Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Song of My Heart - eBook

Bethany House Song of My Heart - eBook

Sadie Wagner has always been devoted to her family. So when her stepfather is injured and can't work, she decides to leave home and accept a position as a clerk at the mercantile in Goldtree, Kansas. Goldtree also offers the opportunity to use her God-given singing talent--though the promised opera house is far different from what she imagined. With her family needing every cent she can provide, Sadie will do anything to keep her job.

Thad McKane comes to Goldtree at the request of the town council. The town has been plagued by bootlegging operations, and Thad believes he can find the culprit. After he earns enough money doing sheriff work, he wants to use it to pay for his training to become a minister.Thad is immediately attracted to the beautiful singer who performs in Asa Baxter's unusual opera house, but when he hears her practicing bawdy tunes, he begins to wonder if she's far less innocent than she seems. And when Sadie appears to be part of the very crimes he's come to investigate, is there any hope the love blossoming between them will survive?

Average Customer Rating:
4.139 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
0
32 out of 3689%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Song of My Heart - eBook
Review 1 for Song of My Heart - eBook
This review is fromSong of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Story

Date:March 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was delightful! It perfectly entwined being humorous yet heart-touching. I was always sad to set it down and eager to pick it up again. The characters were amazing – extra colorful and such fun to read about! They came to life for me. This is a sweet story, all in all, relaxing and easily moving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Song of My Heart - eBook
This review is fromSong of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
nomer15
Gender:female
"Song of My Heart" by Kim Vogel Sawyer features the story of a young woman named Sadie Wagner. Her stepfather is badly injured and unable to work to provide for the family. Twenty-two year old Sadie hears of a job opportunity available in Goldtree, Kansas. Her desire for work to help her family compels her to relocate from their home in Dalton, Indiana, to Goldtree, where she knows no one except for her cousin, Sid. Sadie soon finds herself caught up in a complicated romantic quandary with two young men vying for her affection. She quickly settles in to her employment, one job working as a clerk in the local mercantile and the other as a singer in the "opera house". Sadie bonds with her mercantile employers, twin sisters Melva and Shelva who quickly grow to love their new employee. Her opera house boss, Asa Baxter, brother to the twins, quickly proves to be manipulative and unscrupulous in his quest to earn money and shed a past nickname.
Thad McKane, the town sheriff, was hired specifically to deal with rumors of bootlegging. He and Sadie develop a beautiful friendship which turns complicated as Asa asks Sadie to compromise her beliefs in order to further his monetary gain. Eventually all is worked out and Sadie is free to be with her true love.
The main characters were likeable and the story flowed well. It was an enjoyable, light read, albeit a bit predictable. I appreciated Sadie's desire to help with providing for her family. Her strength and resolve to move many miles away deepened that appreciation. Both Thad and Sadie learned and grew much through their experiences. In the end, they both had a great awakening to the grace and mercy of Christ which transformed them and prepared them for the future that lay ahead for them.
(I’ve received this complimentary book from Bethany House Publishers through the Book Blogger program in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Song of My Heart - eBook
This review is fromSong of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review - Song of My Heart

Date:September 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kassy Paris
Location:Kilgore, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kim Vogel Sawyer's books are a joy to read. Her characters reach out and grab the readers' hearts. Song of My Heart is no different. Sadie Wagner and Thad McKane are the center of this story that is a page-turner. Putting the book down in order to sleep was difficult. It was so tempting to stay up all night to complete it, but that would have created problems at work. I recommend that you read Song of My Heart and find out for yourself whether Sadie and Thad can listen to the songs in their hearts and follow God's plans for them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Song of My Heart - eBook
This review is fromSong of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heartwarming romance and exciting story line

