Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook

Tyndale House As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 out of 2396%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook
Review 1 for As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

a mediocre imitation of C. S. Lewis

Date:October 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I knew someone, sooner or later, would imitate C. S. Lewis and his classic Screwtape Letters. I remember reading Screwtape Letters (a couple of times). I then listened to a recording of the book by John Cleese. I was amazed! The voice inflection, the snarls, etc. The book came alive to me.
It was with that prior experience I listened to a recording of As One Devil to Another. What a disappointment. There was not that clever use of voice I expected. Listening to it was a little boring in places.
And that brings up the content of the book. The letters are from the senior devil to his nephew, a junior devil, just getting into the temptation game, so to speak. So we get only one side of the interaction. To make that work, the senior devil painstakingly recounts the events in which the junior devil participates.
As I recall, Lewis did this in a clever way. He did not have the senior devil merely retell the event. By clever use of statements, the actions of the event were implied, while not flat out retold. Unfortunately, Platt did not use that clever way of communicating. He just had the senior devil retell each event, and that was rather boring.
Another issue I had with the book was the temptations involved. As I recall, Lewis was clever at identifying pride, avarice, sloth, etc. as areas to which temptation should be aimed. This made Lewis' book timeless. It can be read by any generation.
This book seemed to address more current, cultural areas of temptation. Television is addressed, as is homosexuality. Rather than concentrating on timeless temptations, Platt seems to have limited himself to current considerations.
I am not going to take the time to go into the theology of the book. But I did find it rather odd that devils eat each other. But then, after all, this is fiction.
If you have not read (or listened to) Screwtape Letters, you might be totally satisfied with this book and really enjoy it. If you are a real fan of C. S. Lewis, you might be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Meet Screwtape's First Cousin

Date:August 21, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After making it past the opening preface and notes, my eyes hit on the words "My Dear Scardagger," and I immediately knew I was on home territory.
In the thirty-one letters which followed, I found myself alternately intrigued, amused, justified, encouraged, criticized, and taunted by a witty commentary on technology, education, relationships, and a smattering of other subjects (the book is only 192 pages cover to cover). The author has definitely mastered Lewis' sense of style while adding enough new content to make a new book, rather than rehashing one already written.
Of course, this book has the benefit of another 70 years of history and technological changes behind it, and the author has the good sense to make use of it. Just as the original Screwtape was set during 1942's London Blitz, As One Devil to Another is set in the modern era filled with 'modern' conveniences and 'modern' problems. Ultimately, however, both books point back to the same fundamental problems (sin) and the same definitive solution (Christ).
I really liked this book. I like how it reminded me of a few things I had forgotten regarding Christian life. I like how it compliments and adds to my C.S. Lewis collection. I liked how entertaining it was, and how the author ever so subtly switched between his 'devilish' voice and the voice of a Christian philosopher to nail home a final point before resuming his cover.
This is a great read, especially for fans of the original. I recommend it whole heartedly.
*Note: I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale for review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great allegory

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is pretty far removed from what I usually read, yet I found myself truly engaged. I *blush* have never actually read C.S. Lewis's The Screwtape Letters, so I didn't know what to expect at all. But I was happily surprised that I liked it.
As One Devil to Another tells the tale of two demons the older and more experienced Slashreap, writes letters to his young inexperienced nephew Scardagger, giving him lessons on how to lure away souls from their Adversary.
I thought that this book was so well done, because it told an engaging story through onesided letters, yet it had so many biblical and spiritual truths about spiritual warfare, and it encouraged me to think of things in ways I had never thought of them before. And I think that Mr. Platt did a splendid job of representing spiritual warfare and how the devil uses tactics to lure us away from God.
Overall, I really liked how I was able to enjoy this book, and learn at the same time. I think this book is sure to be a classic! I would highly recommend this book, I think others would be surprised at how much they like it!
No review required. I checked this out at my local library. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Modern Day Christian Classic

