Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for IVP Books Knowing God - eBook

IVP Books Knowing God - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 28100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Knowing God - eBook
Review 1 for Knowing God - eBook
This review is fromKnowing God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
dssisk
Location:Lexington, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was given as a gift to family members. It will help you understand what the Christian life is meant to be and change how you see yourself in light of the truth.
I recommend this book to all who want a more meaningful relationship with their Savior. Christianity should not be a set of rules and activities, but an ever deepening relationship with your Creator, Sustainer, and Lord.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Knowing God - eBook
This review is fromKnowing God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

In-depth biblical information about the Trinity.

Date:December 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rick Joki
Location:Alabama
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aside from the Bible, this could be the most significant book that you will ever read. Numerous contemporary prominent Christian leaders praise this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Knowing God - eBook
This review is fromKnowing God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Truly Spirit-Filled Author

Date:September 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stargazer
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I THOUGHT I knew God! As J.I. Packer so eloquently made me realize, I knew ABOUT God, but I didn't really KNOW Him. "Knowing God" is an absolutely and profoundly revealing and eye-opening contemporary revelation on knowing God. From the very first word of the first chapter to the very last word of the last chapter, I was engrossed, enlightened, and overjoyed by Packer's spirit-filled ability to personally introduce me to the God that I had so often taken for granted. What a grand experience in that now I can honestly state, "I KNOW God!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Knowing God - eBook
This review is fromKnowing God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

everyone needs to read this book!

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
aunt s
Location:western north carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book every year or more....a treasure for a new christian, a pastor, or anyone who wants to increase their knowledge of GOD and grow in their relationship with Him. It is a wonderful tool for this journey we are on. I bought this copy to give as a gift by the whisper of the Spirit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Knowing God - eBook
This review is fromKnowing God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

solid

Date:February 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
lars
Location:tracy, ca
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lots of scripture to backup all packer talks about in this book that is full of Gods attributes and how to draw near and get to know Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Knowing God - eBook
This review is fromKnowing God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An outstanding book on our God

Date:October 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sybil
Location:Victoria BC Canada
Age:Over 65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am leading a study group of 15 women longing for a deeper knowledge of God. We have all been humbled and motivated to concentrate our minds and hearts in our study of who God is and how we might apply this knowledge as it affects our prayer life, our worship and our daily living.
It is not a book to read casually. It demands one's complete attention. It is challenging and thought provoking but well worth the time and effort.
The study book is very helpful. We prepare one chapter each week and are encouraged to write out our answers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Knowing God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:August 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
SLee
Location:Wilson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 2nd or 3rd time reading this book. It has been a blessing every time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Knowing God - eBook
This review is fromKnowing God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reginald Chapman
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great book that highligts the nature, character and work of God in such a way that increases love for God, and inspires deeper fellowship with Him.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Knowing God - eBook
This review is fromKnowing God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thoroughly. pleased.

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
ronniecharles
Location:Pearl/Jackson,MS
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item meets all my expectations. I would recommend this reading to all serious minded persons wanting to increase their knowledge of God, whole experiencing an extraordinary relationship with Him.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Knowing God - eBook
This review is fromKnowing God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth reading more than once

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
duck
Location:McCormick, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every time I read this book I get new insights of our relationship with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Knowing God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Always a timely word,

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Paula Ann
Location:las vegas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From content to means of delivery (ebook) terrific! I hope more books become available this way! Thanks! Paula Ann
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Knowing God - eBook
This review is fromKnowing God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Minneapolis,MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every Christian should read this book several times in their lfetime.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Knowing God - eBook
This review is fromKnowing God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Product

