Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Subtle Power of Spiritual Abuse, The: Recognizing and Escaping Spiritual Manipulation and False Spiritual Authority Within the Church - eBook

Bethany House Subtle Power of Spiritual Abuse, The: Recognizing and Escaping Spiritual Manipulation and False Spiritual Authority Within the Church - eBook

No one should leave church feeling manipulated, controlled, shamed, or condemned. But places of shelter and encouragement can become abusive if spiritual leaders begin to use their authority to meet their needs for importance, power, or spiritual gratification. Here you'll discover how to identify an abusive church and also how to break free from its destructive legalism. Topics covered include:

  • How spiritual abuse develops--and why those under its grip often don't see it
  • The subtle ways that leaders and systems "hook" and control believers, robbing them of their joy in Christ
  • Scriptural help in recognizing healthy spiritual relationships
  • Effective strategies for escaping abusive situations

    Insightful, practical, and solidly grounded in Scripture, this book has what you need to recover a grace-filled relationship with God and His church.

  • Average Customer Rating:
    4.917 out of 5
    4.9
     out of 
    5
    (12 Reviews) 12
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
    5 stars
    11
    4 stars
    1
    3 stars
    0
    2 stars
    0
    1 star
    0
    3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Reviews for Subtle Power of Spiritual Abuse, The: Recognizing and Escaping Spiritual Manipulation and False Spiritual Authority Within the Church - eBook
    Review 1 for Subtle Power of Spiritual Abuse, The: Recognizing and Escaping Spiritual Manipulation and False Spiritual Authority Within the Church - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:June 2, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Nathan
    Age:35-44
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Excellent break down of the church dynamic that allows one to see spiritual abuse and also begin to recognize self as an abuser.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for Subtle Power of Spiritual Abuse, The: Recognizing and Escaping Spiritual Manipulation and False Spiritual Authority Within the Church - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Wow! Please read this book.

    Date:April 9, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Keturah
    Location:Jacksonville, TX
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Firstly, I am a Christian who has been wounded in the church and am in dire need of inner healing. The signs of Spiritual Abuse exist in a few of the churches that I have attended over the years. This book will help you identify the signs of Spritual Abuse and how to properly address them. You must understand that this book is not to bash the leadership of any church or ministry.
    I am a leader within my own home church congregation. Due to my own personal experiences with Spiritual Abuse while in a prior leadership role and position, I had to seek for this book and its information in hopes of starting my healing process and journey to recovery.
    I can attest to the fact that this book was written as a sole means of providing the believer a way out of a very detrimental spiritual experience that could haunt them for the rest of their life.
    If you have been unctioned to read this book, God bless you! Please take into consideration everything that is written. It will help God's healing virtue flow through your soul so that you may return to your original state of knowing and believing who God is, absent of the misrepresentation of God by the spiritual authority that you know.
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for Subtle Power of Spiritual Abuse, The: Recognizing and Escaping Spiritual Manipulation and False Spiritual Authority Within the Church - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    I was abused spiritually for 11 years.

