Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Publishers Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook

Bethany House Publishers Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook

With nothing to their names, young widow Rosa Garner and her mother-in-law return to Texas and the family ranch. Only now the county is demanding back taxes and the women have only four months to pay.

Though facing eviction, Rosa can't keep herself from falling in love with the countryside and the wonderful extended family who want only her best. Learning the American customs is not easy, however, and this beautiful young widow can't help but catch wandering eyes. Where some offer help with dangerous strings attached, only one man seems honorable. But when Weston Garner, still grieving his own lost love, is unprepared to give his heart, to what lengths will Rosa go to save her future?

Average Customer Rating:
4.474 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
36 out of 3895%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook
Review 1 for Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook
This review is fromSixty Acres and a Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Really Enjoyed This Historical Romance

Date:March 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sixty Acres and a Bride is a wonderful read! It is set in post-Civil War Texas in 1878. It is a retelling of the story of Ruth, which happens to be one of my favorite Bible stories. So, this book was very hard for me to set down. I read it quickly and loved it from the very beginning.
Rosa is a young Mexican widow who has traveled to Texas with her widowed mother-in-law, Louise. Rosa and Louise have a hard road ahead of them as they try to save the family farm, which has back taxes due. Rosa carries many burdens and much guilt. It is through her in-laws that she came to know Jesus. She feels so very indebted to Louise. Rosa was a sweet character that I was occasionally frustrated with, but it was only because she made things harder on herself than they had to be due to fears she carried around.
Weston Garner makes a great “Boaz”. He has a good heart and always tries to be there for his extended family, helping them as they need it. When Weston helps Rosa in order to try to save both her reputation and the family farm, it brings a whole new set of complications for these two people who are so perfect for each other, but so weighed down with baggage from their first marriages!
This book is full of interesting characters and is such a good story. I highly recommend this fun, yet heartfelt book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good story

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
CurledUpWithaBook
Location:The Maritimes
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I enjoyed this book though I couldn't quite make the full connection with it being based on the story of Ruth. I didn't like the on again, off again relationship being repeated over and over but on the whole this was an interesting story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook
This review is fromSixty Acres and a Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful story, with laughter and tears

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Regina Jennings' novel Sixty Acres and a Bride looks deeper into the story of Ruth, exploring the relationships, emotions, and prejudices that might have similarly affected Ruth and Boaz themselves. Placing it in 1878 Texas, with Rosa, the Ruth equivalent, a native Mexican who accompanies her American mother-in-law back to Texas, Jennings dives right into the prejudice toward and the fascination of a foreigner who tries to join the rest of society rather than existing on its fringes. Since she is now the daughter-in-law of one of their own, the locals cannot ignore Rosa and must try to accept her in spite of her improper ways. As a foreign woman, she is colorful and different, attracting the eyes of the male population while inspiring jealousy and horror among the women. Modest attire in the Sierra Madres turns out to be scandalous in Texas; a dance that embodies propriety in Mexico becomes a seductive act suggesting wanton behavior among the Americans. Rosa stumbles repeatedly in American culture, just as Ruth no doubt experienced the shock of Israelite culture. In addition to cultural mistakes Rosa makes, she also faces the prejudice of a Mexican among Americans.
Jennings also depicts the horror and embarrassment of the girl as she humbles herself to a reputation-shattering position as she begs financial rescue for herself and her mother-in-law. In Sixty Acres and a Bride, Rosa pleads with the kinsman redeemer for money rather than marriage, but the end result is the same - he saves them financially and chooses to marry her (though as much to salvage her reputation as out of attraction). So Rosa finds herself saddled to a man who married her through obligation, and her husband knows that she, too, married him under duress; they must learn together how to love and respect each other as spouses and overcome the fear of potentially being unloved in return.
Overall, Sixty Acres and a Bride is a beautiful story - detailed, exciting, sprinkled with moments of humor, sporting a villain one loves to hate, filled with tenderness, and ripe with hope. Not many novels inspire me to tears, but as a bride, I find that this one really speaks to the hopes and fears of a young marriage. No matter how in love and prepared one feels prior to the wedding ceremony (and Rosa and Weston scarcely felt ready at all), learning to put aside one's individual self in order to live as one with one's spouse is a bumpy road, and small misunderstandings between a husband and wife can lead to great hurt without immediate reconciliation. Thankfully, God's grace sufficiently covers us in our foolishness, and Jesus came to heal our bodies and hearts (and, of course, to save), and so we can truly love our spouses with God's perfect help. "There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear," I John 4:18a.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook
This review is fromSixty Acres and a Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Honor and Redemption

