Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Love Blooms in Winter - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Love Blooms in Winter - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Blooms in Winter - eBook
Review 1 for Love Blooms in Winter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good fun. God has a plan fo our lives.

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Margot
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was the first book I've read by Lori Copeland, and it certainly wont be my last. She packs humor, romance and faith walk lessons all into an amazing story and keeps you reading till the end. Mae Wilkey is a devoted sister to special needs brother Jeremy; a devoted neighbor to 90 plus year old Pauline, who is not always in full command of her faculties; and a devoted girlfriend of 6 years to Jake. That is until Tom comes to town! She thinks he's related to Pauline. He doesn't remember having an aunt. Add to all this a town full of unusual characters, a pack of stray dogs and cats, a tomboy pig farmer with a pet elephant and you've got the makings for a colorful, fun story, with its fair share of crises, drama and romance. A great book, thanks Lori.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Blooms in Winter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Catherine Coile
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good read......would loan it out to friends to read on a lazy afternoon.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Blooms in Winter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A New Series from Lori Copeland, Yea!

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love Blooms in Winter
Lori Copeland
A romantic new book from bestselling author Lori Copeland that portrays God’s miraculous provision even when none seems possible.
1892—Mae Wilkey’s sweet next-door neighbor, Pauline, is suffering from old age and dementia and desperately needs family to come help her. But Pauline can’t recall having kin remaining. Mae searches through her desk and finds a name—Tom Curtis, who may just be the answer to their prayers.
Tom can’t remember an old aunt named Pauline, but if she thinks he’s a long-lost nephew, he very well may be. After two desperate letters from Mae, he decides to pay a visit. An engagement, a runaway train, and a town of quirky, loveable people make for more of an adventure than Tom is expecting. But it is amazing what can bloom in winter when God is in charge of things.
Lori Copeland is one of my favorite authors. This was a fun ride and the story was entertaining from beginning to end. The characters were likeable and enjoyable that I did not want to see the book end. I am looking forward to more books in this series. I am so glad that Lori Copeland is writing a new series.
I would like to thank Net Galley and Harvest House Publishing, Inc. for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Blooms in Winter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Romance with a smile not far behind

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Filled with vibrant characters, and plenty of chuckles, Love Blooms in Winter is a delightful novel. I found myself smiling ear-to-ear, throughout most of the story. The pages turned steadily and I enjoyed getting to know all the colorful citizens in the town of Dwaldo.
One of my favorite characters was Pauline Wilson, a spry ninety-two-year-old lady. She had her momentary lapses of memory, but her wits were always sharp :) And she was always saying things outright, and honestly. Another of my favorite characters was Lil, a straight forward hog farmer with a pet elephant!
There are tons of animals and humorous mishaps, that are sure to make you chuckle. Surprisingly, this is the first book I have ever read by Ms. Copeland, but it will most certainly not be my last!
Overall, I enjoyed this book so much. I read it while on a 16 hr. trip and let me say that this book really helped the miles fly by :) I would recommend this book to lovers of historical romance, with a dash of humor. This is a book sure to leave you with a smile on your face :D
Final Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I received this book from the publisher, through First Wild Card tours, in return for an honest review. Thanks :)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Blooms in Winter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great story

Date:February 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barb Durfee
Location:south dakota
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this story! I love stories from this era and it meeta all my expectations for the book.Never a dull moment, great feelings of romance in it, and Pauline's antics can be rather funny at times. I am about 3/4 of the way through the book, so not sure what the ending is yet,but it has been very good reading. Can't wait to see how it ends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Blooms in Winter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Romance!

Date:January 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always know that when I pick up a Lori Copeland book I will be privy to something special!
A peaceful and gentle spirit flows through the characters of Mae and Tom. Not that they didn't have their feisty moments because they did! Mae is a pistol when needed but she is a godly and committed woman who cares for her younger brother and an elderly neighbor while working as the small railroad town's postmistress. With a long time boyfriend who doesn't seem eager to propose, Tom catches Mae's eye when he comes to town and they become good friends.
This is a lovely story about self-sacrifice with the sweetest romance thrown in. Any fan of historical fiction will be sure to turn the last page with a smile on their face and a sigh of contentment.
I was provided a copy by Karri James of Harvest House Publishers through FIRST Wild Card Tours for review purposes only. I was not required to write a positive review, only my opinion of the book, which I have done.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Blooms in Winter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A story of God's provision and love!

