Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Esi Distribution Ltd. Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Esi Distribution Ltd. Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD

Imaginative Anne Shirley is sent to Grout Orphanage owned by sinister Madame Poubelle; where Anne's wild imagination and storytelling antics land her in big trouble. Luckily she escapes to the pastoral world of Green Gables, where she is adopted by the elderly couple Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert. Finding friends and acceptance for the first time in her life, all of Anne's dreams come true. However the evil Poubelle is determined to have Anne in her clutches. A vanishing heirloom, blundered disguises and a hot air balloon ride provide a climax to a charming new version of the traditional classic. Running time is approximately 85 minutes. Recommended for ages 5 to 9. Includes special Behind the Scenes with Cast and Crew.
Average Customer Rating:
3.636 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
7
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD
Review 1 for Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My kids loved it!

Date:November 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Steph
Location:Maine
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We like the Anne of Green Gable books and the movies. My 2 1/2 year old liked this better then the older kids but we all still enjoyed it. It is a different from the books or the movies but still cute in its' own way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Raymond Milford
Awesome product...fast shipment...Has a great message!!! My kids loved it, they sing and talk like Anne...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
K. Post
This is not a "charming" version of the traditional classic but it is definitely new! I wish I had previewed it before showing to my grandchildren - I was very disappointed by it and quite upset. When a story is so good and enjoyable that it is a classic for years and years, why does it need to be changed with so much meanness and negative action and then be directed towards young children? I am with the other reviewers who are returning this or throwing it out. This is not fit for a home where children are being raised to follow Christ. Although there were parts where you could see the original "Anne", this is truly not a version of her story in the spirit of Lucy Maud Montgomery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2010
Used to watch the show on tv so when I saw the movie I bought it for my daughter. She's 2 and will sit through the whole thing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carrie King
LOVE this animated Anne of Green Gables movie. I have two girls, age 6 and age 4, and they both love this movie so much. I highly recommend this DVD to your little ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lily K.
I enjoyed watching this movie with my son. This was our first purchase from this collection. I will definitely purchase more in the future. I like how the story was simple and easy for the kids to understand, love the graphics of the movie. Very good deal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Crystal Henderson
My 8-year-old granddaughter really enjoyed this DVD She has already seen the actual movie so really enjoyed the animated version.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda Vogel
Great bargain! I bought this movie and watched it with two of my grandchildren ages 4 and 6. We enjoyed it so much that I ordered the 2nd movie in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Kramer
it was wonderful to introduce my children to a fun animated version of one of my favorite movies! well done
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joy Green
The kids really liked this movies. It kept their interest. The story line was interesting and fun for them. Ages 5-10
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa Gibson
We were very happy with this show! I always loved anne of green gables as a child and now that it is avalible in cartoon my 4 year old girls love ot too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Terry Dyer
A Great classic in animation form makes this a very interesting and engaging film for children. It has plenty of adventure, times of adversity, sad times, and times of rejoicing. Children are captivated and moved as they gain insight into some key principles of life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Milton Warren
When my daughter was born, I read to her the story of Anne of Green Gables because we named her Ann. My daughter is a lot like Anne Shirley - adventurous and curious. This video was a delight. Even my 5 year old son watched it because there was excitement in it. A very good family movie. I am waiting for the other Anne videos to be available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donna Weston
This was a great movie. My three grandchildren ages 4 to 7 liked it a lot. One of them didn't like the mean lady but liked the rest of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Matt Stepanian
My 7yo daughter enjoys these videoes after having heard the audiobooks. No, the video stories don't really follow the books, but they are still cute.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jocelyn Reimer
I only watched the first 10 min. I thought the demon-like creatures and the devils face was awful to show young children. The lady in charge of the orphanage was also very evil looking and came across excessively cruel. I threw out all 3 copies I had ordered.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karyn Thompson
This movie is NOT true to the book or the real story. I don't know why they thought they could make it better since "Anne Of Green Gables" is a timely classic, but they really destroyed the story. If you like dorky little disney movies and haven't read the book - you'll like this. But if you are a fan of "Anne" - you won't like this. My kids all hated it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
April Sanders
Once again such a great price for such a beloved animated classic. My girls love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
WW
Was not like I expected. Some scarry parts and real different from the movies. I was looking for the sweet type of movie classic like the Anne not annimated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Anne: Journey to Green Gables (Animated), DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amy
This is a great movie and my girls love it! The beginning was a little scary for my 3 year old though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>