Date:February 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I realized this story was a retelling of the biblical book of Ruth, I assumed I knew the story. I still wanted to read it for its cultural take--that of a young Mexican woman returning to Texas with her widowed mother-in-law in the 1870s. Certainly the main points of Ruth and Boaz's story were present in Sixty Acres and a Bride, but it was so much more.
Rosa Garner accompanied her late husband's mother to Texas because becoming a Christian had cost her everything. Her Mexican family no longer wanted her. She had no reason to stay south of the border when she could help her beloved mentor work the family homestead. The two women may have had sixty acres upon arrival, but the taxes had been mounting and now the women only have a few months to save up enough cash to pay up, or lose the farm.
Widowed Weston Garner is the man of the clan. A cowboy and successful overseer of his extended family's lands, he takes care of his relatives but, in his long-held grief, he doesn't know everything that's going on. He's attracted to the spirited and charming foreigner but has no intention of ever remarrying.
Some of the local men think Rosa should be thankful for whatever attention they're willing to give her, even when it's less than honorable. And one neighbor, in particular, has a plan to grab the sixty acres--and more--when the women fail to pay their taxes. What will it take for Weston to act? The novel carries on with a few more twists that expand upon the biblical tale.
This is a beautiful story of honor and redemption, with many a moment of humor dropped in. Read and enjoy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook
This review is fromSixty Acres and a Bride.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The overall story was good and the characters were written fairly well, I had a hard time getting into the book. For me it started slow and didn't really pick until the last half. That being said, the biggest problem I had with this book, just like many others that are published under the "christian fiction" banner, contain very little about God, Jesus or the salvation message. Hopefully within this authors upcoming books she can weave into her stories at least one strong christian character.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook
This review is fromSixty Acres and a Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:January 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
melz
Location:NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the start, you will see this story is akin to the story of Ruth in the Bible.
The story surrounds a young, recently widowed woman named Rosa. She lives with her mother-in-law Louise who also lost her husband in the same tragedy that took Rosa’s husband. Both women make a move back to Louise’s hometown where hardship awaits both of them as well as a wonderful group of family members.
Within the family, the reader will be introduced to Weston, the modern day Boaz. He is the protector of the family and is also nursing tragedy and loss of his own. Weston is drawn to Rosa from their first meeting but he is reticent to give in. However, God has a very different plan for them both.
I enjoyed this book immensely from start to finish! The characters were very well written that it seemed that they came off the page. You will take a journey through their moments of struggle, loss, and joys. This is the debut novel for Regina Jennings and I can definitely say that I am looking forward to reading further books from this author!
Note: I have received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for a review
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook
This review is fromSixty Acres and a Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fresh and compelling

Date:December 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah Sundin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always love a good Ruth & Boaz story, and this book puts a unique spin on it with a Mexican heroine in 1870s Texas. A compelling heroine, a wounded hero, and great chemistry between them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good story line, good values

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Raven
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book because it also has great values and no porn.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook
This review is fromSixty Acres and a Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:August 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rosa comes to Texas with her mother-in-law Louise. Her husband is dead and her family will have nothing to do with her because she chose to follow Jesus. She plans to do whatever is needed to help Louise as they settle into their homestead. Once they arrive Louise finds out that the former renters of her homestead had up and left and not paid taxes and a very big sum is due in three months time. The ladies hope to raise the money but as times passes Rosa starts to worry they will not make the payment and lose their homestead.
Weston is a cousin of Louisa and the family guardian as he feels he needs to help and protect those he loves as he was not able to save his late wife from herself. Weston is intrigued with Rosa from the moment he meets her but keeps her at bay due to his late wife and not wanting to fall in love again. But soon he finds God forcing his hand when Rosa comes to him in the middle of the night asking for help so they can keep the homestead. Will Rosa find a redeemer and love?
I was not sure what to expect when I first read some of the reviews of this book. I knew it was a telling of the bible story of Ruth and Boaz but other then that I was not sure what to expect. What I found was a wonderful romance with a spiritual story that will touch your heart.
What I liked: I liked all the characters. The author did a great job of developing the story line and making her characters real. I loved Rosa and at some points in the story could relate with her. Even though Weston is the hero in the story he is still a man who is hurting and dealing with things in his life that can make a person relate. The support characters where equally as likeable and make it an all around good book.
What I did not like: There really was not much to dislike in this book.
The thing that stood out for me in this book was the other story this book tells. The biblical story of Ruth and Boaz also tell the story of Christ and the Church and what he did for us so that we could receive the free gift of Heaven. Regina did an amazing job of telling that story as well. Rosa kept trying to earn her keep with Weston even after she was his wife but nothing she could do would help she just had to receive his love that he offered her but she like us had trouble doing that. Weston like Christ let Rosa try even though he loved her he let her be his servant even though she had a place at his table he allowed her to serve him even though he hated it. Just like how Jesus is always there for us even when we fail we just have to except his love. The ending of the book made me close my eyes and thank Jesus for his love and his sacrifice. I don’t want to give the last few pages away but the way this book ended also showed Jesus’s love for us and his protective love for his bride and how we have to want to receive his love and protection.
The talent of the author is amazing and this is her first book! Not everyone will see the other story in this book and I don’t know for sure if the author planned it to parallel like the bible but it was a great read and I highly recommend it! I am very much looking forward to her next book due out next year which will have a look at two of the supporting characters in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this book, a must read!

