Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Penguin Putnam Inc. Sarah's Gift, Pleasant Valley Series #4

Penguin Putnam Inc. Sarah's Gift, Pleasant Valley Series #4

Amish midwife Sarah Mast moves to Pleasant Valley for a fresh start. But her aging aunt can no longer run the birthing center, leaving most of the responsibility to Sarah. Among those skeptical of Sarah's ability is neighbor Aaron Miller, who seems drawn to Sarah but pulls away when his own sister requests her services. And when a criminal complaint is filed against Sarah, she must pray for strength to defend her practice and win acceptance from the community she loves.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sarah's Gift, Pleasant Valley Series #4
Review 1 for Sarah's Gift, Pleasant Valley Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amish person can get threw the snow.

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
LinDawn
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first the Amish midwife who moved from another state comes from one sadness,losing her husband, it seems to try and help her Aunt in the midwife business. But some are against midwives and want only Doctors. But This midwife saves a friends life while Molly gives birth in a snow storm and emergency services can't get threw for many hours but the midwife can and prevents a death and causes some people to change their mind.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sarah's Gift, Pleasant Valley Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sarah-The Female Job from the Bible

Date:July 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reading Sarah's Gift by Marta Perry , I was amazed at how wonderfully strong Sarah is and how courageous she appears though she is thrown into a number of situations that could send someone spiralling and away from God. As I read Sarah's Gift, I couldn't help but associate Sarah with a character from the bible -Job . Job was a godly person and Satan decided to test him and sent all this evil and bad luck upon him , things that would have turned others from God, but Job stood steadfast with the Lord and praised and worshipped him. I find that utterly amazing. To me, Sarah followed this same path as for a young woman of twenty-six- the things she had to experience were heartbreaking and tragic and at times scary as the unknown awaited her. I was trying to figure out how to write this review as I could go on about the book for ages , so I decided to play the Job angle and for all those Christians out there, how I saw Sarah like Job.
The first tragedy in Sarah's life was the death of her husband Levi , at only twenty-six Sarah became a widow taking with this the one thing she had wanted most in the world besides her husband and God - Children . Sarah decides that in order to move on , she must start a new life so she moves to live with her Aunty Emma in Pleasant Valley. However as Sarah arrives, she sees all is not well with Emma and her plans of becoming a midwife in Emma's practice seems now like a dream rather than a reality as Emma is selling the practice due to finances and her state of health. With the help of her life savings, Sarah takes over the midwifery and all goes well until a Dr Mitchell - the new Englischer local doctor receives note of Sarah and from there it escalates into Sarah being put on trial. However, though her misfortunes are plenty, Sarah knows that God has a plan for her as Sarah is called to look after a friend during her birth and ends up saving the woman and her child. It also seems that God has thawed the heart of local Carpenter Aaron Miller , will Sarah be able to find the one thing that she will always yearn for , something that was cut short with Levi ?
Find out all this and more in the amazing tale of Sarah's Gift by author Marta Perry ,and if Sarah's gift is anything to go by then I will be adding Marta Perry to my list of authors to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sarah's Gift, Pleasant Valley Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
bluebonnet
Location:Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a very good book. The book had alot of twist and turns and it keeps you on the edge of your seat. You get so caught up in the characters that you cant put the book down. All 4 books of this series is a must to buy. It shows you all about the Amish life and the struggles, trails and their heartaches they face. But through all of it its their faith thats carries them through. You need to buy all of this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sarah's Gift, Pleasant Valley Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The book was fantastic

Date:April 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary Eubanks
Location:Whiting, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book was great and very much Wanda bumstetter's style. I had read the other 2 books also and so was very anxious to read this one. Another book that once you start it you have a hard time putting it down until finished
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sarah's Gift, Pleasant Valley Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful read!

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julie
Location:Dover , PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed reading Sarah's Gift. It is book that keeps you engaged from the beginning to the end. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys reading about the Amish and their lifestyle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sarah's Gift, Pleasant Valley Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

CANT GET ENOUGH OF THIS SERIES!!!!

Date:March 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
making magick
Location:Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Another good one from Marta Perry!!! I have read all the books in this series and suspect I will read all in series until she ends it. This was a pretty interesting book but it did take me longer to read than usual. I really understood aunt Emma's feelings of uselessness. I became Ill and couldnt do what I was used to doing as well and it takes quite some time to understand that although you cant do what you used to do, you can still be productive in other ways. Emma found this out and so did I.
Sarah is a very sweet character and I am elated she finally found love. Aaron took his time, but finally realized that Sarah was what he needed in his life. I would like to see the characters of Nathan and the little brother in upcoming books. Sarah did what she had to do and took the consequences. Sometimes we must follow our heart!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sarah's Gift, Pleasant Valley Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Five Stars!

Date:March 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I save my five star ratings for my very favorite books. Sarah's Gift qualifies. I couldn't wait to get back to this story.
I love the characters in this series. I think the development of the relationship between Sarah and Aaron was all too precious. And who wouldn't love Aunt Emma?
It was a family reunion to see Leah, Rachel and Anna resurface. Fantastic characters that you can't get enough of should always stay around.
The intensity of Sarah's plight, along with the outpouring of love from her community wraps this story up in a most lovely way.
Marta Perry is one of the best authors in this genre and I hope more people will hop on the Pleasant Valley train!
I see there is a book 5 due out in November and that makes my heart very happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sarah's Gift, Pleasant Valley Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary Lou Freeman
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy reading, good story line. Would pass it on to my others who enjoy amish novels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sarah's Gift, Pleasant Valley Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
it is mine
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have now read all 4 of this author's books in this series. I have really enjoyed each and every one. I see there will be a fifth book out this coming November. I can't wait to be able to read this book, too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sarah's Gift, Pleasant Valley Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
mandy
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really liked the book Sarah's Gift. I hope other people like it as much as I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.