Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Master Books SAT - eBook

Master Books SAT - eBook

This comprehensive resource contains the knowledge, tools,and encouragement the Christian student needs to pass the SATexam. The special section focuses on prep skills to eliminate examjitters, as well as dozens of essay examples to review so students canachieve better scores. The development of disciplined study skills isessential to passing, as well as thriving in the college environment.Along with helping the Christian student prepare for college, this vitalcurriculum also inspires the student to glorify the Lord in college.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SAT - eBook
Review 1 for SAT - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic! A must-read for every student!

Date:September 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Meg Verity
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is your child hoping to attend college in the near future? Do you want to make sure he is prepared to write his SAT or ACT test? Do you also want to shore up your child’s Christian faith before he pursues higher learning? If so, then look no further than James P. Stobaugh’s SAT or ACT & College Preparation Course for the Christian Student.
In the SAT or ACT & College Preparation Course for the Christian Student, James P. Stobaugh has written a comprehensive program for mastering the SAT or ACT in the context of developing one’s spiritual maturity. Although the books include practice in each of the necessary skills required for mastering the specific test, the focus of each guide is on working hard to grow one’s faith with the aim of becoming one of the next generation’s godly leaders. As such, the books are as much about one’s spiritual journey as they are about getting into college.
Each book is very similar in content, although they do also have their differences. Both include information about their specific test as well as a sample test day schedule, a free download for helping hone essay-writing skills, and instructions on how to use the particular guide. Both also emphasize the importance of actively reading challenging literary works as the best possible preparation for writing the tests. Interestingly, Stobaugh states that he has “found that the best SAT scores come from students who have serious, disciplined prayer and devotional lives.” Although this seems paradoxical, this is something I can attest to from personal experience.
Since each book is geared toward a different test, each contains a different amount of lessons: 150 for the SAT and 50 for the ACT. The SAT guide is intended to be used over the course of one, two, or three years. The ACT guide is intended to be used over ten weeks or 50 days, preferably in grade 11. The SAT takes more time to prepare for because it is an aptitude rather than a knowledge-based test.
The lessons in each book are similar in content, although they are laid out differently. Both include daily devotions and scripture passages, with a sample devotional journal to help students focus their time. Lessons also include vocabulary development, a reading journal for studying great literature, test-taking tips, and practice questions on math, grammar, vocabulary, critical thinking and reading. The ACT also includes science questions since science is a component of the ACT test. Attention is paid to essay-writing skills in both volumes. Answers are included for all questions.
The Appendices include vocabulary helps, a book list for each grade, a reading journal sample, and a devotional journal sample. The ACT guide finishes with indexes for Greek and Latin morphemes. The SAT guide includes suggested scriptures for prayer time (presented in the ACT guide as prayer points), test-taking strategies, a list of resources for developing critical thinking, information on the college admission process, an essay on the rise of secular universities, a sample transcript, and 50 sample college admission essays.
I cannot speak highly enough of these guides. Not only do they prepare students for acing their college entrance tests, but they also help students focus on what is really important in life. Students will consider what is true, honest, just, pure, lovely, virtuous, and praiseworthy (Philippians 4:8) while also getting ample practice in the skills needed to succeed on their test. Furthermore, if your student has already mastered the art of essay writing, each volume could easily be used as the spine for credits in Bible, English Literature, and English Composition. I have not used these guides as of yet with my students, but I fully intend to do so before they graduate high school. In fact, I can’t wait until we can get started!
These books were provided free, for review purposes, from Master Books. All opinions stated in this review are my own, and I was not required to post a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SAT - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prepare your student for the SAT

