Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Deacons: Servant Models in the Church, Updated Edition

B&H Books Deacons: Servant Models in the Church, Updated Edition

From the days of the early church, deacons have been chosen to fulfill an essential ministry. Updating his classic resource, Webb explores the many facets of the pastoral assistant's life and role, including marriage, family life, conduct, priorities, and more. Helpful as you equip lay leaders for their divinely appointed place in God's church. 144 pages, hardcover from B&H.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deacons: Servant Models in the Church, Updated Edition
Review 1 for Deacons: Servant Models in the Church, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Informational

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
tmtoosweet
Location:Milwaukee, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must have for Deacon Ministry, help you understand your roll in today's church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Deacons: Servant Models in the Church, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

it directs overall meaning of what we are to do.

Date:March 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Servant
Location:Frankfurt, Germany
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Each Deacon and Deaconess will be writing such review as they meet and discuss the topics at hand. We enjoyed teaching from this book year before and found it to be good for people from different walks of life; which is my church I have 24 nationalities.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Deacons: Servant Models in the Church, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent depiction of Deacons in the 21st century

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Prebuteros
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Complete, concise & excellent depiction of deacons as servants. Dr. Webb places deacons fully into their roles for the church. Required reading for our deacons old/new. Certainly recommended for the 21st century deacons ministry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Deacons: Servant Models in the Church, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Training Material

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Poppa Reddick
Location:Incirlik Air Base, Turkey
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book will be the second one used in training this class of deacons. I was initially drawn to it because of the binding and the title. Once I opened it and started reading, I knew we had to have it as part of our training materials. We were not disappointed!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Deacons: Servant Models in the Church, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
tombo
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was what I was looking for to broden my understanding of a Deacons, responsibilities and dutys. It is an excellent source of information.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Deacons: Servant Models in the Church, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Darryl Smith
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've recently been selected to become a deacon at my church. This book has really helped me understand the role of a deacon. I've recommended it to our deacon chairperson. It may become a training tool for all incoming deacons.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Deacons: Servant Models in the Church, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2009
This book is basic primer on what it means to be a Baptist deacon. It is very Southern Baptist in tone, but would be applicable in any Baptist congregation. It is an easy read, so it would be suitable for men in the church regardless of their educational background. This title would be ideal for a gift to share with newly ordained Deacons. There are many books on the market with a similar theme, but this one is perhaps the most recent and comprehensive. I recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Deacons: Servant Models in the Church, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sheila Myers
I think this book is full of great Biblical insights that apply to the life of every Christian. Whether you're a deacon within your church, wondering about the Biblical qualifications of the position, or just want to learn more about the type of life all Christians should be living their lives ... this is the book to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.