. I have found myself apologizing over and over for a decision I made some 10 years ago that is making this current issue possible. Well, I realized yesterday as I read that God orchestrated it all. It was not something I pursued or sought after. And God could have stopped it. But He did not. It happened, and even as I walk through my current pain, God has a purpose in it all. Just as Amelia and Quentin learned. How could the disaster of the Titanic been a part of God's plan? We may never understand it in this life. As an old song I know says: When you can't trust His hand, trust His heart.
I also loved the side note about John Astor. I will not spoil it for the reader, but it was pure genius, in my opinion.
In short, if you love historical fiction romances, this is for you. Yes, it has a strong Christian message, but it is woeven so seamlessly into the fabric of the story, I doubt it would truly bother anyone who is not a Christian. It may convict you, but the story line is so strong that I will bet you will not want to put it down.
I was given a copy of this book inexchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated in any way, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Daleg
Location:NZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read novels to escape into a different world. this novel is of high quality and I enjoyed it. The story is absorbing and the qnswer is not seen until the end, unless I am thick.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Romantic and dramatic tale of the Titanic

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GENRE: HISTORICAL ROMANCE
PUBLISHER: BARBOUR
PUBLICATION DATE: MARCH 01, 2012
RATING: 3.5 OUT OF 5 - GOOD
PROS: Interesting take on the parable of the prodigal son; really captures the essence of what it was like to be onboard the Titanic
CONS: Hero and heroine fell in love too fast for it to be believable; some characters were underdeveloped; preachy in places
Amelia Gladstone and Quentin Walpole are both looking forward to making a new start in America, and the first step in their journey is taking a trip on the Titanic. But while Amelia's ticket has been paid for by a potential suitor hoping to meet her and her aunt when they arrive in America, Quentin is thrown off the ship when he attempts to sneak onboard. Amelia can never ignore a need, but she doesn't imagine how her life will change when she hands Quentin her spare ticket. Not only is this trip the start of a whirlwind romance with Quentin, but Amelia's discoveries about her new friend help her to reunite him with his long-lost family, who are also onboard the Titanic. Soon Amelia is swept into the life of the first class passengers on the ship, dancing and dining with Quentin's older brother, Damian, while Quentin struggles in deciding whether or not he should reintroduce himself to his family. And if he doesn't, is he worthy of Amelia's time and love? But very soon, Amelia and Quentin will have much harder problems to deal with, ones which could tear them apart for ever.
When looking at this spring's new releases, it almost seems as if every publisher in existence was trying to put a Titanic novel on the shelves. When it came to deciding which book I wanted to read to commemorate the sinking of the Titanic, By the Light of the Silvery Moon was an obvious choice, as I've thoroughly enjoyed some of Tricia's previous novels. But while I had high hopes for her writing and storytelling abilities, I was a bit cautious when it came to fitting a love story into the short space of time from the Titanic leaving Britain and coming to its sad demise only a few days later.
Ultimately, I was very satisfied with By the Light of the Silvery Moon. I came to care about the characters and could feel my heart thudding during the scene in which the ship sank. I can't even begin to mention the amount of detail that Tricia put into the descriptions of the cabins, dining rooms, clothing and food onboard the Titanic. Tricia definitely did a lot of research into what it was like travelling on the Titanic and I could easily imagine many of the scenes that she described. But I feel that there were some aspects of the characterisation and romance that felt a little underdeveloped, which is only natural when you're trying to fit so much into such a short space of time.
Anyone who reads my reviews will know that I'm just not a big fan of love-at-first-sight stories. I kid you not when I tell you that the first time I saw my fiancé, I turned to my friend and said "He looks a bit weird, doesn't he?" We did not have a fairytale romance, and I'm okay with that - real life is not that perfect. But a romance onboard the Titanic is definitely going to be along this vein, which I anticipated when I started reading this book. I had to try to make myself forget that Amelia and Quentin had only known each other for a few days when they described the strong emotions that they felt for each other. Ultimately, I did enjoy reading about their relationship and was rooting for them in the end, but I didn't find how quickly they fell for each other to be entirely plausible.
