Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook

Multnomah Books I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.377 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
16 out of 1794%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook
Review 1 for I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everyone young person should read this book

Date:December 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cheri
My daughter read this book a couple of years ago and so did I. We both thought it was insightful and offered great advice. It is not something everyone can do with the peer pressure regarding dating etc but I wish it was something everyone would do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
pirategrl1014
Location:Mesquite, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
About the Book:
Price: $13.99
ISBN: 9781590521359
Release: 4.2.2003
Religion - Christian Life - Relationships
I was 21-years old when I wrote my story of giving up the dating game in order to focus on serving God. The hope behind it was that other singles would be helped by some of the lessons I was learning. Most people have an opinion about "that book about not dating." Some love it; others despise it. I'd encourage you not to assume you know what it says without having read it. Many readers who start out critics of I Kissed Dating Goodbye are surprised to learn that the core message of the book isn't about "dating," but living your life for God.
My Review:
I loved this book. I have 2 teenagers (son and a daughter) that are constantly harassing me about why they are not allowed to date. We go back and forth about how you can date when they are ready to get married and settle down, until then the answer is still No. This book was great support in helping avoiding some pitfalls when it comes to dealing with my kids and dating. My kids are allowed to go on "group dates"
and I agree with what the author is trying to convey here about how it is harder to be fake in a group setting for a prolonged period of time and that the real you comes out and you see people for who they are and truly get to know them, something I feel singular one on one dating does not offer.
I personally support courting as apposed to dating. It puts the mindset in both parties immediately that this is not a one night stand type of relationship, this is an all or nothing deal. It sets the tone that the relationship is about finding a marriage mate to honor God and His design for marriage and not just simply a soul mate that you look at as disposable when things go wrong. Courtship allows each partner to explore the others views on religion, society, raisin children, etc all with the understanding that this person sitting across from you is thinking full 100% commitment for life. it makes you think things through more seriously.
I thought this book was wrote very well and offered wonderful examples of the differences between dating, courting, and relying on God. I would highly recommend this book to anyone with kids that are starting to get closer to the age when they want to date.
Here is a small excerpt from the Study Guide Sample that you can purchase [here][1]:
[1]: http://www.christianbook.com/kissed-dating-goodbye-study-guide-ebook/joshua-harris/9780307564481/pd/11410EB?item_code=WW&netp_id=905364&event=ESRCG&view=details
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book

Date:May 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
FJJP
Location:Manitoba
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is what every single believer needs to reassure them on a lot of things. It completely changed my perspective on so many things and I am grateful I got it. I highly recommend it:)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sarahq
Location:Corbin, ky
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing book for young adults who want to stay pure! It has opened up my eyes about courtship.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Has some pretty good points

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Daughter of YHVH
Location:KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
This book is all about romance and dating! But, as you can probably tell from the title it won't be promoting dating. Instead, it encourages you to consider courtship.
Listed her are some of the points discussed in the book.
Waiting until you are ready for marriage before pursueing romance. And, once your ready for marrage,
Waiting on God's (YHVH's) timing. Meaning, you wait for him to bring the right person into your life. And once he does that,
How to step forward into a relationship with that person. Here, the book suggest courtship in the place of dating.
And while this book does not entirely rule out dating as an approach to romance, it does list some of the problems that most dating couples encounter.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Encouraged
Location:Surprise, Az
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought this would be a really good book for my soon to be 18 yr old daughter to read before I allow her to date. I wanted her to have some insight from a different point of view. She needs to know that she as a child of the most high God, can choose to date, or stop dating at anytime, because no one owns her. I want her to know she is a rare ruby in Gods eyes, so she can take her time finding someone who see her the same way!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Christ-centered aproach to dating