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are two basic ways to prepare for college entrance exams. One way is to study the test and take multiple practice tests while memorizing a vocabulary list. That is the most common way. While this may help some students it can also do more harm than good and even lower test score results in the long run. I know. Our family has tried this method in the past and even with the use of testing software the results were disappointing.
Another, far better way is to actually teach the student the material that is used to make up the test in the first place. Enter the ACT & SAT College Preparation Courses for the Christian Student by James Stobaugh. Both of these books are COMPLETE courses of study that are in a devotional format and literature based. I believe that home school parents will find these courses to be a very valuable help in directing their students toward preparing for the SAT & ACT exams. Let’s examine them more closely.
The ACT & College Preparation Course for the Christian Student is a large 332 page soft cover volume that consists of fifty lessons to prepare a student for the test. In the introduction, you will find out exactly what to expect from the ACT test and be able to choose from a ten week plan or 50 day plan to complete the lessons and prepare for the test. Each lesson begins with a scripture and prayer points. There is also a short passage to read and study. The lessons contain vocabulary, math, reading and English components as well as writing and science. There are answer keys in the back of the book and you can download a free essay workbook to use along with the course.
The SAT & College Preparation Course for the Christian Student is a 425 page soft cover book that consists of four different components: A daily devotion, reading and vocabulary exercises, math and verbal exercises and test taking strategies. The introduction answers common questions and has a handy chart to help in plotting the course as a three, two, or one year plan in completing the fifty lessons. The book also includes sample essays and a downloadable workbook to be used along with it. There is great emphasis on critical thinking and essay writing as well as a comprehensive reading list in the back of the book.
I find both of these courses to be wonderful resources and think that they would be beneficial even if your student is not planning to attend college at all. After completing either or both of these books, your student will have a solid background in literature and vocabulary as well as learn essential writing skills that will benefit him throughout life. He will also have spent a great deal of time in scripture reading and prayer which will help greatly in the test preparation process.
One word of caution—while I recommend these books highly, I must also state that the parent must be aware of the fact that these are very intense and structured courses and may not be a good fit for all students. I only say that because some students do not do as well with a course that requires a lot of writing and might find it difficult to adhere to such a rigorous course of study. The parent and student will have to make that determination together. That being said, I would highly recommend these books for all homeschoolers who intend to make college the next step in their academic careers. They will give a solid foundation in preparing for college level materials and serve the student well.
I received this complimentary copy from New Leaf Press for this review. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SAT - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alyssa Liljequist
Age:18-24
The title is a mouthful. But it's nice that James P. Stobaugh has taken the time to write a SAT and college prep book for Christians.
On the front cover, it lists three of the benefits students receive from reading it:
~Test-taking insights and strategies
~Timely tips for thriving academically
~50+ sample essays sharpen your skills
My SAT prep books are old so I was excited to get the chance to review a new edition! I think this is a unique resource for students preparing for the SAT. This book is not the same as The Princeton Review or Kaplan books which include sample tests and focus on the "right" way to take/crack the SAT. Academically, those are probably more helpful and to-the-point. This is especially so for someone like me who waited until after highschool to start studying for the SAT. Don't make my mistake. Start studying ASAP! There is a 3-Year Plan (for those starting in 9th grade-recommended), a 2-Year Plan, and a 1-Year Plan. I've been going at my own pace and mixing this book with other SAT prep books.
In the Appendices, there are vocabulary helps, recommended reading lists, a reading journal, a prayer devotional journal, possible target Scriptures, and test-taking strategies. Then there are the fifty sample college admission essays that you can peruse. This book is written from a Christian worldview with an emphasis on the spiritual side of things. It begins each day with a Bible passage and the author's observations (whether he relates it to a personal or historical incident or literature, etc.) I was surprised that the recommended reading lists didn't have more Christian books on them. This book reinforces the importance of reading a lot but since I grew up an avid reader, it didn't apply much to me. I need serious help in math and there are math problems sprinkled throughout the lessons...I've mainly used the book for these. I like that the answers in the back of the book come with an explanation.
In the end, I feel that this book will help some students more than others. It's worth a look!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SAT - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Very Helpful Resource

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Designed for the Christian Homeschool student this course is strives to prepare young minds for the SAT test. As I have not taken the SAT yet myself, I a ton of questions, that were answered with this book. Also there are a ton of study and day-of-the-test-ideas, that I found helpful, and informative.
I should tell you though, that this book is not just a book, it's a full course, designed to help prepare one for the test. There are 150 exercises that take about less then ten minutes a day, that review basic Algebra, Geometry, Vocabulary, and Problem Solving Skills. There is an essay practice section that shows examples of the tops scored essays, so you have an idea of what is expected. Also all through the book there were these little side notes, that gave everything from tips on how to take notes properly, and how to take certain parts of the test, to how you should schedule the day of your SAT. There is also a daily devotional, and suggested Bible reading plan! There is just so much in this helpful book that I fear I am not doing it justice! I learned so much about the test and how to take it from this course, though only time will tell if it pays off :D
Not to mention the fact that the appendix is amazing! There are lists of recommended reading, meant to challenge the mind and grow the volcabulary of the student naturally. This course can be started as early as 9th grade.
So far I have enjoyed this course and I find it challenging, yet not overwhelming because of the short lessons. I haven't taken the SAT yet, but as a person who hasn't yet taken the SAT, but is taking this course, I highly recommend this book.
Final Rating: 5 out of 5
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SAT - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Prep for Starters

