Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Sarai: A Novel - eBook

Revell Sarai: A Novel - eBook

Sarai, the last child of her aged father, is beautiful, spoiled, and used to getting her own way. Even as a young girl, she is aware of the way men look at her, including her half brother Abram. When Abram finally requests Sarai's hand, she asks one thing--that he promise never to take another wife as long as she lives. Even her father thinks the demand is restrictive and agrees to the union only if Sarai makes a promise in return--to give Abram a son and heir. Certain she can easily do that, Sarai agrees.

But as the years stretch on and Sarai's womb remains empty, she becomes desperate to fulfill her end of the bargain--lest Abram decide that he will not fulfill his. To what lengths will Sarai go in her quest to bear a son? And how long will Abram's patience last?

Average Customer Rating:
4.353 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 1788%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sarai: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Sarai: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this book about Sarah. It gave me some things to think about regarding the culture and the way certain things were perceived. I liked the emotions that the author interjected for the characters, it brought them to life, and added to the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sarai: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sarai Review

Date:July 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becca
Location:Hanford CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever felt like God was taking…well….too long fulfilling His promises to you? How about feeling ‘old’ every time you look at your children and see them growing faster and faster before your very eyes? Join me in a reading journey through the book, “Sarai” written by Jill Eillen Smith, and experience the trials that build character, strength, patience, and joy, as well as endurance, faith, and a relationship with God who indeed keeps His promises. Through “Sarai” we learn that there are consequences for the decisions we make, good or bad, and although God is a God of mercy, He will let us learn lessons the hard way sometimes.
Sarai was the most beautiful woman in her city. Abram was blessed, until they discovered her barrenness. It would seem her beauty would be the only thing Sarai had going for her, even through the years that aged her and her husband, Abram. Didn’t God promise Sarai and her husband a son? Did God not say to her husband, “I will make you a great nation.”? Sarai wished for the faith her husband had, but her time had run out. Children would not be born to a barren womb, and most definitely not to one that no longer had life within.
Sarai’s love for Abram pushed her into difficult decisions, ones that she knew she should not make, yet felt compelled to do so. Unable to wait any longer for the promise that God had made to Abram, Sarai gave to her husband her maid, Hagar, in hopes that the promised son would come by way of their union.
Imagine the struggle Sarai faced every day, looking into the eyes of the servant girl who carried the baby Sarai longed for many, many years. With the pregnancy came the resentment of Hagar toward her mistress. Sarai knew she had made a mistake, but her realization had come too late. Regardless, God did fulfill His promise to Abram and Sarai, giving them a son of their blood together, and Abram did become the father of a great nation, two of them, in fact. But the promise did not come without consequences. Sarai had to live with her choices for the rest of her life, as did her people for many generations to come.
Is the story of Sarai a sad one? No. Sarai’s story is victorious. Her story is also full of many lessons learned. There is a little of Sarai in every woman: Beauty, strength, loyalty, and some old fashion determination. Sarai just teaches us women today that we also need to have some humility, and give it to God’s hands, our struggles, trials, anger, jealousy, and idle time. Hopefully none of us will have to be 90 when we see God’s promises given to us, or when we finally learn our lessons in life, but take to heart Sarai, her life, her testimony, and her legacy.
Sarai is among several books in the Wives of the Patriarchs series. I will be adding all other titles to my collection very soon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sarai: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The pages of the Bible come alive

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marilyn
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The pages of the Bible come alive as though you personally know Sarai and Abraham, as well as Hagar. You feel their struggles and pain and experience the hardships of living in that time period. The thread of "faith" is continually woven throughout the chapters, and yet human failings are evident. A great read in understanding our past!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sarai: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great book

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
eddie
Location:hannibal mo
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't put this down. It gave me lots of insight to the wife of Abraham.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sarai: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sarai brought to life

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I have never read Biblical fiction books quite as engrossing as the books that I have read by Jill Eileen Smith. Her series on the wives of King David was just riveting and now she has started off with the Wives of the Patriarchs and who better to start off with than Sarai, wife to Abraham. She has done it again by sweeping me away to the past and thrusting me in the middle of the scenario that Sarai lived in. Jill has a gift for recreating the setting and times of that era in such a way that you would think she had lived at that time herself, which would of course be impossible but I would believe it. I honestly don't know how she does her research but I will just sit back and enjoy her bringing the Old Testament to life for me as I eagerly anticipate her next book in this new series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sarai: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A compelling read!