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rosa and Louise Garner returned to Louise's home in Priarie Lea, Texas. Louise, her husband Eli and son Mack rented their property in Texas and had moved to Ciauhtlaz, Mexico. Rosa's mother encouraged her to help the Americanos and as she grew to know them, so did her interest in their religion and her parents' disapproval. Eli didn't like the way the pagan girl, Netnetl and Mack got along so he suggested Rosa marry Mack. Being without her own family, due to her no longer worshiping Santa Muerte, Saint Death, she accepted the offer to marry Mack, even though she knew that he loved Netnetl. She believed that Mack would learn to love her, but he never did. Eli and Mack worked in the mines and when there was an explosion Mack made it out alive and went straight to Netnetl, not Rosa, then he went back in looking for his father and neither one came back out. She then felt she'd stolen the love that belonged to someone else and this was her punishment, married less than a month and her husband is now dead.
Rosa loved the Garner family and would do anything for her widowed mother-in-law and returned to Prairie Lea with her to try and save the family property. When they arrived in town they went to the courthouse and found out that the tenants hadn't paid the taxes for the four years they lived there and Rosa and Louise would have to come up with $160.00 in three months, by August 15th. Rosa worked day and night trying to earn the money.
Weston Garner, Mack's cousin, lived nearby but was rarely around and quite the loner since his wife had died, he felt like he was to blame for her death. He helped his family as much as he could in any way possible. From the time he and Rosa met they kept their distance. Rosa felt guilt and she didn't deserve any happiness so she was satisfied living with Louise on Garner land. Weston felt the same about himself because he married Cora, a city girl, and brought her to this country and she ended up dying in his care. The problem is they could each feel an attraction for the other but kept pushing it away.
It's August 14th and they don't have enough money, even with selling the chickens Rosa brought with her, so Louise tells Rosa part of the story of Naomi and Ruth and how Ruth went to Boaz. Rosa didn't want to do this but there was no other way, she didn't know the whole story but went to the barn where Weston slept anyway. She slept in the hay but he didn't stay there with her. When she was returning home in the morning filthy Jay Tillerton, a brute that abused his wife, had tried to rape Rosa and threatened her more than once, caught her on the trail. Luckily one of Weston's men was close enough to see Tillerton confront Rosa and sent him packing, but since she was seen leaving Weston's barn, Rosa's protector that day told Weston. Now all he could do was to marry her to save her reputation, even though nothing happened between them, and pay the property off so Tillerton couldn't get his hands on Garner property.
Rosa feeling guilty about what she did very reluctantly married Weston but was determined to pay him back the money he paid in back taxes and then they could divorce. Molly, who thought she was going to get Weston to marry her tried to talk Rosa into filing for an annulment. After thinking about it Rosa thought that would be the best for both parties.
There is so much to this story, I haven't even touched it in this review. So much happens up to this point that I want you to read for yourself, and even a lot more after. I loved this book. It shows how you can be so wrong if you don't let your thoughts be known and what you may lose, your heart and a happy future. Don't be afraid to trust God and listen to what your heart is telling you. Great job Maggie!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Historical Retelling of a Bible Story

