Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook

Abingdon Press Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook

When a teenager goes missing from the Beacon of Hope School, Texas Ranger Wyatt Sheridan and school director Kate Winslow are forced into a dangerous struggle against a human trafficking organization. But the battle brings dire consequences as Wyatt's daughter is terrorized and Kate is kidnapped.

Now it's personal, and Wyatt finds both his faith and investigative skills challenged as he fights to discover the mastermind behind the ring before evil destroys everyone he loves.

Average Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook
Review 1 for Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Saving Hope

Date:February 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Juanita
Location:Salem, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saving Hope is a book I highly recommend. Margaret Daley is an excellent writer. Have read 20 of her boos now. I notice you don't have Dangerous Pursuit on your list, I just finished it too and highly recommend it if you like wild adventure and suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great reading with solid lessens for us all

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is sad that today there are people prying on children to use them for profit and sin.
It is good to read about helping the victims of these crimes in our Lords name.
Hard to put the book down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great thriller

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this story had me all in grips and worry. perfect combination inspired by amazing mystery and thriller. Enjoy!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good mix of suspense and romance. A good read

Date:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anne
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I really enjoyed this book. Well written. The author deals well with issues that the main characters face, as well as a nice mix of romance and the suspense. A few twists and turns as well.
Look forward to reading more by this author
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:December 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
AddLibrarian
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
’ve never read anything by Margaret Daley, but Saving Hope caught my eye because it’s about human trafficking. I'm so glad I tried it. Fantastic romantic suspense! Oh, and it's about Texas Rangers! Great writing about an important subject. I'm officially hooked!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Two Thumbs Way Up!

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
BooksByBarnes
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I began reading this book thinking--probably because it'd been a while since I read the book description--that this would be a historical. Surprisingly, it's a contemporary romantic suspense. And a very good one at that. This novel kept me hooked to the very end. The plot has plenty of twists and turns that just beg you to continue flipping pages and occasionally hold your breath. :) Beacon of Hope School director Kate Winslow and Texas Ranger Wyatt Sheridan are wonderful characters that you can't help but root for as they try to find a missing student who formerly escaped from a human trafficking organization.
I give this book two thumbs way up and five stars to boot. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
DeeJ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed the reading. Dealt with something that we all should be aware of. Made me stop and think this could be in my hometown.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!!!

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Trish Orgis
Location:Shiner, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book and can't wait to read the rest of the series...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GRIPPING

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
wonderwheel
Location:Mentor, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saving Hope is a tale of sadness, joy and intrigue. Characters are truly ones that you almost feel you know personally.
Wonderful writing from Margaret Dailey. She keeps you wanting to read more and more. Can't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good book

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nanny
Location:Cambridge, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. The characters were realistic and the storyline brought awareness to the plight of kids on the street and helped me to see them in a much more compassionate light. I was enthralled from beginning to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Winner by Margaret Daley

Date:July 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teresa M
Location:West Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saving Hope is the first book in Margaret Daley’s The Men of the Texas Rangers series. In this book Margaret delves into the horrors of human trafficking and child prostitution.
Kate Winslow is the Director of Beacon of Hope, a home for young girls who have been forced to sell their bodies. These girls usually have nowhere to go or no one that cares about them. After witnessing a childhood friend that was sold into prostitution and wanting to help her but couldn’t, Kate decided to spend the rest of her life helping young girls in similar situations.
Wyatt Sheridan, Texas Ranger, member of the Child Rescue Task Force, has seen horrors that no person should go through, much less children that are as young as thirteen. Wyatt is the single father of a beautiful fourteen year old daughter, Maddie, whom he is trying to keep close and safe since his wife was murdered when Maddie was a small child.
When one of the girls comes up missing along with one of the home’s vans, Kate doesn’t want to report it stolen because she knows that Rose must have had a good reason for taking it. Rose was doing so good, she was happy and content at Beacon of Hope, and she had no reason to want to go back to her old life. Will Kate be able to find Rose and help her before it’s too late?
When Wyatt Sheridan is called out to the scene of the murder of a young girl, he is determined to catch the animal that killed this little girl, who is about the same age as Maddie. Since a van from Beacon of Hope is found at the spot where the young girl was left, he starts his investigation there. Wyatt is very impressed with Kate Winslow, and he can see that her concern for these girls is real. There is something about her that makes him want to help her. In the years since his wife was killed he has never even thought about another woman. What is it about Kate that tugs at his heart? Will Wyatt be able to keep Kate and Maddie safe from the people that want to stop him at any cost?
Margaret did a wonderful job with this story, this is a very disturbing subject, children being used for horrible things, and it’s very heartbreaking to think about.
This was definitely a story that held you spellbound until the end because you wanted to see the criminals brought to justice. There are some twists that will surprise you. I can’t wait to read Shattered Silence, the second book in this new series.
Thanks to Abingdon Press for giving me a copy of this via NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

