Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, 5 Volumes: Revised

Zondervan The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, 5 Volumes: Revised

The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible has been a classic Bible study resource for more than thirty years. Now thoroughly revised, this new five-volume edition provides up-to-date entries based on the latest scholarship on a wide swath of topics found throughout the Bible.

Sharp full-color pictures supplement the text, which includes new articles in addition to thorough updates and improvements of existing topics. Different viewpoints of scholarship permit a well-rounded perspective on significant issues relating to doctrines, themes, and biblical interpretation.

Nevertheless, the aim remains the same: to provide pastors, teachers, students, and everyone devoted to the Bible a comprehensive and reliable library of information.

Features:
  • More than 5,000 pages of vital information on Bible lands and people
  • More than 7,500 articles alphabetically arranged for easy reference
  • Hundreds of full-color and black-and-white illustrations, charts, and graphs
  • 32 pages of full-color maps and hundreds of black-and-white outline maps for ready reference
  • Scholarly articles ranging across the entire spectrum of theological and biblical topics, backed by the most current body of archaeological research
  • 238 contributors from around the world
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, 5 Volumes: Revised
Review 1 for The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, 5 Volumes: Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a fabulous resource

Date:November 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Simonego
Location:Spring Creek, NV
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These volumes are beautiful. There is so much material, I wish I could sit down and just read it all. This is a great resource to add to the background of any period of time during the Bible events. The photos of the places in the Bible, historical people of the time, life and customs make this a superior resource.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, 5 Volumes: Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is in full color and illustrated

Date:September 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jerry
Location:Howell, MI.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the best set of Encyclopedia I own to do my college research.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, 5 Volumes: Revised
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Suprised by evolutionary content.

Date:June 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Zeke
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was excited when I got this set. It has an amazing amount of information and looks very sharp. It was easy to look up topics.
But it was very disappointing to find that it very much pushed the evolutionary theories in its comments on Genesis and the flood.
I am sending the set back and getting a set that I can trust more.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, 5 Volumes: Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Resource

Date:February 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kevin
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This set is a great value for the money. It is very accurate, thorough, and complete. It's a great starting point for any research or study regarding the Bible you may be doing. Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, 5 Volumes: Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

eye appealing, colorful graphics

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Big daddy
Location:Warwick, R.I.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found the set contained a well written discourse on all areas of Bibilical terms, history and maps and charts. Definte must have reference tool for students of religion. Once again zondervan has done it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, 5 Volumes: Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

These volumes are very informative

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jstandley
Location:Killeen, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These 5 volume encyclopedias have came in handy with my college research papers and every day use. They are thorough and give a broad range of information. Full of colored pictures and maps to help understand the text better. I am thankful and blessed to have these reference tools to add to my library.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, 5 Volumes: Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Reader
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The information is great and easy to read. I use it regularly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, 5 Volumes: Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I found this to be a great addition to my library.

Date:March 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ed Brown
Location:Miles City Montana
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These have been a great help in the classes I'm taking at the present time.
Thank you
Ed
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, 5 Volumes: Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good source of info for your Bible studies

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
JJGP
Location:Iqaluit
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a good addition to your Bible studies info library. Very well put together.
However, IMO it should only be used as a supplement, and not to replace regular Bible reading.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, 5 Volumes: Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice set

Date:December 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brad
Location:IL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife gave me this set as a Christmas gift. I've only looked up a few articles. The color pictures and color maps a very nicely done. The print is easy to read. I have a feeling these books will become well worn.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, 5 Volumes: Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carol
I have had this encyclopedia for a few weeks. It has helped me with my Sunday School lessons. (I teach an adult SS class - 70, 80, 90 years old.) It has helped but I have to say I was expecting more and bigger pictures and maps (which I could show the class). However, it has so far included everything I have looked up for research. Because I got it at such a good price, I'm not sorry at all that I got it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, 5 Volumes: Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Frank Bosson
The study of Christianity can be challenging and the Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible is a rich resource for virtually every aspect of my study. I highly recommend this five volume set to anyone looking for resource information in the study of theology.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, 5 Volumes: Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Samuel Roach
This is an excellent update to the Zondervan Pictorial Encyclopedia of the Bible. The font size and line spacing has been improved to allow for easier reading. The addition of full color photos is great. The articles are very complete (compared to a Bible dictionary).The used of the NIV as the main translation is also a great improvement. The set now fits nicely along side the Zondervan Illustrated Bible Commentary Set (OT and NT), anc several other Zondervan Bible reference works that are also NIV. The actual paper used is a little thin, so care must be used when handling, but the trade-off is individual books that are easier to handle than the old set. Overall, this set is worth the investment as a Bible study tool that you will use for years.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, 5 Volumes: Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Dr Paige-patric Samuels
It looks like Zondervan has done it again with another magnus opus of scholarly work. From the initial insight, the work shows a high qualitative aspect of scholastic acumen from the who's who in evangelical theology. I would now have to make room on my shelf along side the old One that I possess to accommodate this work. This would be an ideal buy for teachers, student seminarians and pastors and lay elders alike Looking forward to my copy.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.