Date:June 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let me begin by saying that I considered giving this a 5-star rating, but I determined that 4 stars was best. Not because it is bad but because of some minor issues I will discuss later on.
I absolutely adored the allusions to the story of Ruth and Boaz in the Bible! Since I am named after Ruth of the Bible, I always perk up when there are any allusions to her. And I recognized it from the beginning. I also liked the fact that there were enough differences that the story was not completely predictable.
I also adored Rosa. It was nice to see a heroine that was not blonde, white, and meek. I loved the fact that she was a Mexican who had converted to Christianity. She and Weston made the romance in the story quite interesting, and the suspense almost took you to the last page!
My only criticisms concern the fact that I was not always certain about the backgrounds of the characters. I think the author told their stories in an original way, but sometimes I didn't "get" it. Thankfully the Christian message was fairly strong, but there were times I would have preferred it just a little bit stronger. But that is just my opinion.
If you are a fan of historical Christian fiction with a sweet love story, this book is for you. I would actually give this a 4.5 rating if I could. It is a nice, light read, and I think there is something for everyone.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated in any way, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook
This review is fromSixty Acres and a Bride.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Strong story by debut novelist

Date:July 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
ChristianFictionLover
This story is obviously loosely based on the story of Naomi, Ruth, and Boaz in the Bible. As I began reading, I expected a romantic storyline to keep me engaged. When that didn’t immediately happen, and I found multiple editorial errors, I lost interest and stopped reading for a while. The back cover copy indicates the story isn’t categorized as a romance, but I was hoping for one given the potential in Ruth’s story in the Bible.
Then, a few weeks later, I felt a nudge to give it another try. I still found a lot of errors, but knowing readers (not editors) are the target audience, I wanted to share how I found the story. The story is very well-crafted. The author included some wise, well-worded prose that helped explain the buzz I’d been hearing/seeing about this book.
I am glad I finished this novel. There was a lot of originality in the story. The author had a good handle on what it must have like for Ruth to enter a new culture and feel compelled to prove herself. Very believable and I sympathized with her. I liked the character of Weston as well, and a romance most assuredly developed between the two. I think because the book didn’t follow everything the formula dictates, the novel was designated as historical fiction, rather than historical romance. But if lovers of romance will stick with it, they’ll find much romance to enjoy.
Readers who don’t mind head-hopping and/or out of place (time setting) jargon will enjoy this book. The story itself is strong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

same old thing

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:Wellsvill, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used to be able to read any type of book and I loved them all. But maybe I shouldn't be reading love stories from this time period. To me they are all the same. Only the names change. It took everything I had to finish this book. How anyone can compare this to the book of Ruth is beyond me. After the birth of Christ things did change and sending someone into a compromising position like that would be wrong. I think the only love stories that are readable are modern love stories because there is so much going on in the world that at least there is a variety. This was just too boring.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook
This review is fromSixty Acres and a Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:July 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an amazing book! I really enjoyed the characters and the story line! A must read for sure!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really enjoyed this one!

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
tanderson
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I really enjoyed this western take on the story of Ruth--not as good as Liz Curtis Higgs Scottish version, but an easy and enjoyable read. I loved the main character, Rosa, and found myself cheering her on!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook
This review is fromSixty Acres and a Bride.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Debut novel with a lot of potential

