Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Last Disciple - eBook

Tyndale House The Last Disciple - eBook

First-century Rome is a perilous city as Nero stalks the political circles and huddled groups of believers. To be safe, Christians must remain invisible.

Gallus Sergius Vitas is the only man within Neros trusted circle willing to do what it takes to keep the empire together. He struggles to lessen Neros monstrosities against the people of Romeespecially the Christians. But as three Greek letters are scrawled as graffiti throughout the city, Neros anger grows.

Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
7 out of 978%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Last Disciple - eBook
Review 1 for The Last Disciple - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The Last Disciple by Sigmund Brouwer and Hank Hanegraaff. I didn't like this book at all. I felt that they were trying too hard to show how much of the history that they knew in it. It basically just felt like they were trying to hard. First of all, explaning all the different Roman times made it confusing. Secondly, I felt that they delved a little too far into the depravity of the Roman Empire. I would not recommend this book and I didn't enjoy it at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Last Disciple - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
ReaderMom29
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't realize before reading The Last Disciple that this series was essentially written to offer an alternate perspective on The Left Behind series. This is a view that I lean towards based on my understanding of Scripture, and The Last Disciple offered further insight into how this view fits with the book of Revelation. Primarily, however, this suspenseful read encouraged me to be bolder in my faith and to recognize how blessed I am to be able to worship freely. I would highly recommend this book for greater insight on early Christianity and for a strengthening of one's faith. However, I would warn readers of two things: (1) this book is at times very hard to read because of the horrors of Nero's reign that are portrayed (it is definitely not suitable for children or young teens) and (2) the story ends abruptly, meaning you will need to the read the next two books to find any kind of conclusion (I am currently halfway through the second book).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Last Disciple - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great story

Date:July 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mark
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tyndale has put new covers on this series and re-published them. I didn't read them the first time around, but decided to give it a try this time around. I sat down to read the first book, The Last Disciple, last night, and wonder now why I waited so long to read these books.
The authors go with the idea that the Tribulation talked about in the book of Revelation has already happened in the first century when Nero was emperor. I don't agree with that premise, but I still enjoyed the book. The authors did a great job describing what happened and may have happened during that time period. I was pulled into the story and could almost see the streets of Rome and Jerusalem and other places they described.
The book was also sobering as it described what kind of person Nero was and how he persecuted the Christians. Although this would be classified as Historical Fiction, books like this should be a warning to Christians to be more careful about who they vote for, even in local elections, as this country is fast heading down the road to being anti-Christian.
I liked the characters in the book, and am looking forward to reading more about them in the next book in the series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Last Disciple - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A riveting, powerful tale!

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set in first-century Rome, The Last Disciple weaves together the stories of Gallus Sergius Vitas, a man within the inner circle of Emperor Nero, with the lives of Christians who are experiencing ever-greater persecution for their beliefs. Vitas has committed to serve justice equally for all, and is no longer able to stand by as Nero carries out horrific acts against Christian believers, or while other Roman rulers plunder and steal to their own benefit. Vitas sets out to Jerusalem to investigate the rule of Judea under Florus, the Roman procurator, and ends up witnessing first-hand the mistreatment of the Jews when Florus uses the Roman army to cover up his own abuses. When Vitas returns to Rome to give his report, it is discovered that he has married a Christian, a sect Nero has become increasingly focused on wiping out. Meanwhile, a divine prophecy has emerged from Jesus' last disciple, John, concerning a revelation he received, a revelation that appears to threaten Nero's reign. Nero's closest allies become consumed with deciphering the meaning of the prophecy, while events unfold that place Vitas' very life at risk, along with the lives of those he most holds dear.
Sigmund Brouwer and Hank Hanegraaff have woven a riveting tale, one that has been painted with vivid imagery and haunting details. The characters are well-fleshed out, with much to admire in such persons as Vitas or Sophia or the last disciple, John, but also characters who are so sinister that I shudder to imagine that they actually existed. The historical setting of Rome under the rule of Emperor Nero, combined with his ruthless persecution of Christians, makes for a compelling read, equally entertaining and disturbing at the same time. As I read, I was envisioning the Christians being mauled in the arena by animals or being hung in the city streets and lit on fire, and I found my own faith stirred and inspired by the experiences of the Christians who lived so courageously at that time. I loved the richness that this book brings to details of the Bible, and I am amazed that they were able to take passages of the Bible and debates about prophecies foretold by Jesus in the gospels or by his disciple John in the book of Revelation, and weave these elements into a tale of gripping suspense. Although not all readers may resonate with the stance on prophecy and end times that this book takes, I think that it serves as an excellent alternative to books like the Left Behind series, and it is sure to make you think. Regardless of your beliefs, the book is extremely well-written, fast paced and entertaining, and will give you a greater appreciation for what Christians experienced at the time of the writing of the book of Revelation. The conclusion is powerful and literally had me racing to the last page.
I highly recommend this book and award it 5 out of 5 stars. I can't wait to read the second book in the series!
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Tyndale, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Last Disciple - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Different Take on Revelation

