Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson An Amish Love - eBook

Thomas Nelson An Amish Love - eBook

Healing Hearts by Beth Wiseman: Levina Lapp and her husband Naaman are alone for the first time in 30 years. When Naaman left to visit cousins in Ohio, Levina wasn't expecting him to be gone a year. Now that he's back, will they be able to move beyond this estrangement and fall in love again?

What the Heart Sees by Kathleen Fuller: A tragic accident rocks a peaceful Amish community, leaving Ellie Chupp blinded and Christopher Bender's future shattered. But they find love and forgiveness in a place they least expect.

A Marriage of the Heart by Kelly Long: Rachel Yoder is tired of her Amish lifestyle and her domineering father's ways. When handsome Joseph Lambert comes back from the Englisch, she lies to force a marriage of convenience, providing the perfect means to escape her father's rule. But Rachel never imagined she'd fall in love with Joseph so quickly or irrevocably.

Average Customer Rating:
4.595 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 out of 42100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for An Amish Love - eBook
Review 1 for An Amish Love - eBook
This review is fromAn Amish Love.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lots of Surprises in Store!

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Novellas aren't normally my thing. I've found that I enjoy a longer story much more than a short one. However, I bit the bullet in this case, and read an anthology of novellas. And if I really want to be truthful, it was only because Beth Wiseman's name was on the cover. :o)
And guess what? I was pleasantly surprised! Beth's story was great, of course, like all of her other books have been. There were a few places where the story seemed to be rather drawn out, but on the whole, I enjoyed it. I loved that it was a little spicy on the romance which, compared with other Amish novels, was a refreshing change. I came across a review while I was reading this book that said the romance was inappropriate. Puh-lease. I found nothing wrong with a married couple (who had drifted apart from one other) that was desparately trying to reconnect romantically with one another. If that's too much for some folks, then...wow. I found it to be very realistic because unless you have the *perfect* marriage, there's nothing wrong with a wife being courted all over again by her husband.
Moving on...
Kathleen's story was just okay. I didn't dislike it, but it just wasn't as great as the other two stories, in my opinion. However, it was different in it's own right, dealing with a young blind woman living among the Amish (which was a first for me).
The most pleasant surprise, though, was Kelly Long's novella--A Marriage of the Heart. Until now, I've not had the pleasure of reading any of Kelly's books, but let me just say...WOW! What a great introduction to a new author! Her story was so much fun, yet serious, and I loved the blossoming romance that happened after an impromtu marriage. I can't wait now to find one of Kelly's full-length novels because I'm pretty confident that I'll find another good story nestled between it's pages. :o)
This set of stories would be perfect for those wanting to try out the Amish genre, or any of these authors, in general. Each novella is a little more than 100 pages, and gives a reader a glimpse into the Amish lifestyle and culture. It would also be a perfect read around Valentine's Day because it is a little heavier on the romance than most Amish stories are. My rating is 4 Stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for An Amish Love - eBook
This review is fromAn Amish Love.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An Amish Love

Date:May 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jill
Location:Dallas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was delighted to receive in the mail , An Amish Love, to read for pure enjoyment from BookSneeze. I was attracted to the Amish romance novella because it included three novellas in one. Healing Hearts, A Marriage of the Hear, and What the Heart Sees. All the stories were written by different authors, but they worked together to intertwine some of the characters and settings.
It was a simple, enjoyable read for me. I do not read much fiction, but really savored reading this book before going to bed. I appreciated reading about the old-fashioned courtship principle because my dh and I are strongly counseling our children on this idea rather than the traditional dating concept. All authors recognized the true commitment of marriage as sacred.
I recommend An Amish Love to anyone who is looking for a pure, simple, Christian romance that doesn't require engaged thinking. Truly a relaxing read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for An Amish Love - eBook
This review is fromAn Amish Love.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romance the Amish Way