Date:March 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sarai truly brings to life the story of "Abraham and Sarah" as portrayed in the Bible, faithfully following the Biblical account and adding rich historical detail that makes it clear that the author has done her research. Meeting these Biblical characters in the pages of this book made them real, flesh and blood human beings, people who played an incredible role in God's time-line and yet were people who struggled like you and I. The author kept the story moving well despite the fact she was covering the life of a woman with an incredibly long life span!
Smith has succeeded at weaving together the details of multiple characters in an artful, compelling manner. Sarai's story is heart-breaking as she yearns for a child, a plot-line that was incredibly moving. I appreciated how the author realistically portrayed the tug-of-war inside of Sarai, where she wants to have a strong faith similar to her husband, and yet struggles to as she's the one facing the changes in her body and the waning chances of ever conceiving. Abram's faith is inspiritual to behold, and I found my own faith challenged through the reading of this book, and yet his struggles and fears are also portrayed in a realistic manner. Smith does an excellent job of tying in the story of Lot and his wife, and also allows the reader to peer into the world of Hagar and consider how difficult it would have been for her to have to be told to sleep with Abram to produce an heir.
If you are looking for a skillfully written, entertaining Biblically-based story, then look no further. The conclusion left me looking forward to future additions to the series, and I am confident readers will agree that this is a series worth investing in!
I highly recommend this book and give it 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sarai: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth Your Time!

Date:March 21, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What a good novel! The historical details, the story, the characters all remain true to scripture. Well done! The author clearly has a passion for this type of story telling and it shows with each sentence, paragraph and chapter. The research that clearly went into the making of this novel is evident through out the book. I loved the use of scripture at the beginning of each section or part (in between the chapters). It helped to place the story in context to what the Bible says. I felt faith to be the overwhelming theme to this story. It was challenging to me as a reader. Near the end of the story, Sarah realizes the truth that God sees her, has always seen her and he there. Author did a wonderful job with rich character development from Abram to Sarai to Lot and Melah. Sarai is Book 1 in a new series called Wives of the Patriarchs. This book is well worth your time. Enjoy!
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sarai: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful biblical account

Date:March 18, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What a beautiful story of Abraham and Sarai. Jill did a great job of sticking to the biblical text, but still adding her own thoughts and ideas into how Sarai and Abram might be as a couple. She added the humanness to them that we so often forget about when we read the biblical account of them. Do know that this isn't the EXACT story in the Bible, but Jill does try to stay true to the culture and the biblical account. However, the Bible doesn't tell us EXACTLY what Sarai was thinking in certain instances, such as when Abram wants her to say she is his sister. This is where Jill takes her own liberties in the story, but she states in the back that she researches the history, tries to stick to the biblical account, portions of the story with not in Scripture allowed her to use her imagination, and that any errors made are hers. This mae me want to read this book even more.
One thing that I loved was when she wrote about the sacrifices that had to be made. A choice had to be made to sacrifice Abram's lamb that followed him everywhere or Sarai's rebellious ram. It had never occurred to me before that of course, as a shepherd, it would be so incredibly hard to give up your best as a sacrifice. Who would want to give up the obedient ones? You'd be more than happy to give up those rebellious ones that cause so much work, but the ones that followed your command and stayed with you? I had never stopped to think about that before. I just always figured that they didn't have as much love for animals as we typically do today. But I really don't think that's the case. I really think that shepherds love their flock and they tend to their flocks and they know them. Of course they would have a deep love for them. But God called them to give Him their best sacrifices, one without spots or blemish.
This is the first book in the Wives of the Patriarchs series. I have never read any of her books before but I've already downloaded another of hers to read in the David series.
___________________
I received this book free from Revell Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sarai: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sarai: Her Life Exposed

