Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Chosen Books Angels Are for Real: Inspiring, True Stories and Biblical Answers - eBook

Chosen Books Angels Are for Real: Inspiring, True Stories and Biblical Answers - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
6 out of 967%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Angels Are for Real: Inspiring, True Stories and Biblical Answers - eBook
Review 1 for Angels Are for Real: Inspiring, True Stories and Biblical Answers - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is for real . . . .

Date:October 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
SusannahLily
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This book held my complete attention from beginning to end. I am a vast reader of all topics, but have been completely disappointed in the "new age" angel books that have been published. Judith nailed it. This is the real thing. Her presentation is one that can be followed by all readers from beginners to the advanced. My family, friends, and associates will be receiving a copy for Christmas.
By the way, I wish other reviewers or so called book critics would understand the basics before placing a review. No Catholic who knows anything about the Catholic faith has ever worshiped a religious image. When we pray whether it be kneeling before a statue, or praying to Mary; this is not worship, but a complete expression of love and honor. Do not think that venerating saints and angels are somehow a form of worship. The angels and saints are God's "handiwork" . We should absolutely acknowledge, love, and give them honor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Angels Are for Real: Inspiring, True Stories and Biblical Answers - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Interesting book, not quite thorough enough

Date:March 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
LisaH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“Angels are for Real” by Judith MacNutt is an interesting book and certainly creates thought about the angels and the spiritual realm. It was a little disorganized at times, though, as often the stories that she intersperses throughout do not always fit with the chapter at hand.
This book was a decent book, though at times it was laborious to read. MacNutt has clearly had much experience with and done a considerable amount of research on angels and the spiritual realm. She tells many stories, some her own and some that others have shared with her, about encounters with angels. She uses Scripture at times to back up her beliefs about angels, and although I am not sure I always agreed with her interpretations, it certainly encouraged thought. She also uses historical references outside of the canon of Scripture to help expound on the angels and their ranks, but I wish she would have been a little more detailed in how her research had brought her to the conclusions she writes about.
Overall, the book is definitely intriguing and was a much needed encouragement to see life with a more spiritual outlook, knowing that there is much more to the spiritual realm than many of us give credit. I simply wished MacNutt was a little more thorough in backing up her beliefs.
I received a free copy of this book from Chosen Books in exchange for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Angels Are for Real: Inspiring, True Stories and Biblical Answers - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Angels Are For Real by Judith MacNutt

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
B. A. Palmer
Location:Tennessee
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Angels Are For Real by Judith MacNutt.
This is a book that did not hold my attention, but that does not mean it will not hold yours. If you are interested in reading about angels, it might be the book for you. I am not into angel worship, but I believe in angels pretty much as described in the book, but not necessarily in the stories. I do not put God in a box, but at the same time I think we get off track on angels and our relationship with angels. The best place to research angel is in the Bible… do a word study on angels.
This is the first book that I have read by this author before and I was rather disappointed. I did not think all the stories held true to scripture.
I received this book free from the book review program at Bethany House Publishing in exchange for writing an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Angels Are for Real: Inspiring, True Stories and Biblical Answers - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not What I Expected

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Villageanne
Location:WV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Judith Macnutt's book “Angels are for real” is promoted as being inspiring, true stories and biblical answers. There are many reviews in the first two pages of the book. Each review is from a prominent person, including the following:
Randy Clark, founder and overseer, The Apostolic Network of Global Awakening
J. Lee Grady, contributing editor, Charisma
Pastors Bill and Beni Johnson, Bethel Church, Redding California
Richard Rohr, OFM; Center for Action and Contemplation, Albuquerque, New Mexico
Don Williams, Ph D; director, Vineyard Leadership Institute.
Each of the above gave the book a glowing review. With all the recommendations from prominent people, a Christian reader would have high expectations for this book.
The two and a half page forward was written by the authors husband. It is evident that he supports his wife and her book.
I was disappointed in this book. I had never read anything by this author before and was excited to get to review it. I love reading about angels. However “Angels are for real” did not hold my interest at all. I love reading about angels but this book just was not the type of stories about angels that I expected. I just did not feel that the stories portrayed angels in the light I was accustomed too. The stories just did not have the feel of true stories to me. I would not recommend this book to friends. I give it a Two Star.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Angels Are for Real: Inspiring, True Stories and Biblical Answers - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Wrong religious beliefs...

