Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook

Tyndale House Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook

Raised in an exclusive boarding school among Fifth Avenue's finest, Meg Davenport has all she's ever needed . . . but none of the things she's wanted most, like family, or dreams of a future that includes anything other than finding a suitable match. So when her distant father dies, she seizes the chance to throw etiquette aside and do as she pleases. Especially when she learns that John Davenport wasn't the wealthy businessman she thought, but one of the Gilded Age's most talented thieves.
Average Customer Rating:
4.074 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
0
22 out of 2781%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook
Review 1 for Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meg Davenport has everything she needs in the way of material possessions, but the one thing she wants she will never have. Raised in an exclusive school for young ladies, she has no family except for a father she never sees. Having given up her girlhood fantasies of running away long ago, she has resigned herself to a future of disappointments, disillusionment, and the death of every dream she's ever had.
But when her father dies, she wants to break every rule she's ever been made to follow. Determined to fully explore her new freedom exactly as she pleases, she discovers things about her father that fail to make up for the lack of his presence in her life. Discovering that John Davenport was one of the Gilded Age's most talented thieves does not dissuade her from hatching a master plan with Ian Maguire, the boy her father raised into a man very much like himself. Will they be able to pull off the biggest heist of Ian's career, or are they both reaching too high, too far, and too fast? Will they loose everything for the sake of trying to prove their worth to the people around them?
I had no idea what to expect in this book. I knew there was going to be thieves involved, and that alone piqued my interest. Lang is a new author for me, and I was pleasantly surprised to find this lovely novel was full of adventure, excitement, and even a little bit of romance. Meg never comes across as a stuck up or snotty; but a girl waiting to emerge from her life of privilege and truly grow up. Granted, she has quite a few misadventures along the way, but Lang weaves a tale that brings enough thrills to keep you riveted to it's pages till the very end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Stick with this to the end!

Date:November 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
CurledUpWithaBook
Location:The Maritimes
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I found the first half of this book dragged a bit but I couldn't put it down for the second half. It always amuses me to see how 'proper' society lived in those days. The book included some very interesting characters and I especially loved the way the Pemberton family dealt with each other when someone went against the rules - deciding to extend grace or mercy - or to punish in some way. This book portrayed the good and bad sides of life and the importance of making wise choices. There was a mixture of adventure, romance and suspense and a clear understanding of God's grace, mercy and love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cathy Allen
Location:Dennison, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have read some other books by this author that I really enjoyed. The description of the story line sounded interesting but I was disappointed. I had to make myself finish the book as it just did not capture my interest. It was too long in my opinion. I will try other books by this author but this one just was not as good as her Great War series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Nice Read

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
AJH
Location:CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love Maureen Langs books and have really enjoyed her writing. This book wasn't at the top of my list of hers. I personally wasn't a fan of the main character's attitude, but given what she went through, you could sort of understand. I had our book club read it and they were "ok" with it as well. So it is ok to be used in a book club. Some will enjoy it more than others. The ending was very nice as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enchantingly enjoyable...

