Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell You're Already Amazing: Embracing Who You Are, Becoming All God Created You to Be - eBook

Revell You're Already Amazing: Embracing Who You Are, Becoming All God Created You to Be - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for You're Already Amazing: Embracing Who You Are, Becoming All God Created You to Be - eBook
Review 1 for You're Already Amazing: Embracing Who You Are, Becoming All God Created You to Be - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helps you to understand who you are!

Date:February 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
SpringSaver
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book really addresses some areas I was struggling with in trying to accept myself for who I am and not who I thought I should be based on my observations of others. The author provides different aspects of human characteristics where you get to see that there are different gifts we are given and that even though they are not identical to others, they serve an equally important purpose. God made us each unique, so instead of beating ourselves up for not being like others, you can come to realize you're great exactly how you are!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for You're Already Amazing: Embracing Who You Are, Becoming All God Created You to Be - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read to discover your spiritual strength

Date:January 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda K
Location:Kasota, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is should be a must read for every woman of any age to not only help her discover her spiritual strengths but her amazing God-given highly esteemed value that only our Creator, in His supreme almighty authority, made us in His likeness to a degree that we can never imagine.
Holley Gerth has been gifted with making women feel/know that God created each of us for a specific purpose, at this specific time in history, to impact His kingdom for eternity. And His eternal love and blessing is sealed upon each of us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for You're Already Amazing: Embracing Who You Are, Becoming All God Created You to Be - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for enhancing my sensitive daughter's esteem

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
bj ny
Location:NY DMA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have taken to reading this at night to my sensitive daughter and just a bonding time between the two of us.
It's very positive and reassuring.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for You're Already Amazing: Embracing Who You Are, Becoming All God Created You to Be - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Title says it all! Amazing!!!!!!

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
mountains
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As if the title isn't enough to make you feel better ... this book delivers what it promises. If you only buy one non-fiction book in 2012, this needs to be it!
I had to read this book much slower than I usually read review books. It was loaded with nuggets of truth my soul needed to hear. Things like ... "As I did, it seemed God whispered to my soul, "You think you have to take what's broken and make it perfect in order to be used by me. But I think in a completely different way. I took what was perfect, my Son, and made him broken so that you could be whole. And because you belong to him, your brokenness can bring healing to others too."
Holley writes in a very easy, smooth manner to reach out to your heart and plant truths that can be life changing. I believe every woman needs to read this book at some time in their life. She places thought provoking questions along the chapters and brief exercises to walk through the message she's presenting. The book handles so many areas that a woman faces - who we are really, why can't I believe the message that I am amazing, my feelings and emotions, my relationships and connections, where I am going in this life, taking care of myself, and what God really wants me to remember from this lesson. At the end of the book is a guide to take the learning deeper as a group or individual.
If you are a woman and you love God, but have struggled to feel content with who you are, how you act or behave and how you relate to the body of Christ - you need to read this book. Holley is gifted in the heart-to-heart talks.
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for You're Already Amazing: Embracing Who You Are, Becoming All God Created You to Be - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Must-Read for Women

Date:March 24, 2012
Wow. You're Already Amazing is an incredible book that every woman I know needs to read. While it may seem from the title that this is going to be a rah-rah, feel good back, that's simply not true. Instead, it's obvious from the outset that Holley desires for women to know who God created them to be and to use the strengths and skills that He has gifted them with to honor Him!
"We are chosen, cherished, created women who have all we need to fulfill God's plans for our lives. He has made us just as he wants us to be. We have something to offer that no one else can bring . . . and the world is waiting" (p 40).
Holley writes in such a way that reading the book feels more like having a conversation with a close friend. The exercises throughout the book and the "Go Deeper Guide" at the end make this a great book for individuals or groups to go through. [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Revell Books in exchange for my fair and honest review.
Available March 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for You're Already Amazing: Embracing Who You Are, Becoming All God Created You to Be - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Like having coffee with a great and godly friend