When it came to Amelia on her own, I did really like her character, even if she seemed a bit too perfect at times. I was worried that Amelia didn't have any flaws, until her aunt challenged some of Amelia's notions about love and marriage. I had to be similarly challenged about my romantic ideals a few years ago so I could definitely relate to this part of the book. The section in which Amelia mused over her dilemma over whether to settle for someone stable, like her potential suitor in America, or risk her love on someone who has made a lot of mistakes in their life, like Quentin, was one of the most realistic and touching scenes relating to Amelia and Quentin's relationship.
While I did like the fact that Quentin and Damian's story was a retelling of the parable of the prodigal son - although I'll admit, it took me a while to realise the inspiration behind this part of the plot - I wish that Damian's character had been developed further. I knew that he was the villain of the story but I wish that Tricia could have delved deeper into what made him such a hateful person. There were some hints of jealousy and rivalry between the brothers, and bitterness because Damian associated their mother's death with Quentin, but these hints weren't developed enough to let me see Damian as a truly believable character. Although Damian managed to redeem himself in the end I still felt like something was missing from his part of the story.
When it came to the spiritual aspects of By the Light of the Silvery Moon, I liked the idea of Quentin learning that he needed to forgive himself in order to restore his relationship with God, but I wasn't so keen on the execution of this part of the plot. The scene in which Quentin finally talked to God and asked for forgiveness was just a little bit too cheesy for my liking. Some of the spiritual sections of this book, particularly the conversations between Amelia and Quentin, were realistic, but others verged on too sermon-like. I was actually surprised at the way that Tricia dealt with the spiritual issues in this book as the spiritual aspect of her Big Sky series was what made me love it so much, but her approach in By the Light of the Silvery Moon seemed entirely different. I also have to mention that I'm honestly convinced that every single character that Amelia came into contact with on the Titanic was a Christian. Even in 1912, I didn't see this as at all realistic. Please correct me if you find a character in By the Light of the Silvery Moon that doesn't have some sort of relationship with God, but this is the way that it seemed to me when I was reading this book.
Ultimately I found By the Light of the Silvery Moon to be an enjoyable love story set onboard the Titanic. As far as I could tell, the details about the ship and its sinking were accurate and really made the story come to life. Tricia's strengths definitely lie in her ability to research and recreate a scene. While I did struggle with how quickly Amelia and Quentin came to fall for each other, this may just be a matter of personal taste, and I'm sure that some romance readers won't let this deter them. By the Light of the Silvery Moon didn't quite live up to some of Tricia's previous novels, namely in the character of Damian and the heavy-handedness with the spiritual sections of the novel, but those looking for a romantic, dramatic retelling of the sinking of the Titanic won't be disappointed.
Review title provided by Barbour.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

On The Titanic

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
myrtia
Gender:female
I absolutely loved this historical fiction set in the Titanic.
Apart from beautiful historical detail, this book had a really good plot, which kept it going and kept my interest alive all the way.
I liked the heroine a lot, with her inner struggles and her efforts to find God's plan for her life. That's what all the good books are about, in my opinion. Anyway, the reader follows her journey, both physical and spiritual, until the great tragedy of the Titanic.
I won't spoil the surprises that take place as soon as the ship goes down, but the atmosphere on board the ship was just delicious.
The romance was subtle and realistic without being too obvious.
But most of all, what I loved about this book was how it came through that God is in control of what happens to us, and He can take our lives and take them in the direction He wants them to go in the most miraculous ways, if we trust Him.
Even on board a ship marked for disaster.
Rating: 5/5
I read this book via the NetGalley.
blog bookshelfstories dot blogspot dot com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another 5 star story by Tricia!