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GENRE: HISTORICAL ROMANCE
PUBLISHER: BETHANY HOUSE
PUBLICATION DATE: FEBRUARY 01, 2012
RATING: 3.5 OUT OF 5 – GOOD
PROS: Unconventional heroine; engaging secondary characters
CONS: Conflict between hero and heroine is fairly weak; awkward pacing, particularly at the start of the novel, which makes it hard to get into the flow of the story
After the tragic death of her husband and father-in-law in a mining accident, Rosa Garner follows her mother-in-law, Louise, to their family home in Texas. Having met and married Mack in Mexico, Rosa isn’t prepared for life in Texas, and the people of Plum Creek aren’t prepared for her foreign clothing or behaviour. But before she can figure out how the locals want her to act, Rosa has to help Louise pay off the taxes on their family home. The task facing the two widows is momentous, and they have little chance of meeting their goal before their home is bought up by their neighbour, who has his sights set on Rosa more so than her home. Their only hope is in Weston Garner, a fellow widower and relative who might just be able to help the women pay their debts. Can Rosa stoop to begging a strange man for help before it’s too late? And can either of them handle the ramifications of the agreement they make?
The biggest compliment that I can give Sixty Acres and a Bride is that it reminded me of Kim Vogel Sawyer’s writing, which makes me hope that Regina has what it takes to someday be as popular as Kim in this genre. Regina’s setting and secondary characters made me feel involved in the story, just as some of Kim’s novels have. But Regina also brings something new to the genre – namely, the character of Rosa, who was a welcome change from the more typical heroines. I honestly struggle to think of a time that I’ve read a Christian romance novel set in this era where the heroine is Mexican. I adored the descriptions of Rosa’s clothes, and if they look anything like the ones pictured on the front cover of this novel then I’m quite envious. However, I can also see why Rosa stuck out so much in Texas, and her initial mishaps were both amusing and touching to read about.
But as with Kim's books, Sixty Acres and a Bride just didn't have that little extra spark that pushed the story up into the "Loved it!" category for me. While my emotions got very riled up at the character of Mr Tillerton and his treatment of Rosa, and the general animosity that met Rosa when she first arrived in Plum Creek (I can’t be the only one who thought of Little House on the Prairie every time the town’s name was mentioned, right?) I also got pretty annoyed with the way that Weston and Rosa could have figured out their difficulties if they’d actually talked to each other! These are two very different sets of emotions to experience when reading a book. The first set is good, and the ability to make a reader get so involved in a story that they start feeling angry on behalf of a character is a talent that I greatly admire. But getting annoyed with the characters because you’re fed up with them continually making a mess of things isn’t so good. I didn’t mind the conflict between Rosa and Weston initially, but after it dragged on I started to get a bit fed up as it could have been resolved so easily. This may be just be a matter of a personal preference, since I’m the kind of person who doesn’t let an issue go undiscussed for more than five minutes. Perhaps those who share Rosa and Weston’s stubbornness will be able to relate to this situation better.
Aside from the weaknesses in the conflict, my only other issue with Sixty Acres and a Bride was the pacing. It’s hard to describe what bothered me about it, but something just felt a little bit “off” about the pacing and I found it particularly hard to follow the plot at the start of the novel. There were several places where I got confused as to whose thoughts and feelings were being described and I had to backtrack to see whether or not the perspective had changed. After my initial difficulties with this novel I was able to settle into it better and struggled less with the pacing as the story developed, but it was a bit off-putting to begin with. If you’re just about to start this novel, I will say that it’s worth the read, so don’t let any confusions at the beginning of the story put you off.
As long as it took to get to the conclusion, I was pleased with how everything worked out, and I was sighing with relief when Rosa and Weston finally confronted each other about their feelings. The conclusion was particularly satisfying, and made me hopeful for Regina’s next novel. I’m wondering if she may revisit Molly in the future, as she was a secondary character that I found particularly interesting. Despite her scheming tendencies I did feel quite sorry for her as nothing ever seemed to go her way. And if not Molly, I hope that Regina’s next heroine is just as unconventional as Rosa.
While I do have my personal qualms with the conflict and the pacing of Sixty Acres and a Bride, I’m sure that these are issues that will be smoothed out in subsequent novels. For a debut, Sixty Acres and a Bride definitely shows potential, particularly as Regina brings something new to the genre. As much as I love to read Christian historical fiction, the genre definitely needs to be shook up every now and again, and I hope that Rosa’s story does just that. I also love that the cover of Sixty Acres and a Bride is branching out from some of the more typical covers in this genre. As pretty as some of them are, they do get a little repetitive after a while, and I really felt that this cover reflected Sixty Acres and a Bride as well as Rosa’s character. Hopefully both this novel and its cover are a sign of good things to come from Regina Jennings.
Review title provided by Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook
This review is fromSixty Acres and a Bride.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Western romance

Date:May 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
In The Hammock Blog
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted to like this book because I had heard amazing things about it, but it seemed slow to me, and I felt like I had read this style of story many times before. I didn't feel like there was much romance between the two leads, I felt like it was more about both Rosa and Weston overcoming the aftermath their disastrous first marriages.
I thought there might be more about Rosa's Mexican heritage, but I felt like most of the book concentrated on the people of her new town trying to stomp out any reminders of her heritage, especially in the way she dressed and acted. I also didn't like the way the picture was painted that because she was from Mexico, she was the town harlot. This is just something that rubbed me the wrong way personally, I know that other readers didn't get this message from the book at all.
The two leads were lovely characters, I just felt like the romance between them wasn't developed enough. It didn't seem like enough was added to the typical historical story of life in a western town.
Overall, a nice story, but didn't have the extra oomph I was looking for.
Book sent by publisher in exchange for honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook
This review is fromSixty Acres and a Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I couldn't put it down.

