Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press The Orphan King - eBook

WaterBrook Press The Orphan King - eBook

Since Stonehenge, the ancient and mystery-shrouded Druids have been ghostly hunters, infiltrating the highest power circles of each new conqueror of Britain. Merlin himself was a Druid, until rebelling against them. He established his own line of descendents, bequeathing them the power and knowledge to hunt the Druids.

It is a dark time in medieval Europe. A young man, Thomas, journeys to an isolated castle, unaware of his ancestry, roots that stretch back to the Byzantine Empire. Thomas doesn't realize that he carries the secrets needed to re-conquer the castle for the Merlins. At stake is the direction of mankind's future because the Druids have the ability to end al progress in science, medicine and technologies, thus ensuring the Dark Ages continue for centuries more.

Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 out of 2190%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Orphan King - eBook
Review 1 for The Orphan King - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is 1312 AD and all Thomas knows about his past history is that he was raised for the first ten years of his life by a woman named Sarah. When a fever took her too soon from him, he was placed in a tiny monastery and cared for by four greedy monks. Not one to question his lot in life, he clings to the stories of the Immortals his nursemaid passed down to him and practices all the things she taught him. The library she has knowledge of and shares with him, and all the wonderful powers he can have with the simple study of herbs and powders. Chafing under the injustice of the monks who were supposed to be his guardians, he holds back all his studying and tends to the endless task of the garden for their gluttonous bellies.
On the night of his planned escape, things go wrong. Forced to reveal his knowledge of their wrong deeds, he barely escapes the monastery with all he needs to make is journey. His destination is the castle of Magnus; a formidable, unconquerable and legendary place of evil. To become king of such a fortress it must be taken from another; but Thomas has a clever plan to make it his. Among his companions there is the knight he recused from the gallows, a beautiful, silent girl and a young pickpocket sentenced to hang for his crimes. Sure of his destiny, he is completely unprepared for the challenges he is about to face. Will the mysterious knight be able to make Thomas the great king he is supposed to be? Or is destiny ever truly enough?
While I enjoy watching films from the medieval time period, I cannot say I've ever enjoyed reading about this time period. So coming into this novel, I was hoping to be at least mildly entertained at best. But I discovered instead an author who does more than entertain and amuse; he actually takes you to the time and place of the story. I am now staunch supporter of the mystical/fantasy/medieval genre, and I highly recommend this book for anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Orphan King - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

4 stars

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Allen
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Plot: This was an interesting plot with a lot of mystery and intrigue. The plot is revealed as you read and you are kept in wonder as the story unfolds. But by the end of the book, the plot has been revealed and executed. You are left, however, with questions that are sure to be answered in the rest of the series.
Characters: The character development in this book is very interesting. You start off with no knowledge of any of the characters, but as the story goes on, you learn about the intentions and even some background on some of them. However, you learn still, as you read on that things you thought you learned as truth about some characters, turns out to be falsehood. In some stories, this method of character development would have been confusing, but for this story, it works and it works well.
Themes: I would say that an important theme in this book is finding God. Thomas, who grows up in a monastery, doesn't believe that a loving God could exist in such a cruel world. As his journey progresses, he is faced with people who challenge him to question his beliefs and allow him to look beyond what he thinks and see that the possibility of God is more real than he has believed.
Emotion: This book did lack emotion. There was intrigue and wonder, but there was no emotional connection to the characters or their predicaments.
Overall: This book was a very easy and a very fast read. I was kept engaged by the mystery and wanted to continue to read to see what would happen next. While it is geared toward younger readers, it was enough to satisfy and wasn't too childish.
---I read an ARC of this book. The final published book my differ.---
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Orphan King - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Location:Summerfield, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is 1312 AD and all Thomas knows about his past history is that he was raised for the first ten years of his life by a woman named Sarah. When a fever took her too soon from him, he was placed in a tiny monastery and cared for by four greedy monks. Not one to question his lot in life, he clings to the stories of the Immortals his nursemaid passed down to him and practices all the things she taught him. The library she has knowledge of and shares with him, and all the wonderful powers he can have with the simple study of herbs and powders. Chafing under the injustice of the monks who were supposed to be his guardians, he holds back all his studying and tends to the endless task of the garden for their gluttonous bellies.
On the night of his planned escape, things go wrong. Forced to reveal his knowledge of their wrong deeds, he barely escapes the monastery with all he needs to make is journey. His destination is the castle of Magnus; a formidable, unconquerable and legendary place of evil. To become king of such a fortress it must be taken from another; but Thomas has a clever plan to make it his. Among his companions there is the knight he recused from the gallows, a beautiful, silent girl and a young pickpocket sentenced to hang for his crimes. Sure of his destiny, he is completely unprepared for the challenges he is about to face. Will the mysterious knight be able to make Thomas the great king he is supposed to be? Or is destiny ever truly enough?
While I enjoy watching films from the medieval time period, I cannot say I've ever enjoyed reading about this time period. So coming into this novel, I was hoping to be at least mildly entertained at best. But I discovered instead an author who does more than entertain and amuse; he actually takes you to the time and place of the story. I am now staunch supporter of the mystical/fantasy/medieval genre, and I highly recommend this book for anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Orphan King - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pleasant surprise