Date:May 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always been a huge fan of historical fiction, and have been fascinated by the Titanic so Tricia’s latest book was a perfect marriage of the two for me!
Even though readers know what is going to happen regarding the Titanic, this book was interesting in that it gives some insight as to the frenzy taking place in the days prior to the ill-fated voyage. The characters are interesting, and there’s scandal and deception right from the start so from page one, I was drawn into Trica’s writing. As always, Tricia managed to weave sound morals and faith all through the book, solidifying what she stands for.
One of the main characters, Amelia, is sweet and unassuming. She’s also a bit naïve and soon finds herself in a bit of a love triangle. And to muddy the waters even further, she’s on the Titanic for the purpose of meeting up with her beau in America, Mr. Chapman. If you’ve read any of Tricia’s books, then you will love this one just as much as her others. If you haven’t read her books yet, this is a great one to start with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love set against the backdrop of the Titianic

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love set against the backdrop of the Titanic.
Having read very few books by Ms.Goyer, I didn't know quite what to expect with By the Light of the Silvery Moon, so I took a chance, and boy, am I glad I did! This book is something of a Prodigal Son type story, with very strong themes running along those lines.
I loved how Ms. Goyer really captured the atmosphere and feel of the Titanic. Distinguishing those in First Class, from those in Second and Third Class, with a strong use of body language. I could feel the atmosphere changes that occurred when we went from class to class from the chill of First Class, to the warmth, hope, and a few unsavory characters in Third.
I really didn't have a favorite character in this book, every single one was so well balanced, and none of them really outshone the others, they were all amazing. And I really liked how the relationships between the many characters felt very natural, and unforced.
Overall, I would highly recommend this book. It is a well written tale set against one of the most startling events of the 20th century, filled with forgiveness and hope. And let's not forget the romance! A fantastic book that grabbed me at the very first chapter and didn't let go until I'd turned the last page down.
Final Rating: 4.8 out of 5
I received this book from the publisher, through Litfuse Publicity in return for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Journey Aboard the Titanic in this riveting story

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fictional account, set on the Titanic, draws on destiny and human nature as the dramatic story unfolds. Amelia Gladstone is traveling to America to meet a man with whom she’s been corresponding. In fact, Mr. Chapman funded the trip and hopes this will lead to their marriage. Accompanying Amelia is her aunt, Neda, who raised Amelia from age six after her mother went back to serving as a stewardess aboard ship and was never heard from again. Her cousin, Henry, ends up in jail, so Amelia bestows his ticket on an unfortunate man she meets while they’re waiting to board.
Quentin Walpole’s life parallels the parable of the prodigal son and the longing father. He’s ready to shake off his failures and seek a new future. Returning to the country of his birth also means returning to the land where he caused his mother’s death. How can he face the pain? And he continues to avoid his wealthy father since he knows he’s devastated him too. His brother, Damien, works to ensure Quentin won’t bring his father further pain.
Both brothers are attracted to innocent Amelia and she to them. But what about sensible Mr. Chapman? She feels compelled to remain loyal to her benefactor, yet her heart calls for a different conclusion. And then comes the unforgettable disaster, which submerges these romantic notions along with the sinking ship. Has she lost her true love?
Tricia Goyer takes readers on a fantastic voyage of history, romance, and suspense, throwing in some surprises before the Titanic disappears from sight. She truly brings the voyage and the passengers to life. I think this novel would make a great movie too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Grand Story of a Grand Ship