Date:October 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
BlossomB
Location:OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SAT…. scary word! Well, acronym but scary nonetheless! I did not take the SAT when I was in high school. I did take the PSAT my 10th grade year and it went just fine (I had no idea what it even was!) but for some reason “SAT” was something that I never wanted to do. I also was not anticipating going to college when I was in high school so the SATs really didn’t matter to me.
I have kids now and they do plan to go to college. My oldest is just now in 9th grade but she has already been looking into colleges. To me that means SATs are going to be taken! I was sent this book, SAT & College Preparation Courses for the Christian Student from New Leaf Publishing in exchange for an honest review.
The book aspires to:
Help build disciplined study skills
Develop an extensive vocabulary
Encourage in the development of writing skills
Provide practice for essay writing
Enhance critical thinking skills for both verbal and math problems through advanced reading selections
Answer general questions pertaining to the PSAT, SAT, and NMSQT tests
And it includes a free downloadable workbook at the publisher’s website. Also in the book are test-taking suggestions, tips for academic success, and over 50 sample essays to help sharpen essay writing skills.
The first 250 or so pages are the lessons. This is followed by the answers and solutions to the lessons. The next 35 pages are the Appendices (Vocabulary Helps, Book List, Reading Journal, Devotional Journal, Target Scriptures, Test-taking Strategies, Critical Thinking Skills). At the end of the book is a sample high school transcript.
I was very surprised when I received the book. I know it says “for Christian students” but it didn’t click with me that there would be so many scriptures throughout the book. Every single lesson has a verse and devotion. This is set up to be done either in 3 years, 2 years, or if preferred, 1 year. It is suggested that the senior year be devoted to college admissions.
I really like the reading suggestions in the back of the book. They are separated by grade (freshman/sophomore, junior and senior) but many of the books listed *I’ve* never read. Some my kids have both already read.
I believe this will be a book that will be a great benefit to both of my children as they prepare for not only the SATs for college but also for critical thinking that will help them in every day life. I received this book from New Leaf Publishing in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SAT - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christian SAT prep!

Date:September 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisa K
Location:Ctrl, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know that my 8th grader will need to begin studying for the SAT test next year. But I thought any old review book will do, right?
I mean, they are all the same, right?
WRONG!
Eliminate test anxiety with proven strategies and effective skill development in the SAT & College Preparation Course for the Christian Student. Easily integrated into your student's busy life, the course is designed to help students prepare for the SAT by doing a few lessons per week rather than a massive "cram" weeks before the exam, all the while encouraging them to grow in the Lord. This new enhanced edition also includes a bonus book to help with college admission essays! This specialized course for the Christian student offers:
* Helps in building disciplined study skills
* Development of an extensive vocabulary
* Encouragement in the development of writing skills
* Opportunities for writing practice essay
* Advanced reading selections to enhance critical thinking skills for both verbal & math problems
* Answers to general questions about the PSAT, SAT and NMSQT tests.
Rather than approaching the SAT challenge with the goal of just "outsmarting" the test, the SAT & College Preparation Course for the Christian Student helps develop and reinforce godly character that will hopefully follow the student and lead to success in college and life! It's not a quick fix, but investing in SAT preparation over a length of time will ensure your student the best chance to achieve their highest SAT scores, and give vital tools for thriving in secular school environments.
So, rather than just preparing your child to score high, SAT & College Preparation Course for the Christian Student is valuable in preparing them for their life's journey.
"Why should a Christian student prepare for the SAT I any differently than a non-believer? SAT preparation must be understood in the context of our spiritual journey. In 2 Timothy 2, Paul urges the young pastor Timothy to study hard and to do his work as if he were working for the Lord. So must we do all that God calls us to do with all the strength, vitality, and courage we can. This book challenges you to work hard and to study to show yourself approved of the Lord."
In addition to the actual study materials (150 lessons in all), this book also contains practical helps such as: vocabulary helps, test-taking strategies, dealing with stress and jitters and transcript helps all sprinkled liberally with scripture. There's an interesting section of the Rise of the Secular University and a very useful "50 Examples of College Admission Essays".
One aspect of this book that I really appreciate is a clear and easy to follow schedule to help your students whether they are beginning to study in the 9th, 10th or 11th grade.
Easy days' lesson starts with scripture, followed by a life's application that includes thoughtful questions to be answered by the student in their devotional journal.
Reading is emphasized as the best way to build vocabulary. A list of recommended books are included and it is recommended that the student read at least 1 book a week. Their vocabulary cards will be obtained from this reading.
Followed by a mix of: grammar, define a word, math problems, critical reading comprehension, essay, sentence completion, and comparisons to name a few.
After reviewing this book, I can now honestly say that this is one book I would not be without for use with my college-bound highschooler. We will definitely be using this goldmine next year!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SAT - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting angle on SAT prep