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katharina
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect and I wasn’t sure I’d like this book. But I was pleasantly surprised and am looking forward to book two and finding out more about Thomas, the knight, Katherine and the mysterious cloaked man.
This was a fun read and intriguing. I’m still not entirely sure what’s going on in the land and with Magnus but that’s ok because it adds to the suspense and certainly makes me want to keep reading the series.
I read this as an ebook and at one point had to put it down and when I got back I discovered I only had a chapter left. There is so much more to this story! I do wish it had been a bit longer but I also understand that the author is prepared to write a series and is setting the stage and only gave us the first stage of Thomas’ adventures.
Great book for adventure loving teens.
Disclosure: I received this book for free from the publisher through the Blogging for Books book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Orphan King - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

orphan king review

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"The Orphan King" by Sigmund Brouwer is a young adult novel that starts the Merlin's Immortals series. In "The Orphan King" Thomas begins a journey to take over Magnus, a village of sorts in England during the 12th century. As he travels there with William the Knight; Isabelle, the girl; and Tiny John, the pickpocket; he is somehow involved with the centuries old battle of the Immortals vs the Druids. This whole part of the story is left cloaked in mystery and it is never clear what they are fighting over or who is on which side. Normally, this would annoy me to no end, but it is told in such a way that I am left wanting more. I am intrigued and am left thinking about the book trying to figure it out. The group fights bandits, dabbles in science (otherwise known as witchcraft), he escapes the abbey, and William teaches Thomas to be a man, a wise one, along the way. It is a short book, read in a day. I would say the age level would be 8th grade or higher. It might appeal more to boys, but not necessarily. I liked it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Orphan King - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good introduction to the series

Date:November 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
angelroman
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First, I was attracted to the book for its cover, not just the design but the name itself: Orphan, King, Merlin, Immortals, that’s sounds cool, the mysterious guy and the “medieval feeling” attached to it.
The narration pace flows well, you can get some details from here and there, and know where you are, and whom the characters are. It’s easy to identify the main characters but also you can feel identified with one of them, their personalities are nicely crafted. The “team” formula while simple remain powerful trough the story.
As a christian book, a message of faith and confidence on God unfolds from begining to the end. It’s not an “in your face” message, which is good, and takes more strenght from the plot itself, so nothing seems forced.
In the other hand, the feeling I had with the book was like when you push fastforward to a movie. Yes, you get the glimpse of the story, but some details get lost. In some parts I just couldn’t relate to a place description because there wasn’t enough detail. There was more potential with details on places, characters, and action. Talking about this topic, being a historical-action-medieval story I expected an epic climax full of action, fighting and maybe some, just some little blood, but instead there’s a weak solution to solve a strong conflict.
At the end, the book finishes very well. Left me wanting to read the next book, which is expected to be released early in 2013, and also wishing the story to be more developed and exciting.
Disclosure: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Orphan King - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Be a Leader

