Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Whitaker House Kaydie - eBook

Whitaker House Kaydie - eBook

For the first time in years, Kaydie Worthington Kraemer can breathe easily. Although she is still haunted by memories of her abusive husband, Darius, she takes comfort in knowing the man is dead. Staying with her sister McKenzie and brother-in-law, Zach Sawyer, at their ranch, Kaydie is still wary of men, especially now that she has another life inside of her to protect. As she looks forward to her baby's birth, she builds a protective wall around herself that won't be easy to tear down.

Ranch hand Jonah Dickenson views his boss, Zach, like a brother. He does not, however, envy Zach's new role as a husband. Deserted by his mother at a young age and forever despised and rejected by his own father, Jonah has few close relationships. But there's something about Kaydie that draws him to her and makes him question his decision to remain a bachelor.

Average Customer Rating:
4.591 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 out of 22100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kaydie - eBook
Review 1 for Kaydie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kelly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
After reading "McKenzie" the first book in the Montana Skies series by Penny A. Zeller I couldn't wait to read the second book "Kaydie".
"Kaydie" is a sweet love story, one that shows that the power of prayer can change even the most guarded hearts, and how out of a painful past, there can still be a future filled with love and happiness.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kaydie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love and trust wins out

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Book 1 of the Montana Skies series by Penny Zeller, we met McKenzie, older sister of Kaydie. McKenzie was living in Boston with her wealthy, privileged parents and on the fast track for an arranged marriage to an appropriate man. However, she realizes her sister Kaydie is in dire straights and so McKenzie leaves Boston in search of Kaydie.
Book 2 in the Montana Skies series is about Kaydie and how her life goes from ruined and shattered to love, honor, and beauty. View the trailer about Kaydie.....
My thoughts: Kaydie found out the hard way that romance is not always what our hearts tell us. Kaydie's story is Book 2 in the Montana Skies series by Penny Zeller. In Book 1 of the series, McKenzie, Kaydie's sister, is searching for her sister who she knows is suffering at the hands of an abusive and dangerous husband.
Kaydie's husband exhibited no traits that would have given her or her family a clue of what would lay ahead for the dear Kaydie. Beatings. Starvation. Destitution.
Kaydie does escape that life at the end of McKenzie's story and that is where Kaylie's story picks up in Book 2, Kaydie. She is afraid of men. She is expecting a child by her deceased, abusive husband. But living with McKenzie and her husband on their ranch brings Kaydie face-to-face with loving, compassionate, caring people and brings her to the brink of romance.
Kaydie has come to faith in Christ and now needs to come to terms with trusting Christ to lead her in all aspects of her life. Her journey is sweet, tender, fearsome.
This is a sweet, tender read of learning to live again and living in Christ. It is one of learning to trust. An enjoyable read that is well written. A book I recommend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kaydie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Favorite!

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this book, I loved Kaydie's soft-spoken nature and I especially loved Jonah's persistence in pursuing her even after he said he would never get married. I was on the edge of my seat when Cedric came into the picture up until the very end. It's so sweet and inspiring. And it will keep you turning the pages until the very end! What I love most about this series is that they are clean, decent and Christ-inspired. They are pure and sweet and will make you want to reread the books again!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kaydie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Christian Fiction

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
iluvmygrandkids
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a blessing to discover this new series! I really enjoyed Kaydie and the message found within its pages.
In a world that continues to soften and oftentimes eliminate the Gospel message of our Lord Jesus Christ, it is wonderful to have an author use her God-given gifts to give us a fresh look at how we can enjoy tales of adventure, intrigue, heartwarming love, and dashes of humor. I loved how Penny Zeller showed her characters exhibiting a love for Jesus by leaning on, trusting in, and going to Scripture for their guidance and comfort.
I would highly recommend this book!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kaydie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sarah G
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought her story was heart-warming and inspiring. It really showed what a mess we are when we don't have a personal relationship with God. I liked how she took Mckenzie's character through the process of just simply knowing God, to having a deeper relationship with Him. She was able to see the changes in her thoughts and personality. I think all Christians could relate to that process, because God takes us all through it, so we can be transformed into the person He wants us to
be.
I thought the story was really romantic, and I liked that it was clean too. I liked seeing Zach and Mckenzie's marriage eventually grow into what God intended it to be.
I also got a few good ideas from her book, for my marriage. I liked how Zach and Mckenzie would get
together every night to pray and read the Bible. My husband and I sometimes read the Bible together, but I would love it to become a nightly thing we do together. I really enjoyed this book. I can't wait to read the next chapter in the series.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kaydie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Aunt Betty
Location:Billings, Montana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kaydie's life is reflective of many women. She has been through the nightmare of an abusive husband, now dead, but not before she becomes pregnant with his child. Now she is in a protective, defense mode and though she dearly loves her sister McKenzie and her husband Zack, she cannot bring herself to trust their ranchhand Jonah Dickenson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kaydie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Kaydie a great read!