Date:May 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: An Amish Love Anthology - Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller and Kelly Long - December 2010
When reading any books about the Amish community , a few things always seem to pop up as themes - forced marriages, unrequited love , and woman who think they are going to die old spinsters but end up eventually with the ones they love. Alot of the Amish Books, go along the theme of romance, courtship - a tradition and mannerism that over the years in the worldly sense and many western societies has gone unheard of nowadays. Being a born romantic at heart, I love to cling to their way of life though Im not sure exactly how I would have fit in with having no laptops, ipods and all those modern technology gadgets like ebook readers that many of rely on in our everyday life. The three stories in An Amish Love included are all aspects of a different kind of love story. You have an estranged married couple in one story, and you have a forced wedding in another story. I had previously read books by Beth Wiseman and Kathleen Fuller but had not yet experienced any of Kelly Long's writings and I have to admit though I loved all the stories in this wonderful trio , my favourite would have to be A Marriage of the Heart by Kelly Long. As reading what Abigail did to try and escape her father and then unfortunately have it backfire on her was in two ways I could relate to what she was going through but also it added a bit of humour to the story with her impulsive plan backfiring on her , so here she now has ended up with a marriage and even worst still living in her father's home.
An Amish Love is the perfect read for all those romantics at heart and if you are a fan of the Amish Fiction collection, then this will be one book that if you haven't read already, you should be moving it to the top of your TBR Pile.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for An Amish Love - eBook
This review is fromAn Amish Love.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandy Vliet
Location:Columbia,SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great story and author. The book is one I will share.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for An Amish Love - eBook
This review is fromAn Amish Love.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Henderson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
AN AMISH LOVE by Beth Wiseman,Kathleen Fuller, and Kelly Long is a delightful Amish romance.It is a novella of three short stories."Healing Hearts" by Beth Wiseman,"What the HeartSees" by Kathleen Fuller, and "A Marriage of the Heart"by Kelly Long. These three authors have compiled three stories of love,faith,hope, forgiveness,community,marriage of convenience, redemption,family, leaving the past behind,moving on to the future with witty banter between some of the characters.They have also compiled some Amish recipes at the back of the book with reading questions.I would recommend this book especially if you enjoy sweet,tender,Amish romance by three wonderful and talented authors.A MUST READ!!.It is quick and fast paced read. This book was received for the purpose of review from Net Galley and details can be found at Nelson,Thomas Inc. and My Book Addiction and More.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for An Amish Love - eBook
This review is fromAn Amish Love.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommended

Date:February 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my kind of book! I loved it and never wanted it to end! The three stories take place in the same Amish community and some of the characters appear in the other stories. The book is written by three great Amish story tellers, Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller and Kelly Long.
The first is about a hurting girl who tricks a newly baptized Amishman into marriage. Loved how this story unfolded and how love and forgiveness abounds.
The second story is about a tragic accident and death. Again this book has a lot to do about forgiveness and dealing with a handicap. You will love how Ellie deals with her blindness. Will love prevail?
The last story is Naaman and Lavina and a lot of forgiveness! Naaman has returned home after abandoning his family for almost a year. Some of his children forgive easily while the others are not ready. You will love how Naaman tries to win back Lavina...dates, notes and even kite flying!
As I said I didn't want this book to end, want to go along with their lives. I also loved the recipes that were included in this book!
I received a copy of this book from the publisher for review. I was not required to give a complementary review, nor was I compensated. The opinions express are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for An Amish Love - eBook
This review is fromAn Amish Love.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Combined work from three of the best Amish authors