Date:August 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot even put into words what an unbelievable read this was! I was completely engrossed in the story from start to finish and truly struggled to put it down.
First off, I have never read 'The Screwtape Letters" by C.S. Lewis. I have heard portions of the book read aloud, and I certainly know the premise, but I have not read it as yet. Certainly on my vast TBR pile. And since finishing this book, my desire to read the inspiration behind this insightful book has grown with intensity.
This novel gives the reader a glimpse into something we would rather forget about--Satan's demonic realm. The subtleties of the Enemy's craft are detailed in a way I have never considered. There were a number of "Aha" moments too numerous to detail here. And the ending practically left me breathless.
Indeed God spoke to me during this tale. I saw myself in some of the human beingsl striggles, and I was reminded that we as humans are hated by Satan and his hosts. He will use every tactic in his arsenal to attack us and humankind. Thank God for His protection of us. It was nice to see that the powers of darkness have very limited powers where the saints of the Lord are concerned. The ruthlessness amongst the demons was even shocking!
I think C.S. lewis would have been proud of this book. It paid homage to the original and even took te subject matter to new heights. I think this is a must-read for any Christian who truly desires a glimpse into hell. And you will be grateful. It is only a glimpse!
I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2012
This book is about a series of letters from Slashreap, the loving uncle and mentor to his nephew Scardagger.It
takes you on a journey into the heart of hell, an insight into the mind of the devils and their plans to keep humanity away from God or just deceive him enough to ineffectual for the kingdom. A satirical look at a very real spiritual problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Satan does not want you to read this book!!

Date:May 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Richard Platt’s new attempt to emulate C. S. Lewis is as much a walk through post modern apologetics as it is an attempt to copy the style and message of C. S. Lewis’ great attempt to speak for Satan.
My first reaction to the book was summarized in a statement I gave to my wife, "As One Devil to Another is to Screwtape Letters what Criminal Minds is to CSI."
But I was wrong - as I continued to read, I came to realize that Platt’s view of Satan and his dominion is much more diabolical than the simple comparison of two TV shows. In 31 letters, Platt demonstrates the ugliness, the corruptness, and the deviousness that one might imagine Satan using to bring God’s creation and kingdom, in all its wonder and beauty, to an end. Alas, and thankfully, the author realizes the futility of Satan’s schemes.
In addition to giving one authors view of Satan’s handiwork, the book also provides an overview of modern apologetics. Starting with the unexpected conversion of Lewis himself and working through the dangers of living a life driven by competition or the sexual revolution, Platt examines the philosophical roots that define many in the 21st century. The book does not provide answers, it is too short for that, but it does start the discussion - for both the believer and the unbeliever.
______________
This review is based on a free copy provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

C.S. Lewis would be delighted

Date:July 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beverly
Location:Houston TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
From the first page to the last this book, written in the style of "The Screwtape Letters" by C.S. Lewis, held me spellbound. Mr. Platt delves into the modern technological age with a profound understanding of how these wonders have been twisted to try to destroy our hearts and souls.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An interesting peek into the mind of a devil

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reese
Location:Prattville, Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have you ever wondered what the "other world" thinks about us? Do they try to interfere? Do they try to trip us up? Do they try to help us? Do they try to work against each other, as in the good side versus the evil? In his new book As One Devil to Another, author Richard Platt presents his idea of what it could be like for the other side. And for us in our daily spiritual walk.
It seems that poor Scardagger, a recent top of his class graduate (class valedictorian, to be exact) of hell's training school is now under the supervision of his dear, loving Uncle Slashreap, a wise, shrewd, very experienced devil. Apparently Scardagger is having trouble with his first victim, a young woman who attends the university. She is a free thinker, heavily influenced by the modern world. However, she seems to have an aunt who has great influence over her life. A Christian aunt. It has become the job of Scardagger to try to win the young woman over to the side of hell, to prevent her from committing to Christ. But the problems with the aunt only magnify. She is in the battle for the young woman's soul.
As One Devil to Another is a one sided conversation, a collection of letters from Slashreap to his nephew Scardagger. From his letters you surmise what is going on between Scardagger and the young woman. As more letters are written, and as apparently Scardagger is not fully following the advice of Slashreap, you see more and more frustration from Slashreap. At times this is quite humorous, as you can imagine what is going on behind the scenes. At times it is eye opening and you wonder if there really is a spiritual battle raging over the souls of men (yes, there is!), which is not humorous at all.
Mr. Platt's book is heralded as being comparable to author C. S. Lewis' book The Screwtape Letters. Having not read The Screwtape Letters, I cannot make a comparison between the two. However, I have been a fan of C. S. Lewis since childhood (think The Chronicles of Narnia) and I can see some similarities. Why not read the book and see for yourself?
In order to comply with new Federal Trade Commission regulations, please note that this book was provided compliments of Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A look behind enemy lines