Date:August 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
future librarian
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, a big thank you to Bethany House for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an honest review!
To be honest, I have been out of the historical fiction (especially of the western type) loop for a loooooong time, and I had a difficult time getting back into it. But, once I got back into the groove with this book, I really enjoyed it! Sawyer is a very talented writer, and I felt a quick connection with the main characters, Sadie and Thad. I very much admired Sadie's devotion to her family - even if she was a bit naive. I mean, it seemed a bit obvious to me what was "unusual" about Asa's opera house, and what exactly he wanted from her...but I realize that she put up a mental block because she felt such a strong need to provide money for her family, especially after her father died.
I loved Thad and the fact that he was such a good Christian man. I kept thinking, "Why can't ALL men be like that?" And when Sadie kept pushing him away because Asa wanted her to put her job first (and to keep the sheriff away from his business) I wanted to scream "NO! Run away with Thad, Sadie!!!!" He was definitely swoon-worthy.
And then there was Sid, Sadie's cousin (but not by blood, only by marriage), who was head over heels in love with her. I really felt for the guy. He was a sweet guy who meant well, but, well...the whole cousin thing (even if it WAS by marriage and not blood) would have creeped me out too. Plus, who could live up to Thad? I just hope that Sid finds someone special too. :)
I really enjoyed this book - it was exciting, heartwarming, and romantic! Take a visit to Goldtree, Kansas and check it out for yourself!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Song of My Heart - eBook
This review is fromSong of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not a Favorite Book

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Song of My Heart
Kim Vogel Sawyer
Summary: Sadie Wagner has always been devoted to her family. So when her stepfather is injured and can't work, she decides to leave home and accept a position as a clerk at the mercantile in Goldtree, Kansas. Goldtree also offers the opportunity to use her God-given singing talent--though the promised opera house is far different from what she imagined. With her family needing every cent she can provide, Sadie will do anything to keep her job. Thad McKane comes to Goldtree to investigate reports of a bootlegging operation. Once he earns enough money from the sheriff work, he plans to use it to pay for his training to become a minister. Thad is immediately drawn to the lovely young singer who performs in Asa Baxter's unusual opera house. But when he hears her practicing bawdy tunes, he wonders if she's far less innocent than she seems. And when Sadie appears to be part of the very crimes Thad has come to investigate, is there any hope the love blossoming between them will survive?
I had a real difficult time getting into this book. I found Sadie at the beginning of this story to be unbelievable. I can see being self-sacrificing but not to the extent she was. I did not care much for Sid either. He was the kind of person to avoid. Self-serving and selfish therefore I could not understand the two ever being close. The characters grew quite a bit throughout the story and that mad continuing to read it worthwhile. I also found the swing in Sadie to be unlikely. To tolerate things that she knew to be wrong and would constantly repeat the things her father told her seemed to lend credence to the unlikeliness of these actions. Thad was the only main character I liked. He was driven to do right and never wavered from that. The Baxter sisters were great and provided the comic relief without being ogres as bosses. The ending was a little too convenient although finished the book nicely.
I would like to thank Bethany House Publishing for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Song of My Heart - eBook
This review is fromSong of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Typical Christian Historical Romance

Date:June 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Another Christian historical romance, and indeed with this book, what you see is what you get. This book has everything you would expect: romance, dashing romantic suitor, sweet heroine, Western town, evil vs. good, nice Christian message. So I cannot fault this book at all for being what it is.
The highlights of the book for me is Sadie. I was able to relate to her easily because she is a singer. I am a singer, too. And even one of my students said that the girl on the front of the book looks like me--nice compliment since the heroine is more then 10 years younger than I! And much thinner. I also enjoyed the way that the Bible and faith in God was woven so easily into the framework of the story. While the two main characters did lose their way, they came back to the Lord, and that was the key. I did like the way that evil was brought to justice in the book. That was probably the most clever part of the book.
I did not rate this book as high as the others I have read recently because I felt like I was reading the same old story. While the book has some good points and a few things that establish its uniqueness, I still felt all too often like I was reading the same story I had read lately. And I did not feel that I was able to connect with the story and characters the way I had with other novels in the genre--just my personal preference. I also felt the ending was very sappy and left a few unanswered questions. But in this book's case, I really would not read a sequel. I do not care about the characters enough to want to read a sequel.
I have agreed that the book deserves a four star rating because it does deliver what one would expect. Perhaps if I had read it at a different time and place, I may have connected with it more. But thankfully there is enough interest within it for me that I was able to read it in a relatively short period of time. It is a light read, and its simple message does come across. I liked the fact that the message was stressed that if you are doing something wrong and you know it is wrong and you still continue to do it, it is wrong--no matter what your reasons!
I was provided with a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated in any way, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Song of My Heart - eBook
This review is fromSong of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST read, you won't be able to put it down