Date:May 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jen Pen
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SUMMARY:
Meg Davenport, a student at Madame Marisse’s exclusive boarding school, longs to be included, loved and part of her father’s life. At his death, she learns who her father truly was and wonders if she might possess the same innate qualities to be a Gilded Age thief. Ian Maguire, a handsome rouge, plans to continue where Meg’s father left off but finds himself torn between using Meg’s high societal influence and protecting Meg from herself. Involved in a dangerous plot, Meg finds herself growing in her faith, her love and what truly matters most in life.
A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
This book grabbed my attention from the cover, the title and then the first page. It is fast-paced, dangerously adventurous and enchantingly enjoyable. As the main character, it was interesting to watch Meg grow from a pampered, sheltered young woman into a faith-based, conscientious mature person. Full of precarious situations, suspenseful confrontations, historical encounters and even a little bit of romance, I truly loved this book from beginning to end.
Maureen Lang was a new author for me but will definitely be a repeat one. I already have the next book in the Gilded Age Legacy Series, All in Good Time!
RATING:
5 (out of 5) pennies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Location:Summerfield, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meg Davenport has everything she needs in the way of material possessions, but the one thing she wants she will never have. Raised in an exclusive school for young ladies, she has no family except for a father she never sees. Having given up her girlhood fantasies of running away long ago, she has resigned herself to a future of disappointments, disillusionment, and the death of every dream she's ever had.
But when her father dies, she wants to break every rule she's ever been made to follow. Determined to fully explore her new freedom exactly as she pleases, she discovers things about her father that fail to make up for the lack of his presence in her life. Discovering that John Davenport was one of the Gilded Age's most talented thieves does not dissuade her from hatching a master plan with Ian Maguire, the boy her father raised into a man very much like himself. Will they be able to pull off the biggest heist of Ian's career, or are they both reaching too high, too far, and too fast? Will they loose everything for the sake of trying to prove their worth to the people around them?
I had no idea what to expect in this book. I knew there was going to be thieves involved, and that alone piqued my interest. Lang is a new author for me, and I was pleasantly surprised to find this lovely novel was full of adventure, excitement, and even a little bit of romance. Meg never comes across as a stuck up or snotty; but a girl waiting to emerge from her life of privilege and truly grow up. Granted, she has quite a few misadventures along the way, but Lang weaves a tale that brings enough thrills to keep you riveted to it's pages till the very end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This was an enjoyable story

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
PharmD
Location:Johnston,SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this story. The characters were lovable and I was touched by the Pemberton's faith. We would all do well to strive for such an unwavering faith. However, I did feel that at times the book was a little too drawn out and wordy. In spite of that this really was a great book and I would highly recommend it to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tracy
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I very much enjoyed "Bees in the butterfly garden" as dispicable as the acts were (that the main characters were doing) it was hard not to like the characters themselves. They were easy to like and showed a lot of depth.
Meg Davenport was raised in a boarding school, with very little contact with the only family she had left (her father). When he passes away suddenly Meg feels that she has no reason to stick around the school any longer. As she travels out to her father's home she discovers that he isn't the man she thought him to be. Involved in the illegal aspects of life, her father had set up a lifestyle for himself that he didn't want her to be a part of. As Meg discovers more about her father she tries to fill the spot he left behind, and finds herself in some very dangerous situations!
The book is a great read and has a fantastic ending, I highly recommend it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A unique novel

Date:September 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was attracted to this novel mostly be the title, Bees in the Butterfly Garden. I have read a few novels by Maureen Lang, so I knew I was in for a treat. The main subject matter in this novel, did not, in fact, involve a lot about butterflies as we think of those pretty flowers with wings, or flower gardens, though these subjects were in the background of this novel. Instead, the bees seems to refer to the lifestyle of Ian, who was a protege of Meghan's dad in his occupation, and the garden is where he pursued his occupation.
It is definitely a novel or unique plot, and I enjoyed the twists and turns as well as the superb word paintings. While reading this, and also as I think about the novel now, I am more appreciative of the heritage my parents handed down to me.
Although it probably was because of the message the novel brought out, I would have loved to learn more about Meg's mothers heritage, and why or how Meg ended up in the circumstances she originally found herself. All in all, this was a very enjoyable, light-hearted read with deeper thoughts interspersed.
This book was read and reviewed for Tyndale's Summer Reading Program. This is an honest, unpaid for review, and the opinions are my own.
This book is available where ever great novels are sold.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bees in the Butterfly Garden a delightful excursio

