Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Scribner Out of the Silent Planet, Space Trilogy Series

Scribner Out of the Silent Planet, Space Trilogy Series

This book begins the adventures of the remarkable Dr. Ransom. Here, that estimable man is abducted by a megalomaniacal physicist and his accomplice and taken via spaceship to the red planet of Malacandra. The two men are in need of a human sacrifice, and Dr. Ransom would seem to fit the bill. Once on the planet, however, Ransom eludes his captors, risking his life and his chances of returning to Earth, becoming a stranger in a land that is enchanting in its difference from Earth and instructive in its similarity.
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Out of the Silent Planet, Space Trilogy Series
Review 1 for Out of the Silent Planet, Space Trilogy Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

gift

Date:June 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Location:Greenbelt MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gave as a gift. Love this trilogy by Lewis. I read this book several years ago and then again a few years ago. It is a beautiful story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Out of the Silent Planet, Space Trilogy Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book, good price, fast shipping!

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
CALaurie
Location:CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only through Chapter 2 so far, but this book is a great short term literary study for us and my daughter (14) is enjoying it immensely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Out of the Silent Planet, Space Trilogy Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Leo Dacus- Jr.
What a trip - so descriptive and wild. CS puts his pen to the SiFi directory here in this book. Even though some may think it hard to understand what he is trying to describe you will know at the end. It is deffently christian based and you will not have a hard time figuring who's who. Take a trip with CS and endulge in his SiFi adventure.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Out of the Silent Planet, Space Trilogy Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Angela Perry
Classic Lewis - might seem dated in some ways -language etc... but if you understand the historical references and theology then the combination proves why this is a timeless classic of Christian literature
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Out of the Silent Planet, Space Trilogy Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Moody
Some of CS Lewis's books are somewhat hard to "get into", but I jumped right into this one and couldn't put it down. What a great insight to the damage the 'dented one' has caused! Now I'm waiting for the other two to arive in the mail!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Out of the Silent Planet, Space Trilogy Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kevin Reeve Alexander
This book is evidence that Lewis should be considered a master, not only in professional literary work, but in amateur philosophical and theological thought. But, as in his other works, the story is not meant simply to be read as a supposed Christian allegory, although the symbolism is definitely present. The purpose of all of Lewis' fictional writings is based on his description of the writings of George MacDonald... To baptize the imagination...I can say with confidence that the reader who truly engages in this masterpiece will experience that submersion into an intense and active imagination, one that the present literary and cultural climate desperately needs to experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Out of the Silent Planet, Space Trilogy Series
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
Chrisitna
This was a wonderful book. While it wasn't packed with action it had an insightful flavor to it. Lewis weaves a world that one will be sad to leave when the book has ended. The theology in the book was enjoyable to think about. It was definitely a good buy.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Out of the Silent Planet, Space Trilogy Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
Rick Harrington
Quick, witty, and insightful. I found it a little slow in the outset, but everything comes together by the end. Lewis is masterful in challenging some of the presuppositions of modernism and of science fiction. A very short read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Out of the Silent Planet, Space Trilogy Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2005
This is a great book! It held my attention the entire time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Out of the Silent Planet, Space Trilogy Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2002
Customer Avatar
Stefan Bishop
Amazing! Definitely a must read book for anyone who's into the Sci-Fi Fantasy Genre (or for anyone who needs a good book to read). C.S. Lewis does an outstanding job of creating an intergalactic atmosphere whithout "over doing it". There is an amazing amount of wisdom that only a master mind like C.S. Lewis could think up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Out of the Silent Planet, Space Trilogy Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2001
Customer Avatar
Tom Kulp
The Space Trilogy series is Christian alegory at its best - a good vs. evil story with great Biblical truths woven into an intricate plot with vivid characters. This is not, in any way, a children's series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Out of the Silent Planet, Space Trilogy Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2001
Customer Avatar
Brandon White
C.S. Lewis was a genius! This entire trilogy is masterful. The parallels in this series to our existence are excellent. Lewis was one of the great intellectual minds of all times. The reviewer who gave this book a 0.5 displayed closed mindedness and irresponsibility by not previewing the book for her young child. Even the bible has stories that are not always appropriate for young readers. This series is for people who like to be intellectually challenged.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Out of the Silent Planet, Space Trilogy Series
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2000
Customer Avatar
Christine Williams
My 11 year old son received this book as a gift . It was actually bought through Crossings Book Club. It was 1 book of all three stories . Out of the Silent Planet , Perelandra, and That Hideous Strength . I thought it was an awful big book but my son started reading it . I assumed as did my parents , who gave the gift ,since it was written by C.S.Lewis , that it would be good . My son already read The Chronicles of Narnia series . This series of stories is different . I realized after I saw the books for sale in this Cbd catalog that they were for 8th graders and up . I thought maybe it would just have bigger and longer words and so I wasn't too worried . After getting a gut feeling to actually look through the book quickly I realized that there was swearing in this book more than once . I don't think any Christian should read it .
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.