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Annette
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"By the light, of the silvery moon, I want to spoon, To my honey I'll croon love's tune. Honey moon, keep a-shinin in June. Your silv'ry beams will bring love's dreams, We'll be cuddlin' soon, By the silvery moon."
Chorus to "By the Light of the Silvery Moon" published 1909. Music written by Gus Edwards. Lyrics by Edward Madden. This popular song was a Tin Pan Alley song during the time period shortly before the tragedy of The Titanic. The main character Amelia Gladstone in Tricia Goyer's book by the same title, "By The Light Of The Silvery Moon" refers to her love of Tin Pan Alley songs.
Amelia Gladstone and her Aunt Neda left their home of Southampton, England and are moving to America to live near Neda's daughter Elizabeth. They will be traveling as 2nd Class passengers on the RMS Titanic. Neda's son Henry was to travel with them, but he has gotten in to trouble again and will not be joining them. Amelia has lived with her aunt since she was a young girl. While embarking on the "Ship of Dreams" Amelia and Aunt Neda witness a scuffle and then a young man who was a stowaway being forcibly taken off the ship. Out of the kindness of Amelia's heart she offers him Henry's unused ticket. This young mans name is Quentin. When Amelia gazes in to "the dark depths of his brown eyes, her heart beats fast." Amelia has become Quentin's rescuer, and subsequently his friend, confidante, and advocate.
On April 10, 1912 the Titanic left England for its 1st stop Cherbourg, France, in order to pick up more passengers. Among the passengers were the wealthy John Jacob Astor IV and his new young wife, and Margaret "Molly" Brown. These passengers would be some of those traveling in 1st Class.
Those that traveled 3rd Class were primarily emigrant's wanting to start a new life in America.
The Titanic was advertised as the "ship of dreams" and was thought unsinkable because of its water tight compartments. History has shown that mistakes were made and thus the Titanic did sink on its maiden voyage. This year marks the100th anniversary of the sinking of the Titanic. Tricia Goyer has written a wonderful story that gives the readers a view of those few days before the tragedy, as well as the plight and chaos during the disaster. Through Amelia's eyes we are given a grand tour of what the ship looked like, the various people that worked on the ship, and the cultures and standards of the 1st Class.
I loved this book for several reasons.
1. Amelia is a character that is neither 1st Class nor 3rd Class, she is like most of us, in the middle; thus I felt I could more readily relate to her.
2. Amelia is noted as beautiful to some, those that see the beauty of her heart; but to others she is insignificant because of her status.
3. The tale of 2 brothers is weaved in to this story. A tale we've been told before in Church. In this story a remarkable outcome transpires that I did not expect.
4. We are given mini-stories of other travelers, those traveling both in 1st and 3rd Class, and those working on board the ship. This gives not only a panoramic feel to the story, but enlarges the story-----the characters are a forefront to this large expansive and impressive ship.
5. The book ends with, in my opinion, an open option for a book 2.
Thank you to Barbour and Litfuse Group for my free review copy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational and spiritually deep.

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I rarely buy books, but saw this in a Barnes and Noble while on vacation two days after the 100th anniversary of the Titanic's sinking, so I picked it up. I read the prologue and was immediately drawn in by the tragic opening and decided I must read the rest of the book. I have a fascination with the Titanic's sinking and that whole tragedy anyway, so I couldn't resist the urge and ended up buying it. I'm so glad I did. I read the book in two days and enjoyed it very much.
There were so many things to like about this story. The author did a great job with setting and making me feel like I was there on the ship. Amelia was compassionate and a very likable heroine. The brothers were both endearing in their own ways. I felt pity for the father and his pain from not knowing the well-being of his youngest son. I loved how the author had written a parallel story similar to the prodigal son from the New Testament. Some of the dialog was even the same. That part of this book was particularly moving and brought tears to my eyes. Which one of us hasn't felt worthy of someone's love and forgiveness at some point in our pasts? The emotion of the characters as they dealt with repentance and forgiveness was very touching as was the way Amelia ministered to Quinton's spiritual needs.
The thing that intrigued me most about this story was not knowing which brother was going to come out as the survivor in the end. Not only that, but I was anxious about who was going to live and who was going to die other than the well-known passengers like John Jacob Astor. The description of the passengers' trauma following the sinking was well done. I can't imagine the survivor's guilt many of them must have felt. Each brother had special traits that the heroine loved, but she had to choose who would hold her heart in the end. At times I even fluctuated on who I thought that should be. This was a heartwarming story with a very satisfying ending. The romantic elements tugged on my heart strings as well. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Titanic fan

