Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press What's a Christian to Do with Harry Potter? - eBook

WaterBrook Press What's a Christian to Do with Harry Potter? - eBook

In the world of publishing, few successes have equaled that of J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter series--magical stories centered on one boy's adventures at Hogwarts, a school for witchcraft and wizardry. Yet this popular series presents a perplexing--even divisive--challenge to the Christian community. Although the book presents a clear picture of the epic battle between good and evil, they appear to support the use of magic and have had a controversial impact on our culture. As a result, many of us are wondering, "How should I respond to this Harry Potter thing?" In this book, you'll explore the valid concerns some Christians have about the series, sort out the fact and fiction at the center of the debate, discover biblical answers that may surprise you, and learn how you can tap into this powerful cultural phenomenon to help advance the kingdom of God.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for What's a Christian to Do with Harry Potter? - eBook
Review 1 for What's a Christian to Do with Harry Potter? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finally a Sane & Logical Approach to Harry Potter

Date:September 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Southeast Wisconsin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was confronted several years ago by our then extreme, right wing, homeschooling mommy neighbor with accusations that "Harry Potter is evil, he is the antichrist."
My response to her was twofold:
1. Have you bothered to read the books in the series?
2. Have you read Connie Neal's book "What's A Christian To Do With Harry Potter?"
Sadly to say she had done neither, but was basing her statement on an article which had appeared in the Madison based, parody newspaper "The Onion".
Connie Neal covers the issues which parents are raising questions about in regard to the Harry Potter series.
Her approach is sane, logical, and it makes sense.
I would encourage any parent who has questions about the series to read Connie's book first, then read the Harry Potter series for themselves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for What's a Christian to Do with Harry Potter? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ron A. Zajac
I read this book at my daughter's house.Ms. Neal takes the liberal view that Christian Right jeremiads against HP are pretty much knee-jerk reactions. She's read the books and find that there's a lot there that mirrors the teachings of Christ in a playful and effective way for young readers.To give you an idea of her logical approach, she poses this question (not verbatim): Would you let your kids read a story involving spectral visitations, astral projection, time travel (both forward and backward), and spritual transformation? No? Then you wouldn't let them read Dickens's A Christmas Carol!There was, however, one glaring oversight which is a bit of a stunner, when you think about it.Toward the end of the book, she takes a moment out to remonstrance against what she sees to be genuine spiritual dangers in the world. She warns against associating with people who claim to talk to deceased loved ones in the spirit realm. She characterises these people solely as engaged in Satanic activity. It never occurs to her to suggest that any of these people could simply be charlatans! To my thinking, they're all charlatans, with some of them more amazingly adept at their ruse than others. To me, that's the real evil; not that they're in league with the Devil, in the sense of deriving real power from a discorporate, spiritual entity. The real issue that they don't have scruples. They'll exploit your emotional vulnerability at a time of grief to take your money.I think the world would be a much better place if we stopped casting out Satan, and started casting out our gullibilities!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for What's a Christian to Do with Harry Potter? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2006
Finally, an intelligent and unbiased treatment of the Harry Potter series! Ms. Neal treats the series as another in the long line of Children's Literature, explaining it's literary genre and so forth. She calls to mind the fact that we must be fully convinced in our own mind whether or not to read these books to our children, yet be respectful of those holding opposing views. In fact, she lays out views from both sides in their original articles. I greatly appreciate this book as it helps eliminate the falsehood of the many urban legends being spread about this series and the author. I'm sad to say that many Christians critical of this book have not sought out the validity to the claims of the urban legends, and many have never read the series themselves. I began totally opposed to the Harry Potter series, yet as I studied it in lieu of literary techniques and the sheer genius of the author's knowledge of literature, I grew to appreciate this series and can't wait to share it with my children. By the way, they'll also be reading the Chronicles of Narnia, The Hobbit, and The Lord of the Rings. My girls are young (6,5,3), but they already know the differences between fiction, non-fiction, biography, fantasy, myths, etc. They KNOW God's Word is true--Every Word, and they know the fairy tales we read are fantastical. It doesn't take much to help them understand such an important concept. I encourage those who are unsure about the debate to get this book. If you're already convinced in your mind one way or another, then so be it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for What's a Christian to Do with Harry Potter? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2006
Customer Avatar
Edwin
The mindless reviews of this book by well-meaning Christians raise a problem much larger than the _Harry Potter_ books could ever pose: they show Christians who seem unable to think critically and respond to an issue with intelligence and logic. When did reading about something become the same as doing something? What makes this series any different from the _Narnia_ books that we so rightly love? Fear comes from lack of knowledge, something that scripture so aptly points out, and people usually prefer to believe whatever they prefer to be true. Neal's book is a balanced and intelligent analysis of Rowling's series which helps the reader make an informed choice; it does not say "this is the only correct way to view these books." If you as a Christian are concerned about the _Potter_ novels, read one of them and then read this book. Allow the Lord the opportunity to help you discern with your MIND using reason and knowledge. Books are not "magic," and evil cannot somehow leap from the pages of a novel into you. Please don't become the mindless and silly caricature that so many in the world see Christians to be.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for What's a Christian to Do with Harry Potter? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2005
Customer Avatar
Perry Frost
Simultaneously objective and godly, Connie Neal's commentary on the children's series that has become so controversial in the Christian world is the perfect reference for curious believers everywhere. Before you read Harry Potter or that next chain email, read this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for What's a Christian to Do with Harry Potter? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2003
Customer Avatar
Bob
