Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NAL Trade Rosemary Opens Her Heart, Home at Cedar Creek Series #2

NAL Trade Rosemary Opens Her Heart, Home at Cedar Creek Series #2

Zanna Lambright is finally marrying Jonny Ropp, and friends and family have come from far and wide to celebrate. Among them is young widow Rosemary Yutzy, mother of toddler Katie, whose husband was tragically killed last fall. With a willing heart Rosemary has taken over care of her in-law's family and continued to run a baked goods business from home, but privately she still mourns her lost Joe.and is unprepared for the changes that are coming.

Rosemary's father-in-law wants to merge his lamb-raising business with Matt Lambright's-a move that will require the Yutzys to relocate from their nearby town to Cedar Creek. Moreoever, it will bring Rosemary into constant contact with Matt, who is making no secret of his romantic interest in her. The challenges of contemplating a future unlike any she expected are overwhelming for Rosemary. And although Matt is strong and kind, his courtship is so persistent, she often wants to run the other way. As Rosemary struggles to see beyond her immediate joys and sorrows, will she embrace the outpouring of welcome and support from the people of Cedar Creek.and accept this new chance to open her heart to a more abundant life?

Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rosemary Opens Her Heart, Home at Cedar Creek Series #2
Review 1 for Rosemary Opens Her Heart, Home at Cedar Creek Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Amish Fiction

Date:July 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I have finally gotten around to reading some books by Naomi King . . . and my only regret is that I didn't read them earlier!
Abby Finds Her Calling and Rosemary Opens Her Heart are Books One and Two in the Home at Cedar Creek series, and Amanda Weds a Good Man is Book One of One Big Happy Family, which is really a continuation of the the previous series. The stories are set in Missouri -- some real places and others fictional, I believe -- based on the author's experiences and research in and around the real town of Jamesport, home of the largest Amish community in the state.
Amish fiction is one of my favorite genres, and I have read a lot of these books by several different authors. Although I have enjoyed most of the Amish fiction I've read, it is always a special bonus to find a little different voice. Naomi King has definitely provided such a difference in her stories.
Some of the characters deal with very real experiences that may not fit with stereotypical ideas of the idealistic Amish life -- such as a young girl pregnant outside of marriage who fails to show up for her own wedding, women with strong personalities who spend much of their time working outside the typical Amish domestic role, and a bishop who appears to abuse his position and makes life unnecessarily difficult for members of his church. The story lines are not all quickly and easily resolved, a fact that makes for a high level of interest and uncertainty as the plots play out.
But woven throughout the stories are themes of love, forgiveness, and caring for one another as a part of family and community. And there is plenty of romance, along with several adorable children and fun adults to enjoy along the way.
I think these stories get better and better as the series progress. They touched my emotions, evoking both laughter and tears. I'm anxious to see what happens next when Emma Blooms at Last is released in the fall of this year.
Thanks to Naomi King for providing a copy of Rosemary Opens Her Heart in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rosemary Opens Her Heart, Home at Cedar Creek Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved This Great Book

Date:February 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:West Monroe, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rosemary Opens Her Heart is the second book in the Home At Cedar Creek series and the author writes a beautiful love story. Rosemary with her little toddler, Katie, lost the love of her life, her husband Joe. She started taking care of her in-law's family and running a home-based business, but change was coming to her life. Could she move to a new Amish community? What about her home-based business? The big question, could she love again?
The author gives more than this love story in this novel. The characters and storyline felt real. Naomi King does a marvelous job showing the Amish religious beliefs and values, but also the unhappiness they feel and the joy and blessings they receive. Rosemary Opens Her Heart is a great book. I highly recommend reading this book and book one, Abby Finds Her Calling. Both are wonderful books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rosemary Opens Her Heart, Home at Cedar Creek Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect Sequel