Date:January 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's 1892 in the small town of Dwadlo, North Dakota just as winter is beginning to set in. When I refer to Dwadlo being a small town, it is just that. All the buildings in town from the post office, general store, bank and the residents homes are all within a few short blocks either way. The train station literally ends at Dwadlo and here is where we find the setting of our story and meet the characters from Love Blooms in Winter, book 1 in the Dakota Diaries series by Lori Copeland who is fast becoming a personal favorite writer for me.
Here we meet Mae Wilkey who runs the post office within the general store and helps out when she can with the customers who come in for various supplies. Mae is also the sole provider for both herself and her younger brother Jeremy, who is 13, but mentally acts like 9 due to issues with his birth. Mae's parents died and now she cares for Jeremy as well as Pauline, a 92-year-old woman who needs constant care to due her age and mental capability. She lives alone caring for all the towns stray animals who are constantly finding their way to Pauline's home. Mae fears that once she marries Jake, the local well-to-do lawyer, there will be no one left to care for Pauline.
So Mae takes it upon herself to find out of Pauline has any living relatives who might be able to care for her. While cleaning out Pauline's desk, she uncovers the name and address of Tom Curtis, but the problem is, Pauline in her moments of clarity can't remember if he's related to her or not. So Mae sends a letter explaining the circumstances in hopes that Tom is in fact related to Pauline and can come care for her in the time she has remaining.
When Tom Curtis receives Mae's letter, he thinks it's a practical joke being played on him by one of the railroad employees. However, when a second letter arrives, Tom makes arrangements to check out the details of the letter and arrives to pay Mae a visit. What he doesn't plan on, is that his so-called routine life is about to get the biggest upheaval he will ever know.
I received Love Blooms in Winter compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and was captured in Mae's story. Not only in caring for her mentally challenged younger brother Jeremy, but also for her neighbor Pauline. Mae is a true do-gooder with a heart for everyone. She tries her best to be the best she can, even though she has been waiting six long years for Jake to ask her to marry him. She is by far, my favorite character in the book, because she is always putting everyone else's needs above her own. I can't wait to read the next book in this series as Lori Copeland writes her stories so well, you feel like you're part of the action! I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Blooms in Winter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another sweet read from Lori Copeland!

Date:January 19, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first time Tom Curtis received a letter from Mae Wilkey, he thought it was a prank. The second time a letter arrives with an urgent plea for help to care for a mysterious aunt, Pauline Wilson, who suffers from dementia, he takes it more seriously and journeys to North Dakota to discover the truth. Neither Tom nor his Aunt Pauline can remember being related and the longer he stays to help with her care, the more he is convinced that he isn't related to her. Still, Mae Wilkey is certainly attractive and Aunt Pauline is endearing. When a train wreck leaves Tom stranded in town as overseerer for the railroad track repairs, he finds more love and adventure than he ever expected.
Love Blooms in Winter is the first book in Lori Copeland's Dakota Diaries series. This story was a wonderful reminder to me that God is in control of every situation, even when it seems out of control from the human perspective. Other than the theme about God being in control, the book is a very light and sweet read. The romance between Tom and Mae was predictable, but still enjoyable since Jake's character added in some tension.
Overall, I enjoyed Love Blooms in Winter by Lori Copeland, though I probably will not care to read it again for several years. If you are looking for a sweet romance to entertain you for a few hours, this is a good choice.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher as part FIRST Wild Card Tours. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Blooms in Winter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Read

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This a sweet quick read. Loved the description of North Dakota in the 1890's. We meet Mae Wilkey, the local Post Mistress. She is a Mother to her brother Jeremy, he has a birth injury that has left him impaired. She also looks after her 90+ year old neighbor Pauline, who suffers from some dementia.
While looking for some Kin to help with Pauline, she finds Tom Curtis's name in Pauline's desk, and proceeds to contact him.
Mae has been in a long term relationship with Jake, six years and counting. He seems very comfortable, and gives very little affection to Mae...he does come to eat Jeremy's cooking quite often.
Paths are about to collide when Mae and Tom meet. There are about to be some very funny and even heartwarming incidents.
I really enjoy that Lori wraps up most of the questions you have in the ending of the book. A great read to snuggle up with on a winter's night.
I received this book from First Wild Card Tours and the Publisher Harvest House, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Blooms in Winter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great historical fiction