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
S Scales
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The subtitle of Richard Platt’s debut book explains it’s style and gives it some very big shoes to fill - “A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis’ The Screwtape Letters”. I haven’t read The Screwtape Letters in quite a while, so I can’t honestly compare. However, Walter Hooper, who is the C. S. Lewis’s biographer and foremost Lewis authority, says that As One Devil to Another is “a stunning achievement, the finest example of the genre of diabolical correspondence to appear since this genre was popularized by C. S. Lewis.” I would say that that is one huge positive review for this book! I did notice several nods toward C. S. Lewis and some of his writings in the book. In Mr. Platt’s bio, you find out that he is a huge fan of Lewis and his works. So, to all you fans of C. S. Lewis, as I am, read this book not as competition to Lewis’ book, but as a homage to him, which is how Platt meant it to be.
As One Devil to Another is written as a set of letters from Slashreap, the mentor demon, to Scardagger, the demon-in-training. Scardagger is assigned to a “client”, the human, which he will try to tempt, distract, promote, wound, ... anything to keep her away from the “Adversary”, God. We get to vaguely see the “client’s” story unfold, but the main point is the glimpse behind enemy lines through the letters. Slashreap starts by reviewing Scardagger on the “four earthly elements of Demonic Virtue”, which are Cowardice, Excess, Injustice, and Lassitude. Then the letters address specific issues that Scardagger needs to be aware of about the client - weakness, friends she should keep, people who don’t need to be in her life, distractions, etc. Through out the letters Slashreap explains many things from their point of view and how they don’t want their clients to understand the “Adversary’s” purpose - prayer, love, technology, pain, relationships, community, pleasure, etc. Also, there is a twist at the end of the book!
I recommend As One Devil to Another as a fiction book that is a great reminder that there is more to our lives than just what we can see. Our choices not only affect us, but all those around us... and they may make an eternal difference. So how are we living? Are we cowards - do we not face our fears or maybe just pretend there is nothing to be afraid of? Are we wrapped up and distracted by an excess of ____________? To quote Slashreap, “All excesses are to be encouraged, expect, naturally, excessive devotion to the Adversary.” Do we excuse our behavior because everyone else is doing it or because I’ll only do it this once? We need to remember that God never promised His way would be easy, but He does promise that He will always be with us! Let’s live a productive life that scares the devil and points the world to Jesus!
Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

AN INTERESTING BOOK

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eileen Burmester
Location:Long Island, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Although I did enjoy the book, I found it hard to read at times. I found my self re-reading some passages and chapters before I fully understood what the author was saying. The letters were written in the classical style and that is why I had some difficulty with the book. The premise behind the book was interesting. I have never read the The Screwtape Letters: With Screwtape Proposes a Toast by C.S. Lewis so I can not compare the two books. There were numerous illustrations that helped to explain the letters and some of them were very humorous. The book reminds us all that it is very easy to fall into Satin's hands and be corrupted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Homage to the original

