Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishing Discerning the Voice of God: How to Recognize When He Speaks - eBook

Moody Publishing Discerning the Voice of God: How to Recognize When He Speaks - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Discerning the Voice of God: How to Recognize When He Speaks - eBook
Review 1 for Discerning the Voice of God: How to Recognize When He Speaks - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God's will for one's life

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Henry
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Author know just how to instill the desire to seek God's will for one's life.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Discerning the Voice of God: How to Recognize When He Speaks - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A real page turner

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lady Brown
Location:Mac
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my women's group and it has enlightened our bible study and took us to another level
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Discerning the Voice of God: How to Recognize When He Speaks - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really Helpful

Date:November 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Location:Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All of us struggle with hearing God's voice. I originally bought this book at a women's conference where Priscilla Shirer was the speaker. It was tremendously helpful to me because at the time I read it, I was making some important decisions in my life and I really wanted to know God's will.
I purchased this copy for a friend and I chose this book for a book discussion I will lead in a couple of months. I would recommend this to anyone who wants not only to hear God's voice but also to someone who wants a closer relationship to Him. Although the book is geared more towards women readers, I feel that men will gain from this book as well.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Discerning the Voice of God: How to Recognize When He Speaks - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great context, but...

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
ReeS
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have really enjoyed the book & Priscilla Shrier's presentation. Anything less than 5 stars is due to CBD's e-reader. It is lacking many features I've come to expect from Kindle & iBook. Even the bookmark feature doesn't work efficiently.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Discerning the Voice of God: How to Recognize When He Speaks - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anna
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author has a great perspective on listening to God in this busy time. We are doing a small group study on the book, and I particularly like how she ties all of her information directly back to scripture.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Discerning the Voice of God: How to Recognize When He Speaks - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I have given this book as a gift often.

Date:June 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Location:durango, CO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a wonderful gift, and I have given it often. It is always delivered in a timely fashion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Discerning the Voice of God: How to Recognize When He Speaks - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

For those who want to know more of God

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
PatWKirk
Location:Kansas
Gender:female
Too often, Christians fret concerning whether they know the will of God. No trumpets blow. No burning bush stops them in their tracks. No angel knocks on the door with a letter from God. Priscilla Shirer, daughter of Dr. Tony Evans and a minister, tackles the problem of how we may recognize the voice of God with certainty. This version is the eleventh edition of this book (revised and expanded).
The first chapter pace moves a little slowly, but it picks up as the reader goes to the later chapters. The author mentions her experiences to illustrate, though often in general language. She mentions “a new ministry” for example. I wanted to know what new ministry.
Discerning the Voice of God would work well as a study guide for a group--probably its purpose. The reader will enjoy the book more by reading a chapter at a time which would fit well as a daily addition to devotions. Most Christians will find something new, and feel more secure in making decisions.
I received this book from Moody Publisher. It is an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Discerning the Voice of God: How to Recognize When He Speaks - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

How Amazing is This Book!

Date:March 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
By His Word Ministries
Location:Madison, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was written just for me, because it brought all things together for me to have a better understanding of discerning the voice of God like never before!
AWESOMELY AMAZING!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Discerning the Voice of God: How to Recognize When He Speaks - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very easy to understand!

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Evchen
Location:Port Orange Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not put the book down. It was written in such a way that a lay person like myself could understand what Priscilla Shirer was trying to convey. I know she had to be guided by the Holy Spirit every step of the way which includes using the WORD of God.
Thanks so much to her for letting Jesus use her!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.