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
bornagainbygrace
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I Kissed Dating Goodbye by Joshua Harris
Let’s admit it. Most dating are a mess of tangled feelings, questions, and conflicting desires. It’s a cycle of “falling in love” and heartbreak. Isn’t there a better way? This is the question Joshua Harris invites us to explore in his book, I Kissed Dating Goodbye, a New Attitude toward Romance and Relationships.
Harris divides the book into 4 parts. The first focuses on the problem of most dating relationships, and the sin and hurt they are filled with. He recognized many of the negative attitudes we approach dating with, as well as its destructive tendencies. The second part focuses on issues of the heart. What do love and purity look like in God’s book? The third part gives action steps to implement the new pure attitudes of the heart into actual relationships – both dating relationships and relationships with family, friends and all those around us. The last section casts the vision for a future committed to loving and seeking God first – even above a future spouse.
Even though I Kissed Dating Goodbye is a book about romance and relationships, Harris gives these words of wisdoms to his readers in the introduction, “Even though in one sense this book is about dating, in another sense dating isn’t really the point. The point is what God wants. Discussing if or how to date isn’t an end in itself. Talking about it serves a purpose only when we view it in terms of its relation to God’s overall plan for our lives.” I would agree with Harris that dating really isn’t an end it itself. This is the lens through which he writes the book – as a conversation about one aspect of life that should in every way demonstrate and point towards God’s greater plan.
As I read the book, there were certain parts about Harris’ writing that I feel are rare in books concerning teen and young adult relationships. First of all, he treats the scriptures with absolute respect and builds his main points around bible passages and verses. Also, he shares his struggles openly. His approach is completely honest, non-judgmental, and he encourages others to do the same in considering their mistakes before blaming their friends. Harris, coming himself from a past of mistakes also writes in a way that demonstrates God’s forgiveness to a repentant heart. Lastly, Harris writes with a passion for God’s calling to a holy lifestyle, and he invites us to join him in seeking God above all and making the most of every opportunity, living intentionally with God as our first love.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much more than issue of dating

Date:January 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
rhsacts172728
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author helps you understand how to have godly relationships with the opposite sex, looking out for their best interest and not your own desires. He shows how dating before you are ready for commitment is really selfish and distracts you and the other person from what God wants to do in your lives.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Food for thought, but not without flaws.

Date:January 9, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's hard to kiss dating goodbye if you've barely waved it in to say "hello." As a result, I was a bit skeptical before reading the ever-controversial I Kissed Dating Goodbye by Joshua Harris. However, despite my reservations, Harris' book (which he wrote at the age of 21), provided excellent insight into the details of how Godly relationships can form out of a disciplined dedication to marriage.
Pros:
1. Harris offers his readers personal examples of his failure to maintain "purity" with his past girlfriends. Humility is good, and Harris does not hide the fact that his track record in pursuit of purity is not spotless.
2. In terms of the popular question "How far should we go physically?," Harris reminds his readers that unless two people are married, their bodies do not belong to each other. Therefore, if a couple is unmarried, Harris suggests that they treat each other as "brothers and sisters in Christ.
3. If my future husband were to say he followed the relationship guidelines as promoted by Harris in I Kissed Dating Goodbye, I would be impressed by his dedication to purity and Christ-centered relationship building. The book offered a biblical basis for rejecting casual dating in exchange for meaningful friendships that can eventually blossom into a meaningful relationship.
Cons:
1. The book is not for the perpetually single. It is written for an audience of young men and women who have had "experience" in the dating arena. While those who have never been in a serious relationship can take Harris' advice, the book focuses more on reverting from casual dating to a loose form of courtship.
2. The book also seems to assume that once one begins his or her courtship, the date offers will be never- ending or that the supply of Christian men and women are abundant. One example that the book gives is one of a recent high school graduate who sold on the idea of courtship, but she enters her local conservative Christian university only to find gaggles of young, Christian men ripe for the picking. This perhaps is the biggest flaw of the book, as it seems to suggest that everybody reading the book struggles to not accept a myriad of dates.
Though I am not fully sold on I Kissed Dating Goodbye, I do recommend Harris' book on the belief that our society needs to reexamine its stance on casual dating. No, courtship is not for everybody, but this books does raise interesting questions on what it means to act in a Christian manner towards those of the opposite sex.
PS- The good people at Multnomah (through its Blogging for Books program) offered me a copy of I Kissed Dating Goodbye in exchange for an honest review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robby J
Location:Smithfield, VA
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
I am a seventeen year-old senior in high school. I've never had a girlfriend. I've never had a date. I've never touched a girl romantically or kissed a girl. Frankly, I'm glad.
I may be coming across as a legalistic prude who thinks anyone who does play the dating game is immoral, but I'm not. I've pursued some romances; they just never got very far because I realized this or that person wasn't the one for me.
This book, I Kissed Dating Goodbye, has brought into words exactly how I feel about dating. It presents the radical, yet completely true, idea that dating as we know it doesn't work. Shocking, I know (insert sarcasm here).
Joshua Harris really puts alot of things in perspective, such as physical and emotional intimacy, staying pure physically and emotionally, the gift of singleness, how our relationships should model christlike attitudes and service, and much more.
Because of this book, I've made the decision to not pursue any romances at least, at least, until college because there is not room for me to commit in the less than 8 months before I leave for college. I've also decided to adopt the pledge to save my first kiss for marriage (common among serious Christians girls, but not so much for guys). These are just my convictions, not Joshua Harris' or anyone else's. These are some of the decisions I've made based on what I know is honoring to God, to what He wants from me. Your convictions will most likely be different than mine, but probably similiar after you read this book. Every single Christian should read this book. It's absolutely amazing. Get it, read it, see how you feel about dating afterward. Let God show you what he wants for you in your relationships.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this book!