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sadie Wagner excitedly rushed into the house to share the letter she'd received from her cousin Sid, who'd moved from Indiana to Goldtree, Kansas. Sid had found her a job working in a mercantile owned by sisters Melva and Shelva Baxter and she would also be able to fulfill her dream of singing in an Opera House that their brother Asa, Sid's boss, was opening. She didn't know that Sid had ulterior motives in having her come to Goldtree. Sadie really needed a job because her step-father, the only papa she really knew since her father had died when she was very young, got hurt in the mines and was unable to work until his leg healed and there were no jobs in her hometown.
Thad McKane was hired by Goldtree's town council as sheriff when they started hearing that someone in the area had a bootlegging operation. Thad took the job even though he felt his true calling was to preach, as soon as he found the bootlegger he planned on moving on to preaching.
Thad was drawn to Sadie from the time he met her and took her for her first walk through town, when she asked about the opera house, he told her there wasn't one in town, this confused her since Sid had told her there was one opening soon. When she asked Sid about it he showed her where it was, it was a beautiful soundproof room under the mercantile where she was working. Sadie and Thad got closer and were falling in love and Sadie agreed to court him. Sid was not happy with the time they spent together and tried to come between them whenever he could.
Within a couple of weeks she was singing hymns and ballads on Friday and Saturday nights to a full house. Not long after that Asa asked if she would sing for private parties on Tuesday nights and the pay would be $5.00, $2.00 more than she was getting paid per night for Friday and Saturday. It would be three hours and it was by private invitation only and she was to tell no one about the Tuesday nights. When she saw the sheet music for the songs Asa wanted her to sing and the dress he wanted her to wear, she told him that she'd changed her mind. Asa threatened her with firing her completely and firing Sid also. He also told her that she couldn't spend anymore time with Thad, since he was the sheriff Asa was afraid Sadie would slip up and mention the Tuesday night singing. She needed the money to send home even more by this time as her step-father had died and her mother, sister and three brothers had no other income. She sang one night and couldn't do it again.
When Sid returned to town from a delivery he'd been on, she told him about the Tuesday nights. Sid confronted Asa and he threatened him and told Sid that if he went down, Sid and Sadie would go down with him because he would tell the sheriff they were in on the bootlegging operation. Sadie agreed to ride with Sid on a short delivery so they could talk. Thad came upon them and was going to arrest them but Sid asked to talk to him so they went behind a bush and the next thing Sadie heard was a gunshot and Sid was running back to the wagon and taking off. She kept turning around but never saw Thad come out of the bush. Now what was she going to do, her cousin killed the man she loved but had broken up with, she'd sung to men that were drinking and she felt she'd disappointed her papa all because she wanted to help her family and Asa threatened her. Where could she turn now?
Kim had me hooked from the first sentence when Sadie squealed with delight and went bursting through the door yelling because she'd gotten a letter from her cousin, and she kept me hooked throughout the entire book. This story was a wonderful read and I found it hard to put down. You really do need to go get this book and read it, you won't be disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Song of My Heart - eBook
This review is fromSong of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Location:Sturgis, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was very excited to read another book from Kim Vogel Sawyer. She is a great author! To be honest, I didn't enjoy this book as much as some of the others I have read of hers, but I was still entertained. It was a bit predictable but had some good twists. I found myself getting frustrated with some of the choices the main characters made throughout the story.
I would recommend this book to my friends as an enjoyable read but not the author's best. I received a review copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Song of My Heart - eBook
This review is fromSong of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Some interesting moral lessons in a clean story