Unlike the most fundamentalists out there, wanting to point the evil in society, Neal shows the good side of Potter. Yes, the occult is a real problem, but I have read the books and remain a strong Christian as I do not believe or am attracted to the occult anymore then when I watched Fantasia or Snow White.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for What's a Christian to Do with Harry Potter? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2003
Customer Avatar
A Reviewer
Excellent work. This is a wonderful book which shows the validity of the Harry Potter series. Mrs. Neal does an excellent job of showing the problems of those who say that Harry Potter is of Satan (me thinks some here need to actually read this book for themselves without jumping to conclusions). She even shows how HP can be used to share the gospel. Prob. the best part for me was where she gave quotes that described some scenes that would result in the IMMEDIATE banning of the book, if it was not by C.S. Lewis. Please give this book and HP a chance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for What's a Christian to Do with Harry Potter? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2002
Customer Avatar
Renae
All I have to say is that the Bible says that we are to "Shun the very sight of evil". I'm going to stay away from Harry Potter and all of the evil it brings. I just recently found out that some small children were in a bathroom in an elementary school nearby and they were caught trying to practice magic. Sad. Sad to see all the clueless parents out there in the ticket lines bringing their small children that are wearing little cloaks. The Bible says we are not to have wizards or sorcerers, not that they didn't exist, but we are not to have anything to do with them. Harry Potter is just a sign of the times and the decay that has set in. It's stupid to even dabble in anything that has to do with it.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for What's a Christian to Do with Harry Potter? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2002
Customer Avatar
Kelsey Agnes
I thought this book was excellent. Instead of making whiney condemnations about the record-breaking series, Neal addresses the positive aspects of the books, and provides ways to understand the books without preaching at anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for What's a Christian to Do with Harry Potter? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2001
Customer Avatar
David Hayden
The author, Connie Neal, unfortunately appears to miss the problem with Harry Potter all together. She ignores the problem of the "ends justifying the means" and how that is NEVER valid to teach children (much less adults). She ignores the outright sin of rebellion and disrespect for authority touched in the books. And she fails at recognizing the occultist side that Rowling is quite accurately using satanic means in the life of Harry Potter to convey that Satan brings power, intimidation, and at times, fear on those that cross someone who openly invites demonic forces to work in their lives. Dabbling in the occult is not an "opportunity for evangelism"; it is strictly forbidden in Scripture. It is sad this book is even sold.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for What's a Christian to Do with Harry Potter? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2001
Customer Avatar
Arnold Smith
Not only is harry potter a 0.0 by Gods standard, but I think any "christian" who dabbles at all in this type of satanic trash needs an spiritual check-up. WWJD pertaining to these books. Folks there is no middle of the road when it comes to serving God, and that includes what you read. If what you read does not line up 100% with the word of God, then stay away from it. And parents, remember, if you cause children to stumble by allowing them to read this trash, the bible says that it would have been better for you not to have been born, meaning the punishment you will receive on judgement day.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for What's a Christian to Do with Harry Potter? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2001
Customer Avatar
Don
What's a Christian to do with Harry Potter? Hmm. I have another question for you. What is a Christian to do with Black Magic, Witchcraft, and Sorcery? The answer is "NOTHING". Stay away from all of that Evil and protect your children while you still can.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for What's a Christian to Do with Harry Potter? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2001
Customer Avatar
Marion McCaughey
The true question is who is behind Harry Potter? Ms. Rowling says that Harry just appeared in her mind. The sales and popularity of this series has been previously unheard of. When was the last time in this highly enlightened age we live in, did anything appeal to children and adults? "Experts" in all fields are jumping on the bandwagon. Ms. Neal stated that she is not writing for those who believe that the Bible says that the occult is evil because the Bible also says it is wrong to attempt to influence them. She is writing for those who are not sure. She bends over backwards in my opinion to Biblically justify. She flirts on occasion with outright blasphemy. After reading "HARRY POTTER AND THE BIBLE", I felt the need to read one of these books for myself. The Holy Spirit within me was greatly agitated as I read "The Sorcerer's Stone". If there is a lesson of good and evil being taught here, the lesson is that the ends justify the means. The fact that rules and people get bent or broken is unimportant. Ms.Neal details how parents can use these books as teaching tools. I would think her time would have been better served in helping parents find Biblical tools to help their children avoid these books. No good can come from any entertainment that exposes our children to the occult whether by accident or intentional. My prayer for any parent/grandparent (here here) who is seeking answers to this problem of Harry Potter is that you remember to seek first His help in your search. He will never fail to guide you. After reading this book and the many other favorable endorsements the Harry Potter books have received from both the Christian and secular communities, I claim God's Promise that He will work all things for good for those who love Him, even Harry Potter. THANK YOU GOD!!!!!!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for What's a Christian to Do with Harry Potter? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2001
Customer Avatar
J. Martha Compleman-Blair, M.Div.
WHATS A CHRISTIAN TO DO WITH HARRY POTTER? In this superbly crafted book, Connie Neal accepts that Harry is here to stay, and examines the issues in careful detail. She draws deeply from her multiple roles as Parent, Youth Worker, and Bible Scholar-Teacher. The different perspectives that we use to categorize books are acknowledged. A brief orientation of Harrys worlds is given before a chapter on different well-recognized literature categories from which to evaluate the Potter books. She addresses how the stories relate to kids genuine needs, and how to protect kids from the real occult. A section on dealing with disputes based on Romans 14-15, and I Corinthians 8-10, provides a step by step manual for Christian behavior in any kind of dispute. A study of Daniel in Babylon shows that Gods servants can be knowledgeable about the occult without engaging in the occult. And finally, examples from the authors own experience demonstrate how the worlds of Harry Potter can be used to introduce people to the Gospel of Jesus Christ!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.