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story takes place in Dwadlo, North Dakota in the winter of 1892. Dwadlo is a tiny town built around the railroad. Mae Wilkie has lived in Dwadlo forever, she has been looking out for her brother Jeremy since her father's death. She longs to marry and have children of her own, she has a steady beau, Jake but they have been dating for six years and it seems that he will never propose. When Mae's next door neighbor an elderly lady named Pauline starts becoming more forgetful, Mae and Jeremy does what they can to help but knows that they need to find Pauline's family. When Mae finds the name of Tom Curtis in some of Pauline's papers she send him two letters hoping he might be able to come help Pauline. Tom has worked for the railroad for years and basically had no family, so when he gets the letters from Mae he wonders if he could have family left. He heads to Dwadlo planning on staying a few days but fate has other ideas, and when he meets Mae he is drawn to her. Will a relationship develop between Tom and Mae? Read this wonderful book and find out!
This story pulled me in from the first pages because of the characters. While I guessed at the relationship between the two main characters it was so nice to see it develop. I kept hoping that Mae wouldn't just settle because she wanted to be married. I enjoyed reading about her brother Jeremy, and the responsibility he longed to have.The elderly neighbor Pauline seemed very real and easy to imagine. The descriptions in this story were rich, allowing me to easily visualize the characters and the mishaps they often got into. I found myself laughing out loud on more than one occasion. I enjoyed the secondary story of Lil and the budding romance she hoped to grow with Fisk. I always enjoy when a dog is included in a story and this book had Pauline's pack of strays, but my favorite animal had to be Esau, who would ever have thought an elephant would wind up in a historical inspirational romance.
If your a fan of historical romance fiction with a nice inspirational message woven in then this book is certainly for you. Great characters an interesting story line with a few twists, sprinkled with humor has me anxious to read the next book in "The Dakota Diaries" series.
Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Blooms in Winter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dementia, trail derailment, Winter storms

Date:January 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lori Copeland's newest book, "Love Blooms in Winter" was released January 2012. Set in 1892 - this is the first in the Dakota Diaries series of books.
Set in North Dakota during the Winter, the story begins with the female lead, Mae, working as postmistress in the small town's general store. She is a young single lady responsible for the care of her mentally challenged young brother.
Across the street from where Mae and Jeremy live is the home of Pauline, a very elderly lady who has no family and encroaching dementia. Mae being a kind, caring, Christian young lady has undertaken the care of Pauline; but she is growing desperate knowing that Pauline needs the care of real family. The problem is, Pauline can't recall having any "kin."
The storyline develops and the male lead, Tom, enters the scene. There are hysterically funny moments and distinct personalities that will leave you chuckling or with a warm-fuzzy feeling.
This is an easy, relaxing read and the author, Lori Copeland, captures the personality and characterization of the townspeople. The story is woven with bits and pieces of early Americana and the life and hardships endured during the early settlement of the Dakotas.
Lori Copeland has written well over 40 books and brings to the table pleasant reads that are woven with the threads of Christianity. I highly recommend her books.
ISBN: 978-0-7369-3019-2
Harvest House Publishers provided a complimentary copy of Love Blooms in Winter by Lori Copeland for my review. I was not required to post a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love Blooms in Winter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another GREAT Book by Lori Copeland

Date:December 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was supplied to me by Harvest House Publishers via NetGalley in exchange for a Review.
Description
Mae Wilkey's elderly neighbor, Pauline, needs family to come and help. But she doesn't remember if she has anybody. Mae finds a name in Pauline's desk and contacts Tom Curtis. He doesn't recall an Aunt Pauline, but decides to pay a visit in response to Mae's desperate letters. Will the journey bring more than Tom expect.
My Review
This is the first book in the Dakotah Diary Series by well known and very funny author Lori Copeland. I can’t wait for her 2nd book to come out. This is the story about Mae Wilkey and Tom Curtis and a little old lady by the name of Pauline. The story starts out about Mae finding Tom’s name in Pauline’s house and she writes him thinking he is a relative. He shows up but he is very confused because he doesn’t know who Pauline is at all. But, he stays thinking he is kin to Pauline. This book was so good, I would suggest this book to all my friends and family.
The way that Lori portrays Pauline is well worth the money to read this book. Pauline is in her 90s and a lot of the things she does she doesn’t remember doing them. Lori portrays her so GREAT, I laughed so much in this book and just thoroughly loved this book. And to have this disease, Dementia would be difficult I believe. Lori, you have done a great job, thank you for giving us such a GREAT job with this book.
I will definitely suggest this book and this series to my friends and family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love Blooms in Winter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great love story

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Edna Tollison
Location:SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
My Thoughts:
Thanks to Jeane Wynn from Wynn-Wynn Media for sending me this advanced Galley of this book for my review. Thanks Jeane!
.
Dwadlo, ND, 1892 is where the story takes place as Hal Murphy grumbles to his wife that he thinks this will be one of the worst season ever. As the snow and ice begin to take over the land it makes for a dismal time for all.
Mae is a single lady and if she does not find a sweetheart soon she will be She has been dating the same boy for six years but he just does not seem to want to get married.. This leaves the town talking about her and if she will ever marry. Mae takes care of anyone that will let her, from her elderly neighbor and her disabled brother.
She finds an address and is hoping it is someone that will help her care for the people, and here is where she meets Tom. At first Tom does not get close to Mae and she has a boyfriends, but before long he has fallen in love with her. So will she marry the man she has been dating for so long or will she see what love Tom has for her.
You need to pre-order this book now or at least write it down so you can get it at your favorite bookstore.
It is a very good story that I am sure you will love.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.