Date:June 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susan Hollaway
Location:Kansas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kaydie is finally safe and living with her sister and brother-in-law on their ranch in Montana territory. Since her husband’s death in his failed bank robbery, she’s finally physically safe, but the memories of his abuse continue to haunt her. She’s wary of men and is determined to protect herself and her soon-to-be born child. She had poor judgment once in choosing a husband and she’s not going to make the same mistake twice. She builds a wall around her heart that she aims for no man to break through.
Ranch hand Jonah Dickenson is like family to Zach and McKenzie, and even though he can see how happy they are, he has no desire to wed. Marital bliss is the last thing he desires. In fact, he’s not even sure there is such a thing – not for him anyway. His mother deserted him when he was very young and he was hated and rejected by his own father. He’s had no good example of how to be a husband or father and is determined to remain a bachelor forever.
But from the moment Kaydie shows up in Pine Haven, Jonah has been drawn to her. Kaydie is scared and keeps her wall of protection in place. He hates that she’s frightened of him and decides he can be her friend. She has her child and over time they form a strong friendship and Jonah begins to find it difficult to want only friendship. Her child has grown to love Jonah. Can she keep her heart safe?
An old friend of Kaydie, Cedric van Aulst, comes to town intent on courting her. Being a wealthy lawyer in her father’s Boston firm, he can’t fathom the ways of the west. He’s loved Kaydie for a long time and is intent on rescuing her from this god forsaken land. He’s determined to get her to Boston where she can have a life of leisure and attend charity events.
Kaydie can trust Cedric, but is that enough? Will he be a dedicated father to her child? Besides, she’s grown to love Pine Haven and her life there. Will she trust God to lead her path? Will she open her heart to true love instead of settling for a safe and boring life?
I’m not going to spoil it for you, because you have to read this book! I loved it even more than McKenzie. This series just keeps getting better. I’m holding on to my bookmark and I suggest you do the same. Hailee, the third book in Penny Zeller’s Montana Skies series, will be released this fall.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kaydie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love Under The Montana Skies!

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Penny Zeller's, Kaydie, we find ourselves in Pine Haven, Montana Territory in the late 1800s. Kaydie Kraemer marries a smooth talking man, one who promises her the moon, only to realize too late he is physically and mentally abusive. Only after Kaydie's husband dies after contracting a terrible disease, does she regain her freedom, but remains emotionally bound by her intense fear. She moves in with her sister, Mckenzie, who lives on a ranch with her husband, for she is expecting a child.
Kaydie falls in love with Pine Haven and its small town charm and has no desire to return to Boston, where she once enjoyed a life of privilege. She becomes friends with Jonah, the ranch hand, who was rejected by his parents at an early age and has no desire to ever marry. Together they attend many small town fuctions such as Founder's Day, 4th of July celebrations, and dances, and Jonah, in spite of his misgivings, falls for Kaydie and loves her new baby girl as his own.
As soon as Jonah gets up the nerve to propose, who comes to Pine Haven and causes Jonah to back off? Will he ever get over the hurt of Kaydie's rejection and forgive her? Will Kaydie trust God to guard her heart and her life? Will she settle for safety over love?
This book was a touching read, demonstrating God's grace and healing power to hurting and wounded souls. However, it was also a fun, relaxing read, so grab a glass of lemonade, sit under a shade tree and read to your heart's content!
Penny Zeller is an up-and-coming new author and definitely one to keep our eyes on!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kaydie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a Book you will Want to Own!

Date:May 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ally
Location:Kentucky
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kaydie is an excellent book! I read it in every spare moment I had. This book uses Scripture often! Kaydie was physically abused by her husband Darius. She found out that she was pregnant. Soon after Darius dies and Kaydie finds her older sister Mckenzie who had married a Christian man. she has to decide if she will marry an old friend or Jonah the ranch hand. This book is a must read and a book that you will want to own!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kaydie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kaydie A Heartwarming Story of Love and Forgivenes

