Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Whitaker House Sarah My Beloved - eBook

Whitaker House Sarah My Beloved - eBook

Sarah Woodward has come to Kentucky as a mail-order bride, contracting with the services of the Marriage-Made-In-Heaven Agency. However, when she steps off the stagecoach to meet her betrothed, he kindly informs her he has fallen in love with another woman. Sarah is disappointed, yes, but she feels strongly God has led her to this rickety place for a reason. If not to marry Benjamin Broughton, then to fulfill some other duty and, thus, she will stay firmly planted in Little Hickman until she discovers that plan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sarah My Beloved - eBook
Review 1 for Sarah My Beloved - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarah comes to Hickman Creek to be a mail-order bride, but when she arrives, Ben Broughton informs her he is in love with another, and offers to pay her way back to Boston. But Sarah refuses, insisting she was sent to Kentucky from God, for a purpose. Determined to overcome the obstacles that repeatedly present themselves, she puts her best foot forward and waits for God to direct her steps. She doesn't have long to wait.
Rocky Callahan was married once, with a fine son, but for reasons he doesn't care to understand, they were taken away. As if that weren't enough, his widowed sister dies, leaving behind two children that have no where else to go. Though unwillingly, Rocky takes the children in, disgruntled with his responsibility from the first day they arrived on the stage with the mail-order bride, Sarah. Drowning in self pity and despair, Rocky asks Sarah for a marriage of convenience, simply wanting a help for his dire straights. Sarah accepts, wanting to accept the will of God even when she cannot even begin to understand. Will their marriage in "name only" remain just that? Or will Sarah's unending faith and constant devotion win Rocky's hard heart and restore his faith in the Father?
So far, this is my favorite book in the Little Hickman Creek series. Sarah shows remarkable devotion to a man and family she owes nothing to, and quickly assimilates to the hard life of living in the country. As a refined, pampered city girl, I was surprised how she took to it like duck to water, with nary a complaint. Even though Rocky has become cynical and depressed, Sarah has a way of touching even the hardest person with her love and trust in God. I admire how MacLaren puts forth characters that are so easy to love, and very hard to forget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sarah My Beloved - eBook
This review is fromSarah, My Beloved, Little Hickman Creek Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarah comes to Hickman Creek to be a mail-order bride, but when she arrives, Ben Broughton informs her he is in love with another, and offers to pay her way back to Boston. But Sarah refuses, insisting she was sent to Kentucky from God, for a purpose. Determined to overcome the obstacles that repeatedly present themselves, she puts her best foot forward and waits for God to direct her steps. She doesn't have long to wait.
Rocky Callahan was married once, with a fine son, but for reasons he doesn't care to understand, they were taken away. As if that weren't enough, his widowed sister dies, leaving behind two children that have no where else to go. Though unwillingly, Rocky takes the children in, disgruntled with his responsibility from the first day they arrived on the stage with the mail-order bride, Sarah. Drowning in self pity and despair, Rocky asks Sarah for a marriage of convenience, simply wanting a help for his dire straights. Sarah accepts, wanting to accept the will of God even when she cannot even begin to understand. Will their marriage in "name only" remain just that? Or will Sarah's unending faith and constant devotion win Rocky's hard heart and restore his faith in the Father?
So far, this is my favorite book in the Little Hickman Creek series. Sarah shows remarkable devotion to a man and family she owes nothing to, and quickly assimilates to the hard life of living in the country. As a refined, pampered city girl, I was surprised how she took to it like duck to water, with nary a complaint. Even though Rocky has become cynical and depressed, Sarah has a way of touching even the hardest person with her love and trust in God. I admire how MacLaren puts forth characters that are so easy to love, and very hard to forget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sarah My Beloved - eBook
This review is fromSarah, My Beloved, Little Hickman Creek Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2009
When I see the words mail-order bride on the back cover of a book, I get excited. These are my favorite reads, followed closely by marriage of convenience stories. I was in for a treat when I discovered Sarah, My Beloved by Sharlene MacLaren, because this story involves the former turning into the latter. A well-written tale with captivating characters I loved from the start, Sarah, My Beloved exceeded my expectations. The ever-increasing emotion and conflict kept me turning pages eager to find out how two strangers could overcome the obstacles MacLaren throws in their path. Its easy to see why this book has garnered so many great reviews. Like others, I highly recommend the story, confident those who love a historical with heart will enjoy this book from an author whos delivered a moving inspirational romance
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sarah My Beloved - eBook
This review is fromSarah, My Beloved, Little Hickman Creek Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2009
I actually read books 1 and 2 of the Little Hickman Creek series out of order which was a little bit of a "spoiler" for me. I have enjoyed this series and still have book #3 to read. I love historicals that can keep you entertained. Writing just a "romance" is a hard thing to do. You need to keep the reader wanting to finish the book, which this writer successfully does!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sarah My Beloved - eBook
This review is fromSarah, My Beloved, Little Hickman Creek Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Retha Runyon
This book is wonderful. I reccommend it highly. I Could hardly wait to finish it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sarah My Beloved - eBook
This review is fromSarah, My Beloved, Little Hickman Creek Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2009
Loved book 2 of the "Little Hickman Creek series! I loved the way this author writes to keep you turning the pages, even into the night!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sarah My Beloved - eBook
This review is fromSarah, My Beloved, Little Hickman Creek Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Lerud