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best-selling authors Kathleen Fuller and Beth Wiseman are joined by Kelly Long, who entered the Amish genre last year with her debut Sarah’s Garden, in this romantic novella collection. An Amish Love features three interlocking stories of love, starting with an accidental marriage in Kelly Long’s A Marriage of the Heart and moving on to broken hearts embarking on a new relationship in What the Heart Sees by Kathleen Fuller. The anthology finishes on an optimistic note for the future with a late in life couple falling in love all over again in Beth Wiseman’s Healing Hearts.
From a glance at the front cover and the synopsis of this collection, one can be forgiven for assuming that this is a light, predictable selection of stories about the Amish. Even I expected this, and I’ve been an avid reader of Amish romances for almost two years now. So I was pleasantly surprised to see that each author was bringing something new and original to the genre.
Kelly Long, whose debut novel I absolutely adored, places her protagonist, Abby Kauffman, in an unusual situation and shows us how love can blossom in the most unexpected places. After a newcomer to the community, Joseph Lambert, fails to give Abby the attention she believes she deserves, she accuses him of misbehaving with her. But the joke is on her when her father forces them into a marriage of convenience in order to protect her honour – and much to her shock, Joseph agrees to this arrangement! While I’ll freely admit that the premise of this novella is a bit unbelievable, I loved watching Abby and Joseph’s relationship develop. Kelly brings something unexpected but most welcome to the Amish genre with the undeniable attraction and chemistry between her characters. As much as I’m a fan of “sweet” romance, I’m often disappointed by inspirational authors who fail to acknowledge this important aspect of relationships – bravo to Kelly for doing the opposite!
Kathleen Fuller’s story is definitely my favourite in this collection, especially as she shows us the flawed side of the Amish. While we uphold the Amish as being people of forgiveness, Kathleen dares to admit the obvious – that forgiveness doesn’t come easily or painlessly. Christopher Miller left the Amish after his fiancée was killed in a car accident, and he still holds a grudge against the driver of the car when he finally returns five years later. So it doesn’t sit well that his younger sister is engaged to be married to this man. Through the help of Ellie Chupp, who lost her eyesight in the same accident, he slowly learns to let go of his deceased fiancée – and to forgive and ask for forgiveness himself. While this story focused more on the developing relationship between Chris and Ellie, rather than romance, there was something simple and beautiful about the flawed nature of all of the characters that really appealed to me. Kathleen is a new author to me and I will definitely be looking out for more of her work.
I wasn’t quite so fond of Beth Wiseman’s addition to the collection. I found that it became a bit over-the-top and cheesy towards the end, but I truly appreciated the fact that Beth decided to focus on an older couple. Too many romance novels focus on young couples in their prime, and it often makes us forget how important it is to keep romance alive within marriage. Levina and Naaman Lapp have been married for over thirty years, but once all their children have left home they realise that they’ve drifted apart. Naaman takes a trip to visit family in Ohio and doesn’t return for almost a year – and when he does, their relationship needs even more work. Slowly, they learn to fall in love again, and Naaman is able to regain his wife’s trust. As someone who is currently reading a pile of marriage-preparation books, it was encouraging to see someone acknowledging the strain that raising a family can put on marriage and how important it is to set aside some time just for the two of you. However, there was a subplot about the possibility of Naaman being in trouble with the law that just didn’t seem to fit with the feel of the novella and spoiled this story a bit for me.
This collection is perfect for anyone who is already a fan of Amish fiction, but would also suit those who want to experiment with this genre but don’t know where to start. An Amish Love features three of the best authors of this popular genre, and I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to discover new stories about our beloved Plain folk.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for An Amish Love - eBook
This review is fromAn Amish Love.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

3 Lovely Novellas

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jerryann Gaynes
Location:WV
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interesting stories--All 3 authors have done great jobs!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for An Amish Love - eBook
This review is fromAn Amish Love.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amish Love is a great read!

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
DavidsMom
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It includes 3 highly intriguing romance stories of Amish couples! I read the book in just 4 times of reading. Each story gives a glimpse of love and relationships that might not seem like the best ways to start a relationship, but each story ends leaving you longing to know how each of them end up so you can’t put the book down. I love the fact that all 3 stories are tied in together so you do get a glimpse back at the couples and a little more about them. Each writer is very talented and there isn’t a huge difference in their writing techniques. I have enjoyed reading stories from all 3 authors. This book was provided to me by Thomas Nelson Publishing which was a blessing since I already had this book on my Wish to Read list! Thank you booksneeze.com and Thomas Nelson. I find the Amish Romance to be very inspiring and shows how long from any circumstance with God’s help and constant love from both parties can last and over come anything! My favorite story of the 3 was the one when the Amish couple gets married without even knowing each other – A Marriage of Heart by Kelly Long.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for An Amish Love - eBook
This review is fromAn Amish Love.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not Your typical Amish Romance!