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Emily
Location:New Knoxville, OH
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sigmund Brouwer's book, The Orphan King, shows what it means to be a leader. The main character, Thomas, has to take charge of the people that follow him after he escapes and sets out on a journey to find the truth, which can only be uncovered at the castle called Magnus.
Thomas, having grown up as a servant in a monastery, is not afraid of hard work. When the cruelty towards him grows to the point of abuse and hatred, he feels the need to flee. But he can't just leave, for the monks who have raised him ever since his mother died, have eyes everywhere. So tells the men (if they could even be called that), that he was leaving, and they were to give him provisions enough to last for a week.
After escape, Thomas used the many secrets his mother had taught him and that he had learned from THE BOOKS to save his soon-to-be companions from the gallows. Little did he know that one would betray him, another would look up to him, and the last would teach him more than he had ever imagined, yet still will not tell him everything.
This book is a great mystery with a little bit of romance on the side. People who like action and riddles will love this book. One thing I do recommend though, is to not read it until you have the second book , Fortress of Mist, in your hands, ready to be opened as soon as you finish The Orphan King. The end leaves you hanging, wondering what will happen now that Thomas has completed his mission to find Magnus and capture it, yet he still does not know all of the secrets that have shaped his life and the lives of his friends and enemies alike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Orphan King - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I wanted more

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is Book One of Mr. Brouwer's Merlin's Immortals Series. I found this book to be just ok. I really wanted to love it. I like fantasy, I like books about Merlin but there was something lacking in this book. I like the concept of the orphan king setting off to capture the mysterious Magnum. I like the various characters in the book but I wanted more from them. I felt like there was a previous book I was supposed to read before I read this one. That being said, I would definitely read the next book in this series, mostly because I want to know more about the characters portrayed in the book. I give this book 3 stars because of the lack of plot development but I liked the concepts and characters in the book.
I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Orphan King - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Orphan King-Page Turner to Capture the Imagination

Date:September 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Orphan King
Merlin's Immortals Book 1
By Sigmund Brouwer
Thomas has been raised in secrecy, hidden from the world outside the walls of Harland Moor Abbey. His true identity has been hidden to protect him from those who had killed his family when their kingdom was taken.
But the time has come for Thomas to fulfill his destiny and to take Magnus - the place where darkness lives and fear abounds! Thomas is joined on his quest by William a mysterious knight, Tiny John a condemned child thief, and Isabelle young woman who pretends to be who she isn't. Unknown to Thomas two opposing forces are determined to use him and to sway him to their cause.
Much that Thomas should know about his past was lost when the woman who acted as his nurse died before she could impart most of her knowledge. One piece of information that Sarah gave him was that she had hoped to see "him grow into a man and to become one of the Immortals and to help them destroy the circle of evil." But who or what these Immortals were died with Sarah.
Along the way Thomas learns important lessons in trust and in whom to place it which proved invaluable once he and his army of three were trapped within the walls of Magnus. All too soon Thomas and William find themselves locked away in the dungeon with another prisoner who has been locked away for ten years.
How is Thomas to fulfill his destiny when he is beneath the very island castle he is determined to free? Can he bring hope to the helpless and the downtrodden who are trapped within the castle as much as he is? Does the phrase "Delivered on the wings of an angel, he shall free us from oppression" hold the answers he seeks?
The Orphan King is a page turner that holds your attention. Set in Northern England in AD 1312, the truth of Christianity struggles against the darkness of the pagan religions that have a hold upon the land.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. The opinions I expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Orphan King - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

High Level of Intrigue

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bookmoms
Location:Chardon, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In book one of his new Merlin's Immortals Series, Brouwer introduces us to an ancient world where trust is not easy to come by. Secrets lie around every bend and friends can become enemies in the blink of an eye, if you can figure out they are your enemy. Thomas was raised in an abbey for most of his life, raised in secret by a woman who pretended to be his nursemaid, raised as a slave to the monks who mistreated him and taught him to despise the God they claimed to serve. Most importantly, he was raised with a secret he must guard with his life and a destiny bigger than he can ever imagine. His quest to conquer Magnus, the ancient castle, turns out to be only the beginning.
Positives: Kids will enjoy the medieval setting and the high level of intrigue. The well-developed characters are clever, sinister and thought provoking.
Negatives: None
Talking Points: Raised in an abbey and surrounded by religious practices and people for many years Thomas was calloused toward God. He questioned his goodness, his love and even his existence. Talk to your kids about their thoughts and feelings toward religion. Let your kids be open and honest and carefully listen to their answers. Use this conversation to continually point your child to the gospel. I Corinthians 1:18 tells us that the cross is foolishness to unbelievers, they cannot understand it. Pray for the Spirit of God to work in your child's heart and continue to teach them of the great Creator God who sent his Son to rescue us from our greatest danger - our own sinful hearts. Romans 8 is a wonderful passage that I kept thinking of while reading this story.
Age Level: 10 years of age and up
I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah in exchange for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Orphan King - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An incredibly good book!