Date:March 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jill amazes me with the in-depth insights in her Biblical historical novels. Sarai: A Novel is no different! Though this may be a familiar story from the Bible to many of you, Jill brings it to life through the depths of her characters and their interactions throughout the unfolding of their lives.
From the introduction of idol worship, the call of Abram to Canaan, and the eventual settling in the land, we see the personal struggles, jealousies, regrets, greed, and anxieties of each character, particularly Abram, Sarai, Lot, Meleh, and Hagar. The nomadic lifestyle challenges their constitution, spiritual life, and their trust in God, having come from a more comfortable lifestyle. Jill is able to bring you into the story and let you experience the uncomfortable bedding, the ‘archaic’ method of cooking, the grit of the dust storms, the whispers of barrenness, the mocking of Hagar, and the fear of Pharaoh in Egypt.
The inner thoughts and emotions of betrayal, rejection, barrenness, and grumbling are aptly described, making them personal to your own thought life. Repentance and forgiveness become a necessary component of the story, as well in our lives. Abram and Sarai’s faith in God’s promise to Abram is resonant and tested throughout the whole book.
The relationship between Abram and Sarai is so intimate, and yet strained with the birth of Abram’s first son. The latter situation is one that I would find difficult to deal with. Sarai’s feelings came across loud and clear, and I doubt I’d feel much different! Only by the grace of God could one withstand such a predicament!
Jill brought this ancient story into today’s world without compromising the Biblical rendering of the story. For a touching, revealing version of Abram and Sarai, this is the book to read!
This book was provided by Donna Hausler, Publicity Assistant at Baker Publishing Group, in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sarai: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sarai - A Great Biblical Read!

Date:March 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book tells the Biblical story of Abram and Sarai. If you are a believer and a follower of Christ you will know that this book follows very closely to the writings of Moses. I found this to be a great fictional read. I was so caught up and absorbed in this book that I didn’t want to put it down. I picked it up and read it every chance I got.
The author did an awesome job with the dialogue between characters. I felt like I was right there traveling with them on their journey and listening in on their conversations. I experienced their joys, sadness, anger, frustrations, and their hope.
Jill Eileen Smith is a new author to me and Sarai is the very first book I’ve read of hers. It won’t be the last. I have the Wives of King David series on my TBR list. I am eagerly looking forward to reading these books and the next book in the Wives of the Patriarchs series.
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for a review. I was not required to give a positive review, but solely to express my own thoughts and opinions of this book, which I have done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sarai: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great insight into Old Testament narrative!

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To those who love the stories from the Bible–and knowing they are all true–this is a well-written, familiar story with an in-depth meaning that will forever change one’s attitude and intrigue with Sarah and Abraham! We all know the beginning and the outcome of this relationship but filling in the blanks is mainly up to the imagination of an author who can bring out the emotions of trauma and despair, conflict and joy, as the very long-awaited event of Isaac’s birth finally takes place.
Following one’s dreams can be far, far different than following the commands of an Almighty God, Adonai Elohem. Even completely trusting those commands may still leave great doubts as to whether this is the “right” thing to do. Abraham’s faith in his God seemed to never waver, but he really appreciated that Adonai would periodically reveal Himself and reaffirm His command and promises for a great nation to arise from this one man.
Sarah’s conflict at believing she is part of the Promise, yet being unable to believe fully that she will ever have a child of her own as the many years flow by, is the prime basis for any woman to relate to her. Infertility was a huge issue in Biblical history and Sarai was miserable with her inability to conceive a child. She could never feel “complete” because of not becoming a mother. She even finally went to the great extreme of giving her Egyptian maid, Hagar, to Abraham so that he could have a son through her. It was a decision she greatly regretted as soon as it was accomplished; it brought a great deal of grief to both women. How it must be for our Lord when we proceed with our own ideas of accomplishing His will!
Lot and his family also play a huge part in the history of Abraham and Sarah, and their’s is a very sad story which is interwoven throughout this story. Many details are brought in to create a very real (even thousands of years later) picture of what must have happened with these unique families.
It is difficult to imagine the hardships and disappointments of a people who were once well-settled in their native Ur and then were uprooted by the command of an Almighty God, who lived from then on in tents, traveling the desert, and had to accommodate to many inadequacies. But the rewards for them were dressed in God’s timing, not human clockwork. We all need to remember that we are NOT in control, though we constantly try to be. Hope for a better future is admirable but not always in our best interest. Only God knows our future and all that it takes to get there. He, alone, can be depended on to know what is best for us. This story is such a great illustration of how we can all take part in His great Promises, and how our hopes will be fulfilled as we seek His Presence in everything we do!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sarai: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sarai by Jill Eileen Smith