    Date:April 7, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Pastor Justin Vollmar
    Location:Columbia, MD
    Age:25-34
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I was in an abusive church for eleven years. I did not realize it at that time. I tired so hard to please my demanding pastor. He controlled almost every aspect of my life. I felt so barren spiritually. I was an associate pastor. I faithfully served the church for eleven years. I worked 60 hours a week. I served in many capacities. My wife and young children suffered my neglect all in the name of pleasing my pastor. Despite my sacrifices, it was still not good enough. I was called to do more and more. I was on brink of complete breakdown when Lord led me this book. It profoundly changed my life! I am now free and recovering from spiritual abuse. If it was not for this book, I will be still blind and still in an abusive relationship. This book penetrated my erroneous theological training that pastor holds absolute power over my spiritual life. If you are in an spiritually abusive relationship, read this book! Or give it someone who you noticed has a pastor who seem to control many aspects of their life.
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for Subtle Power of Spiritual Abuse, The: Recognizing and Escaping Spiritual Manipulation and False Spiritual Authority Within the Church - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:May 10, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Francis Kwashie
    This book is the best i have read on the subject matter which is prevalent than Christians care to admit. I found this book insightful, the examples were spot on, the encouragement and guide to interpret scripture in the proper context was excellent.The background of the authors also helped explain many aspects and impacts of abuse.By far the best book on the subject matter.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for Subtle Power of Spiritual Abuse, The: Recognizing and Escaping Spiritual Manipulation and False Spiritual Authority Within the Church - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:May 4, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Robin Reeve
    A very enlightening book to read, about the snares and terrible consequences of judgementalism and other pseudo-christian systems that crush people.Usefull, too, to detect one's own tendencies of abusing - even unwillingly - and to develop true relationships and motivations that match what Jesus teaches us.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for Subtle Power of Spiritual Abuse, The: Recognizing and Escaping Spiritual Manipulation and False Spiritual Authority Within the Church - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:January 20, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Lori Hand
    This is a book everyone should read from lay people to pastors. Everyone should be aware these systems are out there to rob God's people of relationship with Him.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for Subtle Power of Spiritual Abuse, The: Recognizing and Escaping Spiritual Manipulation and False Spiritual Authority Within the Church - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:March 31, 2009
    Customer Avatar
    David Dunn
    The book reveals so much as to what is happening in some of our churches and unfortunately, our families as well.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for Subtle Power of Spiritual Abuse, The: Recognizing and Escaping Spiritual Manipulation and False Spiritual Authority Within the Church - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:August 29, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Belle Marr
    This is a must read for anyone, especially those who have been spiritually abused. Very well written.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for Subtle Power of Spiritual Abuse, The: Recognizing and Escaping Spiritual Manipulation and False Spiritual Authority Within the Church - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:July 4, 2008
    Customer Avatar
    Bill Sebastian
    Outstanding! A must read for all church leaders as well as the congregations. Johnson and Van Vonderen are to be commended for putting such a complex subject into easily understood format (written to an average person reading level). I especially like the way Scripture references are put in their proper contexts. As a church member for 66 years, and a believer for 56 of those years, the book has been a real burden lifter for me. I highly recommended it.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for Subtle Power of Spiritual Abuse, The: Recognizing and Escaping Spiritual Manipulation and False Spiritual Authority Within the Church - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:July 14, 2007
    Customer Avatar
    Reverend Benjamen S. Long
    Freedom in Christ...!There can be no doubt whatsoever that most, if not all of the troubles in the Church today are due to a departure from the the Word of God as the absolute sole authority in all matters of true Christian Faith and Practice...replaced with "man made" rules and regulations. Our focus on "who" we are to worship, has been doggedly and subtlety shifted to "how" we worship...leaving so many lost, confused, angry people in it's wake.This book will go a long way in returning so many of the lost souls who have been forced out of the church by the "leaders" who are focused more on the bottom line than the Great Commission.If you have any reservations about purchasing this book...please let me help in dispelling them. Don't wait another moment...get your copy today...and begin shake off the shackles of "foolishness"...return to the time when you could freely enjoy the "joy of your salvation"
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for Subtle Power of Spiritual Abuse, The: Recognizing and Escaping Spiritual Manipulation and False Spiritual Authority Within the Church - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:May 26, 2007
    Customer Avatar
    Kathleen
    After being affiliated with a larger church that had much controversy attached to it, our church disaffiliated, yet still lived in the "doctrine" of this cult. It was suggested out congregation read this book, and the people that are reading this are getting healed/delivered, and set free from the abusive, legalistic (even though grace and mercy were attached to the name). This is a must have for anyone in or has been in a spiritually abusive system. The LORD has healed so much in my life and I've never had a freer walk with HIM.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 12 for Subtle Power of Spiritual Abuse, The: Recognizing and Escaping Spiritual Manipulation and False Spiritual Authority Within the Church - eBook
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:December 7, 2006
    Customer Avatar
    treesegk
    I stumbled upon this book at our local bookstore and knew it was meant for me to read.Our family has been "freeing ourselves" from a spiritually abusive church for some time now and I needed to understand what I was dealing with...the anger/rage, sadness, betrayal and on and on. I felt as though my walk with God had been perverted by my being abused for so long. Ultimately, this book has helped me see and deal with areas that I could not even detect myself. We are still healing from our family's ordeal with 12 yrs of abuse, but with this insightful book we have made great strides on the road to recovery. Thank you so much for writing what few others have the guts to right. I highly recommend this to anyone that has suffered from manipulation and lies in the name of God.God bless you.
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.