Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wingspread Publishers The Attributes of God Volume 1 with Study Guide: A Journey Into the Father's Heart - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Wingspread Publishers The Attributes of God Volume 1 with Study Guide: A Journey Into the Father's Heart - eBook

Tozer's book is an inspiring journey into the Father's revelation of Himself. In this first of two books on the subject, the author invites us to look more deeply into God's grace, mercy, justice, holiness and goodness, among other things. Each chapter is centered around appropriate Scripture and enables the reader to refocus on the essential character of God.

Aiden Wilson Tozer (1897-1963) began his "pursuit of God" at the age of 17. With no formal Bible training, Tozer became pastor of Southside Alliance in Chicago in 1928. He was pastor there for thirty years. He was also the editor of Alliance Weekly. Many of his articles and sermons have been compiled and published as books.

Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Attributes of God Volume 1 with Study Guide: A Journey Into the Father's Heart - eBook
Review 1 for The Attributes of God Volume 1 with Study Guide: A Journey Into the Father's Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great book!

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Raul
Location:Puerto Rico
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The "Attributes of God" is great reading. Tozer makes the attributes of God easy to understand. I read both books on the attributes of God. I recommend this book (both books).
Even a teenager would enjoy reading them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Attributes of God Volume 1 with Study Guide: A Journey Into the Father's Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent focus, easy to read, thought-provoking

Date:February 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Attributes of God, Volume 1" is a sermon series/Bible study on the attributes of God. Tozer quoted from sources that used old English, which sometimes slowed the reading a little for me, but the main text was very easy to read and understand. A Bible study was included at the back of the book for those desiring to use this book as a group Bible study. The content is fully relevant to today's world.
Tozer looked to Scripture to answer "What is God like?" and he came to balanced, Bible-based conclusions. By balanced, I mean that he didn't let one attribute dominate the others but viewed them as being in perfect harmony with each other. He made a lot of strong comments, some of which are bound to offend some people, but probably not the type of people who would pick up this book.
Overall, I thought he made some excellent, thought-provoking points. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, and I'd recommend it to others...perhaps as a devotional reading?
The attributes covered in this volume were: God's infinitude, immensity, goodness, justice, mercy, grace, omnipresence, immanence, holiness and perfection.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Attributes of God Volume 1 with Study Guide: A Journey Into the Father's Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joseph Scholl Iii
Location:Gr. Blanc,mi
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent books . . . Tozer, is one of the best ! very good study materials.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Attributes of God Volume 1 with Study Guide: A Journey Into the Father's Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
jerry
Location:Fremont , NE
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never heard of this man before but his teachings have edified me and is a good supplumental teaching to the Holy Bible and its a great value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Attributes of God Volume 1 with Study Guide: A Journey Into the Father's Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A mind expanding view of what God is like!

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
IanR
Location:Naples, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Of course this is well known classic, and most ChristianBook readers will know Aidan Tozer's work. For me, when I first read it years ago, this book laid a foundational understanding of some of God's most important characteristics, as well as making me think differently about the absolute nature of God. "All love", Tozer says, "is God's love." Of course it is. How could love exist and be separated from God. I had never thought in that way before. When I discovered this volume missing from my book shelves I had to rebuy it. Receiving it again was like having an old and much-valued friend return.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Attributes of God Volume 1 with Study Guide: A Journey Into the Father's Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An intense mind bending, soul altering read

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Andy
Location:Waterford, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If your Christian life has become dull and boring, with the same old cycle over and over again then this book is for you. Tozer has a way of elevating the mind and bringing freshness to stale thoughts about God. A high view of God will lead to a radically changed lifestyle because we become like what we worship. Read with caution.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Attributes of God Volume 1 with Study Guide: A Journey Into the Father's Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Location:Ocala, Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our small group did this study. We all felt the information in the book was very informative and our understanding of God and His attributes was greatly enhanced. The style of writing was a little hard to follow at times, but overall, we enjoyed the study and questions in the study guide.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Attributes of God Volume 1 with Study Guide: A Journey Into the Father's Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
steponit
Location:Nova Scotia Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are using this book in our adult Sunday school class. It really has opened up the discussion time and we are all learning together. some people really like the book but don't care for the format. The study guide might be better at the end of each chapter rather than all at the end of the book.
I really liked the way the first chapter encouraged us to think and expand our view of our God. I believe this will be a book that will help us grow as Christians. Tozer writes so that the difficult subject matter is easy to understand. I am looking forward to completing volume 1 and then continuing on in volume 2. I would recommend this book for anyone wishing to know God in a deeper way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Attributes of God Volume 1 with Study Guide: A Journey Into the Father's Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A tremendous work

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
David B
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Some time back I began to believe I/we in the west had lost sight of who God really is. It has become great sport to make jokes of our leaders; and in so doing have no clue as to the majesty, glory, and holiness of our Father and Savior.
I obtained several books on the subject of God's attributes, among them AW Tozer's. And my premise was correct - I had virtually no real knowledge of who God is.
The Attributes of God is an absolute must read for any Christian who wants to be seriously devoted to Him, with whom we'll spend eternity.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Attributes of God Volume 1 with Study Guide: A Journey Into the Father's Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
decoy69
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tozer is someone that you have to read again and again. His knowledge and the way he puts it in his writings is, for the average person, very deep thinking. But in taking the time and studying his writings, it brings a deeper understanding of the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Attributes of God Volume 1 with Study Guide: A Journey Into the Father's Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tommie Kessler
I love this book. I am reading it with my Wednesday night bible study group. I am learning a lot about God and His character.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Attributes of God Volume 1 with Study Guide: A Journey Into the Father's Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Emefa Alipui
Both volumes are very good reads; they give an insight into the character of God. They are "preached messages" compiled in two books with study guides. If you want a book with a study guide on the character of God, these are excellent choices. However, if you can't go through both volumes, read his other book "The Knowledge of the Holy". Most of the content is the same (ref. to the table of content). If you've already read "The Knowledge of the Holy", these books can seem a little bit like "dj vu". In all cases, the books of A.W. Tozer are always excellent.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Attributes of God Volume 1 with Study Guide: A Journey Into the Father's Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Melissa Armstrong (DeeDee)
I bought this book because it was recommended by a close friend who is also my discipler. I was not disappointed! Want a closer relationship with the God who created this universe? Buy the book. You won't be disappointed, either.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Attributes of God Volume 1 with Study Guide: A Journey Into the Father's Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Alice Nelson
As with his other books, Tozer has a deep understanding of the character of God. This has been so enlightening for me in coming to know God in a deeper way. Highly recommended.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Attributes of God Volume 1 with Study Guide: A Journey Into the Father's Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Becky Personett
A unique depth of insight into the attributes of God that I have not read in other literature. It is not only excellent reading, but a personal encouragement to increase and strengthen my devotional life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.