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Coffeyville, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sadie is a young woman who leaves home with the hope of assisting to her family's sustenance after her father is injured and no longer able to provide for them. She is invited to Goldtree, where she would be a mercantile clerk and had the opportunity to sing in the new opera house of the town. Innocent and with little experience outside the protection of home, Sadie learns that her singing dream and her responsibility as a provider for her family might become the greatest hindrance in her relationship with God. She has to face difficult choices and suffer the consequences of taking things on her own hands and despairing. At the same time, Tad, an aspiring preacher, is hired as a sheriff in order to uncover an illegal operation.
In the middle of her conflict, they find love. But this wonderful gift is imperiled by her apparent involvement in the activities that have the whole town in turmoil.
The story is very easy to read and highly predictable. The first two chapters make the rest of the story obvious, and even the flamboyant and exaggerated ending is expected since then. At that point, I practically decided that this read would be a chore, rather than something enjoyable, but the story grabbed my attention, and I really wanted to know what was going to happen in the next pages. However, the story is full of descriptions that enhance the senses, rather than the emotional conflict that the people involved are going through. This was distracting and makes the writing feel out of place and forcefully adapted to a current viewpoint, without considering the time or place where everything happens. This makes the story weak and boring at times, just like a cheap soap opera.
The end comes extremely abruptly and, instead of allowing me to remember the nice flow the story kept, I felt like the whole story was rushed and sort of pushed into a corner that has nothing to do with the enjoyable reading of the previous chapters. For instance, there is a scene at the end, that seems written by a girl dreaming with a sensual fairy tales, where she is the center of attention. Maybe this is exactly what the author intended, and I am pretty sure that there are people who will enjoy this, but this is not my preference.
Overall, this book is an easy and clean read, making it recommendable for spending a leisurely evening or even gifting it to a romantic teenager. Due to the moral conflict in the story, I can see it used in a study group, particulary if enhancing how crucial it is for no one to wander away God's Word.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany Publishers in exchange for my honest review. In no way has this biased my opinion on the book or on the author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Song of My Heart - eBook
This review is fromSong of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can she trust Him?

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
ddalebooks
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Song of My Heart
By Kim Vogel Sawyer
Sadie Wagner is forced to leave her family behind to find work to support them. Her cousin invites her to come to his small Kansas town to work in the mercantile and pursue her singing dream in the town’s “opera-house.” But, when the opera house owner adds a “Gentlemen only” show to Sadie’s work load, can she trust God to provide for her family if she refuses to sing the bawdy songs?
Sid Wagner has invited Sadie to Kansas in hopes of winning her heart, but will the new town sheriff ruin all his hopes and dreams by capturing Sadie’s love first?
This charming tale of love, family devotion, and faith in God is a great read. The author has a very clear and easy writing style. You’ll enjoy all the twists and turns as each of the characters struggle between their way and God’s way in a confusing world. I think each of the characters was well developed and the story line was great. And there’s a sweet surprise at the end of the book. This is the perfect book for your vacation or a rainy day. I give this book an A –good read.
I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Song of My Heart - eBook
This review is fromSong of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Let the Song of Your Heart be God's Song

Date:April 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Song of My Heart
by Kim Vogel Sawyer
Sadie Wagner has dreamed of using her gift to honor God. When her cousin Sid writes that there is a position in Goldtree, Kansas as a mercantile clerk and a possible singing position in the town's new opera house it seems to be an answer to prayer. With her step-father injured from a mining accident the family needs the money. With her parents blessing Sadie travels the long distance from Indiana to Kansas.
But Goldtree, Kansas has a hidden side that no one seems to be aware of. Thad McKane has just been hired as Goldtree's first sheriff. Rumors have reached Goldtree's mayor and bank president that an illegal liquor operation is in Goldtree! Secrecy is vital so that Goldtree's reputation is not ruined.
Sid and Sadie were best friends throughout their childhood. But unknown to Sadie, Sid has been secretly in love with her since her was 9 years old. Sid is determined to marry Sadie and with her working in Goldtree Sid expects his dreams to soon come true.
Sadie finds satisfaction in her duties as clerk for the Baxter sisters. When Asa Baxter offers Sadie the singing job it seems this is truly God's plan for Sadie. Sadie's music instantly endears her to the entire town. With two performances every week in the opera house, nightly practices, and singing in the church choir Sadie's life is very full.
But when Asa Baxter demands that Sadie make compromises with her singing Sadie refuses. But when he threatens to take away Sadie's singing job and Sid's delivery job Sadie is left with little choice but to comply – after all her family needs the money her job is bringing in. But when Thad starts courting Sadie, Asa demands that Sadie break it off immediately.
Is there a future for Sadie and Thad? Or will Sadie's compromises destroy their chance at a life together before it ever begins? What is the song of Sadie's heart? Can Sid, Sadie, and Thad trust God enough to listen to His leading?
I found Song of My Heart to be an enjoyable book. Perfect for a nice relaxing weekend read.
I received a free copy of this title from Bethany House Publishers for the purpose of this review. A positive review was not required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Song of My Heart - eBook
This review is fromSong of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"Song of My Heart" is a Fun Light Read

