Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fox Faith End of the Spear, DVD

Fox Faith End of the Spear, DVD

When five young missionaries, among them Jim Elliot and Nate Saint, are speared to death by the Waodani in 1956, a series of miraculous events unfolds that changes the lives of the slain men's families and the Ecuadorian tribe they were attempting to befriend. Based on a true story of love and forgiveness. (PG-13). Approx. 111 minutes. This DVD includes fullscreen and widescreen versions.

Special Features:
  • 5.1 Surround
  • Embera/English
  • Subtitles in English, Spanish, and French
  • Closed-captioned
  • Region Code 1, NTSC
Average Customer Rating:
4.476 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
5
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for End of the Spear, DVD
Review 1 for End of the Spear, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
mt shopper
Location:Florence, MT
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have seen this movie before and am now glad to own it. It is very well made and true to life. I was 6 years old when this took place and I remember hearing about it and the ministry that continued there even after the death of these missionary men.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for End of the Spear, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touching story of sacrificial love.

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shirley
Location:New Bern, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the book years ago but had never watched the movie. I was not disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for End of the Spear, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A tremendous resource for witness.

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Scripture First
Location:St. John's, NL, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie is very well done. The content is accurate and helps viewers imagine the love these dedicated Christians had for Jesus, their neighbours, the unreached and for those seen by many as unloveable. A beautiful story of courage, faith, grace, forgiveness, true love and witness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for End of the Spear, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

suspenseful

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shamoo
Location:Woodstock ontario Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I twas a great movie. I would highly recommend it. No foul language. However the natives do have some partially bare bottoms but it portrays what it should. Tastefully done. Watch it and you won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for End of the Spear, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Story

Date:February 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
LouLou
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't hear about this movie until a few months ago a friend told me about it. I bought it then my husband and I watched it together and loved it. I cried a lot in the movie. It was so incredible how these families forgave the murders of their loved ones. My favorite quote in the movie was when Nate was talking to his son Steve. Steve ask his dad if he was going to kill the Waodani people and he said along the lines no because they are not ready for Heaven but we are. That is something I'm not going to forget and it has stuck with me. I passed this movie on to my family members and they all loved it as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for End of the Spear, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent family movie, with a great true story

Date:October 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dick
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
One of the best buys, anyone can make! A excellent movie for the entire family to sit and watch together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for End of the Spear, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karl F. Iv And M. A. Albrecht
This movie is unbelievably amazing and some Family members want to give it a 5 instead of 4.5. The love of Christ is strong throughout the whole story ... persecution ... yet forgiveness is at the forefront
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for End of the Spear, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mrs. Teri Lindberg
It was a sad but great movie. Got here fast too! Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for End of the Spear, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kimberley Milousis
An incredibly well-done movie with awesome scenery, great acting and a moving story-line. This movie has a presentation of the gospel and great truths woven throughout without being preachy. My 18 y.o. son, who is hard to please movie-wise, loved it, as did the rest of the family. An awesome addition to anyone's video collection!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for End of the Spear, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hannah
This movie was kinda disapointing for me. They seem to do a lot more on the Aucas than on the five missionaries. I wish that they had done more about the family life of the missionaries and also the whole thing about how Operation Auca started. I didn't likehow the man who played Nate Saint also played his son Steve Saint. All in all, I think it is a good movie with a good message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for End of the Spear, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Lilley
Thorough enjoyed and was challenged -- because it was so authentic. I was at Wheaton College just two years after the five missionaries were martyred, and felt like I knew them, because we were kept informed of the wives and families. And I read "Through Gates of Splendor" as soon as it came out, way back then! I thought Steve Saint did a good job! I recommend this DVD!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for End of the Spear, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Teresa Coffey
This was a great movie...I cried from about halfway through to the end...it was wonderful to see how God worked in the lives of the missionaries wives to reach these people, who were in all counts what we would consider to be barbaric...also shows what God can do through lives who are totally dedicated to Him and His work of bringing souls to Christ
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for End of the Spear, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lena Mc Dermott
Very well done. The subtitles are a little distracting, but they are necessary. Would recommend watching this one before seeing Beyond the Gates of Splendor. It helps to understand what's going on better in the Gates of Splendor. I enjoyed both of them. Makes you think about what you're doing with your own christianity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for End of the Spear, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chancellor Carlyle Roberts Ii
I've given this DVD as a gift to a few people and have my own copy. It's well worth watching. Show it to your church youth group or adult small group and inspire them to seek God regarding missions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for End of the Spear, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynn Vandenoever
It's amazing the sacrifices that were made by such dedicated christians & their families & then to see how the Lord worked through those sacrifices & love shown by the family members that were left behind.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for End of the Spear, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ms Barbara Gay
This true story is absolutely awe-inspiring. I was in High School when this tragedy occurred and often wondered about the families of these brave missionary men who lost their lives by the people they were trying to save. This story tell you (as Paul Harvey would say) the rest of the story. It is miraculous!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for End of the Spear, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Beverly
I loved this movie. The violence was hard to watch. Definatly not for young children. It was very inspirational and shows the true love of Christ. I plan to show this my movie to the class I teach on Handling loss and grief. It could not be better portrayed than in this movie. It surely follows the commands of Jesus to "Love not your lives even unto death".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for End of the Spear, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Very good movie. I do not like subtitles, but in this movie I was captivated by the story, it went along well. It being based on actual events is a plus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for End of the Spear, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan Hayford Wallen
Amazing true story that we will watch over again. Beautifully done for film. We especially loved the ending in the credits. A real plus for the rest of the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for End of the Spear, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stacy Lynch
This movie, to be honest with you, I did not care for at all. It was just too many sub titles, and I realize because of the nature of the movie, there had to be them, but too much of tribe killing each other, and not enough witnessing to the tribes. I guess maybe I am not expressing myself well but I did not want to see this movie more than once, however the part where the missionaries got killed was very sad and emotional.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.