Date:December 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the perfect sequel to the first in series, and it was so nice to see characters that I recognized and read about the community at Cedar Creek yet again! If you follow my reviews regularly, you know that Amish fiction is something I delight in reading, and Naomi King (who also writes as Charlotte Hubbard)is one of my favorite authors of this genre. I tried to figure out why I like her writing style so well, and I think that this is what I discovered. I love the fact that she writes about the strength of the Amish women. So often, we tend to think of Amish women as being meek, mild, and not having their own opinions. Not so with the characters in this author's books! I also enjoy the romance because it is sweet and genuine without being sickening sweet. And who can get away from the fact that the faith of the author is woven so well into the story. The characters don't just give lip service or speak forth Scripture flippantly. They live what they believe, and even though I am not Amish, I can learn a lot from them.
If you have not read the first in the series, you can still jump in and read this book. Naomi King will catch you up on everything. However, you will probably appreciate the story after reading the first in the series. And now I can hardly wait for the sequel to this one so I can see what happens to Abby! But at least I was glad to see returning characters finding love, respect, and success--both great and small.
This book has something for just about anyone who enjoys clean romance. You will find humor, romance, tradition, and lots of good food! Can you gain weight by reading about the fantastic breads and desserts that the Amish women are always baking? This book is an absolute delight--almost like spending time with good friends.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rosemary Opens Her Heart, Home at Cedar Creek Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

new chances at love

Date:February 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Naomi King has written a lovely Amish tale of a young woman who opens her heart to love again after losing her husband far too soon, leaving her alone to raise little Katie. Katie charms all around her and especially Matt Lambright, who also notices her mamm's gentle smile and loving ways. Abby has finds her chance for love with James. You will definitely find many enjoyable hours reading to see how things turn out for these young couples. It is a story of commitment and families taking care of each other. It was wonderful to see young Beth Ann sewing so willingly and skillfully for the family as well. Readers are sure to finish reading this book with a smile on their faces, as I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rosemary Opens Her Heart, Home at Cedar Creek Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Learning to accept what life has given us & 2 grow

Date:December 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rosemary Opens Her Heart
Home at Cedar Creek Book 2
By Naomi King
Rosemary Yutzy is still grieving over her husband Joe. But when she attends a wedding in Cedar Creek change that she never expected is about to come yet again into her life in the form of Matt Lambright. For Matt, Rosemary is everything he has ever wanted in a wife but can he convince her.
Meanwhile Abby Lambright may be about to have her lifelong dream finally come true when James Graber starts paying attention to her. James realizes that Abby and not her younger sister Zanna is the true match for his soul.
When Rosemary's father-in-law decides to merge his sheep breeding operation with Matt Lambright's, Rosemary is left with a choice. Should she move with her father-in-law and young sister-in-law to Cedar Creek or should she stay in Queen City to be near her mother and sister. Can Matt help her determine the course her heart should chart or will his attentions drive her away from the new life she could have?
As Rosemary, Matt, Abby, and James navigate the paths of the heart, the community of Cedar Creek must deal with a death that will change the entire dynamics of the community.
As Rosemary learns to open her heart to all God has for her, she rediscovers the peace and joy that life has to offer.
Rosemary Opens Her Heart is set in Missouri and explores the Amish community that lives there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rosemary Opens Her Heart, Home at Cedar Creek Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding Peace

Date:November 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We begin this story at the wedding of Abby's sister Zanna to Jonny Ropp. Attending the wedding is a young widow and her daughter Rosemary Yutzy and toddler Katie. Also attending is the fellow who thought Zanna was going to be his wife...James Garber.
We find that the paths we have chosen for our lives are not always the ones God has for us. Things change, sometimes it is hard for us to understand.
When James was interested in Zanna, he couldn't see Abby, even though he had known her most of his life. Abby is such a sweetie, and you hope that she will end up with James.
As soon as Matt see Rosemary, he is smitten. You seen young Katie steal his heart. Can Rosemary let go of her deceased husband, and accept a new life? She has such a good heart and is taking care of her father-in-law Titus, and his thirteen year old daughter, Beth Ann.
As we travel along on this journey we encounter a number of Amish ways of life...weddings, funerals, baby showers, quilting bees, helping with packing families who are moving away and also those moving among them. We see the panic in some families that their husbands will be chosen to become a preacher for life.
I so enjoyed this story and wanted to move in with them, become a member of the family. Even when some not so nice things are said, you find the person apologizing. Don't miss this wonderful insight into Amish life and romance.
I received this book through Pump Your Book Virtual Tours, and the author, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rosemary Opens Her Heart, Home at Cedar Creek Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

There is a season for everything in Cedar Creek!