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
BethStrand
Location:Oregon City, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sadie Wagner is devoted to her family and determined to help them in any way she can, especially since her step-father's accident has left the family is desperate financial straits. Jobs for women aren't easy to find in 1895 and when her cousin finds a place for her in a mercantile it seems like an answer to prayer. As an added bonus, there is a new music hall opening up and she may be able to use her singing gift to help even more, but she quickly finds out that everything is not quite what it seems.
"Song of My Heart" was a nice light read, perfect for a rainy afternoon or a long plane flight (which is where I read it.) The characters aren't new (innocent girl, deceptive bully of a bad guy, rejected suitor) but they are well-written and engaging. The mercantile owners were my special favorites. The setting is well done, you can almost feel the dry, dusty Kansas air as you're reading.
This is the kind of nice, light, well-written romance that you can pass on to your teenage daughter without blushing. I would recommend it for anyone who enjoys the romance genre and maybe even a few who don't!
This book was provided to me by Bethany House for this review,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Song of My Heart - eBook
This review is fromSong of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
reader
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was very enjoyable to read. The characters were well developed and relateable.
I recieved this book from Bethany House Publishers to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Song of My Heart - eBook
This review is fromSong of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Song Of My Heart

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once again Kim has gathered well-defined characters whom you quickly care about with a story that hits a few unexpected twists and turns along the way. Sadie has the opportunity to both help provide for her family and to follow the desires of her heart, but sometimes gets torn between doing what appears to be right and simply trusting God when doing the right thing may lead away from her dreams. Things and people aren't always what they appear to be, and family loyalties also provide a few stumbling blocks also. While you feel certain that justice will prevail at the end, the story is filled with enough excitement and characters...both quirky and deceptive...to keep the reader fully engaged from beginning to end. This was a very enjoyable read that both delivered a few laughs and restated the importance of trusting God in all things and letting Him guide your path.
I received a free copy of this novel from Bethany House for review purposes. My opinion is my own, and I was not required to give a good review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Song of My Heart - eBook
This review is fromSong of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

a rather relaxed read

Date:April 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Song of my Heart – Kim Vogel Sawyer
This historical fiction is set in 1865 Kansas, finds Sadie Wagner having to provide for her family, while her mother is taking care of the younger children and her bedridden husband. Sadie moves to Kansas where she’s to meet her cousin, Sid. She works in a mercantile owned by two high-strung sisters, Melva and Shelva Baxter, but who love Sadie dearly. Sadie loves to sing and soon is given the opportunity to sing in and underground opera house. This place is run by Asa, the brother of the Baxter sisters, and is somewhat of a strange guy, who as it turns out later is as shady as he is strange. Sadie and Sid are soon caught up in the shady dealings of Asa, much to the chagrin of the town’s lawman, Thad McKane, who has feelings for Sadie.
Historical fiction is not what I usually read and I found this one rather uneventful in the beginning. However, as I got into the story and got to know the realistic and interesting characters, I actually enjoyed it. Ms. Sawyer has some of the characters struggling with personal issues and making poor choices: Sadie forgets to trust God as she works to provide for her family and earning even more money singing songs that go against her conscience. Sid, who is happy to have a job, goes about doing questionable deliveries for Asa. Both however refocus and accept that they will have to face the consequences in their part in criminal activities. At the same time Thad is dealing with ghosts from his past and learns that he’s not accountable for the sins of his father. It’s always great when you can draw lessons and inspiration from characters that lose focus and find their way back to God, as is the case with this story.
In exchange for an honest review, I was given a complimentary copy of this book by Graf-Martin Communications.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Song of My Heart - eBook
This review is fromSong of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