Date:June 22, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The post-script of this book compares it to the Left Behind Series by Tim LaHaye and Jerry Jenkins, and with good reason. Both are based on the prophecies in the book of Revelation, and offer very different interpretations. While Left Behind tells the story of Revelation literally in the near future, the Last Disciple offers a more symbolic understanding nearly 2000 years ago.
That being said, the story line spins itself out by following ex-soldier Gallus Sergius Vitas as he pursues rumors and unrest throughout the Roman Empire at Nero's bidding. On the way he picks up a variety of allies, stumbles onto multiple intrigues, and manages to increase his number of enemies in the quest to find out the truth behind the movement of Christ-followers.
I am giving this book four stars for its fresh take on eschatology, the effort made by the authors to turn-out high quality writing, and the promise of a new Christian series that I can enjoy repeatedly. An obvious amount of thought and research was spent collecting details, facts, and figures to provide the setting. As a prolific reader (500+ books/year), this novel has a higher level of quality and enjoyability than many others I have stumbled across.
An adventure tale of sorts, the novel was interesting and well written enough for me to finish it in a single sitting, but not quite compelling enough to have me begging for the sequel. Some of the plot-line conclusions were easily discernible from the first introduction, but the confusion I had in deciphering the latin-based chaptering (despite the table in the front of the book) was enough to keep me guessing. There is a fair amount of gore, including accurate descriptions of torture and cruelty to Christians pervasive in the Roman Empire during this period. For these scenes alone, if the novel was filmed as written, it would probably receive a heavy PG-13 for disturbing depictions of suicide, infanticide, and torture. No sex, no language, and because the violent scenes are in words and not pictures, they manage to add to the context and drama of the plot while not significantly making a realistic visual impact.
This was a very dark novel. I cannot recall any major humorous moments; the only light parts are where the characters' faith shine through the despair and bloodshed. If this is what the authors intended, then they succeeded.
I would recommend this novel to readers who are comfortable with 'heavy' literature, readers who enjoy ancient Rome, and readers who enjoy wondering about the prophecies in Revelation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Last Disciple - eBook
This review is fromThe Last Disciple, The Last Disciple Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thoroughly enjoyed this storyline.

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Big Mom
Location:Ingleside, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First in this series and I was immediately hooked. Went right to the second in the series and am waiting in anticipation for the third book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Last Disciple - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gripping Page Turner

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
hulamonkey30
Location:Ottawa, ON Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"First-century Rome is a perilous city as Nero stalks the political circles and huddled groups of believers. To be safe, Christians must remain invisible. Gallus Sergius Vitas is the only man within Nero’s trusted circle willing to do what it takes to keep the empire together. He struggles to lessen Nero’s monstrosities against the people of Rome—especially the Christians. But as three Greek letters are scrawled as graffiti throughout the city, Nero’s anger grows. As the early church begins to experience the turbulence Christ prophesied as the beginning of the last days, an enemy seeks to find John’s letter, Revelation, and destroy it. Meanwhile the early Christians must decipher it and cling to the hope it provides as they face the greatest of all persecutions." (Publisher's Description)
I bought this book on a whim because it was in the clearance section at the local christian book store and loved it so much I went back and got the second book as well. The Last Disciple takes place during the Roman Empire and the rule of Nero. A time when first century Christians were hunted down for their faith and sent to the arena as public entertainment. I found it very hard to put the book down especially when reading of the scenes in the arena. The faith of those sent to the lions because of the gospel gave me goosebumps. Without giving too much away, I will say there is a scene in the end that brought me to tears. A true example of laying down ones life for another. The novel ends with a few unanswered questions that made me glad I had rushed back and bought the second book. I highly recommend this book to any one who enjoys historical fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Last Disciple - eBook
This review is fromThe Last Disciple, The Last Disciple Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

