Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Missing Your Smile - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Missing Your Smile - eBook

When Susan Hostetler has a falling out with her boyfriend, Thomas Stoll, she leaves her Amish community and moves to Asbury Park to experiment in English life. There she learns to drive a car, takes her GED test, and falls in love with young and handsome Duane Bower. Back home, her parents are devastated and miss their daughter terribly. But what can they do? Susan has a mind of her own.

Just as Susan is enjoying her new life, her plans are interrupted. She meets Teresa Long, a young, unwed, expectant mother who asks Susan to help her have her baby adopted by an Amish family. As Susan is drawn into the young woman's life, she also finds herself drawn back to her Amish roots. But can she truly leave her life behind.and Duane?

Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 19100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Missing Your Smile - eBook
Review 1 for Missing Your Smile - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
cakelady
Location:Woodinville, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far all the books I have read where great and I pass the books to my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Missing Your Smile - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amish girl tries English life

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Susan Hostetler fled her Amish home and community after catching her boyfriend kissing her best friend. With her dreams shattered, she seeks a life in the “Englisha” world, as non-Amish are called. Susan finds work in a bakery and gradually adapts to her new life. She misses her family and the way she was raised, but doesn’t think she could return to live among them.
Susan’s experiment in the world’s ways includes learning to drive a car, seeking her GED, and dating a sophisticated businessman. While exciting, none of these things provide her true fulfillment. She becomes friends with the bakery owner’s son, Robby, and encourages him to return to the faith he’d abandoned. She also befriends a pregnant young woman who needs assistance. Helping Teresa, this unwed mother, leads Susan back to her roots since Teresa wants her son adopted by the Amish.
The ending of Missing Your Smile, the first novel in Jerry Eicher’s Fields of Home series has on open-ended conclusion. I will soon be reading the sequel to learn what happens to Teresa and Susan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Missing Your Smile - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:June 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karen Gervais
Location:Troy, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Missing Your Smile is the first in a series of three. I absolutely loved this book. I enjoyed getting to know Susan and the other characters in the book and I can't wait to see what happens next! I will be adding "Following Your Heart" and "Where Love Grows" (Sept. 2012) the next two books in the series to my wish list.
I highly recommend this book! Especially to those who like reading Amish fiction! This was just a great book and I truly enjoyed it. A job well done Jerry Eicher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Missing Your Smile - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great Amish Series

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janus Tuttle
Location:Ft. Wayne, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read Missing Your Smile and just finished Following Your Heart. Love both of them and waiting for a follow up. Another book or books that were difficult to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Missing Your Smile - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love this book

Date:March 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
patti
Location:north webster, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i won this book thru Jerry himself as a give away on facebook, that has been awhile ago. i started reading this book just the other day and i couldnt put it down. that is the way i am with all his books and many other amish books. i love this story because it could really happen in our world today. i cant wait to read the second book in the series. if i could win it that would b awesome, out local library doesnt get the books in a series right away. i will have to wait a while. but it will be with the wait.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Missing Your Smile - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Read!

Date:March 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
klwjjw
Location:Thompsontown,Pa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book is about Sarah Hostetler who left the Amish after her boyfriend betrayed her.She moves to New Jersey and turns to the English world,getting a job,her GED and a driver's license.She meets and unwed mother who wants a Amish family to adopt her baby,which pulls her back into the Amish community and family she left.Will Sarah go back to New Jersey,or stay in the Amish community....
I have always enjoyed Jerry Eicher's books-I have not read one yet that I have not liked.I really enjoy the fact that Mr.Eicher comes from an Amish background,and they are very accurate to the Amish culture and ways.I recommend this book,and I will be buying the other two book in this series to read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Missing Your Smile - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Christian Book

Date:March 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
fiery
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the book Missing Your Smile. Can't wait for the next one in the series. Have to know what happens to Susan and Teresa and the baby
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Missing Your Smile - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Missing Your Smile