Disappointing after Book 1 in the series. Not as well-written; too many trite phrases and predictable solutions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sarah My Beloved - eBook
This review is fromSarah, My Beloved, Little Hickman Creek Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2008
Finally!!! An Inspirational Historical Romance author who writes real romance that quickens the pulse and nourishes the soul! Three cheers for Sharlene McClaren and her Little Hickman Creek Series, a must-read for romance lovers everywhere. Ms. MacLaren is a master at weaving deep and stirring characters into a historical tapestry of rich and rugged pioneer life at its most endearing. Without question, one of my favorite authors!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sarah My Beloved - eBook
This review is fromSarah, My Beloved, Little Hickman Creek Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Phyllis Neeley
Sara My Beloved was just as good as Loving Liza Jane. I could not put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sarah My Beloved - eBook
This review is fromSarah, My Beloved, Little Hickman Creek Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gay Waneck
This is the 2nd book in the trilogy, and very enjoyable. In fact, after reading this book and the one following, I was sorry that there were no more books in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sarah My Beloved - eBook
This review is fromSarah, My Beloved, Little Hickman Creek Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Roberta Windsor
This is the second book I have read by this author and will definitly read more of hers. It's very interesting and even helps relate things in my life. I enjoyed it very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sarah My Beloved - eBook
This review is fromSarah, My Beloved, Little Hickman Creek Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Katybug
Sharlene MacLaren is one author that can always be counted on for a great story, great romance and a happy ending. "Sarah, My Beloved" is one of those great stories.In book #2 from her Little Hickman Creek series, MacLaren continues her story of the residents of Little Hickman, Kentucky, this time with her focus on Rocky Callahan and the town's newest resident, Sarah Woodward. Sarah has traveled all the way from Boston as a mail order bride, but discovers upon her arrival that her prospective groom is in love with another. Then Rocky Callahan (introduced in book #1) enters Sarah's life with his two charges in tow. Rocky has his hands full: taking care of his niece & nephew after his sister's death; running his farm, and dealing with his own grief. They don't like each other much, yet Rocky offers Sarah a marriage of convenience: he provides her with food, shelter and the protection of his name, and she gives him help in his home. Sarah reluctantly accepts. As time passes, the two grow to love each other but always seem to get interrupted as the romance starts to light up. I have read three of MacLaren's books and enjoyed each one. "Sarah, My Beloved" is another great story that has it all: good storyline, believable characters, and plenty of romance. All of the main characters have lost someone to death but are dealing with their grief in different ways. Together Rocky, Sarah and the children learn to cope with their losses and bond as a family. MacLaren's take on the "marriage of convenience" theme is excellent. The romantic tension between Rocky and Sarah is delightful, and readers will keep their fingers crossed hoping things turn out well for them. All of MacLaren's books are wonderful, and the quality of her stories improves from one book to the next. I am anxiously looking forward to her book #3, "Courting Emma", which concludes her Little Hickman Creek series. Till then, be sure to add "Loving Liza Jane" and "Sarah, My Beloved" to your collection!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sarah My Beloved - eBook
This review is fromSarah, My Beloved, Little Hickman Creek Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amanda Sterling
This book was great.. you just fall in love with the characters from the start. CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sarah My Beloved - eBook
This review is fromSarah, My Beloved, Little Hickman Creek Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cathy Messecar
Farmer Rocky Callahan is hitched to the land in Hickman where dirt seemed a natural ingredient at every meal and blood and sweat mingled with the drinking water. After receiving ward of his sisters children, Rocky struggles to combine work and fathering when satin-swathed Sarah Woodward arrives in town. Denim-clad Rocky Callahan views her arrival as answer to his dual dilemma of planting crops and rearing children. Sarah Woodward, privileged, finds the challenge a god-send. Will I do vows be enough to give wings to the fledgling Callahan family? This faith based story reveals how a blended family can move from fractured to whole. For an absorbing read get to know the Callahan clan and visit Little Hickman, Kentucky through author Sharlene MacLarens keen words.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sarah My Beloved - eBook
This review is fromSarah, My Beloved, Little Hickman Creek Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2007
Benjamin Broughten left mail order bride, Sarah Woodard practically standing at the altar in Loving Liza Jane. Determined to make her place in Little Hickman, despite becoming fodder for the gossip mill, Sarah finds herself suddenly married to widower Rocky Callahan with the full time care of his motherless niece and nephew.Still grieving his wife, Rocky protects his heart by keeping his feelings locked inside, presenting a harsh demeanor to the children and keeping his new wife at arms' length.Even when Rocky and Sarah's hearts begin to soften, pride and presumptions interfere, perhaps ruining their relationship forever.Sharlene MacLaren has once again made an old story new! Rocky and Sarah are drawn with a deft touch, their vivid personalities engaging the reader regardless of the familiarity of their circumstances. Sarah, My Beloved returns the reader to Little Hickman, a welcoming yet simple community struggling to survive. Sarah's wealthy suitor provides humorous moments especially his interaction with the practical and rugged Rocky. The Broughtens, Pastor Jon and boarding house proprietor, Emma Browning return in anticipation of the final installment, Courting Emma which I have a feeling may be my favorite! If you love a gentle tale overflowing with engaging characters and themes of faith and romance interwoven seamlessly, you can't go past Sharlene's Little Hickman Creek series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.