Date:September 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While I had at first thought that this book might be kind of weird, there wasn’t much selection to choose from if I wanted a print book from the blogging program, so I ordered The Orphan King to read and review, and now am glad I did! This book piqued my interest from the first page and kept me eager to continue reading.
Thomas, an orphan who doesn’t have a clue of what his family’s mysterious past is or the destiny he is to fulfill, escapes the corrupt monastery where he was raised and ends up on an urgent quest with three mysterious companions who may or may not be just what they seem: a knight, a pickpocket, and a mute and deaf girl. Can Thomas trust them? Are they allies or enemies? And what lies beyond the walls of the city Magnus?
I just have to add, I really liked the bold, creative, ingenious main character Thomas- and mischievous young Tiny John, the pickpocket. All the characters were well-written and memorable, but those two were my favorites!
I read this whole book in less than 24 hours and couldn’t put it down! (My mom and two of my siblings have also read it now, and they were hooked, too!) I am now eagerly anticipating the second book in the series, Fortress of Mist, which is coming out in February.
To sum up, the author, Sigmund Brouwer, writes a captivating and unforgettable story. I wish I could give this book more than 5 stars because it was way more than just a good book. This book was outstanding!
A big thank-you to WaterBrook Multnomah for a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest revew!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Orphan King - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Legendary Tale

Date:August 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica Laurie
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My prayer was to watch you grow into a man and become one of us, one of the Immortals. You will help us destroy the circle of evil."
The oath Thomas gave his mother on her deathbed to one day understand and destroy the evil that forced them into exile now directs his life. Smart and handsome, but young and a bit naive, Thomas escapes from the monastery where he's spent his entire life to accomplish this purpose.
On his journey, he encounters several people who play significant roles in his life: William, an ex-Knight Templar, who becomes a grudging mentor; John, a percocious boy with surprisingly helpful pick-pocket skills; and two mysterious young women, the mute Isabelle and the scarred Katherine. One has captured Thomas' attraction; the other, his heart. Finally, an old man who keeps appearing and disappearing seems to know more about Thomas' purpose than he does, but what exactly does he want? As Thomas draws closer to the first stage in his plan--capture the impregnable castle, Magnus--intrigue entwines around him, and he discovers not everything, nor everyone, is what it seems. And who exactly are the Immortals?
My recent fascination with Camelot, King Arthur, and Merlin caused me to buy this book. While The Orphan King by Sigmund Brouwer is set after the Age of Camelot, several references to Arthur and Merlin hint that the classic legend will influence this new story, which is legendary in its own right. While the first half of the book felt a little slow to me, the second half flew by. I couldn't turn the pages fast enough (or tap the pages since I got the ebook). It's the kind of book that slowly unwraps layer by layer different aspects of each character and elements of the story that hint at something big beneath the surface that's trembling to break through.
Apparently, some events in The Orphan King appear in Brouwer's books, Magnus and Wings of Dawn, which he released twenty years ago, but he wanted to approach the story with new perspectives. I haven't read the original books, but The Orphan King is great on its own. Swirling with mystery, it's a coming-of-age tale that thrusts you into a time and place that lingers, even after you set the book down.
mystoryshelf.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Orphan King - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A favorite re-published