Date:February 27, 2012
Susan Hostetler left Indiana for a new life. She decided she no longer wanted to be Amish. Her boyfriend, Thomas Stoll, helped her make that decision. One night, after a singing, she found him and her best friend, Eunice, being a little too friendly. She told her parents she had to leave and ended up in Asbury Park, New Jersey working at a bakery. She worked for Laura and became friends with her and her son Robby.
Susan had trouble adjusting to city life. It was noisy at night when she was trying to sleep. During the day it was crowded with people and traffic. Still, she had decided she was going to become English and would adjust. She even started dating Englisher, Duane Moran. Susan was hesitant to go full fledged English all at once, so she did it gradually. When the story started she was still using kerosene lamps for lighting. Her apartment had functioning electricity.
Susan met an unwed mother, Teresa Long, that found out she was Amish. Teresa wanted Susan to adopt her baby. Susan promised Teresa that she will ask if a family from Indiana wanted the child. This situation threatened to take her back to the life she left behind.
Meanwhile, in Indiana, Susan's parents are heartbroken with their daughter gone and Thomas realizes he needs to make amends with Susan. Is Thomas too late?
The focus of this story is Susan living with her choice to leave her Amish life behind and become English. She still had her faith in God, which kept her going. Does Susan ever fully adjust to life as an Englisher? What happens to Teresa and her baby? Read Missing Your Smile to discover what Susan does with her new life.
I was hesitant to read another Jerry Eicher book. I read his Rebecca Series and did not care for the books. I didn't like his style of writing. It seemed to me he assumed the reader should know what he was thinking even though it wasn't conveyed in his writing. I read Missing Your Smile because I wanted to give him another chance. I liked this story much better. It was too slow moving for me though, it took me 4 or 5 sittings to finish reading it. When I really enjoy a book it's done in 1 or 2 readings. The biggest issue I had was that I when I started reading the book I thought Susan and Robby were teenagers. They acted immature. Robby's character actually annoyed me with the constant comedy. As I got further into the book I discovered Susan was 21 and Robby had attended college. I will read the next book in the series because I'm interested in finding out what happens to the characters in this book. I am still on the fence as to if I would recommend this book to others.
Fields Of Home Series
Missing Your Smile #1
Following Your Heart #2
Where Love Grows #3
I received a free copy of this e-book from NetGalley for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Missing Your Smile - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent First Book In A New Series

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rachel Lane
Location:Nolanville, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book introduces the reader to Susan, a young Amish girl from a farm in Indiana, who had decided to get space from her troubles by moving to Ashbury Park, NJ. The sight of her beloved Thomas with another girl was too much for Susan to bear, so she decides a change of scenery & lifestyle is in order for her to cope with the betrayal. Working at a bakery shop owned by the relative of a friend, Susan is immersed in the daily grind of the life of an Englisha. She befriends Laura & her son Robby, who seems to have his own set of struggles. Laura convinces Susan to get her GED & driver's license in case Susan wants to fully leave the Amish faith. Meanwhile, Susan observes how intrigued the Englisha world is with the Amish, and gets a full dose of that when she meets a young girl named Teresa. But has Susan really gotten over Thomas? What about Susan's family, who miss her terribly? This book was a page-turner from page 1 and I can't wait to read the second book in this series. Jerry Eicher is a talented author & I enjoyed his other series as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Missing Your Smile - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Missing Your Smile by Jerry Eicher

Date:February 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Helen Hevener
Location:Staunton, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susan Hostettler leaves Amish country after breaking up with her intended- Thomas Stoll. Susan moves to New Jersey and quickly finds her way around the "englisher" world. Susan has a good job - that she enjoys- she makes friends- but she still wonders if or when she will ever return to Amish country!!! A young girl walks in the bakery that Susan is working in- Teresa has problems and comes to Susan for help solving the problems. Will Susan go back to the Amish?? Will Susan be able to help her friend Teresa??? Will Thomas and Susan have a chance for love again???
This book is one a kind and I absolutely loved it as I have ALL of the books that Jerry Eicher has written. I just can hardly wait till May when the sequel to this books comes out- Following Your Heart!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Missing Your Smile - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting Story in a Christian Romance

Date:February 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarah Hostetler left her Amish community to distance herself from her boyfriend after witnessing him kissing another woman. Suddenly in the Englisha community, Sarah decides that if she is here, she needs to become Englisha. She gets her GED, wears Englisha clothing, and learns to drive. She dates an Englisha man, and she encounters a young, pregnant girl that wants her child brought up in the Amish community. Sarah tries to become Englisha, but home still pulls her.
Sarah's views of the Englisha world add an interesting twist to the story line, as she tries to stay focused on the Lord, and live a life she believes acceptable, throughout all the changes going on around her. Missing Your Smile is the first in a series of three, and leaves the reader hanging with an incomplete story, which means, since I enjoyed reading this one, I'll definitely get the next two. I would recommend this to readers who enjoy an interesting story wrapped around a mild, Christian romance.
Received Galley from NetGalley.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Missing Your Smile - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Amish Book