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mazzou
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This promises to be a very brief review, because simply : I do not agree with the author’s doctrine and beliefs! Therefore I will state just a few of my thoughts on the mere format and writing quality of the book.
I AGREE that angels play a significant role in both the heavenly realm and in performing God’s commands on earth. I have also heard awesome stories of how angels have helped people visibally.
But reading THIS book has taught me that I should always look into the beliefs of an author before plunging eagerly into their publications! This easy-to-read book with it’s comfortable reading font and pleasant page size began in an inspiring manner.. But as I progressed through the book, things began getting more and more biblically and doctrinally incorrect. Reading about the author’s beliefs ahead of time would have warned me of what to expect.
The author also wrote in a rather scattered manner (similar to the way this review is written); the supposedly ‘true’ accounts of meetings with angels were interspersed randomly throughout the book, giving the reader a rather confused feeling.
Realizing that the author of this book was totally wrong on several of her beliefs, I quickly finished the book and my review ends thus : The book was fine in some parts, but obviously not worth reading since it is not founded on true principles. I feel like the book trapped the reader in a way, since the Catholic beliefs of the author only began coming through in about the middle of the book, increasing as the chapters went on.
I conclude : of course there were a few good thoughts in the book; but since the author’s beliefs were too out of accord with true biblical doctrine I simply cannot recommend the book.
Thanks for reading. I hope this helps you.
I received a free copy of this book to review from Chosen publishers (a division of Baker Publishing) through Bethany House Book Reviewers . I was encouraged to state my own opinion on the book, whether it be positive or negative. (''And let me assure you that I have no expectation for your reviews--if you don't like the book you received, feel free to review it negatively.'')
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Angels Are for Real: Inspiring, True Stories and Biblical Answers - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Inspiring Book

Date:March 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Angels are for Real by Judith MacNutt advertised as containing inspiring, true stories and Biblical answers. Mrs MacNutt's book has an accessible, comprehensive and encouraging guide into the world of angels. She discusses angels and how to recognize them at work in each of our own life. Her book offers insight of miraculous encounters of others and her own life. She also tells of Biblical narritives proving her theories. This book discribes angel's various appearances, their activities, their importance to our life, and also an insight into fallen angels and/or Satanic angels.
This book is an uplifting book on angels. To say that I enjoyed reading this easy to read and understand book would be a gross understatement. I recieved so much information and insight into the world of which I live and the protection that I daily recieve from angels sent by God. I felt a blessing from reading this book, no let me say that I realized the blessing that I was already receiving and had always been receiving. Thank you Mrs MacNutt for writing this book and thank you Chosen Publishing for publishing this awe inspiring book.
I recieved this book from Chosen for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Angels Are for Real: Inspiring, True Stories and Biblical Answers - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting Book on Angels and Angelic Encounter

Date:March 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
AngelLinda
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have always been intrigued with angels and have believed in them....and I've had a few encounters with them too. "Angels are for Real" is a fascinating book by Judith MacNutt, who uses several Scriptural references, as well as real life encounters of others' experiences with angelic beings. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend it to others.
Publisher Description: Angels have a vital role in the Kingdom of God--and in the lives of believers. Yet many Christians treat the existence of angels lightly or fail to consider them at all. In Angels Are Real Judith MacNutt pulls back the curtain on this intriguing topic, recounting inspiring, true-life stories and miraculous interactions, revealing what the Bible says about these heavenly beings, and offering insight into the spiritual realm. She draws on solid scriptural support to explore what angels look like what they do why they are important in believers' lives the heavenly hierarchy what fallen angels are and more. Angels Are Real is an accessible, comprehensive, encouraging guide for Christians. When believers grasp the importance of angels to God--and themselves--they will better understand God's power and his extraordinary love.
Thanks Bethany House Publishers for the complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Angels Are for Real: Inspiring, True Stories and Biblical Answers - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

What do angels do?

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
What different types of angels are there?
What do they do?
How do they look?
How do you know if you’ve seen one?
Judith MacNutt, co-founder of Christian Healing Ministries has written a book about angels that tells of her experiences with these heavenly beings. She gives scripture references to explain what angels are and also fills the book with true accounts of angelic encounters that she and others have experienced. She also details the difference between demons and angels. Judith plainly states that while we are not to seek angels or worship these beings, we can appreciate their role in our lives and thank God for sending them to protect and help us. I found the true life stories to be the most interesting part of the book. Although I find the subject of angels fascinating, I did not find this to be as compelling a read as other books I have read on the subject. Bottom line—not a great book but not a bad one either.
I received this complimentary copy from Bethany House Publishers for this review. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Angels Are for Real: Inspiring, True Stories and Biblical Answers - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mimi
Location:minnesota
Age:Over 65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fascinating book and it backs everything up with bible
verses. I believe more and more that angels help us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.