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Ephesians 6:12 NIV.
As with The Screwtape Letters, which C.S. Lewis wrote, this book contains correspondence between a mentor demon and his protégé. It serves as a reminder to Christians that, as Paul wrote to the church in Ephesus, we are at war, a spiritual and supernatural war that, while already decided, has very real import and impact to the daily lives of believers and non-believers alike.
The demons in Platt's work are just as diabolical and manipulative as those in the Lewis book, and as a modern homage, As One Devil to Another includes updated commentary about the moral deviances and deceptions of the current age, while maintaining the eternal vision of damnation, judgment, and spiritual warfare that is not different now than it was in Paul's day, Lewis' day, or any day going forward to the end of time.
The intense revelation of this genre is the idea that demons are actively desirous of keeping souls from living the abundant life Jesus promised. It is their work to keep everyone and anyone from salvation, to turn their hearts toward themselves, and in so doing damn them to hell. What confounds them is the prayer life of living saints, the love of believers, and the Holy Spirit's opposing work in the hearts of men. They cannot promise much except immediate satisfaction of some wanton desire, and even they know that is fleeting.
The Screwtape Letters is one of my favorite works by C.S. Lewis, and As One Devil to Another by Richard Platt, is certainly a worthy companion to the original. I enjoyed the differences and the similarities, as I recognized that despite the differing times, the basic battle hasn't changed – Christians are still beset and we still have the promise of victory through the agony of the Cross and the glory of the resurrection. The demons can spar, but we have already won. Praise the Lord!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As One Devil to Another, by Richard Platt, follows the format of C. S. Lewis’s Screwtape Letters. Platt does a commendable job of developing the story through letters written from the devil Slashreap to mentor the newly graduated tempter Scardagger.
The devils’ goal is to keep their client away from the Adversary (God) and guide her toward His Infernal Majesty (Satan). This is to be done through any means possible, including relationships, material possessions, television, internet, the sexual revolution, science, self-image, and more. Throughout the letters, Slashreap instructs Scardagger on how to use each strategy to win a soul to Hell and keep it far away from Heaven. Anything that distracts from the Adversary is a victory, small ones sometimes leading to much greater ones in the end. Of course, the opposite is also true. Small things that point toward God may seem unimportant at first, but eventually lead people directly into a relationship with Him, leading to utter defeat for the devils.
This book was well-written. I felt as if I may have gotten more out of this book had I read Screwtape Letters first, but the reader can certainly understand this book as a stand-alone. I also felt that the constant use of large vocabulary made the book more difficult to read. However, I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading C. S. Lewis.
Kara
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Todd
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently received a complimentary copy of As One Devil To Another by Richard Platt from Tyndale House publishers. I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised with the book., As One Devil To Another follows the same format as the C.S. Lewis classic: The Screwtape Letters. This time we follow a series of letters from Slashreap, the departmental head for young tempter development, to his nephew Scardagger. As One Devil To Another brings the “strategies” of hell into the twenty-first century. Slashreap instructs his nephew on the uses of internet, modern media and reality TV, among others. There is also a fun twist at the end of the book that makes you laugh out loud. Until I read As One Devil, I could only imagine how Wormwood and Screwtape would have twisted the technology available to mankind today.
The book was very enjoyable, and sometimes even eye opening. The book could have easily been written by C.S. Lewis himself; and that is saying a lot. Richard Platt, like Lewis before him, has taken a long hard look into the temptations facing modern Christians. Needless to say, I highly recommend this book. As One Devil To Another, just like many of Lewis’s works, will be kept close at hand for rereading and reference for years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As One Devil To Another, written by Richard Platt, carries its readers through the correspondence of senior devil Slashreap as he guides his nephew and protege Scardagger, a newly graduated tempter from Temptation University, in the understanding of how to win a soul into the clutches of Satan.
The goal of these devils is to keep their client(s) away from God, or as they call Him, the Adversary. The manner in which this is done by utilizing the various tools that have been opened up by secular society. These tools include, but are not inclusive to, the use of material possessions, reality television, the internet, the sexual revolution, science, relationships, cell phones, computer games, and video games.
While some might find this book to be easily read and understood, I can see where its terminology and phrasing can make the reading experience for some more challenging. All in all, for its creativity, it's relevance within today's societal influences, and it's realistic portrayal of the daily spiritual battles occurring around us, this book is a recommended read.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"As One Devil To Another" is a book composed of a

