Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Educators Publishing Service Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 9, 2nd Edition

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Educators Publishing Service Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 9, 2nd Edition

Three thousand carefully selected words taken from literature, textbooks, and SAT-prep books are the basis of this exciting vocabulary series that teaches new words through reading, writing, and a variety of exercises. Each lesson's alphabetized word list gives pronunciations, parts of speech, and concise definitions, and uses each word in a sentence. Interesting, engaging, and acting as a mnemonic anchor for the word, sentences are anything but boring! Comprehension of the vocabulary words is facilitated and reinforced through the five different exercises repeated in each lesson; new for the 2nd, expanded edition of Wordly Wise, reading first strategies as well as Greek and Latin word studies with prefixes, suffixes, parts of speech, synonyms, antonyms, and analogies.

Wordly Wise 3000, Book 9 contains 20 lessons; words taught in this book include: disseminate, emblazon, incontrovertible, novice, obligatory, paraphernalia, pernicious, scrutinize, plumb, scintillate, suave, viscera, wry and more. This 2nd Edition book replaces the previous Wordly Wise 3000, Book 6. "Word study" replaces "synonyms, antonyms and analogies" in the new edition. 192 two-tone pages, softcover.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 9, 2nd Edition
Review 1 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 9, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
mmhag
Location:Billings, MT
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I have been very happy with this purchase, I love how each lesson uses 4 different ways to practice the definition of each word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 9, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great SAT word prep

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chrissy
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great SAT word prep book. Almost a self taught book. Lots of work that can be done on their own. Daughter is very content with workbook ease, yet challenges, and has expanded her vocabulary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 9, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great vocabulary book

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mom of All Hats
Location:Nampa, ID
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a fan of Wordly Wise 3000 vocabulary books! I like the variety of exercises for each lesson, and the fact that definitions are given for the verb form of a word as well as for its adjective form. My children enjoy Wordly Wise 3000 overall. Each word list has 5 exercises following it. I have my son combine exercises B and C so that he can split exercise E over two days. (Exercise E involves reading a passage and answering 15 questions about it using complete sentences.) I do not use the teacher's guide or the tests, so I am not familiar with those.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 9, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the product is very easy to work with

Date:February 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
indionana
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product easy to understand and the words are used in different formats so your child has a better chance for retention.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 9, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

challenging product. great value for the price

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valone
Location:Saluda, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love Wordly Wise. Great value for the price. We find it a challenging and well organized book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 9, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
JenF
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children have used this in their public schools (before homeschooling), so they are familiar with the text. It is a great way to really understand and remember the words by using them in a number of different activities (5 different activities) per lesson. We were also able to make flashcards from the definitions given to take it to the next level. GREAT product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 9, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
InHisHands
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value. prompt shipping. packaged well.
easy to navigate web site. can find most anything I need. competitive pricing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 9, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
ljburns
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent series to use to develop vocabulary. There is an online link for an oral presentation of the material as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 9, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy Mossburg
My children take part in a small Christian school which includes grades 6-12. Wordly Wise is used in all seven grade levels. It is excellent preparation for SATs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 9, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Mauldin
I have used Wordly Wise before and found it easy to use, but challenging for my student. He likes that he can understand it without a lot of help from me, but he does not find it a breeze, which I like. Kids need to be challenged!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wordly Wise 3000, Grade 9, 2nd Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Lamb
We just started using Wordly Wise last week, but so far my kids love it. The words are interesting, the activities are enjoyable. I'm very pleased with this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.