Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Abducted - eBook

Tyndale House Abducted - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 out of 1694%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Abducted - eBook
Review 1 for Abducted - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Abducted

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Police officer Carly Edwards loves her job and everything is going right. Then a baby is kidnapped and Carly has to find him before it's too late.
I thought this book was very good. The author is a retired police officer so the storyline is well done and fast paced. I look forward to the last book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Abducted - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Crime fighting at it's best

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Abducted: 2 {Pacific Coast Justice} by Janice Cantore
This book is a Christian crime fiction. It is action packed, fast paced and full of inspiration. Carly patrol partner Joe’s baby is abducted. When Joe’s wife and son are admitted to the hospital baby AJ is kidnapped. The kidnapper has ties to their burglary case they were working on. During the investigation they discover bigger crimes. Carly is a new Christian who divorced her ex husband after his infidelity. Nick and Carly are trying to piece their lives and marriage back together. They face issues of forgiveness, trust, and being able to communicate with each other. The author’s faith really comes through in this book. The characters struggles inspire the readers to take a closer look at their own faith issues. They experience real life conflict many Christian are faced with. Janice Cantore uses her experience as a police officer to give readers a first hand view of police protocol. We are given glimpses of the danger policemen and women face on a daily bases. If you like mystery, suspense and a little romance then this is the book for you. I highly recommend it and can’t wait to read another in this series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Abducted - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
plm6846
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book like its predisessor was excellent. Characters believable and situations keept one interested until the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Abducted - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love All the Police Drama!

Date:March 27, 2013
Abducted is another solid read from Janice Cantore. The suspense / mystery elements were strong. I was so curious as to how the various cases were going to pull together in the end. I was just sure they would! I think I liked Carly better in this novel than in the first one ... maybe because I felt like she'd grown quite a bit and her faith really shined through. The romance was a little "light" in this as Nick and Carly are still navigating their rocky relationship, but I thought the relationship itself was interesting. Fans of mystery / suspense / police procedurals will surely enjoy Abudcted! [4.5 stars]
I was not asked to review this book. I offer my review freely. All opinions expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Abducted - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read!

Date:November 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love Janice Cantore's first book in this series. And this second book didn't disappoint. I couldn't put the book down! I love reading suspense/mystery novels and this was definitely one of my favorites! Looking forward to #3!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Abducted - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
bacw
Location:Murfreesboro, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book 2 in this series doesn't disappoint, looking forward to book 3.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Abducted - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rudy Lady
Location:Rudy, Arkansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really loved this book and book one also. Very compelling and believable. Loved the story line of both books, can't wait for book number 3. Loved Carly's character. These are the first books I have read by Janice Cantore and I am looking forward to more books by her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Abducted - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Forgiveness Story Refreshing

Date:September 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Carly Edwards and Joe King are police partners, on the graveyards patrol shift, when they get the call that Joe's wife and infant son have been admitted to the hospital. While the doctors are still figuring out what's wrong with his wife, his son is Abducted directly from the pediatric wing of the hospital. Even as Carly tries to solve the kidnapping, she's also dealing with her ex-husband and their relationship that was looking towards reconciliation, while another man in her life begins to show interest in her. Additionally, her roommate seems to be distancing herself from Carly, and becomes agitated at Carly's new found Christianity. How will Carly deal with all of these relationship issues while trying to help her partner get his family back together and to solve a crime that's bigger than any of them imagined?
Abducted is the second book in the Pacific Coast Justice series, written by Janice Cantore, a retired Long Beach police officer. While this book can certainly stand alone as a novel, there were numerous references to incidents in Carly's past, as well as several other characters, that I can only imagine were detailed in the previous book. This book would have flowed as a story, for me anyway, without so many of those references. Most of the past crimes referenced didn't have a bearing on this story and only served as distractions instead of helping the story along.
The deepest part of the story was that of Carly and Nick's path of forgiveness and new beginnings. It was refreshing to read a book where, even though hurtful mistakes had been made and forgiveness wasn't easy, or even understandable by most of the people who knew them, they worked at their relationship and prayed for renewal.
Other than the forgiveness storyline, I found the book just okay. I give it 2.5 stars, rounded down to 2 stars.
I received a copy of this book for free from Tyndale House Publishers, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Abducted - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jved267
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally back on patrol, Carly looks forward to being back with her partner, Joe. When Joe's wife ends up in the hospital with unexplained symptoms, their 4 month old baby is admitted for observation. As Joe's wife improves, the baby goes missing. Carly gets reassigned to homicide to help with the missing person case and she sees even more of her ex, who is still recovering from being shot in the first book. Also, her friendship with the reporter Alex gets interesting when he reveals his desire to date her. Will they find the baby alive and well or will the baby's death be their next investigation? Will things work out with her ex-husband or should she consider dating her reporter friend instead?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Abducted - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Sequel!

