Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Educators Publishing Service Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Educators Publishing Service Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition

Three thousand carefully selected words taken from literature, textbooks, and SAT-prep books are the basis of this exciting vocabulary series that teaches new words through reading, writing, and a variety of exercises. Each lesson's alphabetized word list gives pronunciations, parts of speech, and concise definitions, and uses each word in a sentence. Interesting, engaging, and acting as a mnemonic anchor for the word, sentences are anything but boring! Comprehension of the vocabulary words is facilitated and reinforced through the five different exercises repeated in each lesson; new for the 2nd, expanded edition of Wordly Wise, reading first strategies as well as Greek and Latin roots are now included as well!

Wordly Wise 3000, Book 2 has 15 lessons with 150 words; words taught in book 2 include groom, boulder, soil, faucet, imitate, local, connect, settle, scholar and more. This 2nd Edition includes all the lessons in the previous Wordly Wise 3000 Book A as well as lessons 1-7 in Wordly Wise 3000 Book B. 121 two-tone pages, softcover. Grade 2.

Average Customer Rating:
3.931 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
5
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition
Review 1 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
mindydenver
Location:Denver, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great summer tool for rising 2nd graders, my son worked on his workbook to get a head start on his 2nd grade vocabulary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bridge
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using the Wordly Wise books for years, and have been very pleased with the results that my students have achieved using this vocabulary series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!!

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
mommamonster79
Location:Le Roy, Ks
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these books!!! I was so pleased to find these books, as they were exactly what I was looking for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I just love our purchase for my homeschooler

Date:September 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heather Sinclair
Location:Victoria, Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is such a pleasure to purchase through here. It is so easy to see what you are buying. I recomend the book purchased as it is so valuable for a childs learning. Heather Sinclair
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy for my son to do alone-

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
sarahboo
I LIKE this curriculum and would LOVE it if it were Christian based. (it says things like millions of years ago)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent resource to build vocabularies

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
LifeRedeemed
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 2nd grader can independently read the vocabulary words introduced for each lesson and worked on the 3 to 4 exercises given. The book clearly shows how a word is used in a sentence, and reinforced "learning" with the exercises.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not from creationist point of view.

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
motherof4
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't usually write reviews. I felt compelled in this instance. The Wordly Wise books are not Christian based. This is very disappointing.
+1point
7of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
sarah
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked this book for explaining definitions and using the similar words in the correct sentence so my child understood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Monica Vaughan
We just got going but love it. We are using it to supplement English and its great for vocabulary, and thinking. It travels well to Doctor office or in the car. All the instructions are on the page and the lessons are only a few pages then you can test. So far we love it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Kamaleson
I've used Wordly Wise book 2-4 and love them. They are not Christian based and do have one or two stories about evolution, or 'millions of years ago', but IMO those theories cannot be hidden from children forever and I see it as an opportunity to discuss the Biblical truth with them. So far the lessons have been challenging, and I love that they not only teach spelling, but the meanings of the words as well as how to use them. There are about 4 or 5 exercises per lesson to reinforce the words and meanings. The only thing that we've strayed from doing in the book would be answering the questions at the end of the story for each lesson. I have my kids read the story, and instead of writing we do oral questions and answers for the younger grades, I had my 3rd grader answer five written and the rest we did oral. The spelling words have been challenging enough, but not overwhelming. My first grader was bored with bat, ball, etc... he's enjoying the challenge of 'accident'.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennie Hale
Why is every reading selection something that states the earth is billions of years old, or to do with evolution? I don't understand why these are stated as facts, rather than the belief of some who don't believe in creation?
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jill West
This 3000 series is very different from the older A/B series. It's not nearly as user friendly for my 2nd grader--requires a lot more writing. She likes the crossword puzzles (glad they kept those from the older series), but really struggles with the comprehension questions on the reading. I'm not sure she's really ready, yet, for this level of reading comprehension, where she has to use clues in the text to come up with her answers. We'll plow through for a bit longer, and see if she's able to figure it out. If not, we'll jump back over to the older series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ruth Hernandez
I like how they do different activities to learn the new vocab. My daughter is enjoying it and is learning new vocab daily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tammy Rankin
I have never been more disappointed in a curriculum than this. It is pushing an evolutionary agenda. The reading comprehension questions are very difficult for the grade level. The questions don't match the words in bold type and it has been very confusing. I have used this program for my other children and not at this grade level and have never experienced this problem before now. I will never use it again.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gooding
The vocabulary sections are well done, but why include evolution, Mother Nature and "Big Bang Theory" in Christian educational materials. I would recommend against using this material for that reason. Our children will get enough exposure to those lies in everyday life, let's not teach it in Christian education.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
K.R.
An effective book of exercises, appropriate for the grade level. It incorporates many aspects of Language Arts, not only vocabulary. My only hesitation in recommending this book is the repeated emphasis on evolution. ie, cavemen, millions of years, etc...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cyndi Walker
This workbook was done wonderfully. It is complete with word, definitions and problems to solve. My 2nd grader has a hard time with the reading comprehension, however, we did just start. I feel it is a great challenge for him and he will learn a lot from these lessons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Mclean
This is a great product. I tutor foreign students in English, and it is a great help to build vocabulary. Your company makes it affordable and easy to get these. THANK YOU!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Seetalynn Anderson
This book is great! Will highly recommend for kids who dislike or find it hard/boring learning and using vocabulary words in everyday life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 2, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Graf
This is a good product to help build your vocabulary. The only problems we had was that each lesson has a section for reading comprehension that was hard for our second grader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>