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ben Cabe
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"As One Devil To Another" is a book composed of a series of letters from a master tempter named Slashreap to his nephew, and junior tempter, Scardagger. Slashreap, amused by Scardagger's dilettantish attempts to procure the soul of his assigned client, imparts bits of tempting wisdom in his letters. Each letter functions as a chapter, making the chapters short and easy to digest. If the book were not named with an author one would almost be tempted to think this to be a long lost work of C.S. Lewis. The genre of diabolical correspondence was first popularized by Lewis' "Screwtape Letters" in 1942 and, to my knowledge, there has not been a successful book written in the genre until this book.
Richard Platt, the name to whom the work belongs, cleverly used this genre to reveal things hidden to us by familiarity. Platt, writing as Slashreap, was able to set forth general Christian axioms from a viewpoint not easily taken by most Christians. Slashreap laments that all created things are good; evil can only corrupt, it cannot create. Thus Slashreap says to his nephew, "But we cannot create something from nothing. We can only make Something into Nothing" (81).
Lewis notes in the "Screwtape Letters" that he stumbled upon the technique of diabolical correspondence and had no intentions of revealing it less "ill-disposed or excitable people" make bad use of it. Similarly, Platt writes, "Having stumbled upon the technique myself, I would like to assure the reader that I am neither excitable nor ill-disposed; nonetheless, I advise proceeding with caution. There is still wishful thinking in Hell as their is on earth, and the Devil is still a liar" (xi).
This book, while it may start out slow, is a great read. Whether you've read Aquinas or have only read Dr. Seuss, there is something in this book for you. My only advice is to approach the book in a self-reflective manner. You may be tempted, as you read, to look at others and point out how they've fallen into temptation. If you do, then you've missed the point entirely.
If you want to read this book be sure to visit the giveaway tab at the top of this blog to enter for your chance to win a free copy. Contest is closed on May 1 when the winner will be chosen at Random.
I was given this book by the publishing company and was not required to write a positive review. All views expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

opened my eyes to how the devil works

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
RamblingsMom
Location:Ontario
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book is a series of letters written by Slashreap to his newphew and devil-in-training, Scardagger.
Through the letters, we learn about Scardagger’s new client; a young woman whom the devils are trying to guide away from the Adversary (the name used in the book for God) and toward the dark side. Slashreap teaching Scardagger about human nature, and how the advances of technology are being used in ways that make work easier for the devils.
Television brings violence, greed, and envy into the home. Cell phones prevent people from human contact under the pretense of keeping people connected. Because it is so hard to just let the phone ring when in the middle of a conversation, cell phones give humans an excuse to be rude to one another. The internet cuts people off even more from one another, and has aided in the rise of pornography addiction.
These are just some of many of the ways the Devil uses modern life to pull humans away from God.
As One Devil to Another was a real eye opener. Yes, I knew that there are many aspects of modern life that are not very agreeable to the Christian lifestyle. But I had never really thought that deeply into how much Satan can use each of these “conveniences” to his advantage. I will definitely be on a higher alert; for myself, and my children!
It took a few chapters to get used to the flow of the book. While it wasn’t a difficult read (it was actually fairly quick!) there are just a lot of words that we don’t really use very often.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Read

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sandra
Location:Sarasota, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always been a fan of “The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis. After reading this book I can say that if C.S. Lewis was still alive I would believe that this book was a sequel to his book. We meet Slashreap and Scardaggar. Slashreap is a demon who is mentoring his nephew Scardaggar in the fine points of corrupting people. This is a book that points out the subtle ways Satan makes every day things we do appear to be benign. It’s scary to read a book like this and realize as you are reading, ‘Hey that was me’.
The letters from Slashreap to his nephew Scardaggar focus on everything from gluttony and over-consuming, to sexual depravity. You know those things we don’t need that we buy, “just because”, and those movies that have just a little bit of sexual content to them. Slashreap wants to make sure his nephew does everything he can to bring the “client” to the gates of hell. They speak of Christ as the adversary. I am sure that is how Satan sees him.
I was taken aback by how easily our society has slipped up. We isolate ourselves with gadgets. We separate ourselves from our friends and children, wasting valuable time we could give to God with “things”. This is not only a modern retelling of “The Screwtape Letters”, but so much more. This should be read by every Christian. So many of these things didn’t seem important to me until I had finished the book. I had to look at the book and realize there were so many areas I actually became the “client”. This was something that I then needed to spend time praying about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:momentswithmylord@gmail.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I truly enjoyed the book. I was a great fan of C.S. Lewis The Screwtape Letters and this was as if C.S. Lewis wrote it himself. The book started off slow and you really have to be in a quiet place so that you do not miss anything. I found I had to read some pages over again, but then a great thought would come and I had to continue reading. I do not want to give the book away but there was a couple of things the author said that made you think. Like when the Mentor talks about the subject the young devil is going to get. He said that the poor they cannot go any lower. So they do not try because the Adversary will lift them up. I also like how he said that when you are educated and successful that is who they like, because they are proud and easily distracted. It really addresses our condition today. Successful people are easily distracted and they see their success as something they obtained. Never seeking God or even giving Him the glory. There was another thing that just jumped out at you the reader. There was a part where they discuss Technology, and how The Mentor stated that human nature does not change, that the technology only makes it easier for them to enslave humanity.
The chapters were quickly read, because they read as letters each one ever more thought provoking. The books address so many things that humanity deals with. I also still think about the very beginning of the book, and one of the letters states how humanity really does not address the darker side, they do not even believe that they are real. Oh how this is so true. We need to know just as there is a God there is an enemy and that is Satan and he does use everything in his power to distract and lead us away from God. Very good book, and I would recommend this book. I even have one to give away.
Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for a honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reminiscent of a Classic