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Book was supplied to me by Harvest House Publishers through NetGalley for a review in return.
Book Description
When Susan Hostetler has a falling out with her boyfriend, Thomas Stoll, she leaves her Amish community and moves to Asbury Park to experiment in English life. There she learns to drive a car, takes her GED test, and falls in love with young and handsome Duane Bower. Back home, her parents are devastated and miss their daughter terribly. But what can they do? Susan has a mind of her own.
Just as Susan is enjoying her new life, her plans are interrupted. She meets Teresa Long, a young, unwed, expectant mother who asks Susan to help her have her baby adopted by an Amish family. As Susan is drawn into the young woman's life, she also finds herself drawn back to her Amish roots. But can she truly leave her life behind.and Duane?
My Review
This book is the first book in the Fields of Home Series by Jerry Eicher. Jerry is one of the best authors who write about the Amish and what their world deals with.
This book is about Susan Hostetler who breaks up with her fiancé Thomas Stoll. It is a complete misunderstanding I believe anyway. After this happens, she leaves her Amish community and goes to the English world in Asbury Park, N.J. At first, I thought she was making a complete mistake for going there but as it winds up, I don’t think so. She learns how to drive and this part is hilarious and you will love this part also. She then takes her GED which I really didn’t think she would.
She meets Duane Bower and goes out with him a few times and she doesn’t understand how the English date, but she learns.
In the meantime, she meets a young girl who is single and pregnant. After she is friendly with Teresa Long, she wants Susan to adopt her baby or see if an Amish family will adopt her baby. When this happens, Susan is drawn back to the Amish life and she isn’t sure she wants that part. But, she does wind up helping her though.
I won’t say anything else, I don’t want to spoil the book for you. I love Jerry Eicher’s books, he is GREAT. I would definitely suggest this book to my friends and family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Missing Your Smile - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great New Amish Series

Date:January 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susan Hostetler's plans were to marry her beau Thomas and take over the running of her datt's farm. Things change though when she catches Thomas kissing one of her friends. She decides the only thing to do is get away and with the help of an Englisher friend leaves the farm in Indiana and moves to Asbury Park New Jersey. She goes to work in a bakery for a very nice woman named Laura, who also happens to be the sister of the English friend that helped her leave home.Life seems to be going ok, she has an apartment, a pretty good job and meets a nice Enghisher man named Duane. She decides to try and get her GED and drivers license, and with the help of Laura's son Robby it seems as if she might achieve her goals. A young pregnant girl named Teresa starts coming into the bakery. Teresa has a fascination with the Amish and when she learns that Susan is Amish she asks Susan to help her find an Amish home for her unborn child. To help Teresa, Susan soon realizes she will have to take a trip back home. Meanwhile Thomas is missing Susan and decides to take a trip to Asbury Park. How will the relationship between Duane and Susan work out? Will the Amish community accept Teresa and her unborn child, and will Susan move back home? What about the relationship between Susan and Thomas, will they ever get back together? Your just going to have to read the book and find out!
I am a huge Amish fiction fan and Jerry Eicher is quickly becoming one of my favorite Amish writers. He has the ability to pull me into a story and make me feel as if the characters are people I know. As Susan's story unfolded it was easy to see she wasn't really settled with living away from the Amish, but she didn't let that stop her from trying to move forward with her life. I thought Susan did a good job of trying to steer Robby in the right direction, and actually I sort of hoped a relationship might develop between those two. There were a few secondary stories going on that kept me turning the pages to see how things would work out. I thought the story line with Teresa was quite interesting, I can't help but wonder if she will find what she is looking for in Amish country.With a few unanswered questions at the end of the story, I will easily say the author knows how to leave me wanting more! I can't wait to read the next book in the series titled "Follow Your Heart" due out May 2012.
rating 5/5
I was provided an e-book from Netgalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Missing Your Smile - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Highly recommended