It was okay

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sadie’s Stepdad is injured and can’t work and since Sadie is the oldest she is looking for work to help support her family. When her cousin writes her and tells her he found a job for her as well as the chance to sing at an opera house she is excited yet sad to leave her family. Sadie gets to work at a store with two old maids who she grows to love and she also gets to sing for there brother Asa in his underground Opera house. Sadie also finds herself smitten with the new Sheriff in town. But soon things start to change and Sadie finds herself making choices she is not proud of and jeopardizing everything she is working for. Will she make the right choices and find love along the way?
Thad has come to Goldtree to help the mayor find the bootlegging operation. Once he does that he hopes to become a minister. While he tries to find the person doing the bootlegging he gets to know the towns people and finds himself getting to know Sadie and her cousin Sid. As his feeling deepen for Sadie he becomes concerned she might be involved with the wrong doings. Will the truth allow them to find happy every after?
When I first heard about this book it sounded like it would be a fun book and I looked forward to reading it. Unfortunately I did not enjoy this book as I had hoped. The author is a good writer but the storyline did not hold my interest.
What I liked: I liked Sadie and felt bad for her that she had to leave her family in Indiana and move to Kansas but understood why she was doing it. I also liked the ladies that owned the store she worked for they where funny and added a lighter tone to the story. I liked the idea of the plot. There seemed like there was going to be some suspense and I was excited to see how it turned out.
What I did not like: I want to be careful here every book takes a lot of sweat and blood and I don’t want to bash this book. My biggest issue with this book was it was to predictable. The story is told by Sadie, Sid her cousin, Thad the sheriff and Asa the store owners brother. The problem with this for me was it pretty much gave away what was going to happen and made it less interesting to me. There was no who is the bad guy or even a climax scene that leaves you sitting on the edge of your reading seat. There was sort of a love triangle as well but it was only luke warm and did not add a lot to the story. I had to force myself to keep reading.
The story does have a good story line about Jesus forgiving our sins and not having to repay others sins. I would honestly probably not recommend this book to others but I will say read other reviews and make up your own minds you might really like it. It was just not a great book to me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Song of My Heart - eBook
This review is fromSong of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable, laid-back reading

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Josi
Location:Baker City, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Song of My Heart” by Kim Vogel Sawyer is the second novel I’ve read by this author. My previous impression of her work was that she is talented at developing setting and plot, but characterization can be a bit weak. My opinion has definitely improved. “Song of My Heart” features a young woman named Sadie who leaves her family for a job that will provide for them, as well as give her the opportunity to pursue her dream of singing. Sadie is young, naïve, good-hearted, and- like many readers- finds herself in faith challenging situations: trust God and stand firm on convictions, or “compromise” one’s beliefs for the sake of the cause- whether that’s providing for one’s family, making ends meet, or attaining one’s goals. The moral dilemma presented by Sawyer fits the historical setting of this novel (i.e., Prohibition), but the lesson is a timeless one. Of course, historical fiction “teaches” with a strong dose of romance, and here is where I felt that Sawyer’s style had improved. In one of her earlier books (A Whisper of Peace) her heroines were well-rounded, believable characters, but the leading male was flat and weakly developed. In “Song of My Heart” this is, happily, not the case. Thad, the town sheriff, though a bit too perfect, is likable and knowable- the reader can appreciate the attraction between Thad and Sadie. Furthermore, the introduction of Sid, Sadie’s not-exactly-cousin, and his long-time infatuation with Sadie, (yes, the names in this book could have been a little more creative) lends some good drama to this laid-back, frontier America novel.
I read this book on vacation and it was a great, leisurely read. Sure, I could put it down- this isn’t one of those truly spectacular books you stay up all night reading- but as soon as I had a bit of down time, I eagerly resumed the story. If you’re like me and you enjoy taking a break from a regular routine of heavy non-fiction by kicking back with historical Christian fiction every once in awhile, then you’ll like this book.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Song of My Heart - eBook
This review is fromSong of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Song Of My Heart