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Libbi Hartwig
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is dating, really? Is it a way to find a future spouse, or is it just an unnecessary evil we try to justify? In this deep, down-to-earth book, Joshua Harris shows some of the downfalls of stereo-typical dating. Fortunately for those pessimistic, he does so in an orderly, non-condemning manner. Unlike many books that discourage dating, Joshua Harris reveals not only the problem, but the answer. In a book perfect for it's time, I Kissed Dating Goodbye is a wonderful book, showing the joy that comes from a pure heart.
This book is superb. Utterly perfect. Our generation needs this book. I enjoyed his stories, analogies, and use of scripture, and his writing style made me feel like we were lightheartedly chatting over coffee. I loved this quote, {in reference to compromise, dating, or whatever you feel like sticking in..."
"Everyone around us may be doing it. But at the end of our lives, we won't answer to everyone. We'll answer to God."
Whoa. Deep.
I would rapidly recommend this book to everyone within dating age, {which, in today's culture is very, very young}This book gets the point across clearly, while not being graphic in the least. I really had to check myself when he spoke about not wasting our singleness. I feel this book will always have a place in my top five books, and I believe, should you read it, that it will be in your top reads as well!
Sincerely,
Libbi H.
This book was given to me for free from Waterbrook Publishing for this review
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read for all teens.

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mom2gr8kids
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book for all teens and older looking to serve God with their singleness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Major consequences after reading this book

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
kipacha
Location:Cumming, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read this book about 15 years ago because a well-meaning youth pastor required our youth group to read it. While the intention of the book is good, the practice of the book was not. What I experienced as a youth was that this book robbed good Christian men of their God-given desire to pursue a woman. And as a result, it created a dynamic in our youth group where girls became overly flirtatious in order to turn a guy's head thus creating a dynamic of women chasing men which isn't Biblical. In fact, a lot of the guys who were required to read this book are still unmarried at 30-35 years of age because they no longer know how to pursue a woman. My brother is one of these people. And if I could sue Josh Harris, I would.
I was a virgin until I married my husband in my late 20s. I didn't practice what this book teaches. I kissed before I was married. I casually dated some guys to learn what personality best fit me. And obviously, things turned out fine for me.
I think John Eldridge's book Wild at Heart and his wife's book Captivating are much better books when discussing the topics of dating and purity with your kids.
-12points
7of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fresh Perspective on Romance & Relationships!