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:Chicago
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was all Holley’s idea from the start when she said to me (on the back of her book) “Psst…pull up a chair and I’ll tell you a secret.”
So I sat, notepad in hand, ready for a business lunch. You see I had received a copy of You’re Already Amazing in exchange for an objective review and I was here and ready to get the facts and “just the facts ma’am”. Was it well written? (Yes) Was it engaging? (Yes) Does it apply to the deep heart issues and just regular kind of living issues that we as women have? (Yes and yes)
But it wasn’t long (page 16 in fact) that we (and I quote) “… settle into a quiet corner. Order our favorite drinks. Swap small talk over mochas or tea. Sip by sip we go deeper, until we land at the level of the heart…that place it’s hard to go in the middle of the busy and the broken.”
I put away my notepad, took out my highlighter, and began marking into golden the truths nestled in those words; precious treasures for my heart.
“Most people don’t do what you do, love what you love, feel the kind of passion you feel about that thing…if most people don’t do what you do, and you’re passionately pursing Jesus with your life, then it’s probably not just a human plan. The heartbeat of God is probably somewhere within it. We need you, just you, to fulfill that purpose, complete that project, bring that gift to the world in a way no one else can. “(page 18)
“Our divinely created strengths (fueled by God’s power) are actually supported by our weakness, because if we were good at everything, we wouldn’t focus on much of anything.” (pg 27)
“God will use you in a lot of different ways throughout your life.” (pg 32)
“The road He’s carved out for you is yours alone. It’s always the road less traveled because you’re the only one who is ever going to walk it” (pg 79)
“God knows we’re human. He knows we get worn out. Sometimes He simply says, ‘Take a break, child.’” (pg 84)
“God promises that when you trust Him, He’ll take care of you wherever you are and get you to where He wants you to go.” (pg 98)
This was not some clinical discussion – not a one-sided expert talking to a needy one. This book is a heart to heart with Holley. Throughout her words of wisdom and ideals she adds (in parentheses, a lot!) her own reactions, doubts, and struggles. It truly is like having coffee with a good honest friend who has found the most incredible way of living a life of faith and cannot wait to let you in on the secret.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for You're Already Amazing: Embracing Who You Are, Becoming All God Created You to Be - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is Amazing...

Date:March 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
HSCottage
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is Amazing... I must say!
This book is very powerful for women. I am not usually a big fan of self help books because they usually loose focus on the main point, which is to lean on God, not do it your self.
But this book keeps focus on God as your strength. I really love this book. Its very positive for women, Christian or not.
I found my self taking a lot of notes while reading. I actually will be reading it again, slower, so that I can use it more as a study and share it with my daughters as part of our homeschool bible curriculum. It will be empowering for them as well, as a primer to women hood and what we as women deal with.
This book is just full of information that we as women need to be armed with. Like truth about who you are in your eyes and God's eyes.
Your going to grow by reading this book. You may also, like me, have emotions stirred so you will have to deal with them. It may bring up things from your past that you have forgotten and you need to deal with.
I would like to finish with a quote that I underlined. I am not sure what it was about it, but it stuck with me, maybe to meditate on.
Pg 42: "We have a choice between living in the truth or giving in to the flesh. And what we pick ultimately shapes us and the course of our lives."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for You're Already Amazing: Embracing Who You Are, Becoming All God Created You to Be - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding and Life Changing!

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just to show you how much I loved this book, I wish I could show you my copy. It has writing on every single page with tons of sentences underlined and highlighted. You would even see a few hearty Amens with little arrows pointing to, "This is so me!"
I curled up with this book and learned so much about myself and about my walk with the Lord. I loved every chapter. There was something in each chapter that grabbed hold of my heart and said, "Lets just sit here for a while and soak all this in before we move forward".
This is in my top five Non-Fiction loves. I couldn't put this book down once I began reading. I had every intention of just doing a chapter a day, but my heart was aching for more. I found myself reading a few chapters a day. I could have read it all in one day, but I heard the Lord say, "Just take it slow", and that is exactly what I did.
This book would be great for a Sunday school lesson, or a group of ladies joining one night a week. This would be such a blessing for you to grab a girlfriend and just take a heart dive into this gem of gold. I would just say this book should be in the hands of every woman and of every man who loves her. This would be a perfect gift for that high school girl, searching for who she is in the Lord.
Holley takes us on a journey back to Jesus. Back to the simple truth that we are loved. Loved no matter what. The message here is we don't need fixing for the Lord to love us. He loves us today just as we are! That is enough to make us stand up and shout!
This gifted writer goes on a journey with us. She is personal and heart warming. I found myself giggling throughout the book as well as wiping my tear stained cheeks. She speaks about emotions and how each and every one are gifts from God. I was always taught to hide my emotions. After reading this book I knew how important it was to share my emotions and allow others to see my bad days as well as my good days.
"God, the ultimate designer, has custom created an emotional wardrobe for you. And it's beautiful. It's also essential to accomplishing His purpose for your life. So lets explore together."
You really do feel as though Holley is right there with you for the journey. I loved the questions. I found myself really pondering my answers, which it turn, brought me to prayer.
I too learned I had been carrying with me "Emotional Hand Me Downs".
"Since our families are important influences in our lives, let's start by exploring what emotional hand-me-downs they passed on to us. They might be quality vintage, or it could be time for a new look. This isn't about right or wrong or blaming anyone-it's simply about understanding."
I learned what my strengths are and how to use them to bring glory and honor to God. I too learned how to walk in peace by simply being me.
You're not only amazing.
You're enough.
You're beautiful.
Your wanted.
You're chosen.
You've got what it takes...not just to survive but to change the world.
This book was a gift from Revell for it's review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.