Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for IVP Books The Good and Beautiful God: Falling in Love with the God Jesus Knows - eBook

IVP Books The Good and Beautiful God: Falling in Love with the God Jesus Knows - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Good and Beautiful God: Falling in Love with the God Jesus Knows - eBook
Review 1 for The Good and Beautiful God: Falling in Love with the God Jesus Knows - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
mario
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using this book in our small group Bible Study, and find it very helpful,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Good and Beautiful God: Falling in Love with the God Jesus Knows - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patti
Age:Over 65
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My expectation was higher than the book delivered. Average Christian walk level. No new insights. I am not a scholar but it did spark group discussion.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Good and Beautiful God: Falling in Love with the God Jesus Knows - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this was the best book I've read in ten years

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
brettski
Location:Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smith's description of a good and beautiful God was like a glass of refreshing cold water on a humid summer's day. It was wonderful to sit and read a book that described a beautiful God whose burden is light and yoke is easy. So much of our Christian worship and experience today is filled with how we fall short or what we need to do that it is absolutely exhausting and one always leaves feeling defeated. The soul training exercises that Smith gives are meaningful, relevant, accessible, and do not feel like a burden but rather give life. I have given this book away about 10 times this past six months. This book and the accompanying soul training exercises helped me move much closer to complete trust in Christ and have given me a much greater and appreciative relationship and understanding of the triune God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Good and Beautiful God: Falling in Love with the God Jesus Knows - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We need this curriculum for Christlikeness

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gary
Location:Visalia Ca
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In, The Good and Beautiful God, the author lays a foundation regarding how we become the kind of people who can easily learn to do "all He has commanded." The text flows easily and through the website provides a way to lead a small group if desired. James Bryan Smith has been influenced by a mentor, Dallas Willard, and has taken the message of life in the kingdom and transformation to a very doable process.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Good and Beautiful God: Falling in Love with the God Jesus Knows - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Profound Book

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jacques
Location:Cochrane, AB
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want to know God, read this book. It perfectly describes God and how to have a personal relationship with Him. Great for a Bible study group.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Good and Beautiful God: Falling in Love with the God Jesus Knows - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good small group study.

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robert Barbe
Location:Tarboro, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book is being used iin a 10 member small geoup study and everyone likes it. I brings up good subjects for discussion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Good and Beautiful God: Falling in Love with the God Jesus Knows - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book excellent delivery was four days late

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
James Hellmich
Location:IL.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered two day delivery using a coupon number you sent me and it took 6 days to arrive. The next day I ordered 19 books and received them in 4 days or ahead of the two day delivery.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Good and Beautiful God: Falling in Love with the God Jesus Knows - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sugar Mama
Location:Baton Rouge, LA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our God is Great and Beautiful. Along with your Bible this book will help you see and know that.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Good and Beautiful God: Falling in Love with the God Jesus Knows - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helps us know how to live more Christlike

Date:November 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
malpassunity
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
James Bryan Smith does a great job of teaching us about re-examining what we know about God & helps us to better know the God that Jesus knows.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Good and Beautiful God: Falling in Love with the God Jesus Knows - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mike
I've read the first two of this series and this one is definitely the best. The discussion questions and reading surpasses the Good and Beautiful Life. I don't know if I would recommend the 'life' one but this book is definitely worth your time. I loved it and had a hard time putting it down to do the Soul Training exercises.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.