Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Apologia Educational Ministries Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook

Apologia Educational Ministries Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook

Designed to be a student's first systematic introduction to the sciences, Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Ed. explores topics such as the scientific method, designing experiments, simple machines, geology, archaeology, biology, anatomy and other disciplines, providing a wide range of scientific exposure. Hands-on experiments are included throughout, giving students practical experience as they discover the principles behind the science! Looking at the world from a creationist position, topics are all presented with an eye towards God's role in everyday life.

This second edition includes updates on relevant topics as well as stylistic changes. The primary function of the appendix (discovered in 2006) has now been included, as have higher-quality drawings and more colorful illustrations. Online resources for advanced students and a review appendix have also been included in this 2nd edition. 7th Grade. Hardcover.

Average Customer Rating:
4.773 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook
Review 1 for Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
teaching mama
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are still in the first module, but enjoying this book so far. Works well with the workbook, and the experiment kit has saved me a lot of time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good program - must get the student notebook

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
smile
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, this is a good science program - I highly recommend getting the student notebook - it contains all the lab report write ups, a daily schedule (so you know how to plan out all the sections/modules for the year).
I did not buy the student notebook initially, and then bought it 2 weeks later - it is really a must for making this science curriculum work well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Harder then expected

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
JJC23
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a little hard I would say for anyone under about 6th grade! It came up in material for 2nd grade, and while I like my child to be challenged, this is a bit much! The material is good, but really difficult, and not at all what I was expecting.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:September 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maria
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is very challenging material but written in a way that makes it interesting. It has an easy to follow style and is organized very well. It is visually a little dull, but this is made up for in the Student Journal which I highly recommend to accompany it. It has a strong foundation in the scientific method and I know it will prepare my child well for future science courses. I really like the experiments so far and how they make use of easy to find supplies.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Detailed, yet easy to follow and comprehend.

Date:August 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elisia
Location:Homer, Alaska
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was suggested to me by another home schooler that Apologia in the middle grades was too difficult. Not so! The text has an excellent flow, as well as being easily understood by my 11 and 13 year old children.
I will stay in line with Apologia through High school.
Also, no where else have I found prices for books and materials matching those of Christianbook.
God Bless
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
fun2learn
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the Apologia Science. Good value and good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My daughter couldn't put it down!!!

Date:July 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
happyhomeschooler
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was our first year using Apologia High School Sciences. Our daughter used this text for 8th grade and LOVED it!!! The made the concepts easy to understand and there were lots of hands-on experiments which gave her more insight into how the processes worked.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

learning in an exciting way

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Abby Mcmichael
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has taught the basics to my 7th grader in a colorful, well laid out book. I do like the study guides as the questions are similar to the test questions. The experiments are kid friendly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book by Dr. Wile

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Need Grace HomeSchooler
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Different style learners benefit from different approaches. For my auditory learners, we also use the audio cd-rom after they've read the textbook. *Sonlight Curriculum has a wonderful lesson plan for each of the Jr/Sr High sciences with Apologia, to make your planning easier. Another tip: Quizlet & StudyStack websites help you make or play flash card games & practice quizzes throughout the week or two before a Module Exam.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressed

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alaska Forester Family
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As homeschoolers we had heard of Apologia for years but this is our first year using it. I work professionally as a microbiolgist and my wife has worked as a chemist and we are both impressed at how well the material is presented.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

He loves it!

Date:March 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
MYLaw
Location:NM
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My student loves his new book. The format is clear. The procedure is straightforward. The experiments are fun. He is enjoying putting the time in to learn the info!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For the child serious about science

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lizzie
Location:Queensland, Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook is a well presented science cirruculum for a child serious about taking science further into the senior years. Written in such a fasion that my 12 year old loves doing it on her own. It not only creates a love for the subject but a tight christian understanding of science to. Well done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
karieo
We've used Apologia in the past and found it a very well-written program. This book is as colorful as we've come to expect, and written to be easily handled by a wide range of students. We're ready to jump right in on our science for next year!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angie Swicegood
Excellent textbook; Gives the correct accounting of creation but also covers other theories so student has knowledge of other ideas. Well-rounded curriculum.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melody Kenny
We LOVE this science curriculum. I am thankful that it not only shows the creation view of science but also gives what the common views are and then explains why christians believe what they do and takes caution to not be overly biased.It keeps science interesting, explains things really well, and prepares students for what's coming on the test.They also keep it reinforced with several experiments in each chapter. The experiment materials are mostly common things you can find around the house.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brooke Riley
This book is very engaging. My daughter enjoys reading it on her own and then doing the experiments for her sister and I to watch. I especially enjoy watching her put different bits of information together to come to a conclusion before the book does it for her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Loretta Baldi
Easy to read, understand and follow the experiments. We just updated to the new edition, but have used this for 2 other students and been happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Z Hohenstatt
at the end it has 15 fill in the blank review summaries. very nice, hard bound book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kaari Bouma
This is a great book. It covers a wide variety of topics, has some wonderful pictures and fun experiments. This book does not have quite as many pictures as the books for younger readers. Overall we are very impressed with this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Exploring Creation with General Science, 2nd Edition, Textbook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anna Kurz
It's a Science book, what can I say. I do enjoy the Creationist perspective especially with regard to science!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>