Date:May 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY REVIEW
Kaydie Kraemer is now living with her sister and brother-in-law, McKenzie and Zach Sawyer, on a ranch out in the Wild West. Her abusive husband is now dead, because of a bank robbery gone bad. She doesn’t have to worry about him hurting her or their unborn child ever again. She no longer lives in fear of someone hurting her or her unborn child. And she no longer will go hungry like she did so many times before.
Jonah Dickenson works as a ranch hand for Zach Sawyer, who he sees as an older brother. Jonah knows he could never be a husband and father because he was deserted by his mom at a young age; and his father despised him. No way could he chance doing the same thing to a wife or a child.
As Kaydie and Jonah started spending time together, mostly Jonah watching out for her, they started having feelings for each other. But neither of them was ready for a relationship. Kaydie could no longer trust a man, and Jonah had no idea how to take care of a wife and baby. As this story continues to unfold, will Jonah have the nerve to tell Kaydee his feelings for her? And will Kaydie keep her feelings from Jonah to herself? And there is Kaydie’s mother to deal with. Will Jonah be good enough to marry into the Worthington family?
This is a heartwarming story from the author Penny Zeller. Throughout the story you will have joy and laughter, sadness and crying as you experience the lives of these two characters. You will also meet other interesting characters living in their small town as well.
I love how the author chose the personality of each character. They made the story enjoyable and fun to read. And even though it is a historical fiction, the characters feel like people in our everyday lives today.
This is my first book by Penny Zeller, and I can’t wait for the next one. But first I will buy McKenzie because I want to read about the beginning of the story!
The thing I loved most about the book was the scripture used throughout. It is one of my favorites; Proverbs 3:5 "Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding." Kaydie and Jonah trusted the Lord to lead their lives they way He wanted. I really like the strong spiritual content of the book.
I rec’d a complimentary copy of the book from the author. Thank you so much Penny! The opinions are mine alone. I was not ask to write a positive review of this book.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kaydie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommended

Date:April 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jan Marie
Location:Indiana
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Penny Zeller has created a book whose pages leap into life as the extremely credible characters are thrust into situations that no one should ever be forced to face. Kaydie, widowed and pregnant, takes refuge with her sister and brother-in-law following the death of her abusive husband. Kaydie has determined that she will never again be in a situation where she and her as-yet-unborn child will be in danger of being abused. Deciding that love and marriage are only for others, she vows to remain single and raise her child alone.
Jonah Dickenson is a man who has vowed he will never marry. Deserted by his mother when he was just a small child and left with a bitter and drunken father, Jonah wants no part of a wife and family because he fears that he will turn out to be just like his father.
As we journey through the pages of this book we see Kaydie grow from a meek and cowering girl to a strong and brave young woman. Jonah has grown from the days of a wild and reckless youth into a kind, considerate, and compassionate man.
As Jonah and Kaydie are thrown together more and more often, feelings begin to grow between them. However, both of them are adamant that there will never be anything more than friendship between them. In spite of their dissimilarities, Kaydie and Jonah both share a love for God and gratitude for all that He has done for them.
Throughout the pages of Kaydie, you will experience laughter, fear, tears, sorrow, and joy. You will meet the self-proclaimed matchmaker, Lucille Granger, who declares that she is going to find the perfect wife for Jonah. You will also meet Kaydie's mother, who insists on arranging a more appropriate marriage for Kaydie. It sometimes seems as if Jonah and Kaydie have little control over their lives and will be forced into marriages of convenience by well-meaning individuals.
As I read this book, I was frequently reminded of the scripture in Proverbs 3:5 that says, "Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding." (KJV) Kaydie and Jonah thought that they knew what they wanted for themselves but Penny Zeller has very capably shown us that, " ...all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to His purpose." (Romans 8:28 - KJV)
Since Kaydie is the second book in the series, there were several occasions when I found myself wishing that I had read book one first simply because I felt that some portions of the story that were revealed from book one will make it rather anticlimactic to read the first book, which I most definitely plan to do. However, there was nothing in the story that I could not understand and Kaydie can easily stand on its own.
I thoroughly enjoyed reading Kaydie and I feel certain that you will enjoy it too. It gives me great pleasure to recommend it to you.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kaydie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

How deep does hurt go?

Date:March 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Adam77
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is it possible for a woman to love again after being beaten and deprived of food by the husband who is now dead?
Kaydie is the abused wife, left pregnant with the man’s child, and although the outward bruises and injuries are gone, inward hurts remain.
Her sister, McKenzie and brother-in-law Zach Sawyer, open their home to Kaydie. They hope a loving environment will heal Kaydie’s heart .
Why doesn’t Kaydie go home to her wealthy parents back East? Because they’ve been waiting for their daughter to come to her senses and marry the lawyer,Cedric, they chose for her, even before she married the first time. Cedric Van Auder is Kaydie’s old friend, but the woman would like to make her own decisions—if she ever decides she will wed again..
After the birth of Kaydie’s daughter, a ranch hand, Jonah, keeps hanging around, helping her with the child and getting acquainted.
This book takes off with a gripping beginning from one of Kaydie’s nightmares from her abusive past. Then we enter the peaceful living in Pine Haven, Montana, in 1889. Kaydie’s insides still are in turmoil much of the time. Although there still is gripping conflict, many chapters wrap around the ordinary life in the country as Kaydie adjusts to being at peace again. With the help of her sister, friends and the Lord, she begins to heal.
Will Kaydie marry again, and who will it be? Will she please her parents by going home?
You’ll find out when you read this book. I recommend it.
Note: The author provided me an advance review copy.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kaydie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Charming!

