Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan You Were Made for More: The Life You Have, the Life God Wants You to Have

Zondervan You Were Made for More: The Life You Have, the Life God Wants You to Have

God has more in store for you, if you're open to it. If you're unsatisfied with your Christian life, there's more of God available to you. Find more peace, real joy and a deep sense of purpose, by living in deeper fellowship. You can discover a more challenging, fruitful life. Come and see where the Lord leads as you draw closer to Him.
Average Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for You Were Made for More: The Life You Have, the Life God Wants You to Have
Review 1 for You Were Made for More: The Life You Have, the Life God Wants You to Have
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:October 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
kammie4now
Location:Va
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really enjoyed this grreat book. Must read if you are searching for a closer walk with God
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for You Were Made for More: The Life You Have, the Life God Wants You to Have
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You Were Made for More Is a Must Read

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ministry Leader
Location:Chicago, Il
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book a few years ago and felt inclined to introduce it to my Women's Ministry class. The impact on lives has been amazing. The testimonies range from the birth of a new ministry to decisions to release relationships and more. One woman was physically sick but insisted on coming to class because of the impact on her life. In her words, this class was for her! I hope to one day meet Pastors Cymbala and thank them both. As for the delivery and service of the Christian Bookstore, the items arrived on time and the discount for large purchases made this affordable for everyone. Since I ordered over 20 that was wonderful. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for You Were Made for More: The Life You Have, the Life God Wants You to Have
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
ginger
Location:Fishers, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My accountability group used this book for our last study. It has been amazing to see how we all have benefited from it.
Pastor Cymbala has such an easy style of presenting thoughtful and thought provoking examples, and encourages
self examination, prayer and growth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for You Were Made for More: The Life You Have, the Life God Wants You to Have
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spiritual growth in the Holy Spirit

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
JohnB
Location:Roseville, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For those who want more of God in their life, this is an excellent resource.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for You Were Made for More: The Life You Have, the Life God Wants You to Have
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great writing, its easy to understand.

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tony Roberts
Location:Twillingate, NFLD, canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the fifth book I have by Cymbala. His writings are always simple and encouraging. I recommend any born-again believer to get this book and take it to heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for You Were Made for More: The Life You Have, the Life God Wants You to Have
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is off the charts in excellence!

Date:October 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
John Andrew
Location:Long Island, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Here Pastor Jim Cymbala presents a personal and Biblical tapestry of why You Were Made For More and how the Savior yearns to bring us to that reality. All at once, standing on Rock firm heavenly/biblical teaching as the foundation of every step of this literary journey, it is an easy reading practical guide book to grasping the Truth that each and every one of us was made by our loving Father for more than we realize and each and every thing we encounter can be turned for good for us and for others. If it seems inconceivable but He has promised it, it will come to pass. Please read this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for You Were Made for More: The Life You Have, the Life God Wants You to Have
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A challenging look at finding our purpose in life!

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever thought about your purpose in this life? Maybe you have questioned what your gifts are and just how are you to know what they are. Each of us are created uniquely by a God who has a specific purpose that only we can fulfill. Doesn't that just make you feel loved? It does me. I have asked these same questions at times. If you are longing to make a difference. If you are looking for your purpose this book is for you. I can honestly say, "I loved this book." From the very first chapter Cymbala had my attention and held it all the way through the very last page. He teaches us through God's word how He can transform us and bring us right where we are to be. We don't have to walk through life confused. We can find all we are to be just by having an intimate conversation with Christ daily. I enjoyed the stories of Danial, Ruth and Joshua, along with so many more. Cymbala brings to light those who didn't fit the profile, but made a mark for God's kingdom through following Him and trusting in all He is. We can have more joy, more peace and more contentment in knowing the will of God for our lives. As I read through this book you cannot help but highlight sections that speak right to your heart and write in the margins. This is one I will return to for future reference. It is filled with beautiful personal stories as well as stories of those Pastor Cymbala has known through the years. Being Pastor of the Brooklyn Tabernacle has brought many blessings. He even shares the story of his personal journey getting there. God gives us assignments and we are to seek His will. This is a great book for a small group study or to give as a gift for one who is just starting out on their Christian journey. Challenging and thought provoking.
This book was a gift from Zondervan for it's review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for You Were Made for More: The Life You Have, the Life God Wants You to Have
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Challenging and inspirational!