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mathew sims
Location:Simpsonville, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Packer's writing style is fluid and devotional--which paired with the nicely with his discussion about God. Packer sums up the intent of knowing God: "No subject of contemplation will tend more to humble the mind, than thoughts of God. . . ." (18). And later he warns:
If we pursue knowledge for its own sake, it is bound to go bad on us. It will make us proud and conceited. The very greatness of the subject matter will intoxicate us, and we shall come to think of ourselves as a cut above other Christians because our interest in it and grasp of it; and we shall look down on those whose theological ideas seem to us crude and inadequate and dismiss them as very poor specimens (21).
All readers of Knowing God should meditate on these thoughts. The question, especially for the religious among us, then becomes How can I change my knowledge about God to knowledge of God? (23). This dichotomy is one of mere facts against a personal experience. Packer states these truths far better than I:
We are, perhaps, orthodox evangelicals. We can state the gospel clearly; we can smell unsound doctrine a mile away. If asked how one may know God, we can at once produce the right formula: that we come to know God through Jesus Christ the Lord, in virtue of his cross and mediation, on the basis of his word of promise, by the power of the Holy Spirit, via a personal exercise of faith. Yet the gaiety, goodness, and unfetteredness of spirit which are the marks of those who have known God are rare among us--rarer, perhaps, than they are in some other Christian circles where, by comparison, evangelical truth is less clearly and fully known. Here, too, it would seem that the last may prove to be first, and the first last (25-26).
Packer provides some great insights into the person and work of the Holy Spirit. His discussion of the Holy Spirit in chapter six (“He Shall Testify”) is one of my favorite. In discussing the importance of His work says Packer, “In the first place, without the Holy Spirit there would be no gospel and no New Testament” (69) and “In the second place, without the Holy Spirit there would be no faith and no new birth--in short, no Christian” (70). In summary, “To the apostles, he testified by revealing and inspiring, as we saw. To the rest of us, down the ages, he testifies by illuminating: opening blinded eyes, restoring spiritual vision, enabling sinners to see that the gospel is indeed God's truth, and Scripture is indeed God's Word, and Christ is indeed God's Son” (71).
Later while discussing our adoption Packer writes,
Pitsfalls and perplexities regarding the ministry of the Spirit abound among Christians today. The problem is not in finding correct verbal labels, but in knowing what it is in experience that corresponds to the work of God to which the label refers. Thus, we are all aware that the Spirit teaches [us] the mind of God, and glorifies the Son of God, out of the Scriptures; also, that he is the agent of new birth, giving us an understanding so that we know God and a new heart to obey him; also, that he indwells, sanctifies, and energizes Christians for their daily pilgrimage; also, that assurance, joy, peace and power are his special gifts. But many complain in puzzlement that these statements are to them mere formulas, not corresponding with anything they recognize in their own lives.
Naturally, such Christians feel they are missing something vital, and they ask anxiously how they may close the gap between the New Testament picture of the life in the Spirit and their own felt barrenness in daily experience. Then, perhaps, in desperation they set themselves to seek a single transforming pyschic event whereby what they feel to be their personal “unspirituality barrier” may be broken for good and all. The event may be thought of as a “Keswick experience,” or “full surrender,” or “baptism in the Holy Spirit,” or “entire sanctification,” or “sealing with Spirit,” or the gift of tongues, or (if we steer by Catholic rather than Protestant stars) a “second conversion,” or a prayer of quiet, or of union (219).
May we not neglect the beauty and worth of the Holy Spirit. Packer equates two very different sides of abuse--first, the charismatics who would have tongues or an “experience of the Spirit” to be the litmus test of meaningful Christian living; and, second, the fundamentalist (or Arminians) who would have a decision or “full surrender” to be the litmus test of meaningful Christian living. Both are wrong. Both sides would see the other as extreme and yet they stand together.
Packer in a later chapters talks about the Christian who goes disappointed throughout his Christian life because he is moving from one disappointment to another, expecting the next Keswick decision or surrender to be the one that kills the flesh for good, or the next experience of the Holy Spirit to carry them to the end. May we avoid both and focus on the finished work of Jesus praying for the power of the Spirit to give us strength to walk worthy of our calling.
Packer then goes on to discuss some attributes of God. In his discussion about God as Judging, Jealous, Wrathful, and Good yet Severe, Packer demonstrates that these attributes stink to the modern sense of political correctness and are “out of vogue,” but nonetheless these are perfections of our God and cannot be neglected.
Packer calls propitiation “the heart of the Gospel” and gives a lengthy discussion on it and then on our adoption as Sons of God. Says Packer, “were I asked to focus the New Testament message in three words, my proposal would be adoption through propitiation, and I do not expect ever to meet a richer more pregnant summary of the gospel than that” (214). He ends the book with an exposition, of sorts, of Romans eight.
Packer is great at making the truth about God applicable to our everyday life. Get the book. Read the book and get ready to see a fuller picture of God than you have previously seen.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Knowing God - eBook
This review is fromKnowing God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very good book on theology

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
patty
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Goes into much of what the church does not always preach.
Back to the basics!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Knowing God - eBook
This review is fromKnowing God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a good book about basic Christianity.

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sasha
Location:Montana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our ladies' small group is reading this book together. I had a previous copy, but I gave it away to someone who was having problems understanding his relationship with God. The book is very deep, very true and very rewarding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Knowing God - eBook
This review is fromKnowing God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought provoking!

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book.....not too "theological" to understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Knowing God - eBook
This review is fromKnowing God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's a great book!

Date:June 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mike705
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know what I can really write... it is a good book...a great book. There's nothing else to be said. I recommend this book for anyone who is intellectually embracing God...but know they are missing out on more of Him. Read your bible daily! Meditate on it! And reading this book will complement this practice by increasing the exposure to scripture.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Knowing God - eBook
This review is fromKnowing God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
katsby
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really enjoyed reading Knowing God by J.I. Packer it is a very readable and inspiring book on the attributes of God. Its a good reminder to me of how great and loving our father is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Knowing God - eBook
This review is fromKnowing God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Knowing God

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
John F. Kaylor
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a truly excellent study between knowing about God from Knowing God. Takes an intellectual investment but well worth the effort.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Knowing God - eBook
This review is fromKnowing God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Knowing God Rightly!

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Austin Nelson
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Knowing God in Christ should be the most important pursuit in every Christian’s life. However, we live in a day where many people in Bible believing churches have a god who they have made with their own mind, and is not the God we have revealed for us in Scripture. This is why J.I. Packer wrote this book, he explains, “The conviction behind the book is that ignorance of God-ignorance both of his ways and of the practice of communion with him-lies at the root of much of the church’s weakness today.”
Packer divides this book into three sections. Section one is titled, “Know the Lord,” and is basically an introduction to some of the most important aspects of Knowing God. Section two is called, “Behold Your God,” this part is basically many of the attributes of God we find in Scripture. And the last section is called “If God Be for us,” here Packer dives into some of the marvelous truths of the gospel of Jesus.
This book has 22 chapters; the chapters are short, but rich in theological truth. I appreciated Packer’s attempt to simplify many tough theological words into understandable language for everyone to read. My three favorite chapters are on the grace of God, sons of God, and the heart of the gospel.
This book is not just on the attributes of God! When I first got this book, I thought it was just on the attributes of God. But this book covers many, if not all, of the most important truth’s we find in the Bible about God and what God has done for us in Christ.
This is the first book I have ever read from J.I. Packer and I have quickly appreciated his unique ability to encourage, convict, and strengthen our walk in Christ. If you are looking for a book to help you understand God, the gospel, and living out the gospel in your everyday life I can’t think of many better books than this one to help you do that.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.