Date:April 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Diane
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not really good at reviewing but here goes. I loved this book even though there was a tragedy involved, it is also the story of a prodigal son, without giving away much, Tricia Goyer is in good form in this book, the only complaint I have is that it mentions a piano being part of the band and there was no piano on the Titanic!!!! Other then this little oversight it is a great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Touching Story of Redemption

Date:April 7, 2012
Tricia Goyer is an incredibly talented writer who tells a beautiful story of redemption set on the Titanic. She brings the Titanic to life in a way that surprised and impressed me. I felt the magic of what it would be like to be a passenger on that impressive ship and the tragedy of what it was like in those last final moments of the ship's sinking. Tricia also incorporates touching stories of people who were actually on the Titanic. I loved reading these little-known stories of passengers . . . and I thought it was a wonderful tribute to them. As is true with all of Tricia's novels, I enjoyed this book and recommend it to anyone who is fascinated by the Titanic or just loves a touching story. [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and LitFuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Titantic Adventure

Date:April 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As we observe the hundred year mark of the sinking of the Titanic we are remembering that cruise.
Amelia Gladstone is about to embark of the journey of a lifetime. She is traveling to Connecticut with her Aunt Nelda. Her cousin Henry was to join them, but ended up in jail. She has his ticket, and when she observes a man being manhandled and thrown off the ship, she does what she does best, and goes to his rescue.
Quinten gladly takes the ticket and boards. God has his hand in all of this...I am in awe of all that happens. Yes we relive this tragedy, but we also find wonderful God Loving people. Enjoyed reading the description of this great "unsinkable" ship, such opulence.
You meet the Rich and famous and some with a lot of notoriety...and we know the fate of most. We relive the moment of the iceberg hit, and the loading of the life boats...even if we wish things would change here it doesn't.
While reading this enjoy going with Amelia around the ship, and we hear her thoughts! Great! We also experience the wonderful experiences of "Forgiveness". I loved embarking on this cruise, thank you Tricia Goyer.
I received this book from the Publisher Barbour, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Detailed and Brimming with Life on the Titanic!

Date:April 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Holly Smith
Location:Charleston, SC
Age:25-34
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The R.M.S. Titanic has fascinated many writers, film-makers, and photographers. The fascination has led to a plethora of stories that take readers and viewers through the last moments of the Titanic as we view it through the eyes of a character.
Stories set on the Titanic are hard for people to get into, yet By the Light of the Silvery Moon poses no problem in grabbing a reader's attention. This story gripped me and left me longing to know what would happen next--in spite of the fact I knew the ship would sink.
Tricia Goyer creates an interesting story. While I'm not entirely sure how plausible the romance portion of the story would be, she definitely takes the reader's heart captive with it.
This story is refreshing because it does something most Titanic stories fail to do by giving us characters in the second class. We know all about the details and happenings of the third and first classes, but we never hear anything about those in second class. I was excited to see a story told from a second class passenger's point of view.
Don't worry, for those of you love first class, she includes them too.
Another refreshing part of this novel is how Tricia Goyer introduces a plot other than romance. She gives us a prodigal-son story. To be honest, it's amazing how wonderfully she made it fit for a Titanic story-line. My only regret is that, at times, she would quote the parable verbatim when it came to the dialogue. I would have like to have seen original dialogue in those instances.
If you're reading this book simply because you're a hardcore Titanic enthusiast wanting to know about the ship itself, you will love this novel. Tricia Goyer has no problem bringing the ship to life with her accurate details in society. And If you like James Cameron's famous movie, Titanic, then you'll certainly love By the Light of the Silvery Moon.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishers via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