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Charlie
Location:South Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The possibilities of life are multiplied over and over when we allow Christ to "possess" us and guide us without reservation. Jim Cymballa connects God's purpose with our potential and shows how the Heavenly Father's intentions for us are exciting and limitless!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for You Were Made for More: The Life You Have, the Life God Wants You to Have
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a must read!

Date:October 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Berto
Location:Vancouver, B.C.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jim Cymbala gives a gentle but passionate challenge to Christians of all ages to give themselves to God's purposes for their lives rather than living in the spiritual doldrums of self centered Churchianity--which is not what we were made for. If there was a video series or study guide to go along with it, I would definately want to work through it with a group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for You Were Made for More: The Life You Have, the Life God Wants You to Have
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patty
I enjoyed the book and learned a lot from it. I have a better understanding about peace, real joy and living a deeper fellowship with the LORD. God is so great!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for You Were Made for More: The Life You Have, the Life God Wants You to Have
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dee Brandt
Jim Cymbala's easy communcation style and real life testimonies bring the message into your life. Using the life of Joshua and events at Gilgal as background, was perfect. Learned alot, enjoyed the lesson.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for You Were Made for More: The Life You Have, the Life God Wants You to Have
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dee Brandt
Pastor Cymbala delivers lessons for real life in an easy read, easily understood style that is always based on Bible principles. Through the real life experiences of himself and his church members, he demonstrates that our God is very much at work today in the lives of those who believe. For those of us who teach, there are many quotable lines and events to share with our students.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for You Were Made for More: The Life You Have, the Life God Wants You to Have
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
GG
Unfortunately this book is filed with dramatic stories that are simply that dramatic. One of these stories is not truthful. It seems the author was not being holding to truth when writing this story. With so many prosperity preachers and thier scams it is sad that those who seem to be the real deal would use fabricated stories for the purpose of making God look BIG. Aside from that the book basically is a good read right along side readers digest or sports illustrated. Not much depth.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for You Were Made for More: The Life You Have, the Life God Wants You to Have
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Betty George
Jim Cymbala never disappoints me. Every book gets better and better. You Were Made for More is so clearly written and so anointed by the Holy Spirit that as you read it you can't help going deeper in your walk with the Lord and seeking for all He has for you if you have any heart for commitment. I felt like I had really feasted at the table of the Lord after reading this book. It is rich and compelling and makes you want more and more.Thank you, Jim Cymbala.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for You Were Made for More: The Life You Have, the Life God Wants You to Have
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lynda Thomason
It is a good book. I enjoy reading it. I am not finished with it yet, but I can not wait to go deeper into it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for You Were Made for More: The Life You Have, the Life God Wants You to Have
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Charles Welsh
Another outstanding book that will make you pause and think about your life and what it should be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for You Were Made for More: The Life You Have, the Life God Wants You to Have
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Phil Kaplun
Jim Cymbala is an inspirational writer. I would recommend this book to anyone who needs some inspiration and blessing. I have all of his books in my library and everyone is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for You Were Made for More: The Life You Have, the Life God Wants You to Have
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Reading Room Reviews
You Were Made for More was an inspiring book that makes you examine how you are living. If you are looking for ways to improve your Christian walk, you will want to pick up a copy of this book. The book is filled with true stories of others who overcame life's obstacles by committing their life to Christ and shows how living close do God can change your life. This not only a book of encouragement, but a challenge to live a better life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for You Were Made for More: The Life You Have, the Life God Wants You to Have
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
John Palenque
This book is very inspiring and makes you take a second look to how we are living. Great book for christian growth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.