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Susan Hostetler and Thomas Stoll are engaged to be married, that is until Susan catches Thomas kissing her best friend Eunice. Susan breaks off the engagement without any explanation to anyone else and with the help of an Englisha friend picks up and moves from Indiana to Asbury Park, New Jersey. She goes to work in Laura's bakery and lives by herself in the attached apartment, they soon become more than owner and employee, they become friends. Laura's son Robby and Susan become like brother and sister, spend a lot of time together, teasing each other, Robby drives Susan places when she needs to run errands, teaches her to drive and helps her get her GED. Susan makes a good listener for Robby and helps him find his faith again.
Duane Moran comes into the bakery quite often and is a good friend of Laura's, when he see's Susan, he shows an interest and asks her for lunch, with Laura's encouragement she accepts. One lunch date leads to a dinner date, then a home cooked meal by Susan. Duane, not being used to the Amish lifestyle thinks Susan is trying to "catch" him and runs off without helping Susan with her math studies. He does get in touch with Susan to apologize and explain what scared him, when she explains that she was doing what Amish do, they become friends again.
Teresa doesn't come into the bakery often, but she does notice Susan and on her second visit asks her if she's Amish. Teresa is pregnant, unmarried, and lives with her Mother on the wrong side of the tracks so to speak. Charlie, her boyfriend, wants her to have an abortion and her Mother wants the same thing if she doesn't give the child up for adoption. Teresa seeks out Susan to help her, she asks her to find an Amish family to adopt her baby. Susan finally agrees to write and ask her parents if she knows of anyone that would be willing to adopt a baby.
After Susan drops the letter in the mailbox, she realizes that her parents may get the wrong idea and think it is her baby, hers and Thomas's. She tried to reach in the drop box, but the letter had fallen down too far for her to reach it. Susan starts considering going home for a visit and maybe taking Teresa with her so Thomas's reputation isn't ruined by everyone thinking they'd let things go to far and that was the reason for the break up. When her parents receive the letter, they show it to one of Susan's sisters and her husband, after some discussion, not wanting to believe that Susan was talking about herself and thinking about the rumor mill, they decide it would be best if they invite Teresa to live in their community.
As Susan, Teresa and baby Samuel, who was born early, board a train and head to Indiana, Thomas is getting on a bus headed to New Jersey. Susan isn't sure if she will remain in Indiana or return to New Jersey and when Thomas arrives and asks about Susan at the bakery, Laura tell him that she's gone and that Susan and Robby are good friends. Thomas leaves the bakery to do some site seeing, until his train leaves that night, thinking Susan and Robby are more than friends. Will Susan return to New Jersey before Thomas returns to Indiana so they can talk to each other and work things out? I can't tell you, I hope it's in the next book, Following Your Heart, due out in May 2012. This book, Missing Your Smile is due out in February 2012.
I would recommend this book as a good investment of your money and time and I'm looking forward to finding out what happens next. Jerry S Eicher did a great job on this one.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Harvest House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Missing Your Smile - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another good book from Jerry Eicher!

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lynne Young
Location:Madison, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first started this book I knew it was going to be a different read than anything I have read before. This story is told from 3 different points of view. Susan Hostetler is Amish, but after catching her Amish boyfriend kissing another girl she leaves her home and moves to the English world of Asbury Park, New Jersey where she starts work in a bakery and is befriended by the owner. In her attempts to "become English" she gets her GED and a drivers license with the help of the bakery owners son, but is she really happy? Thomas, the boy she left behind, is wondering if she will come back and forgive him for his one mistake. Her parents are trying to get on with their lives while missing Susan terribly and wondering about the real reason she left in such a hurry.
One day a young, unwed, pregnant, woman comes into the bakery and forms an instant attachment to Susan. What transpires is a friendship and a very unusual request. Will Susan be able to grant this young woman's request? Will Susan decide to go home, and if she does, will she stay? Well, I guess you will have to read the book to find out! As for me, this Book 1 of the Fields Of Home series kept my interest and was a very well told story. I can't wait for Book 2! I want to see what happens next! I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Missing Your Smile - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fantastic new Amish Series!