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
WhimsySmitten
Location:Southern Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't read much Christian fiction, mostly because I tend to find the characters a bit hollow and one-sided, the stories wrapping up too cleanly to be believable. Yet, when Revell/Baker Publishing Group contacted me with an invitation to review Sarai by Jill Eileen Smith, I was intrigued. I hadn't read any biblical fiction before and I was curious how a novel about an actual biblical character would read.
I was skeptical about this telling of Sarai, especially in light of the ancient lands and unfamiliar culture the story is set in. I knew the biblical account of Sarai and Abram, but when the first few pages of the novel buzzed casually with terminology like ziggurat and lapis lazuli, introducing characters whose names I couldn't pronounce, I worried the cultural divide would either confuse or bore me with the excruciating detail of an ancient time and unfamiliar place.
It didn't take me long to realize that Jill Eileen Smith is a gifted writer with a true insight when it comes to reading between the lines of Scripture. She writes with a sensual familiarity of ancient biblical culture and a read on the conflicted nature within every human being. In the novel, she unravels the mystery behind Sarai's lifelong barenness, God's promises to Abram, Abram's nephew Lot and his self-dependence, and the difficulty of a long-suferring faith in Adonai amongst the polytheistic culture of their time.
She beautifully details the human struggle for control in the midst of God's promises, the pain of infertility, the consequence of doubt, the jealous nature between women, the challenges of a nomadic lifestyle, and the nuances of a culture built on ritual and sacrifice, not to mention the redemption of it all by a mysterious but always-loving God. Ms. Smith paints a clear cultural setting but weaves this more as a heart-gripping romance than a history book, while still remaining true to the biblical account. I admire the way she can expand upon the existing story without much speculation, without adding significant plot lines, rather imaginatively painting the story for what it already is.
I'd highly recommend Sarai and I'll surely be on the lookout for other books in her Wives of the Patriarchs and Wives of King David series. Keep your eyes open for Sarai to hit bookstore shelves.
Sarai is available March 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group. I received this book free from Baker Publishing Group in exchange for my review. All opinions are my own. www.whimsysmitten.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sarai: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

1st in Wives of Patriarchs series makes Sarai real

Date:March 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sarai by Jill Eileen Smith is the first book in her new Wives of the Patriarchs series. The story of Abram/Abraham and Sarai/Sarah is well-known, but Smith breathes new life into these age old characters. She follows the story of Abram's journey from Ur to Canaan at the Lord's command through God's promise fulfilled in the birth of Isaac. Smith creates a beautiful story of love and friendship between Abram and Sarai that has become tainted over time by her desperate desire to give him a son. Her faith in her husband's god isn't as strong, and she often falters while trying to be patient. She becomes very real in this story ashamed of her barrenness, but proud of her beauty, bitter at Abram's insistence on the pretense of not being his wife in Egypt, but so full of love for him that she's willing to offer up her slave, Hagar, to give him a son. Sarai is a woman of contradictions, one that women can easily relate to, because she is like us. Smith really brings to life the reality of marriage in the little details, how Sarai adjusts her smile to reflect both love for Abram and disappointment in their current circumstances, how she often tries to manipulate him. Sarai doesn't come across as a woman from thousands of years ago, but a woman who would fit very much into the 21st century. Hagar is also given time here, and Smith makes her sympathetic as well, more so than the Bible does. My only real complaint is that I wish Smith hadn't jumped right from God's announcement that Sarai would bear a song to Isaac's circumcision. Because I came to love Sarai so much, I wanted to follow her through her pregnancy, to share her joy at feeling the first kick, to see the aching love when he is finally born and she first sees his face. I felt robbed that Smith didn't take us through that journey with Sarai, but it's a credit to the author that I cared enough about the character to desire that completion. I look forward to the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sarai: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderfully written story!