Date:April 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sarah Rose
Location:Newfield, NJ
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first heard the title of this book, it stirred up a swarm of questions.
I found the idea of not dating a bit strange. I didn’t believe anyone could write a good book on it. I was expecting a book that simply traded the word "dating" for "courtship." And since most of what I had read and heard about courtship was vague or seemed unrealistic, I was prepared for something similar.
Upon beginning I Kissed Dating Goodbye, I was pleasantly surprised! It didn't include a mile long check list, rules for a perfect relationship, or 1,001 qualities to look for in a spouse. I Kissed Dating Goodbye wasn't unrealistic or irrelevant. Its message wasn’t so much about not dating as adopting a new attitude toward romance and relationships.
Before reading this book, I had a basic feel for my relationship standards, but couldn’t seem to express them. I just knew there had to be more than “Don’t date until you’re ready to marry,” and “Date only Christians.”
I Kissed Dating Goodbye was the tool God used to give me the answers I was searching for!
Over the span of sixteen chapters, the author covers commitment, singleness, purity, preparation, marriage, and much more! Joshua Harris takes on the major and the minor issues here. Scripture, poignant examples, stories, and personal experiences illustrate the ideas presented in this book. The author doesn’t try to think for you. Instead, he encourages you to think and pray for yourself. Through seeking the face of God and wise counsel, he prompts you to develop your own standards.
Although there are a couple finer points I disagree on, I Kissed Dating Goodbye is an excellent book that really taught me a lot! It’s definitely one I’m keeping on my shelf to go back to! I would recommend it to any teen, young adult, parent or youth worker. I give this book 4.5 out of 5 stars.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVED THIS BOOK!

Date:March 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Virtuous Girlhood
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have the first edition of “I Kissed Dating Goodbye” and it’s a well read book! When I first read IKDG a year or so ago I loved it! It challenged me to think differently about courtship and dating. And even though I had already determined that I was waiting for marriage to kiss and that I was going to court instead of date I learned new things from Joshua Harris. I thoroughly enjoyed the book and Joshua’s sense of humor.
So when I was offered a chance to review the new updated edition of IKDG I accepted. The “updated” edition was relatively the same he just added different things. However, I did enjoy reading the new things that he had added. He even included part of the first chapter in his new book “Boy Meets Girl” which I thought was pretty nasty as know I want to read that book! :D (that’s the whole purpose of doing that though!)
Overall I highly recommend I Kissed Dating Goodbye as a wonderful book. However, Joshua is very blunt in how he talks so if you don’t like that don’t read this book! And I wouldn’t recommend this book to young readers. It is definitely a book for older/middle aged teens. I recommend that younger teens (13-14) have parents read this book first and get their approval before they read it. However if you are a older teen you’ll really enjoy this book!
Even if you still date I think that you’ll learn some things from this book and keep in mind that Joshua doesn’t preach at you. He shares from personal experiences and gives you advice.
I give this book a thumbs up! And loved it!
You can buy this book here for $10.19 on sale.
Miss RJ
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's wise to save your romance for one you marry

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laurie
Location:Washington State
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If Christians had taken this biblical perspective on romance a long time ago, they would have avoided huge personal consequenses and would have been far more ready for fruitful work for the Kingdom of God. It's a case for listening to God's word and not our ungodly culture.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was excellent!

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
HIS daughter
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this book to anyone who feels as if they are career dating people they meet. As a woman, this book taught me the value of myself. I am worthy! Please please please read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2010
I am 22 years old and in a relationship. This truly put a new spin on the dating scene. I wish I had this when I was single, but it is also an incredible tool while in a relationship. A great message on keeping your entire focus on God. I'd suggest following everything in here when single, and if taken remember to truly keep your relationship at an honoring state before God.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Shoemaker
Great book, the principals that are taught are absolutely scriptural and true. This is the kind of book I want my granddaughter to read before she ever goes on her first date.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships and Romance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lydia
I read this book out of curiosity, and it revolutionized my way of thinking. Josh makes it clear that the book isn't about methods, and it's not about titles, or condemning "dating". He puts alot of questions out there that can help us think about whether or not we are putting God first in our relationships. Then he lays out some principles that can help us have godly relationships with the opposite sex, whatever you want to call it, whether it's dating or courting, it doesn't matter.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.