well written historical novel

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amelia Gladstone had been corresponding with an American man for some time. Finally she was going to meet him. Perhaps there will be a wedding in her future. To make the voyage even more exciting, she would be traveling on the maiden voyage of the Titanic.
What she didn't realize is that what would impact her the most wouldn't be the grandeur of the Titanic but who she would meet on its decks. (12)
As Amelia waits with her aunt to board the ship, she sees a potential stowaway thrown off the ship. Sensitive to his plight, she gives him the ticket that was supposed to be for her cousin who suddenly cannot go on the journey.
Quentin is from a wealthy American family. While a child he was instrumental in his mother's death. As a troubled young man, he asks for his inheritance and makes a fortune in England – and then loses it. He is penniless but hopes to make a new start in America.
Amelia finds out Quentin's father and older brother are aboard the Titanic, having been to England searching for Quentin. As Amelia begins to fall in love with Quentin, she is convinced he must be reconciled to his family.
She must think about her own situation too. The Titanic is nearing its destination and she has no idea what she will tell the man she planned to meet in America, now that her heart belongs to another. Her aunt has wise words for her. “Will you become all God made you to be if you join with him in marriage? And in the joining will you help him be all God made him to be?” (177)
This year marks the hundredth anniversary of the sinking of the Titanic. This novel contains a wealth of information about the ship, its structure, the opulence, the classes of passengers, etc. And the way Tricia has woven into the plot the experience of a prodigal son is wonderful. Even the angry older brother...well, I don't want to give it away, but within the midst of tragedy one sees great efforts of self sacrifice.
This well written novel kept me reading way too late. I didn't want to put it down. What's missing? There is no reader's discussion guide and I would have loved to have had a CD of the song!
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Touching Story

Date:April 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The heart of Tricia Goyer’s novel is a beautiful retelling of the parable of the prodigal son.
After demanding his portion of inheritance, Quentin Walpole strikes out on his own to make a name for himself apart from his father’s high society influence; a position earned after years of hard work investing in the transcontinental railroad. Through a series of poor choices and youthful bravado, Quentin squanders all investments and burns many bridges to expanding the family business abroad, all while tarnishing the family’s good name. Quentin’s reckless and self-indulgent behaviour leaves him penniless and homeless, living a rootless existence for several years. As Quentin attempts to stow aboard the Titanic in search of a fresh start back home in America, we find him in desperate condition: full of shame, regret, and running from the pain of a tragic childhood accident that took the life of his mother.
Unaware to Quentin, his father and brother are aboard the Titanic. Clarence Walpole, railroad tycoon and family man by nature spent a good portion of time and money scouring the streets of London for any hint of his missing son. Returning home to America without word of Quentin’s whereabouts or safety is more than his heart can bear. While Clarence grieves the loss of his son and the depravity of Quentin’s condition, he dreams of the day when he will welcome Quentin home and see the Walpole family reunited.
Damien Walpole, on the other hand, could care less about his brother’s whereabouts. The longer Quentin’s estrangement from the family the better. Damien is nursing some pretty deep anger as a result of Quentin’s careless actions. After all, it is Quentin’s fault their mother is dead. It is Quentin’s fault their father’s business lost half its capital. It is Quentin’s fault the family name is sullied and the subject of gossip within high society circles. Quentin’s selfish and thoughtless actions have placed a heavy burden on Damien’s shoulders: to pick up the pieces of their father’s broken heart and business. To this end, Damien sacrificed all to reclaim the Walpole legacy in the role of his father’s right-hand man. As a result, Damien learned to wear a mask: he is what others expect for a person of his position in society to be, always projecting the image of composure, wealth, and status.
Enter Amelia Gladstone. Amelia is young, compassionate, truthful, and able to see beneath the surface. For the most part she wears her heart on her sleeve and comes from very humble means. Amelia is on voyage to America to meet Mr. Chapman, the man she’s been corresponding with; the man who secured passage for her travel to America. The man, if all goes well, she intends to marry.
Tugging on Amelia’s heart while boarding the Titanic are thoughts of her mother’s abrupt disappearance many years ago. Why did her mother abandon her as a child for a life on the sea? To find freedom from the restrictions of home-bound responsibility? To secure a Captain’s love? Amelia has spent the greater part of her life longing for answers. When she runs across a servant aboard ship who has worked with her mother, Amelia just may’ve found a way to understand the past.
The message of Goyer’s novel is one of hope.
Themes of grief, shame, loss, forgiveness, self-worth and letting go are tenderly woven throughout the story in such an honest way that I found myself drawn into the character’s lives almost immediately. Each bears a wound that forms the filter through which they perceive the world around them. The Titanic’s maiden voyage offers the prospect of change. Confined to the quarters of the ship (be it the grandest ship ever), there is no place left to run or hide from the past. In this context, the characters reveal and wrestle with various pain and insecurities that live right below the surface, each finding healing in the most unexpected of places.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher via Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An entertaining, action-packed drama