Date:March 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
AmandaCabot
Location:Cheyenne
For a charming tale of love and faith in the Montana Territory, look no further than Penny Zeller’s Kaydie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kaydie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Montana adventure

Date:March 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
ausjenny
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the first book and this book lives up to my expectations. I loved Kaydie. She has had a hard life living with an abusive husband and as the book goes on we learn more about some of his abuse. I also love how Penny didn't rush her into a relationship but showed how hard it was for Kaydie to trust men. I also loved Jonah's character. There are some incidents I found quite funny and many I found moving. I love how Penny has tackled a subject of abuse and how recovering from abuse takes time and is not a quick fix I have read other books where the fallout from being abused hasn't really been dealt with and its been very much a quick fix when in fact it takes time to overcome not just the physical aspects but more so the emotional turmoil abuse causes. I cant wait to read more books by Penny.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kaydie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Sweet Love Story

Date:March 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
QuiltWriter
Location:Chattanooga, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Readers will find another sweet love story in "Kaydie"-- the sequel to "McKenzie." Kaydie Kraemer and Jonah Dickenson carry deep scars of rejection and mistreatment. I found Zeller's style refreshing as she wove lessons of acceptance, forgiveness, and trust into this novel.
God desires to restore Jonah and Kaydie's ability to trust. This shines forth as we watch them overcome their feelings of inadequacy. Learning to love again is not an easy task. I also appreciated the way Zeller highlighted the selfish intentions of Kaydie's parents and Cedric Van Aulst. It formed a striking contrast to Jonah's true love for Kaydie and her daughter.
I would like to extend my thanks to Penny Zeller and Whitaker House for sending me a copy of "Kaydie" to review. I am not obligated to provide a positive review.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kaydie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Romance!

Date:February 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Renee C
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This romantic western set in the late 19th century is sure to please all readers of Christian romance. From the sweet and shy Kaydie to the ranch hand who has sworn off, love I really enjoyed every character and every detail. While there's nothing radical or new about this story or it's setting it hearkens back to classics like Janette Oke's prairie stories but with slightly more romance, so you can't go wrong. It's great to see two characters who were wary of each other and of love come together and grow in their faith. I also enjoyed the fact that this book wasn't only about Kaydie and Jonah but there was a great secondary love story between Gerald and Geraldine. If you're like me you gotta love it when couples are such a great match in all ways, including name! Very cute and clever Ms. Zeller! Kaydie is a great second book, no sophomore slump in my opinion. I can't wait to get my hands on the third book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kaydie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable

Date:February 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:o fallon, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It’s 1882 in Montana and we find a pregnant, widowed Kaydie Kraemer recovering from the death of her abusive husband. She’s living with her sister McKenzie and her family.
When her sister’s hired man, Jonah Dickenson offers to be her friend she shies away afraid all men are like her deceased husband.
Lucille, an older lady turned match maker wants to find Jonah a husband. I found her character quite entertaining.
I didn’t read book one, but it wasn’t difficult to pick up on what has happened to bring Kaydie to Montana. Just enough is hinted that you’ll want to read book one too.
It’s an enjoyable read as you turn the pages wondering if Jonah will recognize he doesn’t want to be a bachelor anymore and be able to convince Kaydie he’s worthy of his love.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kaydie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wild West Living!