Date:September 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bees in the Butterfly Garden
by Maureen Lang
Meg Davenport has lived most of her life in an exclusive boarding school. But when word comes that her father - John Davenport has died, Meg realizes that she will never get the opportunity to get to know her father. But when she goes to her father's funeral she is shocked to learn that her father is not the independently wealthy gentleman she always been lead to believe but instead a successful thief who charmed the wealthy out of their money.
Feeling that she can no longer play the role of proper lady with her newly discovered heritage, Meg determines to follow in her father's footsteps. But Ian Maguire, raised by John, is determined to keep Meg out of the world her father wanted to protect her from.
Meg offers to help her father's acquaintances acquire information about a wealthy family to whom she has connections. But her determination endangers her in more ways than she can possibly imagine. When she manages to get an invitation to visit, she takes up residence under the guise of redesigning the family's garden.
But Meg's intended target is a family of deep faith and belief. Will this influence change Meg before it is too late and she has irreparably set her life course? As Meg and Ian grow closer will they allow greed and excitement to cloudy them to what they both truly desire? Or will God touch their hearts in time to save them from themselves?
Bees in the Butterfly Garden is a story of redemption and mercy. I found this to be a delightful and entertaining story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Story line is for young women

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Big Mom
Location:Ingleside, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meg's character and story line is for young women. Character was headstrong and willful. Looking for love that she didn't feel she ever received from her father.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bees in the Butterfly Garden

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ma Ingalls
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bees in the Butterfly Garden
Raising the bar in fiction, Bees in the Butterfly Garden explores the concepts of grace, mercy, and justice.
Need a light read with deep spiritual theology, read this book.As a reader, I am reminded of Bonhoeffer's concept (especially) of 'costly grace'. The author has a way with words (lyrical and poetic) and uses beautiful Christ imagery throughout the book.
Bees in the Butterfly Garden explores the wayward heart and the broken past of the sinner.It is the story of Meg, how her father ensures her a better life and how she attempts to undo his efforts by falling back into his sinful legacy. This book screams the message of a different future, a life full of forgiveness.
Bees in the Butterfly Garden seizes the heart. It breaks rank and asks the reader to reflect on their own sin and betrayal, determine how their sin has affect others, breaks trust, ruins relationships and desires a restored relationship with the Father.
Bees is the Butterfly Garden is determined to get under the reader's skin and into the heart. I invite you to read this book for yourself.
Posted by Ma Ingalls at 6:41 PM Email ThisBlogThis!Share to TwitterShare to Facebook
Older Post Home
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

bees in the garden review

Date:August 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"Bees in the Butterfly Garden" by Maureen Lang centers around Meg, the daughter of a thief and con-artist who has been raised by elite boarder schools and their matrons. She had no relationship with her father to speak of and now he has died. Ian, an Irish immigrant, was raised and trained by Meg's father to be a thief as well. Meg is unaware of her father's career. When her father dies, she goes to his home and discovers his secrets. She decides to prove her worth to his band of thieves, a sort of pre twentieth century mafia. Needless to say, she doesn't have the stomach for it.
I didn't especially like this book. It was incredibly predictable. A little boring and wordy. Not a bad book really, but I wasn't hanging in on their every word. I received this book for free from Tyndale Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A Historical Romance Novel

Date:August 21, 2012
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meg Davenport has been raised to live the life of the upperclass. Placed in an exclusive boarding school for most her life, she has been taught all the intricacies of etiquette and introduced to the best families in New York society. Then her father dies, a man who Meg barely saw while growing up, and whom she resents for abandoning her in a school with more rules than parental affection. So Meg decides to leave the sheltered life she's always known on a journey of self discovery into her father's world. On the way, she discovers more than she bargained for, meets people she hadn't realized existed, and comes to a new understanding of love, forgiveness, mercy, and grace.
Unfortunately, this book fell short in several areas for me. Character development for one. Yes, its okay for our heroine to protest that she feels no grief over her father's death, but that just isn't how the human heart works. Children who deal with abandonment generally have more grief and anger to work through than their normal counterparts, not less. Meg just skims the surface of her emotions before becoming engrossed in her new life, and what should have colored the whole book and added a new layer of depth to her growing understanding of love, forgiveness, and all that comes across shallow. Also, the love of her life often comes across effeminate. Men just don't think/behave like sheltered eighteen year old girls think they will, and Meg's boyfriend meets every young girl's expectations - right down to the occasional chin stubble.
Another place this fell short was in plot. The whole thing can be summed up like this: Sheltered girl turns to underworld for entertainment and after initial foray decides she'd rather be a Christian. If that sentence counts as a spoiler, then I'm sorry, but there really isn't much more to chew on. Sub plots were underdeveloped, so I never really did understand all that was going on with Meg's friends or the rest of the underworld characters she was rubbing shoulders with. Some parts were down right confusing, as in "Now whose side is he on?", and others were just unbelievable. My credulity has limits, and this book pushed them just a little too far.
The writing itself was tolerable, and I guess typical for this genre.
Sorry, I don't recommend this book. The two stars are for being spectacularly tame and un-controversial.
*Note: I received this book free from Tyndale for my unbiased review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enamoured with the intrigue of the Gilded Age