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A favorite re-vamped.
Thomas is a young man, living in an unproductive abbey, in the possession of ancient secrets that could change the world in the wrong hands. A fight between good evil rages, who can Thomas trust?
The Orphan King is the re-vamped edition of one of my long time favorites that has been published under many different titles (Magnus, The Winds of Light Series, Wings of Dawn), and I was happy to see it yet again return to print. But when I opened the pages I found to my pleasure and surprise that it was slightly different! While the same premise and basic plot remains, little things have been changed here and there, as well as an added tidbit into the bad guy's view.
Slow to start, it quickly accelerated in pace with many twists, and unexpected turns. It is probably just me but I found it a little harder to get into this one than the past editions, but maybe it's just because I have read the other version about 6 times! I also noticed that there were added scenes and that this first volume is longer than volume one of the children's edition of Magnus,(Wings of Dawn) which was titled Wings of an Angel, though it was basically the same book. But one thing that I can say is that the next (what I presume will be) five books will be ever better than this one! Another thing is that they come right after one another making reading the first book necessary.
Thomas is a likable character who is unreadable on the outside, with quick-thinking, whirring brain on the inside, and under that a seeking heart.
Overall, I guess I can honestly tell you that personally this first book is my least favorite part of the story, but it gets much better later on, with non-stop action, and chase scenes spanning from Old England to the Holy Land and the Crusade. Romantic tension and tests of trust, all the while God is drawing Thomas ever closer to Him. I highly recommend the tale as a whole, and this part as well. Perfect for guys too, this is one of my brother's favorite stories.
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Orphan King - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Arthurian Medieval Fantasy for Teens

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
AddLibrarian
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love Sigmund Brouwer’s fantasy (Especially the dystopian Broken Angel and Flight of Shadows) so I was really excited to see he had a new series for teens coming out. Actually The Orphan King is a rewritten version of Brouwer’s earlier work for adults, Wings of Dawn, which I’ve read in the past. I liked it then and I like it now. My only complaint is that I didn’t feel that the story ever really got going, (which is probably due to the fact that Orphan King is only a small piece of the story) it felt very serialized. It also felt a little young and to short for a teen audience. I feel it would have been better marketed to a Juvenile audience. But Brouwer is a fantastic writer and I can’t wait to see how this series develops! I’m tempted to go back and reread Wings of Dawn, but my to-read list is kind of astronomical right now so that probably won’t happen… I guess I’ll just have to wait until February 19th when Fortress of Mist comes out to find out what happens to Thomas next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Orphan King - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Orphan King - Riding on the Wings of Angels

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Crazy RAGs
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Orphan King by Sigmund Brouwer is a book of inspiration and encouragement telling everyone that as long as you have a plan and some good friends anything is posable.
Set in northern England in 1312, a young boy named Thomas plans to fulfill his destiny and become king of the dreaded city Magnus. Said to deliver them on the wings of an angel Thomas sets out to save a knight who has done no wrong, and ends up with a few unexpected companions. As he and his new found friends travel to conquer Magnus problems arise. When they finally reach the city they enter and a few days later they are thrown in jail. Now Thomas must break out of jail and conquer Magnus all in a day. Many people stand in his way. Will Thomas ever take his rightful place as king of Magnus?
I would recommend this book to all ages 3rd grade and up. The only reason I don’t suggest this book for ages below that is because it has some large words in it, and there is some violence.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Orphan King - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Okay

Date:August 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I’m never one to turn down free books, so even though I suspected this book was probably not going to be my favorite, I decided to try it anyway. This book being a fantasy, I was expecting to be confused because...well, that's just what happens with me and fantasies. The Orphan King did confuse me- at first. Then, to my surprise, I actually figured out what was going on! As for magical content- I’m still not sure what’s really going on with that. The bad guys obviously use magic. At first, I thought the heroes were using it as well, but then it’s revealed that their seemingly mystic tricks were just that- tricks. Because this book had more going on than mystical symbols and potions and sorcery like a lot of fantasies do, I enjoyed this book more than I thought I would- certainly more than the last fantasy I received from this publisher. I also appreciated the fact that it was set in a historical context. That made it much easier for my mind to grasp.
Overall, though this book didn’t amaze me or convert me over to the genre, I certainly didn’t hate it, although I probably would not recommend it to someone who wasn’t already a fan of fantasies.
Objectionable content: This book had several violent scenes, nothing too disturbing, but violent nonetheless. The "enemy" is known to perform human sacrifices, although this is only mentioned, not described. Magic is performed by the bad guys and it at first seems as if the hero is using magic, as well.
I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Orphan King - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love historical fantasy and The Orphan King didn't disappoint! Having never read anything by this author I had no idea what to expect but I couldn't put the book down once I started reading.
The story begins in a marketplace in England in the 1300s and moves to the monastery where Thomas has lived pretty much his whole life. Thomas is on a mission, though he's not entirely sure why, and he travels with some strange companions. There's a knight, a young thief, and a pretty lady, and you have to stop and wonder, are they more than what they appear to be?
Personally, I'm excited for the next book to come out. I know it's written more for the "young adult" crowd but I enjoyed the book and look forward to sharing it with our kids when they get older.
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Orphan King - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A good plot, but slow-paced.