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kaydie Kraemer is still traumatized by the memories of abuse by her now deceased husband, Darius Kraemer, and she takes great comfort knowing he is dead.
McKenzie, Kaydie’s sister, and her husband, Zach Sawyer, find Kaydie and take her to their ranch in Montana. There she feels like can finally breathe again. When found, Kaydie was with child. She had also desperately learned how to cocoon her emotions inside so as not to fall for another manipulative, lying man’s words of love.
Jonah Dickenson is a ranch hand on Zach’s ranch. Abandoned by his mother and rejected by his father, he has a distasteful view of marriage. He has few close relationships, but there’s something special about Kaydie that just might change his mind about bachelorhood.
Kaydie is my first taste of Penny Zeller’s writings. I enjoyed her reminiscent points of view interspersed into the main portion of the novel. It elaborates on some of the missing ingredients to bring the reader up-to-speed as to what has transpired previously in the lives of Kaydie and McKenzie. Some of which are absolutely hilarious!
The sister-to-sister interactions are woven into the action in a very real way, since they are now older and married. Their vibrant love and respect for each other is touching and desirable. It reflects on their childhood years, despite their mother’s values of their upbringing.
I appreciated the slow, quiet romance building between Kaydie and Jonah, although she was still hesitant of a new relationship. Having the relationship interrupted by the arrival of a suitor, Cedric Van Aulst, picked out by her parents, ups the ante on whom she will allow herself to marry. Cedric fits her comfort zone for marriage, but who meets her current values, especially regarding her daughter, Bethany Ethel?
The way Penny pushes the envelope on Kaydie’s relationships with Jonah and Cedric is full of tension and yet uplifting, as Kaydie relies on the Lord to direct her path. Previous promises made were kept in the midst of the rivalry for her affections, and emotions explode!
Some of what also endeared me to the novel also dates me–three-legged and gunny-sack races, Fourth of July celebrations, baked goods and sewing competitions, along with the social baskets, the latter of which I’ve only read about, however!
The most important thing, a relationship with the Lord, is graciously woven throughout the book through prayer for direction, help in time of need, and the basis of a marriage. A delightful read about the West and relationships!
Special thanks to Cathy Hickling of Whitaker House for sending me a review copy in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kaydie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Touching Inspirational Romance

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shellie c
Location:WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After years of pain and starvation at the hands of her cruel husband, Kaydie Worthington Kraemer can finally rest on the Montana ranch her older sister McKenzie and her husband Zach Sawyer call home. Kaydie finds herself wary of men, despite her newfound safety and discovers those protective walls may be hard to escape. Especially once her newborn child arrives.
But Jonah Dickenson, the Sawyer's trusted ranch hand, does his best to care and comfort both Kaydie and her child, but even he must fight the haunting memories of a difficult childhood. Both Jonah and Kaydie must lay their fears aside before they could ever consider marriage. When Cedric Van Aulst, an old family friend proposes a marriage that promises safety and wealth, Kaydie must choose between a safe marriage and a faithful one. Both come with a high cost.
Penny Zeller creates a sweet character in Kaydie, one you wish you could hug or comfort through the adversity that befell her. Kaydie's story is wrought with heartbreak and pain, but filled with redemption. It was a pleasure to read.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kaydie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Romance

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
angelmom1165
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We get to know both Kaydie and Jonah in the first book of the series, McKenzie. I love books that carry on with the same characters because I have a hard time letting go of them when they become so real to me. The books that Penny Zeller writes are like that for me. I can't get enough of the characters she has created. And I love that they are not limited to adult readers. Young readers can read them without fear of inappropriate situations and words. Even young preteen girls will enjoy these books. And still adult women will enjoy it just as much.
Back story: Kaydie is a shy girl who dared to go against her parents to marry a man who talked of adventure and daring. She didn't know at the time that it was all a lie and he was not the man she thought he was. As soon as they married and were away from her family he allowed his true colors to show. He was a cruel man and his death was a welcomed escape for Kaydie. After his death, she is taken in by a Christian woman who leads her to the Lord. When she sees a notice that her sister has married and moved to Montana Territory looking for her she makes plans to travel where her sister is. She goes there to recover from the years of abuse her husband put her through and have her baby, the one blessing from her marriage to Darius.
Kaydie struggles with the pain she went through and wonders if she can ever trust another with her heart. When she meets Jonah for the first time there is an attraction between them but Kaydie cannot accept it as that and it turns to fear. She becomes uncomfortable and avoids him.
Jonah understands her pain and doesn't blame her for how she is reacting to him. He prays for God to help him show her she can trust him as a friend. He has no intention on it getting any farther than friendship. He doesn't want to get married because his mother left his father when he was three and his father didn't treat him well. But that doesn't stop him from caring for Kaydie and wanting to be her friend.
They grow closer in their friendship. But there is so much history for both of them that it holds them back from what they truly want, each other. All the while her parents are planning for her to go back to Boston and marry someone there. But the life she wants is the one she has in Pine Haven.
Both of them seek God's guidance throughout the story. They allow themselves to become the best of friends. Kaydie learns to laugh and have fun again. But...
Can she overcome her fears of the past? Can she go against her parents again or will she move back to Boston to make them happy? Can Jonah take a step of faith and trust that God will guide him in being the husband and father he needs to be? You'll have to read and find out! You won't be sorry.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>