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Song of My Heart is a sweet story set in Kansas during Prohibition. Thad, Goldtree's new sheriff, is on the hunt for bootleggers, and Sadie sings in the "opera house" built underground. I liked the lesson Thad learned that one occupation isn't better than another, and that children aren't accountable for the sins of their parents. While Sadie and Thad were both pretty well-written, the rest of the supporting cast seemed one dimensional, unusual for this author. The story progressed in a predictable manner until the expected HEA. Kim's books My Heart Remembers and Courting Miss Amsel are full of great characters and wonderful stories. Song of My Heart just doesn't live up to the standards those books set.
With thanks to Bethany House Publishers for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Song of My Heart - eBook
This review is fromSong of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Is this the job that Sadie thought it was?

Date:April 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
dolodd
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kim Vogel Sawyer’s book is a story about a girl who has a dream of singing and a desire to help her struggling family. Sadie Wagner wants to help her family, but doesn’t know what she can do. Then a letter comes from her cousin, Sid. There is a job opening for a clerk at the local mercantile and the possibility of singing in the local opera house. She packs and heads to Goldtree, Kansas. There she meets sisters Melva and Shelva Baxter, the owners of the mercantile. Welcomed with open arms, Sadie finds she is loved and cared for in her new home. But the opera house is not what she expected. Asa Baxter has built a concrete, well insulated opera room underground and off the basement room of the mercantile. Why there? The answer is revealed as the reader finds that all is not as Asa would like everyone to believe. Sadie and Sid find they are involved in the bootleg business of drink and gambling. She as the entertainment for a secret evening gathering of men interested in the liquor and gambling and Sid as the freight driver who has been transporting the alcohol labeled as molasses and vinegar. Are they destined for prison?
Taking place in 1865, this story could have just as easily taken place during the Prohibition period of our history. Lest I forget, there is a love story involved here. Sadie finds that Sid, a cousin by marriage, and the new sheriff both want to court her. It took me only about 5 evenings to read this book. Difficult to put down, I wanted to know the outcome.
I received this book to review for free from Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Song of My Heart - eBook
This review is fromSong of My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sawyer does not disappoint

Date:March 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In an effort to help support her family when her father is injured in an accident, Sadie Wagner leaves home to join her cousin in Goldtree, Kansas. There she will be paid well to work as a store clerk and also get to fulfill her dream of singing at the town’s Opera House. Sadie arrives at her new home full of anticipation mixed with a little fear and is determined to succeed. Her cousin Sid is a familiar face from home and she quickly learns to love her two spinster bosses. The town’s handsome new sheriff soon becomes her friend and the future looks bright. Surely this is God’s will.
But as the days go by Sadie becomes more and more confused. The Opera House is not what she expected and the owner makes her uneasy with some of his requests. She is terribly homesick and to top it all off, she is confused by her new feelings for the sheriff right at the time that Sid announces he is in love with her. Then she is devastated when her father dies, and she finds herself pulled into an unlawful situation that she must keep from the sheriff.
I have always loved Kim Vogel Sawyer’s books and this one is no exception. Her characters are realistic and interesting, especially Melva and Shelva, the delightful store clerks. The chemistry between Sadie and Thad is just right and you find yourself rooting for both of them. But most important to the story, Kim also has a way of allowing her characters to grow in their relationships with each other and with God. The spiritual aspect of her books always teaches me something and speaks to me in a personal way. I also greatly appreciate the fact that while Kim’s books have a very realistic and satisfying romance in them, I never have to worry that they will cross the line from good wholesome Christian values as some of the newer offerings in the Christian fiction market have done. To sum it up—when you finish this book you will feel like it was time well spent.
I received this complimentary copy from Bethany House Publishers for this review. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>