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
AngelLinda
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As One Devil To Another by Richard Platt we get to peek into the diabolical correspondence between Scardagger and his mentor, Slashreap. The book is written in the tradition of C.S. Lewis' Screwtape Letters, only Platt doesn't hold back punches.
While reading many of these letters between the up-coming Temptation University student and his uncle/mentor can be unnerving, in many ways it's nice to get some 'insider knowledge' into the ways, thinking and schemes of our enemy, Satan.
While this is a work of fiction, the premise is very real - there are evil forces working against God and they truly have a real plan to keep people as far away from God as possible. Through a series of letters between devils, senior devil Slashreap trains his young protégé, Scardagger, to win an individual soul away from Heaven and into their clutches. As the devils plot their way to triumph, they reveal the spiritual dangers and risks we face in today’s society. Their frighteningly accurate perspective on issues such as contemporary technology and sexual mores is interwoven with timeless matters such as the power of prayer, the purpose of suffering, and the promises held out by Heaven . . . and Hell.
The most disturbing part of reading the book for me was seeing the references of God and Jesus listed as the "Adversary" between these two demons...despite the fact that this is the way the real Satan sees God and Jesus...I guess just seeing it in black and white was what disturbed me most.
It's important as Christians to be armed for all the attacks the enemy has and this book is a good way, through fiction, to understand more of the ways that the enemy can invade lives. It's important to approach this book with prayer - spiritual warfare - all readers should be well armed and equipped as they read through this book.
Thanks to the Tyndale Blogger Network for supplying this complimentary copy for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' The Screwtape Letters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST READ FOR C. S. LEWIS FANS!

Date:April 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
THE SELF TAUGHT COOK
Location:DAVENPORT, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AS ONE DEVIL TO ANOTHER
by RICHARD PLATT
ISBN:978-1-4143-7166-5
List Price:$15.99
Release Date:April 2012
In Richard Platt's debut novel, he pays tribute to C.S. Lewis with As One Devil to Another. The novel is in the style of Lewis' The Screwtape Letters, with the story being told as a correspondence between devil Slashreap and his nephew and protégé, Scardagger. Scardagger has received as his first assignment the task of luring a young woman's soul into the clutches of Satan, or as he is referred to in the novel, His Infernal Majesty. The new client is doing her postgraduate work in the English department of a university, and Scardagger is expected to use the tools of envy and pride to pull her attention away from Heavenly pursuits. As the corresondence unfolds, the young woman's family and friends are introduced and we see how the enemy tries to use other people and concerns to divert the young woman's path to a relationship with God.
Platt's previous study and work at Lewis' home, The Kilns, is apparent in his writing style. This could be considered a modernized sequel to The Screwtape Letters. The correspondence is so similar to the letters between Screwtape and Wormwood that it sounds as though C. S. Lewis returned to update his earlier work with the terminology and issues faced by modern man. Anyone who enjoyed The Screwtape Letters will settle in happily with this novel. A newcomer to the style will definitely want to read Lewis' earlier work after reading this.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Tyndale Blogger Network <http://www.mediacenter.tyndale.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>