by far her best book

Date:April 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:Wellsvill, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love reading publishers descriptions and reviews of books. But I am getting a little disappointed. When I read some reviews, there is no need to purchase the book. They tell you the entire story. So this is my review. My mother loves this author because her books are good but in my case I think a little short and not a lot of real depth. This book totally took me by surprise in the best way. It was a great thriller. The story line was great with wonderful infornation about things that are really happening that so many of us close our eyes to. Even though it covered serious issues it was very enjoyable and entertaining to read. That is why I read. Every character was well developed and believable. The romance was not over the edge, just enough for me to enjoy. I say, buy it. I hope the rest if this series is as good because as soon as I see the next book, I am purchasing it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rick's Readings: Reviews from a Man's Perspective

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first book by Margaret Daley, I've seen her other books that she has published through the "Love Inspired" series, but none of those really caught my eye. This book, however, screamed at me,
"Rick, you have to read this book, it's about the MEN of the Texas Rangers!" Now, as you know, I'm doing these reviews from a "man's perspective" and that works out well, because I'm a man. And what better kind of book for a man to review than a book about the tough Texas Rangers!
Texas Ranger Wyatt Sheridan has settled into a good life in Texas. It's been 8 years since his wife was killed, so he shares the ranch with his mother and his teenage daughter, Maddie. Wyatt has a decent relationship with Maddie, they both love to ride their horses, but lately a wall has started building between them. His mother, on the other hand, is finished off with husband #3 and watching out for #4. It seems there are times when she's more of a hand ful then Maddie. Kate Winslow is the director of the Beacon of Hope School that assists teenage girls through court appointed intervention. She comes from the Winslow family of old money, but only the kind that donates, not the kind that actually gets in the trenches and makes a difference. This causes alot of friction between her and her mother as Kate wants to help these lost girls personally, not from a distance. First a van is stolen at the school and a girl goes missing, then another is killed after she left the school with her suspected pimp. Now, Kate's funding has been pulled from the Winslow Foundation. Will she have to close the school and turn the girls out? Can Wyatt help find the missing girl, is she even still alive? You know the rest, you'll have to read the book to find out :)
This was a tough sell for me. I've grown up with blinders on and find it uncomfortable to think that we live in society that could and would treat children, treat other humans, as these sex traffickers do. This story, though, paints a picture of what is happening daily around the world, and right here in the United States. The author has a page on her website specifically devoted to why she decided to write about this subject, check it out: Why I Wrote Saving Hope. The characters in this book, specifically the girls from Beacon of Hope all called out to me in desparation. These are teens who want a different life, who are searching for the missing piece. Margaret does a good job of displaying the faith of Kate, I truly wish she had done more to showcase it in dealing with the girls of Beacon of Hope. Their "missing" piece is a relationship with Him and He is the only one that can fill that void.
So is this a "man's book"? Most definitely yes. There is plenty of suspense, intrique and danger through out this book. The plot is very well defined and I'm sure that we can all see ourselves in the character of Wyatt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Keeps you intreged.

