Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Amish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Revell Amish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life - eBook

Whether we call them "maxims," "sayings," or "old saws," proverbs offer little glimpses of insight into folks' values and beliefs. Fisher collects more than 200 Pennsylvania German idioms---simple, profound, serious, and humorous---to uncover the heritage, traditions, faith, history, and essence of the Amish people. An ideal any-occasion gift!
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Amish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life - eBook
Review 1 for Amish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life - eBook
This review is fromAmish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
steven
Age:55-65
Gender:male
me wife loves this book. being from a garbc church, I had heard many of these saying from my great aunts many years ago, but quite a few were new to her
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Amish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life - eBook
This review is fromAmish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fascinating information

Date:January 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shirley M. Franklin
Location:St Petersburg, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy reading about the Amish and am enjoying this delightful book of Amish proverbs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Amish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life - eBook
This review is fromAmish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
lovethissite
Location:Rochester, New York
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My friend loved getting this book. Full of all true Amish information. Great product offered here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Amish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life - eBook
This review is fromAmish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Coffee Table Book

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
mommyglover
Location:Fort Campbell, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gorgeous book filled with vibrant photos, glossy paper, and sweet quotes. If you enjoy the simple life - you will enjoy this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Amish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life - eBook
This review is fromAmish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A keeper

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tunesareus
Location:Virginia
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thought provoking proverbs plus tranquil scenery. I picture re-reading this from time to time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Amish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life - eBook
This review is fromAmish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love this little book

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
melissa
Location:nc
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cutenlittle book of sayings. i also enjoyed the pictures and scenery of the amish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Amish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life - eBook
This review is fromAmish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book and very easy to read

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
June Beeler
Location:Sutter, Il.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have given this book for gifts to my friends. Can be picked up and read anytime; nice pictures too. Very imformative about the Amish culture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Amish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life - eBook
This review is fromAmish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another glimpse into the Amish culture.

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Renee
Location:Tremont, ME
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the book and it stays out so everyone can glimpse through it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Amish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life - eBook
This review is fromAmish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Amish Proverbs by Suzanne Woods Fisher is a terrific hardcover gift book. The Amish have tons of proverbs that cover nearly every aspect of their lives, and Fisher has put them together along with beautiful photographs and profiles of some Amish people that exemplify the words of wisdom. Her book perfectly captures the spirit of the Plain People and the simplicity of their lives that are so rich with wisdom. The reason some people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory. If you think you're too small to make a difference, you haven't been in bed with a mosquito. Bibles that are coming apart usually belong to people who aren't. Readers will find themselves wanting to share the sayings and nodding their heads at the truisms. It's a book that you'll want to keep on your shelf to reread again and again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Amish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life - eBook
This review is fromAmish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2010
I love Suzanne's book Amish Peace and was excited to read Amish Proverbs. This book is a beautiful work of art that would make a great gift. It is full of gorgeous photos of Amish country and many sites and things you would see there. Then it is filled with words of wisdom, a couple of my favorites..."You can't stumble when you are on your knees.""Nothing is quite so annoying as to have someone go right on talking when you are interrupting.""Don't pray when it rains if you don't pray when the sun shines."A wonderful book that would be great for just reading a page or two at a time and spending the rest of the day mulling over the words of wisdom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Amish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life - eBook
This review is fromAmish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tami @ ThisMomsDelight.com
I am not Amish, but I did enjoy this book. Its full of vivid color photographs. I love pictures in books! No, not picture booksI love reading the words, too! It is a beautiful book, both the illustrations and the written content.My favorite proverb in the CHILDREN & FAMILY chapter is A wife will make or break a household. Its a proverb that rings true. In the chapter IN WORD & DEED, we are reminded to watch our mouths: When you speak, always remember that God is one of your listeners.This is a good book to read slowly, maybe a page or two a day. Take time to think about the sayings and how they can be applied. These man-made proverbs have good substance. Of course, Scripture is the best thing to measure our lives by.Thanks to litFUSE for giving a review copy to me and a giveaway copy to one of my readers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Amish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life - eBook
This review is fromAmish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2010
Delightful book! This is a great gift book or a book for personal use. I am a mother of 4 and found within its pages new ways to say old things. Sometimes changing the way things are said drastically change the effect on people and the reaction that you get. For instance I loved the proverb, "Tackle the problem not the person". This is very useful when fights among the brothers over things get out of hand. It is a lot better than scolding for the 3rd or 4th time "DO NOT HIT!!!". In fact in gives them a common thing to "beat up" - the problem. The other I like is "Two can not argue if one will not", I am constantly telling my children to speak kindly, to not respond if the battle is not the Lord's (if the outcome will have no eternal signifigance or if you are out just to prove you are right). I found the book encouraging and entertaining. I have picked it up more than once and read it through. I can remember my parents telling me when someone teased or said something ugly to me "Consider the source and pray for the person, you have not walked their road". This was to remind me that I do not know what a person has faced or is facing that might have provoked their unkind speech and spirit, but kindness covers many things.Thank you Revell Books for this review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Amish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life - eBook
This review is fromAmish Proverbs: Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2010
I was sooo very blessed to receive a copy of "Amish Proverbs ~ Words of Wisdom from the Simple Life" for review! This book is one that will bless you, speak to you, and in some instances just help you melt away the stress level from 10 to 2 :)There are over 200 collection of Proverbs and 11 chapters ~ Some of the Proverbs you will find are Time, Money, Work Ethic, Handling Adversity, and many more!! Each one speaks volumes. Each chapter begins with something unique to the Amish along with their Proverb. Some I really enjoyed were:Sometimes we are climbling mountains when we ought to be quietly resting.If You're careful with your pennies, the dollars will take care of themselves.It is better to give others a piece of your heart than a piece of your mind. God won't lead you where HIS grace can't keep you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.