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gina Hott Books
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Healing Hearts" by Beth Wiseman
This book made me so angry! After all those kids and 30 years of marriage he just up and walks out saying he's going to visit relatives? I think not!
Anyway, it was a good story and I ended up liking him in the end - though I still thought they were too easy on him.
"What the Heart Sees" by Kathleen Fuller
How enthralling! This was such a sweet book but you could feel the secrets and anger. It's a reminder that we must forgive to move on -- and that we're not always angry at the person we're taking it out on...
"A Marriage of the Heart" by Kelly Long
As I rule, I don't really like "Amish" books but something about this one drew me. This particular novella was set in Paradise which is only a bit up the road so it felt like home. I really enjoyed this because it felt so real. Real issues. Real relationships. Real struggles. It wasn't the feel good tripe painting them without personalities that I've found in some. It was really well written and a terrific way to spend a couple of hours.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for An Amish Love - eBook
This review is fromAn Amish Love.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Valentine Present~

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carrie Shindorf
Age:35-44
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Amish Love arrived in my mailbox and I could not wait to read it. Once I started there was no putting it down. I finished it in two days. It is such a fun book to read~I loved it!
It contains three short novels written by three wonderful writers~ Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller and Kelly Long. Each story contains characters of the story before which I found really fun. They were all intertwined together.
The first story is about an Amish girl trying to find her way out of the Amish way of life and a young man who left the Amish and now wants to find his way back. In a crazy twist of fate they find themselves strangers yet married. They have a long way to become husband and wife but learn many lessons along the way.
The second story is about a young Amish girl who was in a horrible accident that took her eyesight. She is abandoned by the love of her life who is not willing to marry a blind woman. She has decided to build a business and give in to the idea of never finding love~or will she find love after all?
The third story was the most different Amish story I had ever read. Lavina and Naaman had raised a house full of children. Yet in all those years they lost themselves as a couple. Naaman leaves to take a break and maybe discover who he really is. A visit turns into a eleven month stay. Can Lavina forgive and love him again when he returns home?
I so enjoyed reading this book and I know you will too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for An Amish Love - eBook
This review is fromAn Amish Love.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

3 Amish novellas with a heart

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
aobibliophile
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blessed are the hearts that can bend; they can never be broken. - Albert Camus
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. town of Paradise. the lives of three Amish couples and the people around them will never be the same again:
* A Marriage of the Heart by Kelly Long - Abigail Kauffman lost her mother when she was five years old. she grows up under her father's stern supervision. she wants out of the farmhouse and live a new life. when Joseph Lambert comes to their community, she devises a plan that might make her desire to finally leave her father come true.
* What The Heart Sees by Kathleen Fuller - a car accident damaged Ellie Chupp's eyes. it also killed her best friend Caroline. not only did she lose her vision and friend but also her boyfriend to another woman. after five years of living with the Englisch (non-Amish) and adopting their ways, Christopher Miller returns home. his heart, though, is still heavy with grief over the death of his girlfriend Caroline. when he meets Ellie again, things start to change.
* Healing Hearts by Beth Wiseman- Naaman Lapp leaves his family to find himself. his wife Levina and their children feel so abandoned and are uncertain how to treat Naaman when he comes back a year later. Naaman knows he must make amends or he could lose them all forever.
once again, i had the opportunity to read about the Amish and their way of life. it is a glimpse into a different world far from my own and what i am used to. one thing though stands clear to me that deep inside the human genetic makeup, people everywhere are the same regardless of race, creed or color. we all have the same capacity to laugh, to love, to be angry, to be afraid and to conquer our fears.
the stories speak about human frailty and its consequences. they talk about ordinary people doing the best they can to cope with the circumstances they deal with everyday. they show how faith in one another and in God can make a huge difference when faced with adversities or setbacks.
though the novellas can stand alone, each one is linked in some way with the other. some characters in the other novellas are mentioned and are even part of the story. i strongly suggest that each story be read in the order that it comes if only to avoid spoilers.
it is also noteworthy that the authors have included a glossary of Amish terms at the beginning of the book. two other plus factors are the Reading Group Guide and the Amish recipes found at the end.
An Amish Love - Three Amish Novellas is an excellent collaboration by three brilliant writers . the characters are well drawn and thought of. it is a perfect read not only for this month of love but also for the rest of the year. if you wish to be inspired, to laugh or have a good cry, take this book with you. be prepared to fall in love as well.
Disclosure of Material Connection: i received a copy of An Amish Love - Three Amish Novellas from Thomas Nelson through BookSneeze.com's book review bloggers program.i did not receive any payment in exchange for this review nor was i obligated to write a positive one. all opinions expressed here are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, the book's publisher and publicist or the readers of this review. this disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for An Amish Love - eBook
This review is fromAn Amish Love.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2011
Book Review – An Amish Love
By Beth Wiseman, Kelly Long, and Kathleen Fuller
Published by Thomas Nelson
Recently I read An Amish Love, a collection of three Amish novellas. Each of these stories follows an Amish couple and their struggle to find love and forgiveness in their daily lives.
Healing Hearts by Beth Wiseman deals with Levina and Naaman Lapp who have been married for thirty years. They have been trying to get to know each other again now that their children have all left home and started families of their own.
In A Marriage of the Heart by Kelly Long, Abigail Kauffman gets more than she bargained for when she tells a lie and finds herself married to a handsome newcomer with a secret past.
What the Heart Sees by Kathleen Fuller shows us that true love and forgiveness come in God’s time.
I really enjoyed reading this collection of stories. They were easy and quick to read, but still contained messages to think about. The characters were realistic and well developed. The book also has a glossary of Amish words and definitions, and recipes for several of the dishes mentioned throughout the book. I would recommend An Amish Love to anyone who enjoys Amish fiction or romance.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for An Amish Love - eBook
This review is fromAn Amish Love.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very good!