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Demarie Webb
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. At first I thought it was just gonna be another one of those rewritten Bible stories, but it was so much more. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook
This review is fromSixty Acres and a Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Keeps You Reading

Date:April 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
LETHER
Location:Chesapeake, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Sixty Acres and A Bride is not a book, I would normally read. However, the title was enticing and curiosity got the best of me and remained until I finished the book. As the events begin to unfold, my level of excitement increased. Unexpected twist and turns kept the story interesting. Rosa was a character to be admired. A woman from a different culture and not intimidated by hard work. Willing to do what it takes to help her family during difficult times. A different culture did, however, require some adjusting. What she was accustomed to doing in her country was not appropriate behavior for women in Texas. Her behavior was a source of entertainment for the men and gossip for the women.
Rosa is definitely a “Ruth.” Her commitment and loyalty is to be commended. The bond between Rosa and Louise is sincere mother-daughter love, even though they are in-laws and not related by blood. She trusted the decisions of her mother-in-law and heeded her advice. This in turn created a better life for them both. This story reminds me of the fact that God sometimes places people of wisdom in our lives who can offer insight which results in improving our lives and the lives of others. Wes was a gentleman who displayed a great deal of respect and concern for women, even when placed in awkward positions. Although one of the decisions he was forced to make was a bit disheartening. It did, however, allow him to work through some issues that he was dealing with. The events that transpired at the wedding had me on edge and kept me turning pages. Mr. Tillerton, what a monster. He was always on the prowl and imposing misery on others. What he encountered was not unusual, but not what I anticipated. This story reminds me of the fact that God sometimes places people of wisdom in our lives who can offer insight which results in improving our lives and the lives of others. The author did a fantastic job in writing this book. God was definitely working things out. Thanks Regina for writing an awesome novel and thanks Bethany House Publishing for the opportunity to read her work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sixty Acres and a Bride, Ladies of Caldwell County Series #1 -eBook
This review is fromSixty Acres and a Bride.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Ruth and Boaz in a whole new way!

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To me, there is just always something fun, intriguing and downright captivating about a good “fish out of water story.” You know those stories I mean, where the main character is taken completely out of their element, where they really don’t know which end is up and so inevitably they do things that are wrong and often times embarrassing. And they usually do them, never in a small way, but with pure unadulterated gusto bringing the audience/reader to that place where you laugh out loud at the character’s mistakes as you can relate because you have been there yourself. Spunky Rosa, the main character in Sixty Acres and a Bride, by Regina Jennings delivers these moments in spades.
It was with a little bit of trepidation I must admit that I began this novel as I thought- here we go – an updated Ruth/Naomi story set in Texas in 1878, I wonder how this will fly? But trust me, this first offering by Regina Jennings does fly, in fact I might say it soars. I really, really, enjoyed the character of Rosa, a beautiful Mexican widow returning to Texas with her mother- in- law Louise Garner to save the family farm so to speak. Of course, this is Rosa’s first time in Texas and so poor Rosa doesn’t know how to dress, how and when to speak, or how to impress this small town’s people as she is the object of much gossip and naysayers because of her outsider’s ways. But she is smart, beautiful and a very hard worker and thus captures the essence of “Ruth” perfectly, but in a fun and new way. Then there’s Weston Garner, her now dead husband’s cousin, who is attractive, well off, and a widower himself with a story to tell. He is of course cast as the Boaz character to the story, the kinsman redeemer. But it seems to me as the story progresses that they seem to rescue each other. I felt that both character’s were written well as their attraction built, but both coming to the table with a little bit of relationship baggage that needed to be dealt with before the relationship could fully develop. The story is rounded out with a really good villain in a neighbor named Mr. Tillerton who is easy to despise. He brings that sense of tension and suspense to the story as every good story needs a really good bad guy!
Through many dangers, toils and snares, goodness and love do finally prevail in this really fun story by Regina Jennings and for those that are fans of a good Christian historical fiction books, I think you will find this a delightful twist on the age old story of Ruth and Boaz. Regina Jennings gives us a heroine to cheer on, a hero with room to grow and grow he does, and a delightful ending where all is as it should be. Congrats to you Regina on a wonderful debut novel.
4 stars
This novel was graciously provided for me to read for review by Bethany House publishers with the sole intent of soliciting an honest and unbiased review. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>