Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Piano For Life Piano for Quitters, DVD

Piano For Life Piano for Quitters, DVD

Millions have taken piano lessons and quit! The culprit is rigid teaching methods that make students wait months, even years, before they truly make music. With the no-technical teachings of Piano for Quitters you'll make music in minutes! Offering clear demonstrations, Mark Almond's holistic approach is based on chords and harmony---not reading notes. These lessons are designed for beginning students as well as those who would like to be less dependent on note reading. Approx. 90 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Piano for Quitters, DVD
Review 1 for Piano for Quitters, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Piano is fun again.

Date:November 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Thomas
Location:Kansas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Playing the piano years after my last lesson is made easier with "Piano for Quitters." Chording and harmonizing is a much more enjoyable way than all the theory books of years past. Mark Almond's teaching methods work! I'm having fun again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Piano for Quitters, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marney
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This DVD was exactly what I needed. Very helpful. You need only an elementary knowledge of music. I have recommended it to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Piano for Quitters, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
loves2read
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have not touched a piano since high school. I wanted to re-learn and was very impressed with this dvd program. I am playing music once again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Piano for Quitters, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
joseph ciminera
I received piano for quiters and piano for life about a mounth ago. The picture and sound is great,however the two dvds ARE NOT for beginers. I felt completely lost, even after viewing it many times.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Piano for Quitters, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen
We love both series. We have two children 10 and 8 and they have amazed us with how well they've progressed with these DVDs. They have been fighting over who can use the Keyboard at any given time, so we've had to make a schedule. They love to put on concerts for the family. We haven't reached the note reading section (Piano for Life Ch19) yet, but they often pull out their recorder books and use the techniques they've learned to "flesh out" songs contained there. I've gone through the note reading sections and fill that they will be more than adequate when taken in small bite sized chunks until different sections of the staff are mastered.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Piano for Quitters, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kenneth Passno
This has proven to be an excellent way to quickly and easily get back to the piano with immediate results. How encouraging to be able to make music right away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Piano for Quitters, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Juanita Mccune
Good DVD with lots of chords to learn. Was dispappointed though that the case was damaged, but the received the DVD in good condition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Piano for Quitters, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
MrsJeffS
We love this program. I only had 3 yrs. of piano and never understood chords until viewing this product. Our oldest has taken off with it. Our middle child is improving; however, I know I need to reteach the note names to her. The company is very friendly on the phone, returns messages quickly, and truly cares about the succes of our family's playing. Kudos and God bless you for helping me overcome the comprehending chord hurdle!:)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Piano for Quitters, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Trina Winters
I have three children that are using this program. Prior to getting a music book, we went through the first few lessons and spent a couple of weeks learning where the notes were located on the keyboard. After mastering that we learned where the chords were located. I made sure they understood these concepts before moving on. One of them is musically talented (plays clarinet & flute already)and took to it easily. I bought a chord book and she was able to play from it that day! My second daughter struggled with formal piano lessons, then we tried the snare drum in band, then we tried the clarinet in band. They all were frustrating for her and me! She went through the same procedure as my older daughter though it took her a little longer. After about two days in the chord book, she was playing a song from one of her favorite musicals! I am amazed at her ability and moreover she is too!!! My youngest child spent a few months learning the trombone in band. He took the longest to move through the lessons, but he too is now playing music from a chord book! My kids & I actually understand the concept of playing melodies and using chords to produce harmony. They are making beautiful music and my home is being blessed because of it. I have never played piano before, but I have every confidence that I can do it too! As if that weren't good enough, I LOVE the fact that Mr. Almond is available to answer questions. When we get stuck in a piece, we can call him and get clarity on what we're supposed to be doing! This program is amazing!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Piano for Quitters, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Swanson
I'm a Piano Teacher. I think "Piano for Quitters" could inspire people who have quit, to give the Piano a second chance. Also provide a lot of good ideas, improvising with chords for the active piano student, both can get additional help from their Piano Teacher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Piano for Quitters, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Teodora M. Casiano
Not a very good tool to learn how to play the piano. If you're a beginner; this is not the product for you.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Piano for Quitters, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kelly Hostetter
With Piano for Quitters you learn the secrets to unlocking the mystery of piano and you're loose to explore and create with the first bit of knowledge. I love this program! I rated it half a star short of five because the materials came to an inevitable end, forcing me to wait in breathless anticipation for the continuation of the tools shared in this first series. There is liberty in this teaching, and I thank God for it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Piano for Quitters, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Julie Sutton
I'm a home school teacher and a singer/songwriter. Guitar is my first instrument, but I took piano lessons when I was 13. I have always regretted not sticking with it, especially now that I often use the piano to compose. I was delighted to discover this program! I'm using it to teach my 13-year-old son. I've ordered the "Piano for Life" series and can hardly wait to continue what we've started.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Piano for Quitters, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lorna Forgus
This is an excellent resource for any church music group,but how sad that the video's and DVD's can only be played in the format for the USA/CanadaHope you will do something about this.God blessLorna
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Piano for Quitters, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2005
Customer Avatar
Brooke
"My seven year old son wanted to learn piano, so I bought a traditional piano course--he ended up in tears. I was praying for a way to teach him which wouldn't destroy his passion and creativity, or steal his joy of learning. While walking through the library, the title "Piano for Quitters" caught my eye. Within days, my son was writing beautiful chord progressions and asking for "music practice" to be added to his daily work chart so he could play the piano before his other jobs were done. Our whole family is now learning to play the piano and loving it! I am a former piano quitter--I managed to survive one year of traditional piano lessons, but with this course, I am learning to play beautiful music along with my children and husband."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.