Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Whitaker House Loving Liza Jane - eBook

Whitaker House Loving Liza Jane - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Loving Liza Jane - eBook
Review 1 for Loving Liza Jane - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eliza Jane Merriwether is excited about her new job as a schoolteacher in Little Hickman Creek, Kentucky. But when she first rides into the tiny, dirty town, she can't help but second guess her decision to relocate. Firmly believing that God wants her there, the little firecracker warms the heart of even the hardest citizen.
Benjamin Broughton is a widower raising two daughters alone, and not doing so well at it, to his thinking. He feels he's failing at raising his girls, and the thought that if he only had a wife to help him comes to mind daily. When the new schoolteacher moves in to his grandfather's house on his property, he keeps an eye on her - simply being a good neighbor. But when his feelings for her become more than neighborly, will the mail order bride he ordered take obligatory precedence in his emotions, or will Liza be the future Mrs. Broughton?
Liza showed remarkable gumption when she learned the town ran off three teachers in as many years, but she stuck to her guns, and her faith even when it seemed like coming, (and staying) seemed like the worst decision possible. The characters really stick with you, and makes you want to know more about each one of them. A very interesting story that kept my interest from the first page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Loving Liza Jane - eBook
This review is fromLoving Liza Jane, Little Hickman Creek Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eliza Jane Merriwether is excited about her new job as a schoolteacher in Little Hickman Creek, Kentucky. But when she first rides into the tiny, dirty town, she can't help but second guess her decision to relocate. Firmly believing that God wants her there, the little firecracker warms the heart of even the hardest citizen.
Benjamin Broughton is a widower raising two daughters alone, and not doing so well at it, to his thinking. He feels he's failing at raising his girls, and the thought that if he only had a wife to help him comes to mind daily. When the new schoolteacher moves in to his grandfather's house on his property, he keeps an eye on her - simply being a good neighbor. But when his feelings for her become more than neighborly, will the mail order bride he ordered take obligatory precedence in his emotions, or will Liza be the future Mrs. Broughton?
Liza showed remarkable gumption when she learned the town ran off three teachers in as many years, but she stuck to her guns, and her faith even when it seemed like coming, (and staying) seemed like the worst decision possible. The characters really stick with you, and makes you want to know more about each one of them. A very interesting story that kept my interest from the first page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Loving Liza Jane - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
bebbiesue
Location:Chillicothe, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has great historical facts interwoven within the fiction
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Loving Liza Jane - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book!

Date:July 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
MsMarilyn
Location:Minnesota
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book. I'm looking forward to reading the next one in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Loving Liza Jane - eBook
This review is fromLoving Liza Jane, Little Hickman Creek Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
ETK
Sharlene MacLaren is my new favorite author. She writes a great blend of romance and God. I read Loving Liza Jane in less than 24 hours. Couldn't put it down. Can't wait to read the rest in this series, but I must get something done around the house!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Loving Liza Jane - eBook
This review is fromLoving Liza Jane, Little Hickman Creek Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2008
Finally!!! An Inspirational Historical Romance author who writes real romance that quickens the pulse and nourishes the soul! Three cheers for Sharlene McClaren and her Little Hickman Creek Series, a must-read for romance lovers everywhere. Ms. MacLaren is a master at weaving deep and stirring characters into a historical tapestry of rich and rugged pioneer life at its most endearing. Without question, one of my favorite authors!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Loving Liza Jane - eBook
This review is fromLoving Liza Jane, Little Hickman Creek Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Phyllis Neeley
I loved the first book in this series and could not wait to get to the next one. I love that they quote so many scriptures from the Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Loving Liza Jane - eBook
This review is fromLoving Liza Jane, Little Hickman Creek Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Roberta Windsor
This was a very inspirational book. I really enjoyed it and could hardly put it down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Loving Liza Jane - eBook
This review is fromLoving Liza Jane, Little Hickman Creek Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2008
I enjoyed this book very much. I had never read this author, before. Now, I intent to finish the series. The characters are very well drawn. The children, Lili and Molly, are delightful. This is just fun, clean romance. A delightful read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Loving Liza Jane - eBook
This review is fromLoving Liza Jane, Little Hickman Creek Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
I love this author's writing style and enjoyed her first book. When I first received Loving Liza Jane I thought it would be just another prairie romance novel. Typical characters... Attractive, single, schoolmarm, and hunky widower with young children who is suddenly in need of a wife. However, this was not the typical story at all, and though it contained the basic sketch of characters, it strayed from the usual outline. I enjoyed the variation from typical plot scenarios and experienced more than a few surprises in this one!The author made this novel shine and I love the author's voice. She uses metaphors and similes with finesse--not to many and not too often--and they enhanced the story even more. Ben is the ultimate hero, and Liza, the ideal, strong heroine. They had flaws, but lovable ones. The romantic tension between them was divine, and thankfully it wasn't one of those one-kiss-at-the-end stories. This one sizzled! I loved all of it. While tastefully done, the first kiss was too-die-for and the subsequent ones perfectly orchestrated to enhance the plot. The child characters and bullies were very believable. I also enjoyed the spiritual arc. The hero starts out the spiritually strong one, but the heroine quickly overtakes him in the faith department as the Lord stretches her through her trials. Wonderful story! I can't wait for the sequel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Loving Liza Jane - eBook
This review is fromLoving Liza Jane, Little Hickman Creek Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Narelle Mollet
School teachers are in demand in small towns across America in the late 1800's and Little Hickman Creek, Kentucky is no exception. Eliza Jane Merriweather is determined to be the only teacher not scared away by the notorious Hogsworth twins and ruffian, Clement Bartel, despite the dire warnings given to her by her slovenly escort into town.Farmer and widower, Benjamin Broughton willingly offers a little cottage on his property to the new teacher, thrilled that his inquisitive young daughter will have a woman to learn from. He simply doesn't expect Miss Merriweather to be so bullheaded about her Independence, despite the threatening behaviour from some of her older students and their parents. Besides, his mail order bride will be arriving any moment so he has other things to focus on!Liza has much to learn about teaching, her faith and, as the infuriating Mr Broughton continues to point out, that patience is a virtue she must acquire forthwith!Sharlene MacLaren has penned a delightful historical romance and despite the familiarity of the tale it rises above as it is infused with emotion, charm and merriment. Liza Jane and Ben Broughton are well rounded characters and their interaction is captivating. The plot is substantive and Sharlene's minor characters, including the heartbroken Rocky, the dedicated preacher Jon and the beautiful yet detached Emma, add soul to the town and are a prelude to further books in the series. I am looking forward to returning to Little Hickman soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Loving Liza Jane - eBook
This review is fromLoving Liza Jane, Little Hickman Creek Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Katy
If you are a fan of historical romance, Loving Liza Jane is one you will want to add to your collection. Sharlene MacLaren has written a wonderful story in the first book of her Little Hickman Creek series. She tells about Eliza Jane Merriwether leaving Boston in 1895 to become the new schoolteacher for the town of Little Hickman, Kentucky. One of the people she meets there is Benjamin Broughton, a widower with two young daughters. There is a lot of romantic tension between the two as they are drawn to each other, but there are obstacles to overcome, as well as a life-or-death struggle. Its a fantastic story, with very relatable characters struggling in their relationships with God and each other. I loved that the author includes Scripture throughout and some Biblical principles we would all do well to learn and apply. You will see storylines developing between other characters, as MacLaren lays the groundwork for the remaining books in the series. I loved this story, and I am anxiously waiting for the others to be released!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.