Date:March 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Be prepared to be swept up in an action-packed drama while reading By the Light of the Silvery Moon. Tricia Goyer has written a book that borrows from the elements of Jesus' parable of the prodigal son, throws in a love story that will have women the world over swooning in delight, and perfectly captures the heart-breaking story of the Titanic with a new spin! The characters are unique and their stories are ones that will pull on your heart-strings. I especially felt heart-ache for the character of Quentin, who had suffered at such a young age and then made foolish decisions out of his heartache, decisions that almost cost him everything he held dear. Amelia Gladstone is an equally likeable character for her heart of mercy and her refusal to judge a person by their outer shell. We definitely need more Amelias in this world! The details surrounding the history of the Titanic are perfectly interwoven into the plot, from the excitement and wonder that surrounded the Titanic's maiden voyage, to the orchestra bravely and tragically continuing to play while the ship was sinking around them! I found the book difficult to put down, as Goyer skillfully entertains with a story that lives up to her excellent reputation as an author.
I highly recommend this story for readers who enjoy historical fiction and who are are wanting to be held captive by a love story that has a satisfying conclusion. I award this novel 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher and Litfuse Publicity Group, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for By the Light of the Silvery Moon - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

By the Light of the Silvery Moon by Tricia Goyer

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By the Light of the Silvery Moon by Tricia Goyer was a book I looked forward to reading and I wasn’t disappointed.
As we approach the 100th anniversary of the Titanic’s sinking on April 10th, I wonder what that time was like. What were the hopes and dreams of the passengers and the crew. Many of those stories are gone forever. Tricia Goyer, wrote a story of what might have been.
Although I enjoyed the story I was conflicted with wanting to put the book down and not read further and continuing reading to the end of the story. The reason? I was caring for the characters more and more and knowing what happened to the real Titanic I didn’t want to know who didn’t survive, but I did continue to the end, because I really wanted to know what would happen.
There is a strong Prodigal son theme, as well as, God’s plan of redemption within the pages of this book. Quentin Walpole is the Prodigal. His mother drowned saving him from drowning when he was 5 years old. He had been running and hiding ever since. When he became an adult, he asked his father for his inheritance and moved to London to begin a business of his own, his business did well for a time, but when competition moved in, he lost it all: his business, money, home, friends, and he lived homeless for two years.
Amelia Gladstone has a giving heart and serves God by serving others. While she and her Aunt Neda are preparing to board the Titanic, Amelia sees some of the stewards roughly taking a man off the ship. She has an extra ticket that was for her cousin, who wasn’t able to travel, so Amelia gave the ticket to Quentin.
Clarence and Damien Walpole-- Quentin’s father, and brother, are also on the ship. Clarence prays daily for his son and hopes that someday he will return home. Damien wishes his brother will never return.
I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.
** By the Light of the Silvery Moon by Tricia Goyer was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>