Date:February 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
kcjeanette
Location:Aurora, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As usual I pick novelas thinking I am going to read a quick story and maybe get some other things done around the house, but once you start this book it will be hard to put down. My only somewhat of an issue was with the second story, and that was only minor. It just didn't live up to what Fuller usually gives her readers. But story 1 and 3 are very, very heart warming and super reads!! Don't pass this up, you will not be disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for An Amish Love - eBook
This review is fromAn Amish Love.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Believable and Engaging Stories

Date:February 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dorie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The type of love presented in An Amish Love is steadfast and committed. This one book contains three short novellas, approximately 100 pages each, written by Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller, and Kelly Long. Each story is separate and could be read alone. However, several characters make 'appearances' in each of the other stories. All three fictional stories take place in Paradise, PA, a real town with a large Old Order Amish community.
The story lines are believable, and easy to read. Each author's contribution melded well within the theme of the book. The main characters are interesting, and I developed a sympathetic interest in the outcome of each story. All three novellas include male characters that left the local Amish community and chose to return.
While each story line was entertaining and interesting, I preferred the third. A tale of restoring a marriage, forgiveness within an established relationship of many years, learning to trust one another, and the reawakening of intimacy...these are themes that create a positive depiction of committed marital love.
Each novella is a 'romance' novel, but the theme of love is displayed within the context of marriage or courting. There is an underlying tone of promoting love as a commitment and the accompanying ties of trust and forgiveness. There is a bit of passion that is alluded to in each novella, but it is not inappropriate or graphic in nature. Ladies looking to read a love story might want to consider An Amish Love.
Thank you to the publisher for providing me with a complimentary copy of this book through BookSneeze.com review program in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for An Amish Love - eBook
This review is fromAn Amish Love.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Light Read

