Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess - eBook

B&H Books 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess - eBook

Disturbed by her family's comfortableness with American excess, Jen Hatmaker writes in 7 about their unique social and spiritual decision to live by a rule of seven - reducing material possessions and distractions in seven areas (food, clothes, spending, media, possessions, waste, and stress) in order to connect with a greatly increased God. eBook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess - eBook
Review 1 for 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Read

Date:June 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Boymom
Location:Saskatchewan, CANADA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is incredible! Jen Hatmaker can go from deeply spiritual, make you want to cry out to Jesus, to hilariously sarcastic in about 2 seconds. She is so real that you can totally relate to her. Reading this book has inspired to live my life more like Christ, and to really look at my life and ask myself some tough questions. I will never be the same. Seriously life-changing. I have already shared this book with at least 6 people- I want everyone to read it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Completely Enjoyed "7"

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Baby Boomer Pat
Location:Lincoln, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love "page turners" and this book definitely did not disappoint. I have already passed it on to a friend...to keep the message of "excess" going. I didn't know how Jen Hatmaker's book would relate to me, a Baby Boomer...but the message is loud and clear,
and loved the mental challenge of limiting my life to connect with my fellow planet dwellers in a different way. I laughed. I was challenged. I learned more about God...and myself. And was given a renewed appreciation of the girlfriends God has gifted me! I want to do the Bible Study with them soon.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommend

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Momof4
Location:Eden Prairie, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is flat-out fabulous. Jen hits on amazing biblical truths and is convincing without guilt, revealing where our true priorities lie. With humor, sharp wit, and God's grace woven throughout, it had me bawling and rolling laughing, moments apart. This book has messed with me in the most wonderful way, instantly rising to the top of my list of most-beloved books. It is a must read.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific book!

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
4given
Location:South Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written with humor and honesty, the author shares her journey away from the materialism and excesses that so many of us take for granted and accept as part of our lives and into the presence of a God who truly loves us and wants us to have more than just "stuff." I laughed out loud in parts, but make no mistake, this is not a comedic work. 7 makes me want to get off the consumer treadmill to find peace in a strengthened relationship with God.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow

Date:May 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
lleek
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Totally makes you rethink LOTS of stuff you just do everyday. Has made a household change here!! Writer is pretty expressive and there are things i don't agree with or do myself, BUT hey....that's her business. i very much recommend this book and talked about it for weeks. gets the wheels of the mind turning thats for sure.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Charming C
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a fun book to read. Worth the money spent, glad it was avaiable through Christian Books.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"7" is a fun and easy read, and life changing!

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pamela
Location:Menomonee Falls, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jen's writing style is so enjoyable to read. Jen is real and transparent, I feel I know her after reading her book! Sometimes as Christians we think everyone else has it all together and we're the only one struggling. Jen tells it like it is and shares her shortcomings. Jen's humor and honesty are so refreshing. This book gives you everyday things you can do to serve God by helping others, making it a "way of life" not just a special project. "7" convinced me that less truly is more!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rock your world good!

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Randi
Location:Fowler, KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jen Hatmaker writes like your best friend. Reading this book felt more like a conversation in a coffee shop than a book about fasting. Her humor and honesty puts you at ease, then the spiritual context hits you between the eyes.
I have recommended this book to friends, book clubs and strangers. It puts fasting into a modern perspective without the guilt factor that I was expecting.
Go buy this book. But be careful, it just might rock your world.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This shows how the author put"James" into practice

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lorie
Location:Mount Airy, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I happen to be doing the Beth Moore study on James at the same time I received 7. This is a perfect example of how one person, Jen Hatmaker, began "doing" what the book of James calls us to be doing: taking care of the orphan and widow as well as loving our neighbor as ourselves. With humor and wit, she tells how she applied these principles over seven months. Whether you choose to do it the same way is up to you but it certainly gets the reader thinking about what it means to not just hear the word but do what it says.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Funny

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
NDgal
Location:North Dakota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book wasn't what I had expected, but was way better. It is more of a journal of what Jen Hatmaker went through during her 7 experiment, than a how to book. It is full of her humor and jokes. I found it funny and amusing. There are references to TV, Websites, and other things that are very personal preferences. More like talking to a good friend about their life, and how the Lord has affected them. Great read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not at all what I expected

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gram
Location:Traverse City, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The content is not at all what I expected. Poor choice on my part. Could not recommend to anyone.
-10points
3of 16voted this as helpful.