So I'm Not Alone

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
LaVahn Tate
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I am always amazed at how people see things so differently. But I am glad to know that I am not the only one who was disappointed with this book. I too wanted to put it down badly but had invested too much time into reading it not to find out if it would get any better. And it did. It did get a little interesting 3/4 of the way through but overall, I would not recommend it to anyone simply b/c of how difficult the beginning chapters are to get through. Good effort but it shows that the authors are not natural fiction writers.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Last Disciple - eBook
This review is fromThe Last Disciple, The Last Disciple Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Last Disciple is a detailed, horrific look at what the 1st century Christians endured under the reign of the Roman Empire. The players are many, so at times you need a reminder of who's who. While each individual is important, at times it seems like you lose some characters and don't hear about them again. For that reason the tapestry of this novel seems to have some loose threads. The end of the story is kind of a cliff-hanger, so you wouldn't feel satisfied unless you bought the sequel. Its an exciting read, but mildly frustrating wondering whatever happened to some of the main characters. Stay tuned for a review of the sequel!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Last Disciple - eBook
This review is fromThe Last Disciple, The Last Disciple Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
jo
Even though the book has many characters and was hard to keep track of all of them, especially since I did the CD version of the book, so I didn't see names of characters introduced, the book was very entertaining, and very well-told. I'm actually enjoying it more the second time around than the first as I am more familiar with the characters and their relationship to each other. It also helps to make notes of characters introduced and their character and relations to the other characters, as there are many and some are not mentioned as often as others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Last Disciple - eBook
This review is fromThe Last Disciple, The Last Disciple Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
Adam
Not so sure why this book has received relatively poor marks to this point. Of course, if one has a theological bias towards an alternative eschatology, then I can understand the serious threat this book and series poses to dispensational premillenialism (Left Behind, Tim LaHaye & Jerry Jenkins)- the most common view held today in protest denominations. The Bible Answer Man (Hank Hanegraaff) and Sigmund Brouwer do a masterful job in painting a first-century picture. This is a page-turner from beginning to end. The multiple story lines are suspenseful and gripping. It was so well written that it seemed like I had actually met some of the characters before. I recommend this book to all that are having trouble dealing with the prophetic passages in Scripture mainly because it sheds critical light on interpreting Scripture in light of Scripture.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Last Disciple - eBook
This review is fromThe Last Disciple, The Last Disciple Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2005
Customer Avatar
LG
I liked the fact that there are several plots interwoven with twists and turns you can't predict. It is riveting and suspensful. Because it is written as a series, there is no "happily ever after" ending but one that leaves you anticipating the next book. A very good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Last Disciple - eBook
This review is fromThe Last Disciple, The Last Disciple Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2005
Customer Avatar
Shane Garrison
This book really let me down. I was captivated by the concept of the book after hearing the "Bible Answer Man" broadcast detailing the new work. I bought and read it within a week of the radio show. While I did push through to the end, I was so disappointed that I really would have chosen to toss it out. But spending $20 on a book is a huge investment, so I tried my best to finish it. I would not recommend this book to anyone else. I hope the rest of the series is better written, more interesting, and more compelling.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Last Disciple - eBook
This review is fromThe Last Disciple, The Last Disciple Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2005
Customer Avatar
David R. Bess
I read this book thinking it would be on the level of one of the "Left Behind" end-times thrillers. While the theology is a refreshing change from the works of LaHaye and Jenkins, the writing quality is surprisingly poor. The plot rambles through the first three-quarters of the book, with ancient Roman names abounding and no real story unfolding. The pace does quicken at the end, but there is no real point made other than the Beast of Revelation being Nero.After reading this title, there is still a need for a top-notch, end-times thriller that presents an "Exegetical Eschatology" (a term mentioned in the author's afterword). The effort here is commendable, but the end result earns only two stars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Last Disciple - eBook
This review is fromThe Last Disciple, The Last Disciple Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2005
Customer Avatar
Mike
A captivating, well told story. My wife and I enjoyed talking about the intrigue and plot twists. I highly recommend this book for an enjoyable read. This book will surprise you by what it is not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.