Date:August 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryRuth
Location:Midwest
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was my first time reading anything by Sigmund Brouwer, so I wasn't sure what to expect - one can never tell with historical fantasy, anyway.
But I have to say, while the plot was great, the execution felt very slow-paced and everything seemed to drag by so slowly. Looking back, now that I've read it, and summarizing the plot points, by rights it should have been a fast-paced, action-packed book. But, for whatever strange reason, it wasn't. I can't explain why, but it just failed to hook me and make me believe in the adventure and the mission. The main character's thoughts and emotions felt distant, leaving me feeling like an outsider and confused about his motivations and thought processes, and never really engaging me.
It also got rather confusing - two-thirds of the way through the book brand-new, major characters were still being introduced, bringing layers of the plot and the plots-behind-the-plot with them. That in itself isn't necessarily a bad thing - I've read many books in which key characters get introduced late in the story - but in this book it just didn't work, for whatever reason. I suspect it was because so much of the aforementioned plot-behind-the-plot was left vague and shadowy, and never really fully explained.
And the ending was just a bit too easy. Everything just sort of fell into place just right with a few half-hearted complications, and ta-da, we win!
Definitely not my favorite read of the summer. If the other books in the series were to fall across my path, I don't know that I would necessarily avoid them, but I don't see myself going to great efforts to seek them out.
I received a copy of this book free of charge from the publisher in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Orphan King - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A new Fantasy series by Brouwer

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Orphan King by Sigmund Brouwer is the first book in the Merlin's Immortals series. Young Thomas was raised by his mother only to the age of 10. Even during this time though both he and his mother had to pretend that she was his nurse. His mother also made him promise that for his safety that he would always have to protect this secret. He knows nothing of his past and only that he is meant to fulfill a destiny as an immortal. He knows he must leave the monastery where he was raised by monks who felt more about themselves that the small boy who did their slave labor.
This book is set in medievil England. This book is a fantasy that strives to bring to light the druids life of immortality. There is some Christianity views in the book through the storyline but generally follows a fantasy druid view. It is somewhat difficult to follow but that is part of the draw of the series to bring the reader back to read the next book in the series. I would say this is a book for middle school and up readers of fantasy.
I recieved this book from Waterbrook Multnomah Press for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Orphan King - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great High Adventure!

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Within a time of strife and unrest can an element of bravery, trust and faith be enough to successfully withstand the unknown that lie ahead?
In the year 1312, Thomas, an orphan, who is raised in an abbey from a young age, longs to claim the power which belonged only to the King. When Thomas is sent on a quest to the castle of Magnus along with three others, Thomas discovers each possesses their own well kept secrets. The kingdom must be conquered but there are many dangerous obstacles that will challenge the fortitude of the strongest. Is it possible to capture an area in unknown terrain against the many who loyally protect their territory or will the four be forever silenced?
From the start of the book the storyline offers a high adventure of action, chivalry, knights, swordplay and danger that will satisfy and keep the pages flying. The author has the ability to place the reader into the story themselves witnessing all that is happening around them. Secrets revealed, turns, well flowing dialogue, unexpected ending, and well developed characters keep the story alive with absolutely no dull parts. I was highly entertained and will recommend this faith inspiring, hard to put down book to others! Well written 5 stars! I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>