Date:September 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
SC2424
Location:Vermont
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SAT & College Preparation Course for the Christian Student is a book I just received from Master Books for the purpose of this review. I do not yet have high school aged children, yet I was curious to take a look at it from a homeschooling perspective. I found this book to be a very thorough and long-term course for preparing to take the SAT. It lays out a schedule for using the book in 9th, 10th, and 11th grades, on a 3-year schedule. There are alternate schedules for use if only using for two or one years as well.
The daily lessons include a devotion, vocabulary exercises, reading, problem solving, math problems, essay questions, critical thinking. . .done on a daily basis to introduce material, but more importantly to get the student used to working with these kinds of problems and thinking along these lines.
This book was so different than what I have seen before as far as SAT-prep books go. It is a longer-term, much less intense preparation, and the devotion and devotional journal sections seem to focus the student on the Lord, and serve as a reminder of His part in all of this. The book also includes such helpful things as test-taking strategies, what to do the actual day of the test, book list, and much more. I will certainly be keeping this book for when my children enter high school.
I’m not honestly sure how “academically” prepared this book will help a student become, but I do see how going through it would calm his/her spirit regarding taking the actual test. I would certainly recommend this book. It will be a helpful addition to our homeschool life, and it is definitely a great resource for students in traditional school as well!
I received a free copy of this book from Master Books publisher in exchange for my honest review of it. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SAT - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Preparation Tool

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debs
Location:Brandon, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to using this magnificent tool by James Stobaugh. I can definitely see how his step by step guidance can and will boost the student’s confidence when it comes to taking the SAT.
James not only lays out a one, two and three year plan but he breaks it down into weekly and daily lessons as well. Some of his resources include, but are not limited to, a book list, critical thinking skills, a reproducible reading journal, examples of college admission essays and my personal favorite, a daily devotion. He also provides a free workbook for the CollegeBoard SAT I Essay which you can get by visiting the website listed in his book to help you practice your essay skills.
Another highlight that really caught my attention is his plan for the SAT Day. Yes, he even has a plan laid out for the parents and the student for the actual test day. James puts a lot of emphasis on the importance of praying our children through this time in their lives and he keeps that at the forefront of the entire process.
One last thing that deserves attention is how James addresses the issue of the secular university. This is an area that concerned me the most when I found out that our oldest son wants to attend college. I love how the author took a considerable amount of time to discuss in detail about how to thrive in Babylon without becoming Babylonian.
I would absolutely recommend this book to the Christian student in preparation for college and taking the SAT.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SAT - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much, Much More Than Just Another SAT Prep Book