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Abducted is the second book to the Pacific Coast Justice Series. After reading the first to this series, Accused, I was long awaiting this next book. Janice not only continued on with the characters that we grew found of, she added continual suspense and action to keep one reading. I was very satisfied with this book.
The plot was so riveting and fast it was a blast to read. If you like a fast paced book, Abducted is for you. I enjoyed the Christian aspects to the story. We are able to grow in our "relationship" with Carly, as she grows in her walk with the Lord. The series finds her a coldhearted, hurting, against everything having to do with Christianity type of woman. It was actually nice to see how she changes dramatically in this book.
The writing was engaging, but sometimes all the legal and police officer talk was quite difficult to understand. I found myself skipping over the words I do not know, then figuring out the meaning a couple of pages later. Do not get me wrong the terminology was actually enjoyable, and different, but sometimes it was too confusing.
Since the story was called Abducted I was more focused on the actual return of the baby, so when that was over, I somewhat lost interest in the book. This book is not like Accused in the fact that, Accused kept me in suspense and was action filled to the very end. Overall this was a great read, and I am looking forward to reading the conclusion to this series. I give Abducted a 4 out of 5.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Abducted - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not disappointed!

Date:August 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:Upstate SC
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
J. Cantore's previous Brinna Caruso series was good, BUT I despise cursing, euphemistic or real, superfluous violence and gratuitous sex stuff.
In this series, there is only one instance in Accused and none in Abducted. Whether it was Ms. Cantore's or the editors' decision to clean up the language - THANK YOU! Now I can freely give this 4 1/2 stars. (No five because there is always SOMETHING the author wishes had been done differently [and in their opinion: better]. Way to go!
As far as other reviewers' words re. the witnessing or Christian input (preachiness?). Individuals do things differently in real life, so why not in books? Usually I find something that makes me think, I'll remember that and approach it that way some time myself?
Let me also say that I read the preview for Avenged. I do hope that there is nothing more gory than that scene in Avenged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Abducted - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Realistic!

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Always striving to be one step ahead of the criminals, the Las Playas police force sometimes find keeping the streets safe can be a challenging feat indeed.
Carly Edwards is in a complicated relationship with ex husband Nick who cannot decide what part he has in the outcome of their situation.
Carly's police officer partner Joe King loves being a dad to four month old AJ. When his wife Christy is admitted into the hospital AJ goes missing. Set on high alert time is critical and the danger is mounting. Will AJ be saved in time?
Abducted is like a realistic police action drama movie but on the written page. With never a dull moment this book offers lots of twists, turns and surprises to delight and satisfy action and intrigue fans. Kept me entertained while turning the pages, and was highly suspenseful and tense until the ending. This well written hard to put down book sports well developed and engaging characters, smooth flowing plot and easy to follow dialogue. Although it is part of a series the book can stand on its own without reading the first one. I will recommend this novel to others. 4.5 stars. Thanks to Tyndale House Publishers for providing me with a complimentary copy for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Abducted - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Mystery Thriller Kidnapping

Date:August 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janice Cantore in her new book, “Abducted” Book Two in the Pacific Coast Justice series published by Tyndale House Publishers brings us another adventure with Detective Carly Edwards.
From the Back Cover: After solving the mayor’s murder and exposing corruption among the top brass in Las Playas, Carly Edwards is happy to be back on patrol with her partner, Joe, putting bad guys behind bars. For once, everything in life seems to be going right.
But then everything starts going wrong. Slow to recover from an injury, her ex-husband, Nick, begins pulling away just as they were starting to get close again. Meanwhile, when Joe’s wife lands in the hospital with a mysterious illness, their baby is kidnapped. As Carly chases down every lead in a desperate search to find the baby, her newfound faith is pushed to its limits.
Get ready for excitement as Carly Edwards runs into the FBI and a kidnapping that’s personal. Someone broke into the hospital while Joe’s wife was being looked after and kidnapped their son. Ms. Canore is a retired Long Beach California police officer of 22 years. She did what she now makes Carly do and her experience shines through the pages. “Abducted” is a thriller with all kinds of excitement and danger. It is also a romance as Carley and, her ex, Nick are trying to reconcile their relationship and work out their new faith together. Janice Cantore knows how to weave a captivating story with wonderful characters that breathe. I enjoyed reading this book and look forward to the next book from Ms. Cantore in this series.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to www.kingdomhighlights.org where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station www.kingdomairwaves.org
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Abducted - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It was okay

