Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gospel Light The Five Star Church: Serving God and His People with Excellence

Gospel Light The Five Star Church: Serving God and His People with Excellence

In the hotel trade, it equals excellence in efficiency and service. What are the marks of a "five star" church? Packed with practical tips, this guide will help you pursue Christian excellence by obeying the Lord's command to "honor one another above yourselves." Discover how to build a quality church where everybody feels welcome. 241 pages, softcover from Regal.
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for The Five Star Church: Serving God and His People with Excellence
Review 1 for The Five Star Church: Serving God and His People with Excellence
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Yasmin Harris
Although I haven't read the entire book as of yet, this book was recommended by a friend, who uses it for his church leadership. I will be purchasing more copies to provide to my leadership as well.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Five Star Church: Serving God and His People with Excellence
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Loretta Schofield
This book is not only good for pastors; it is a very good source for heads of auxiliaries and other ministries in the church. It is very informative and can be referred to often.An excellent read and easy to understand.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Five Star Church: Serving God and His People with Excellence
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bishop Brian Keith Hodges
This is an incredible work! I used it as the anchor text of a leadership conference I led. It was well received! It has been the standard for judging all that we do in church for GOD and for ministry. This is not joke. It is a serious, very challenging text. Your ministry will be blessed and bettered by this. If I could put this in the hand of every pastor in America it wouldn't be a thought. This is truly a great blessing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Five Star Church: Serving God and His People with Excellence
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michael
This is a great resource for Church leaders, pastors and staff. The principles are workable and will lead to improving the quality of your church. This is not about changing styles or becoming something you are not, but looking at your church and making quality changes that work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Five Star Church: Serving God and His People with Excellence
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2003
Customer Avatar
Larry L. Robertson
I think this book offers a challenge to all church leaders to rise and Become True Disciples for the cause of quality improvement within the local church. I have been greatly encouraged and made to consider what I do in an entirely different context of service to Christ and His church.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Five Star Church: Serving God and His People with Excellence
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2002
Customer Avatar
Lee
I kept checking the cover to see if I wasn't reading a business manual. Then I found myself wondering if the early church was as concerned with reviewing itself after every service to see what they could do better. While I agree in theory that we should do our best for God, this book struck me as too analytical and compromising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Five Star Church: Serving God and His People with Excellence
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2001
Customer Avatar
Stuart
Who wouldn't argue with the premise? The idea is solid, but the book is weak. The ficitional story that guides the reader through each chapter is just plain hokey. The other information in the chapters is fine, but nothing that couldn't be gleaned from good leadership journals or textbooks.The absence if real-life examples is noticable. More than the token few would have gone far in making the book accomplish its purpose.Go to a bookstore. Pick up the book. Read the covers and jackets. Read the introduction. Think about ways you can apply the ideas of quality and excellence to your local setting. Then walk away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Five Star Church: Serving God and His People with Excellence
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2001
Customer Avatar
Krista Coryell
As a member of the congregation that Pastor Toler is teaching, the Five Star concept is real and it works!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.