Date:November 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Some of us have dealt with disappointment this past week, and it seems to me that instead of making lemonade from such lemons, maybe a pan of lemon bars - or a lemon meringue pie! - would be a better way of chasing off our negative moods. We have to take the sour with the sweet, and when you bake up a pie or a batch of lemon bars, you spread happiness along with your treats. I wish you someone wonderful to share them with this week. ~ Abigail Lambright"
Abigail or Abby as her friends call her is the epitome of sunshine and hope when you meet her. She will always find the silver lining in the most desperate of situations and those who can call her a friend, know that they have found a true treasure with her friendship. Abby is finally beginning to look for love among her closest childhood friend, James Graber, who has miraculously survived a bad relationship with her sister Zanna. Zanna has found love among another and left a jilted and lovesick James behind for another. Now it seems that everyone but James and Abby can see that they are truly meant to be with one another and can look past their friends relationship and find something more meaningful inside.
The last thing that Rosemary Yutzy wanted to do was to attend a wedding in Cedar Creek, Missouri. It would just be another constant reminder that she was still a widow living with her daughter Katie and fighting back the memories of the life she had hoped would be her future with her husband Joe. But when a hunting accident robbed her from a life she dreamed of, she resolved to spend all her time and energy raising Katie and taking care of Joe's dad, Titus and his daughter Beth Ann. But then again love has a way of popping up just when you least expect it and in the most unusual of places.
Matt Lambright couldn't help himself from staring at the young Amish girl dressed all in black. He thought she was just about the most beautiful girl he had ever seen and it became a mission of his to find a way into her heart and make her fall in love with him. When opportunity presents itself with her father-in-law, Titus to merge a growing lamb-raising business that would benefit them both immensely, he tries to curb his over enthusiastic approach to getting to know her. All he manages to do is scare her off. After all she is still grieving the loss of one love and can understand why she might be as skittish as one of his lambs about jumping in too soon. Will they find a way to make it all work out?
I received, Rosemary Opens Her Heart by Naomi King, which is the second book in the Home at Cedar Creek Series, compliments of Pump Up Your Book Tours for my honest review. I read the first book in the series, Abby Finds Her Calling, and couldn't wait to see what would happen to poor James at the conclusion of that novel. It was completely worth the wait!!! Naomi King also writes under the name, Charlotte Hubbard so for those of you that love Charlotte's books, you'll want to grab this series as well and fall in love with the wholesome and heartwarming characters of this wonderful close-knit community of Amish people. You can't help but find a character you can completely relate to in this series, whether its an issue of learning to trust again after facing great pain like Rosemary or James, or even the ever optimistic Abby who finds at times, that a smile isn't always easy to find when you need it the most, but she gives it her best effort. I would easily rate this book a perfect 5 out of 5 stars. You can read this as a stand alone but you will want to go back and read Abby Finds Her Calling to see how it all began!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rosemary Opens Her Heart, Home at Cedar Creek Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rosemary Opens Her Heart

Date:November 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book starts out where book one left off, which is at Zanna Lambright and Jonny Ropp's marriage ceremony and celebration with family and friends. This newlyweds act as matchmakers pairing up young Amish men and women in hopes of the possibility of the couples will be a good match that would end up in courting leading to marriage.
Two such couples stand out from the rest. Abby Lambright and James Graber were both surprised to be paired up for dinner by the bride and groom. Then Matt Lambright and Emma Graber were paired up which surprised Matt and was wishful thinking for Emma. Especially since Matt had not taken his eyes off Rosemary Yutzy the beautiful young widow that was leading around her three year old daughter. Matt was sure this was love at first sight. The only problem was that Rosemary was still in love with her deceased husband. No matter how hard she tried to discourage Matt refused to back away. He had even found he had a tenderness in his heart for her child.
The Good Shepherd was mentioned many time in this book. One man in particular appeared to walk the walk of a good shepherd.
The story is mainly focused on these two couples and their pursuit to happiness and their faith in God to lead them at this important time in their lives. There are many obstacle to overcome, family members to think of and their goals as far as their business and livelihoods. For instance, Abbey has her sewing business and working in the mercantile with her brother Sam. James has his Carriage/Buggy building business that keeps him very busy. Not to mention his parents that need a lot of care. Then Matt has sheep that need constant care. Then Rosemary bakes and sells pies to local stores and bakeries. She also has a house to run for her father-in-law and to care for her young sister-in-law.
The author put this story and these couples together like a quilt with so many intricate pieces to even count. When she got the pieces all laid out and put together, it was a beautiful story to behold. She created her characters to have faith in God along with the wisdom to trust God with their prayers. Part of that wisdom was to follow the advice of their church leaders when challenges arose. The author had to have had a lot of wisdom and faith in God herself to have written such an endearing story.
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure
I received a free copy of this book from Penguin Group/Pump Up Your Book Publicity Tours for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.