Date:February 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Borger, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
An Amish Love is a compilation of three novellas written by three different authors; A Marriage of the Heart by Kelly Long, What the Heart Sees by Kathleen Fuller and Healing Hearts by Beth Wiseman. The three novellas share the same location of Lancaster County, Paradise, Pennsylvania. Each story also includes the restaurant named Yoder's Pantry.
I enjoyed each of these short stories. They are a light read and take you to a simpler way of life...although each of the stories includes situations you don't imagine the Amish dealing with. I think the stories were well-written, but I don't imagine the Amish would consider them highly accurate. But they are sweet love stories.
A Marriage of the Heart by Kelly Long is a story about a young man who left the Amish community and comes back having been an addict. He meets Abby Kauffman who tricks him into marriage. But unwilling to risk his entrance back into the Amish community, he marries Abby who then helps him face his demons.
What the Heart Sees by Kathleen Fuller is a story about Ellie Chupp, a girl who lost her sight in an accident. A young man who has been shunned by the Amish community returns, hoping to come back and restore relationships. But he had no idea what it would cost him. Ellie becomes his reason to stay. I did have a bone to pick with Kathleen Fuller. I felt she abruptly ended her novella. It's like she ran out of time or space and hurriedly concluded her story.
The last story, Healing Hearts by Beth Wiseman is the story of empty nesters, Naaman & Nevina Lapp. Naama left his family for a year "to find himself" and returns hoping to restore the relationships with his family. Of course, Nevina has fears and questions about his return, but soon finds a renewed and restored relationship with her husband. That is, until a sheriff comes from Ohio where Naaman had spent his year away.
I highly recommend this book if you want a light read of three short love stories. I'd give it 4 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for An Amish Love - eBook
This review is fromAn Amish Love.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

3 IN 1 AMISH STORIES A WINNER WITH ME

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marcie
Location:Sylvqnia, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ALL THREE STORIES WERE GREAT, THE AUTHORS ARE SOME OF MY FAVORITES. YOU'LL BE GLAD YOU PICKED THIS BOOK UP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for An Amish Love - eBook
This review is fromAn Amish Love.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:January 28, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely adored this book. The first two stories were so tender, so full of love and romance that they blew me away.
This is what real love in marriage is, this is now it should be.
The characters were realistic and flawed, and that's why the stories touched me so deeply. They let God heal them and teach them how to love.
These stories made me laugh and almost cry and they totally gave me goosebumps.
I am going to order this book and I can't wait until I can read it again.
There were only two things that made me give this book a four instead of a five, which it totally deserves.
First, I gretly disagree with the Amish theology, which is antibiblical.
And, secondly, the third story (by Beth Wiseman) was a but ridiculous, presenting a sin as the will of God.
However, the first two stories were absolute gems and I completely fell in love with the characters and with the authors as well.
I read this book via NetGalley.
http://bookshelfstories.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for An Amish Love - eBook
This review is fromAn Amish Love.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a great book!

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hayley
Location:Central Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
An Amish Love by Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller, and Kelly Long is a great combination of three novellas. Each of the stories is about different aspects of Amish relationships. The first novella A Marriage of the Heart is about an unlikely marriage and how the couple falls in love. The second novella What the Heart Sees is about a blind Amish woman who thinks she will never find love. The third novella Healing Hearts is about an Amish couple who has gone through some difficulties in their marriage.
This is a great set of stories. They are easy to read but very enjoyable. I found myself rooting for the different characters and hoping that they were able to overcome the struggles they were going through. The stories were entertaining and I found that I learned a few things from them and how to deal with different situations as I read about what they were going through. The stories are definitely inspiring, especially What the Heart Sees, because it’s written about Ellie who is blind and the different obstacles she has to deal with and how as a blind person she is able to overcome. I would definitely recommend this book to others. BookSneeze® has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for An Amish Love - eBook
This review is fromAn Amish Love.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

3 Romance stoies in 1 book

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patricia L
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An Amish Love is a collection of three novellas by three authors. They are: A Marriage of The Heart by Kelly Long, What The Heart Sees by Kathleen Fuller and Healing Hearts by Beth Wiseman. As the book's title suggests, they are all fictitious Amish love stories. They stand alone as distinct stories of commitment, faith, perseverance and love, but are also connected by sharing a common setting in Paradise, Pennsylvania. Some of the characters also carry over from one story to the next. These romance novellas aren't all sunshine & rainbows, as each one has its share of conflict.
I liked it. Now, I have to admit, I snickered a little at the thought of Amish Romance. Maybe this is my ignorance coming through, but when I think "romance" I don't automatically think "Amish". It didn't take long for me to get over my skepticism and see that, Amish or not, these were just "human" stories. At this point in time, the novella seems to be a good fit for me {I seem to be suffering from some post-holiday ADD or something}.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.