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tash
Location:canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book was a well written story about a woman named Carly Edwards. The book takes us through her journey as a police officer. All through the book the chase is on to help save her partner's baby boy who was kidnapped. There are all kinds of twists and turns along the way. It also tells the story of her faith and her struggles with her ex husband and a possible reconcillation with him.
I liked this book okay. I hadn't realized that it was a second book in a series so I was a bit confused sometimes when the author referenced things that had happened in the previous book. It wasn't the kind of book that I couldn't put down and when I did pick it up, it took me a few pages to get back into it. I'd definitely recommend reading the first book first! It was a great casual read but probably not something that I would buy the whole series for.
This book was sent to me by Tyndale Publishing for purpose of review. I am not required to provide a positive review, just my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Abducted - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Abducted

Date:August 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Abducted is the second of the Pacific Coast Justice Series by Jancie Cantore and she has another winner in this book. I loved her first book and was blessed to get this one to read also.
If you did not read the first book-still pick this up. She retells snippets of the characters in the first book so you will be up to speed throughout this book.
Loved the continuation of Carly's and Nick's story and God's mercy and grace in that situation-need to read the story to see what I mean. Carly is a patrol officer in Las Playas with her partner Joe fighting crime. Joe's wife is taken to the hospital with a mysterious illness along with his four month old baby. The baby is taken from the hospital and Carly hunts for the abductor. She follows leads, gets close, then people are killed. The storyline takes you from one culprit to another and you think they will never find the baby or who stole him. There is also wonderful gospel messages throughout the book and how Carly tries to witness to her roommate. Love that part in any Christian book.
Since Janice Cantore is a former cop-her stories are alive with superb character development and the story lines are ones she dealt with one the street. Can't wait for number three to read more about Nick and Carly.
Thank you Tyndale for this free copy just for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Abducted - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review from a Man's Perspective

Date:July 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book in the "Pacific Coast Justice" series by Janice Cantore. I had already read the first book, "Accused" and hounded Ms. Cantore to let me read "Abducted" and post a review about it. Since I'm such a great reviewer ( a legend in my own mind), she graciously accepted my request.
Carly is back and still getting the feel for her new christian body that she put on in the last book. Her relationship with Nick is improving, but there is still some friction between them. Carly is out patroling with her partner when they get a call to head to the hospital. They find out that her partner's wife and 4-month old baby have been taken to the hospital and his wife is unconscious. While they are tending to his wife, his son is taken upstairs for precaution. Overnight, the unthinkable happens. His son is kidnapped right out of the hospital. Thus begins a never ending search to find her partner's son, all the while tending to her relationship with Nick. Along the way, Carly stumbles upon an FBI surveillance on a person of interest in the baby kidnapping case. Nick begins pushing her away and reporter Alex is beginning to lend a supportive ear to her friendship. Her roommate is suspended for her role in the kidnapping, and now she's moving out on Carly. Do they find the baby? Will Andrea really move out? What's going on with Nick? What is Alex's angle in this? How in the world does ICE get involved? Where is the God that she has so recently been placing all of her faith in? WHEW! If that's not enough to get you interested in this series, you have some serious problems!
Ms. Cantore does a great job with her character of Carly. For Carly to be such a young Christian, she sure puts her faith in action. I love that Carly has such intimate discussions with God as she attempts to make sense of the things that are happening around her. I also enjoyed seeing how she molded the relationship between Carly and Nick throughout this book. Their relationship was definitely on a roller coaster as he struggled to deal with his injury and what it means for his future. The police procedures are so realistic, I appreciate it when an author does all of the extra research that gives me a little bit of knowledge and learning, all while I'm enjoying a book. The dilemmas that the characters get themselves into are all settled in believable ways. For example, the simple fact that she had the character of Joe shown as struggling between being out there looking for his son and being at the hospital to care for his wife was very believable. She gave him the solution of staying with his wife and trusting that his friends on the force would find his son. That's a great character trait that should be followed!
Is this a "guy's book"? There's no question about it. This book has police chases, arson, car wrecks, FBI, human trafficking, etc. If you would ever want adventure and intrigue, this book and series is definitely for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.