Date:May 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jod52
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book in a matter of hours. Suspense. You want to know what is happening with the characters. You also see life lessons for both parents and teens who need to communicate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I first opened this book , I actually thought it might have been a Western type novel but as I got stuck into it , it immediately drew me in as I love novels that push the boundaries of everyday Christian fiction and also the main setting of a home for wayward teens is something that I admire and I have a passion for one day working in one.
Saving Hope starts with a midnight call to Rose - a teen staying at the Beacon Hope Home from an old friend Lily , we discover from the phone call that Rose used to be involved in Prostitution and Drugs. The phone call ends up being a set-up as when Rose arrives , her old pimp King is waiting for her.
Meanwhile, Kate who runs the Beacon Hope is worried about Rose and hopes she hasn't returned to her old life , when Kate gets a phone call about their van which Rose took and the body of a dead girl , Kate's heart jumps that it may be Rose but alas it doesn't end up being her. Soon though , more girls turn up dead -ones that had connections to Rose. Enter Wyatt -the Texas Ranger , Can he and Kate work together to find Rose and save her before it;s too late and she too finds herself six feet under ?
A novel that shows to us that no matter who we are God still loves us and that there are others out there who still care for us even in the midst of danger.
A series that I am looking forward to continuing as I really enjoyed the way that Margaret touched on the Edgy topics at hand in the novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read!

Date:April 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kate runs Beacon of Hope School for girls who have been prostitutes. Her mom is not happy about it and when things start to go wrong at the school her mom who controls the funding for the school pulls it. Kate as to deal with the disappearance of one of the girls the death of another and the attempted suicide of a 3rd. The disappearance of the one girl ends up getting the Texas Rangers involved and soon Wyatt finds himself becoming found of Kate. He is also dealing with being a single parent to his 14 year old daughter. Will Kate and Wyatt find the leaders of the prostitution ring and save the girl as well as find love together? Read this great suspense romance to find out.
What I liked: I really enjoyed this book. Even though the subject and story line was in-depth it was very well written. I really liked Kate and felt bad that her mom did not see what a great thing her daughter was doing. Wyatt came across as a man still dealing with his wife's murder and also struggling to raise his 14 year old daughter. The characters where very real and likeable. The storyline kept me interested and turning pages as fast as I could.
What I did not like: There was not much I did not like. The subject of prostitution was kind of deep but the book was so well written and it was very eye opening to what it could be like.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Romantic Suspense dealing with difficult issues

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is not a story for the faint-hearted. Kate Winslow runs a shelter, Beacon of Hope, for teenage runaways, all of whom are ex-prostitutes. She is particularly attached to Rose, but Rose is missing. Wyatt Sheridan is a Texas Ranger who works on a task force fighting child prostitution. He is also the father of fourteen-year-old Maddie. Wyatt and Kate are drawn together when a dead teenaged girl is found near an abandoned white van that is registered to Beacon of Hope, and they must work together to find Rose before more girls go missing - or are found murdered. Meanwhile, Kate's funding is cut and they must fight a powerful enemy who seems to know more than they could.
As the story progresses, we meet a mysterious man known as King, who is behind the prostitution ring, and who will no doubt attempt to abduct Maddie. The tension builds as we try to work out who King might be... It is also apparent early on that King is getting inside information about the investigation, but it is unclear who is the source, giving the reader another mystery to ponder. But is King the kingpin in the illegal operation? Or is someone else pulling the strings?
At one point I thought I had identified King, but then that didn't fit. I was gratified to find at the end that some of my theories were correct, even if others were not, and it had the added bonus of a growing romance between Kate and Wyatt. The characters, particularly Kate, pray and speak of attending church, but this is not obtrusive nor does it feel 'preachy', which satisfied my desire for some Christian content in Christian fiction.
Overall, this was a sound romantic suspense novel that touched on some difficult issues in modern society. I know that many readers of Christian fiction prefer to avoid potentially disturbing issues such as these even though the difficult issues were addressed with a high degree of sensitivity, and no graphic language or imagery. Saving Hope was an engaging read that I anticipate will be enjoyed by fans of the genre. I would certainly read more books from Margaret Daley.
Thanks to Abingdon Press and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