Date:August 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
learningtable
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SAT and College Preparation Course for the Christian Student by James P. Stobaugh is a complete high school course to prepare students for the SAT. Included in this text are: Helps in building disciplined study skills, Development of an extensive vocabulary, Encouragement in the development of writing skills, Opportunities for writing practice essays, Advanced reading selections to enhance critical thinking skills for both verbal and math problems, and Answers to general questions about the PSAT, SAT, and NMSQT tests. Rather than being a "cram" crash-course, this book will lead students through a year or more of SAT preparation with a focus on building Godly character.
The recommended way to use this text is to incorporate the 150 lessons into a three-year high school course of SAT preparation beginning in ninth grade, but the course can also be used for a two- (beginning in 10th grade) or even one-year course (for juniors.) Each lesson involves a daily devotion, reading and vocabulary exercises, math and verbal exercises, and test taking strategies. Students will keep a reading journal, create vocabulary cards, practice test-taking techniques, keep a devotional journal, and write 300-400 word essays. Although SAT and College Preparation Course for the Christian Student is a literature based program, there is enough math and critical thinking included to make this a truly comprehensive SAT preparation course.
The appendix includes a suggested book list for high school students, test-taking tips, resources for developing critical thinking skills, tips for writing (and samples of) college admission essays, and sample home education high school transcripts.
As the homeschool mom to an 8th-grader this year, this book has already proved to be a great resource for me in beginning to plan his high school course work. The author has done a thorough job with this book, and I appreciate all the extras it has to offer. I will cater my son's reading list to include many of the suggested resources mentioned in this book, and as the author also explains the value in learning a classical language in high school, we will be looking into options for studying Latin. I will use this book with my son beginning in ninth grade for an elective course and following the suggested three year schedule.
Highly recommended!
{The publisher has provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.}
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SAT - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Time For Those SATs

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
michorose
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My children won't need to use this book any time soon, but what a great addition to our library. I do have friends who have children preparing to take their SATs this school year, which is why I requested the book. Many moms in the homeschool group I'm a part of might also be interested in hearing about this book. SAT & College Preparation Course for the Christian Student is designed so that the student can do a few lessons a week instead of having cram sessions weeks before. Integrated into to these lessons are scriptures and devotionals to encourage them to grow in Christ.
THIS IS WHAT THE BOOK SAYS:
This book for Christian students offers:
*Helps in building study skills
*Development of an extensive vocabulary
*Encouragement in the development of writing skills
*Opportunities for writing practice essays
This book will "help develop and reinforce godly character that will hopefully follow the student and lead to success in college and in life."
I think this looks more like a book for someone who's maybe a freshman or sophomore who might be preparing early on. It says there are 4 components of this course: 1) A daily devotion, 2) Reading & vocabulary exercises, 3) Math & verbal exercises, and 4) test taking strategies. Don't rely on this book alone for your SAT preparation. It's great for the soul though. The book gives you a little schedule of what your child can do on test day as well. It is a little heads up on what you can expect to happen that day although times will vary. I would probably not buy this book, but I also don't have children in high school. I will let a student borrow it and see what they think. You can find this book on Amazon.com for a steal at less than $20!
I received this book for free from Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishers, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SAT - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting Approach to SAT Preparation

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
dlhomeschool
Location:Wyoming
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The 150 lessons in this course include:
-devotion/journal
-reading and vocabulary exercises
-math and verbal exercises
-critical reading and thinking exercises
-test taking strategies
Samples are available at New Leaf Publishing website and a bonus workbook is also available to download.
This is an interesting approach to SAT preparation ~ prepare the heart and the mind for test taking success. The lessons begin with a Scripture verse, a short, interesting reading that ties in the verse and gives the student a question to think about, and a 30 minute devotional time that focuses on Scripture and discipline (focus, silence, meditating in Scripture and prayer). I love how practical this part is, that target Scriptures are given, and that the 30 minutes is broken down into practical minute by minute suggestions. Then, reading selections are given and they can easily be adjusted to tie into your literature curriculum (which is what we will do). The vocabulary exercises have the student write down words they do not know on 3x5 cards and suggestions are given beginning in lesson 3, but are not included in every lesson ~ the student should be reviewing or adding words they do not know on their own (I would have liked to have seen a more focused vocabulary program). The critical reading/thinking exercises and math/verbal exercises that follow are excellent and doable and the answers are included in the back of the book. Test taking strategies and tips for active reading are given throughout the book. This is valuable information for anyone who is planning to take the SAT test. Most of all, I love that this book tells the student that the test is a measure of their potential success in college and not a measure of their worth in Father's eyes.
Disclosure: I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.