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GENRE: HISTORICAL ROMANCE
PUBLISHER: TYNDALE
PUBLICATION DATE: JULY 01, 2012
RATING:4.5 OUT OF 5 - EXCELLENT
PROS: Spiritual themes are fairly well-integrated and not overbearing; endearing secondary characters; good insight into two very different cultures in this time period
CONS: Some characters' motives and actions aren't entirely convincing
Meg Davenport has spent almost her entire life at an exclusive boarding school in Connecticut, far away from the life she wishes she were spending with her father in New York. Although she has all the comforts a young woman her age could desire, she has never truly known her father's love. When Meg is faced with the news that the father she barely knew has died suddenly, she can't help but rush to his side in the hope that in death, she might know him more than she did in life. But her father's protégée, Ian Maguire, is keen to keep Meg from knowing the truth about her father and his line of business. When Meg uncovers the truth - that her father was a successful and notorious thief - she hopes to follow in his footsteps in order to honour his name, and in the hope that it will bring her closer to him. Ian will do everything in his power to stop Meg from heading down the path that her father so desired her to know nothing of. But even Ian can't help but admit that Meg's schooling has helped her to make connections that could be incredibly profitable. If he cannot stop Meg from following in her father's footsteps, the least he could do is help her, in the hope that his protection will ensure no harm will come to her. But once Meg finds herself in the middle of a web of crime, will it bring her the joy and comfort she truly hopes to find?
Having read some early reviews of Bees in the Butterfly Garden, I was intrigued to find that reviewers were split into two distinct groups: those who absolutely adored the novel, and those who found Meg to be an incredibly unsympathetic character. And when I began reading this book, I couldn't help but wonder if I would find myself entrenched in the second camp. How many of us can really relate to a woman who throws away all the comforts she could ever want in order to pursue a life of crime? I will admit that Meg's initial motivations weren't the most convincing, but there were several other factors that allowed me to overlook my initial impressions and made me thoroughly enjoy this book. Following on from my love of Olivia Newport's debut novel, The Pursuit of Lucy Banning, I can't help but ponder what it is about the Gilded Age that appeals to me so. The particular rules of social etiquette, the conflict of old and new money and the high moral code of the upper class philanthropists are all factors that were present in both Maureen and Olivia's novels, and I can guarantee that if you enjoyed one, you're sure to appreciate the other.
I can't admit to knowing a lot about this time period, and I know even less about the history of thievery and other such crimes. But I could tell early on that Maureen had done her research, both about girls' boarding schools and the actions of the thieves involved in the line of work that Meg's father occupied. As well as the details interwoven into the novel about social etiquette (from Meg's need for a chaperone when travelling to the rules of mourning) and those on thievery (in particular, the details of ransoming and cracking safes), each chapter Bees in the Butterfly Garden also contained a quote from either the fictional Madame Marisse's Handbook for Young Ladies or from a book on criminal activity during this time period. These quotes enabled me to understand some of the motivations of Meg and Ian, and also provided ample entertainment. I'm sure it's not just me who adores novels that include such quotes, and Madame Marisse's quotes in particular are sure to intrigue and amuse many a reader.
The secondary characters in Bees in the Butterfly Garden were similarly entertaining, particularly the sisterly banter between Claire and Evie, the old school friends that Meg lives with in New York. Evie's antics provided an interesting contrast to Meg's entrance to the world of thievery, and Claire and her brother, Nelson, enabled a gentle spiritual thread about grace and mercy to be wound into the book without feeling too overbearing. I never found Claire or Nelson's beliefs to be forced into the novel in any way, and the way that Meg slowly began to tap into their ideas felt very realistic. Even if you find Meg to be slightly unsympathetic at the start of the novel, the guilt she begins to feel at deceiving her loving and godly friends can't help but make her endearing.
Although I entirely bought Meg's gradual change of heart, I can't say that I felt the same way about Ian's. His didn't have the same sort of build-up, and although I understood the backstory about his father's strong faith, his ultimate decision to change his ways didn't come across as entirely realistic. There were a few other moments in the story where the underlying motivations of the characters didn't seem as believable as it could have been - namely, Meg's decision to leave her refined life behind and become a thief like her father, and Evie's final prank, which seemed incredibly cruel, even for her. While I truly enjoyed reading about each of these characters, there were times when I just didn't find their motives to be completely realistic. Thankfully, this didn't detract too much from my reading experience, but I can see why it would bother some readers.
It wasn't until I was nearly finished reading Bees in the Butterfly Garden that I realised that the novel was well over four-hundred pages long. I sped through this book far faster than some significantly shorter novels, a sign of how gripping it was and how much I cared about the fates of the characters. Although I had my gripes with the motivations of some of the characters, I truly did want them to succeed and find happiness by the end of the novel. I hope that other readers will be similarly enamoured with the Gilded Age and all the intrigue that it brings.
Review title provided by Tyndale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Good Story