Date:March 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This novel brought the Old Testament to life for me. Once again Jill Eileen Smith has given me a greater appreciation for the scriptures. I knew from reading the Old Testament that Sarai was bitter and jealous of Hagar when she felt like she had to give Abram her maidservant at the time she believed she was no longer physically capable of bearing children. This story shows how difficult it was for her, and for me it created a greater empathy for her plight because I better understood her pain. The culture in her day placed such importance on child bearing, and to have everyone around you bearing children had to be really hard. The scenario shown by the author was a great illustration of how taking matters into your own hands often makes things ten times worse than just trusting God. I pitied Hagar and her situation more than ever once I saw her suffering through the character in the story. I love how the author does this with each novel.
When it came to the whole situation with Abram telling Pharaoh that Sarai was his sister, I always understood the story in part, but this novel gave backing to the many fears that Abram had for his deception by showing the reasons he said those things. I never understood how deeply it must have hurt Sarai not to be treated as his wife for so long and to be neglected (in many ways) by her husband in the name of protection. I could see how this was selfish on Abram's part and at one point I laughed when Sarai asked Abram if he cared if she died (and implied he was only worried about his own neck.) So while the novel shows the struggles Abram, Sarai, and Hagar had, it also showed their faith. I enjoyed the subplot with Lot as well and his family drama. All in all this was an engaging read. I didn't see any inconsistencies with Scripture and feel like the author did a great job filling in the blanks to bring about a clearer picture of the past. Well done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sarai: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like books that force me to think about what a biblical person’s life might have been like. Jill Eileen Smith does a very good job of rounding out the lives of Abraham and Sarah.
She lets us in on the depth of feeling between this woman and her husband. I imagine most of you know the basics of this marriage from Scripture, but Ms Smith will draw you into this story and leave you wanting more.
This is a book I didn’t want to end. I’m definitely looking forward to the next book in the “Wives of the Patriarch’s” series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sarai: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Agree it was a Disappointment

Date:March 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
HSCottage
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
My overall opinion of the book is not a good one. I really had a hard time getting through it, so to be honest, I kept skipping pages to make it go faster.
I felt the book was filled with too much drama and not enough happy moments. It seemed like everyone was always in turmoil, especially emotionally.
This is the second book I have read of this kind, and I was not impressed with this one. Things just didn't seem right. Some of the details of the setting didn't seem ancient enough. Maybe it was just me, but it seemed to modern to be believable. Are books not meant to pull you in and make you feel like its real?
I really don't recommend this book. I just can't. It made me depressed. I love the story, in the bible, because it showed that God will provide on his own timing. And this book conveyed that, but with a lot of drama.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sarai: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

QUITE A DISAPPOINTMENT

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Johnson
Location:Golden Valley, MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was really looking forward to reading this book. I have read much biblical fiction, but never a book on Sarah. First, to me, the author interpreted the details of the biblical account of Sarai almost always in a very negative way so that by the book's end, she had become a person one could definitely dislike! That sort of thing had never happened to me when reading Scripture concerning Sarah, even though, of course, she did some negative things. There was so much emphasis on Hagar and Melah (Lot's wife) that I thought the book should be titled Hagar. Of course, the issue of not bearing a child was of paramount importance in ancient society, and this would deeply affect Sarai, but could it be possible that she did not at all trust Adonai? That I find difficult to believe. Isaac is not born until the end of the book, which made for--finally!--its first really positive tone. However, Abraham is portrayed as good and trusting God throughout; his constant love toward Sarai and the scenes with Adonai are beautiful. I guess I must say that this book is the first book of biblical fiction I have read in which the elements of fiction overshadowed the biblical facts. Usually, for me, they have existed side by side. Another negative item: I couldn't believe the small, light print. This contributed to a disagreeable reading experience. I will not read any more books in this series, even though I truly enjoyed the author's book on Abigail, in a different series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.