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Missing Your Smile"
By Jerry Eicher
Jerry has again written another fabulous Amish novel, Book 1, of a new series, entitled "Fields of Home". "Missing Your Smile" intoduces us to the main character, Susan Hostetler, who has a falling out with her Amish boyfriend, Thomas, resulting in her leaving home, faith, family and community. This venturesome, young lady makes her way to Asbury Park, New Jersey, where she gets a job and goes on to experiment with the English life. This novel is unique in its description of this innocent girl in strange surroundings, learning to drive a car, taking her GED test and dating the handsome, Englisher, Duane Moran. Living in an area where are there crimes, dealing with new situations, Susan is described a very courageous Amish woman, totally at odds with her background. Of course, her family is devastated by her decision to leave them.
The story has a quick and fascinating change of events, interrupting Susan's plans. A new character enters the scene - a young unwed lady, who gently leads Susan back to her home and her faith, although not aware of the importance of doing it. Will Susan reconnect with Thomas? Will she stay in the Amish community? We are left hanging at the end of this book.
Jerry has once again used his great ability to make you part of the character's problems, challenges, fears and joys. You feel with Susan as she walks her road to finding herself.
The plot is well developed with enough variety and surprises to keep you spellbound as to what will happen next!
Myself, I am eagerly awaiting Book 2 in this series, to answer at least some of my questions remaining with me when I finished reading this book.
A great book!! Well done, Jerry! Loved it and looking forward to more in this new series.
Book provided by Harvest House Publishers and Jerry Eicher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Missing Your Smile - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommed

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
babydoll62
Location:Mountain View, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved it!!! Can't wait for the next one to come out so I can find out what happens between Susan and Thomas or if she will decide to go back and be with Robby. There were so many ways the story could have gone but I love the fact that Susan got involved with Teresa. That shows God at work and I love that part about these books. I feel as Susan did; that she was sent to Asbury Park for a reason and God had a plan for her. Getting Robby to return to his faith and doing the christian thing by helping out Teresa. This was just a super book that I truly enjoyed. Jerry Eicher is a wonderful writer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Missing Your Smile - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not Your Typical Amish Story!

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After being betrayed by her boyfriend Thomas, Susan flees to the Englisha world. Devastated and hurt Susan seeks comfort in Asbury Park, New Jersey. Susan hopes to build a new life for herself away from her Indiana home and away from Thomas.
Susan is quite pleased with herself. She has managed to buy some Englisha clothes, went on a few lunch/dinner dates with an Englisha gentleman, passed her GED test and her driver’s license test. Is she really fitting into this strange but fascinating new world?
While working at her job in a bakery Susan befriends Teresa a young unwed expectant mother. Teresa’s boyfriend left her and won’t return until Teresa gets rid of the baby. She begs Susan to find a nice Amish family to adopt her baby. Susan, after much thought, promises to do what she can to help Teresa.
I absolutely loved this book. I gave it 5 stars.
This in not your typical Amish story. The author takes us into the world of a young woman that has left her Amish community because of the hurt and betrayal by her boyfriend. Here in the Englisha's world the author gives us insight into how she feels, thinks, acts, reacts, etc. By the end of the book I was begging for more. I can't wait to see what happens next! I will be waiting patiently for "Following Your Heart" the next book in this series to be published! A job well done Mr. Eicher!
I wish to thank Harvest House Publisher and Author Jerry S. Eicher for sending me this book to read and review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Missing Your Smile - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

first book in series Fields of Homes

Date:January 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Edna Tollison
Location:SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book in Jerry S. Eicher's new series "Fields Of Home" . I find this book very interesting about the AMish life and Jerry can tell it as no other because he grew up Amish. Susan Hostetler left her home after she broke up with her boyfriend Thomas Stoll. She wanted to get a taste of the Englisha life so she moved to Asbury Park, New Jersey. She begins to live the full English life and ever bought a car and learned to drive. Her parents were so sad and upset about her moving away and leaving the Amish life she grew up in.
Susan met a young unmarried woman that was expecting a baby and wanted her baby to be adopted by an Amish family. When she returns home to help find a family for the baby, she also felt led to move back home and to her Amish way of life. There was also the young man Thoman still waiting for her, so she was very comfused if about wheather she wanted to return back to the Englisha way of life or just stay where she really belonged.
Very interesting book as all of Jerry's are. Thanks so much to Harvest House Publisher and Jerry S. Eicher for sending me this me to read and I chose to post this review.

0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.