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When Meg's father dies, she finds out that he wasn't an upstanding citizen, but a thief. Some of his friends, including Ian, are also thieves. This news changes how Meg feels about life and she wants to join in since that was her father's occupation.
The story was good, but slow for the first half. I was glad to see that several characters had feelings of guilt over what they were doing. I also liked how the painting of Christ and the two thieves on the cross factored into the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well-written story with a beautiful message

Date:July 30, 2012
When Meg learns of her father's death, she leaves school to attend the funeral of a man she barely knew. Once there, she learns that he wasn't a wealthy business, but instead is one of New York's most impressive thieves. Believing that she has few options left, Meg declares she will not return to school and will take up her father's life of crime. Her father's protege Ian is determined to protect Meg from this dangerous life but the draw of the next big heist causes him to relent. Will personal feelings interfere? Or will something greater than themselves change them both?
Bees in the Butterfly Garden by Maureen Lang starts off with a bang, and I was drawn in from the first two chapters. Lang gives readers an intricate plot with just enough details to keep you flipping the pages. Even with all of the intricacies, though, I found it to be a quick read, reading 100 pages in a sitting without giving a thought to the time!
Lang writes about the characters and the setting with such detail. I thought Meg was a sympathetic character. I felt so bad for her—an orphan who learns horrible details about her family background. She's so determined to do everything on her own, and I think many readers will be able to relate to that aspect of her character. Additional characters, such as the sisters who run the boarding school and the wealthy siblings who extend an invitation for Meg to spend the summer with them, help flesh out the novel with humor, romance, and depth.
Readers will also get a beautiful picture of what life in New York City during the Gilded Era was like for the wealthy. The customs, dress, and etiquette were not only written about but discussed by the characters as well. It was fun to read about taking strolls in Central Park and attending charity balls.
Overall Bees in the Butterfly Garden was a well-written historical novel with a beautiful message of grace. I highly recommend! [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Rough start, good ending!