*4½ stars*

Date:March 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Kate Winslow is running a home for girls who used to work as prostitutes, called Beacon of Hope. She’s giving the girls a place to live and heal. Wyatt Sheridan has been working on a team to expose a child prostitution ring. When Wyatt and Kate meet they discover that they have the same goal: to help the girls.
Rose is one of the girls that lives in Beacon of Hope. On a night she gets a phone call from Lilly - a girl who is still working as a prostitute. She needs help and Rose is taking Kate’s van to go to try to free Lilly. But things don’t go like she hoped and soon Rose is captured.
Wyatt comes to work on the case to find Rose. Kate and Wyatt often meet to talk things through. Wyatt didn’t expect to start feeling something for Kate. His wife was murdered 9 years ago and he never thought about searching for a new love in his life. His mother lives with him to take care of his 14 year old daughter Maddie. Maddie is trying to find her own way in life and gets into trouble. Wyatt’s mother is widowed and seeing a new boyfriend. Can the man be trusted?
Join Wyatt and Kate in their search for Rose. Will they find her again? And can they expose the prostitution ring?
Margaret Daley writes a story that is worth reading! She keeps the suspense high and the plot is well done.
*Thanks to Abingdon Press and NetGalley for providing me a free eBook for review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a favorite for 2012.

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This wasn't the first novel I've read by Margaret, but it is the first I've read in several years. I'm so glad I read this book. I found myself riveted to the story line and the characters. The tension was perfectly executed, in my opinion, because I couldn't stand it until I got to the end. But more than that, the ride compelled me to think about motivations and schemes and who could be behind everything. The fact that evil was so close to a number of main characters had me practically biting my nails at times. The faith element was balanced and clearly present without being too heavy handed. The progression of their spiritual journeys seemed natural to the characters' lives.
I loved the romantic thread in the story and found it to be warm enough to be yummy for romance lovers without taking away from the tension of the suspense portion of the story. I loved the hero and how he finally opened his heart and had to face his fears. I even liked how the author made a few of the "bad guys" seem like regular people at times. She made them seem more human, while still being dark in their nefarious intentions. They still did wrong, but I loved that they weren't one-dimensional and flat.
The heroine's mission to save children pulled into sexual slavery by predators was admirable, as was the hero's desire to fight for the same cause. The author writing about some of the miserable situations the girls living at Beacon of Hope suffered prior to their rescue in the story made me realize how more people need to step up and help rescue these children. I commend Margaret for opening my eyes to this scourge on society and writing about it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Saving Hope: Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1

Date:February 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saving Hope by Margaret Daley
Men of the Texas Rangers Book 1
Kate Winslow ran a home for girls who were taken out of prostitution, Beacon of Hope. She failed a friend once when she could not help her but she would give her all for these girls. When they find one of their vans and girls missing it starts a chain of events that eventually brings Wyatt Sheridan into Kate's life. Kate will stop at nothing to find Rose, a fifteen year old who truly wanted a new life and put anyone who needed help before herself. Which is most likely the reason she is now missing.
Wyatt was working on a team to break up a child prostitution ring. Things seem to fit together when something his team finds fits with a missing girl from Beacon of Hope. What Wyatt did not expect was to feel anything for a woman, after his wife's murder he didn't believe he'd ever love again but something about Kate tugged on the armor around him. Wyatt also has to deal with his fourteen year old daughter who wants to test her wings in a world that Wyatt knows is full of danger.
There are so many different things that happen in this book. Even though it's fiction it gives you a look into a world that is not fiction—child prostitution-- either runaways or others who are lured into it. A look into the life a lawmen and that things don't just fall together for them, especially when people fear for their lives. And how easily a charmer can fool a girl or woman by sweet talking and compliments. I personally enjoyed this book and will look forward to reading this series.
**Book received through Netgalley for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.