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read several of Maureen Lang’s previous books and really enjoyed them. I was excited to get my hands on Bees in the Butterfly Garden, especially because she strayed from her war subject with a turn of the century tale of thievery.
I loved the title. I loved the cover. I loved the last third of the book.
Somehow, I felt like I was plodding through the first two-thirds of the book. I wanted it to move faster...but, this could very well be because I have been extremely busy the last 3 weeks. So busy, that my read and relax time was pretty non-existent. When I had a chance to open the book, my tired eyes never got farther than a few paragraphs. Not my normal half-a-book-a-night reading.
This disruption lent itself to some slow reading, and made it difficult to feel the flow of the story or connection to the characters.
However, I persevered, and the last third made up for the slow start.
At first, I felt that Meg’s desire to forget all she knew of right, wrong, and proper high society etiquette and turn to a life of crime seemed pretty unrealistic. And then I had to keep reminding myself that we’re all, as the Bible says, corrupt. Totally depraved. Any one of us, no matter how good we seem, could easily fall into a life of crime.
It was also a great example of what one will do out of love, whether real or the desire of it - bad, in Meg’s case; and good, in Ian’s case.
I loved the Pembertons. (Well, Evie was another good example of depravity - ha! What a rascal!) I loved the family’s method of deciding punishment. Each wronged party gets a vote: mercy, grace, or justice. I thought that approach would be a great teaching tool for my own children!
So, Bees in the Butterfly’s ending -and overall story- was good, although the journey to get there was a bit tedious for me.
*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given, and all thoughts are 100% mine.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

History, Thieves and Romance

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maureen Lang in her new book “Bees in the Butterfly Garden” Book One in the Gilded Legacy series published by Tyndale House Publishers takes us to 1883 Connecticut and into the life of Meg Davenport.
From the back cover: “A young lady of impeccable decorum never appears outside her home unchaperoned, uncoiffed, ungloved, or unhappy.” —MADAME MARISSE’S HANDBOOK FOR YOUNG LADIES
Raised at an exclusive boarding school, Meg Davenport has everything she needs but none of what she’s wanted most—like the love of a family, or a future not dependent on following etiquette and marrying well. So when she receives shocking news of her father’s death, Meg seizes the chance to break every rule that has governed her life. Especially when she learns John Davenport wasn’t the wealthy businessman she thought, but one of the Gilded Age’s most talented thieves.
Ian Maguire knows that John—his mentor—would never have wanted his beloved daughter to follow in his footsteps. Yet she is determined to carry on his legacy, and her talent for garden design has earned her an invitation to stay with one of Fifth Avenue’s wealthiest families. With friends like those, Meg could help Ian pull off his biggest heist yet.
But living in both worlds is more treacherous than Meg imagined. And as Ian’s concern for Meg turns to love, he finds himself torn between greed and guilt. Can they find the legacy they both long for, or in trying to gain everything, will they end up losing it all?
If you read this blog then you know that I like history ”Bees in the Butterfly Garden” is chock full of history. Ms. Lang transports us back to an era that is gone forever and makes us feel as though we are there. Ms. Lang has given us great characters with great themes. Ian is torn between his profession and his friendship with the late father of Meg. He doesn’t want her to follow in her father’s footsteps, which is thievery, but he does see that she is potentially useful to him as he is also a thief. On top of that he is in love with her so that puts him in quite a dilemma. “Bees in the Butterfly Garden” is about friendship, love, betrayal, emotional bonds and finding your place in the world. This is a fun read filled with adventure and romance. I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down. Ms. Lang has given us an excellent beginning to a wonderful series and i am looking forward to the next one.
If you missed the interview for “Look To The East”, a different series from Maureen Lang, and would like to listen to it and/or interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bees in the Butterfly Garden - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has it all!

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes the mind speaks for the heart playing and replaying what it must.
Meg Davenport, has a gift for landscape design. A student at Marisse's boarding school Meg was enrolled by her father when she was young to be groomed into a proper young lady. When she learns about the sudden death of her father, whom she has not been afforded the chance to know well, she feels compelled to travel back home.
Ian Maguire, a partner with Meg's father from the time he was but a boy, had become the object of Meg's fathers attention. When Meg sees him for the first time in many years, she remembered his eyes, so different from her own.
Secrets are told and plans are made. Meg's effort to join her father's partners goes terribly wrong leaving danger in its wake.
This novel has all the makings of a great book, greed, heartbreak, deception and romance. My heart went out to Meg from what she had endured. I was drawn easily into the character's lives, their distinct personalities, voice and surroundings. For me this was a quick read that I easily found I could not put down once I connected with the storyline. I was highly entertained by this well written faith challenging book! The twists were a pleasant surprise! I look forward to the next book in the series! 5 Stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>