Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Miraculous Movements: How Hundreds of Thousands of Muslims Are Falling in Love with Jesus - eBook

Thomas Nelson Miraculous Movements: How Hundreds of Thousands of Muslims Are Falling in Love with Jesus - eBook

How do the people most resistant to the transformative power of the gospel come to be its most devoted followers? Miraculous Movement recounts an amazing change taking place within Muslim communities where the truth of Jesus Christ is turning around the lives of many thousands of Muslims from more than twenty people groups. Discover through the sometimes humorous, often sobering, but always enlightening and encouraging true stories how imams, sheikhs, and entire mosques are forsaking Islam and embracing Christ.

This close look at what the Lord is doing to spread the gospel highlights the key scriptural principles that help Christians reach out in love to share the gospel in their own community. The authors outline the principle of service to others that open doors of opportunity to the work of the gospel.

Author Jerry Trousdale works with CityTeam Ministries, an organization dedicated to helping disciples make disciples through CityTeam's own ministry and through training other ministries in more than thirty countries.

Features include:

  • Outlines important principles on how to share the gospel with non-Christians
  • Explains how ordinary people can lead neighbors to Christ in love and humility
  • Tells many exciting and encouraging stories of Muslims who have accepted Jesus
  • Describes CityTeam's unique program focused on God's work through disciple-making movements, a strategy that harnesses the power of disciples making disciples and churches planting churches
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Miraculous Movements: How Hundreds of Thousands of Muslims Are Falling in Love with Jesus - eBook
Review 1 for Miraculous Movements: How Hundreds of Thousands of Muslims Are Falling in Love with Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly Miraculous

Date:October 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
gbautista72
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it! Excellent book. Chapter 13 Getting Started is for everyone! I love the bible study methodology. It's miraculous the changes taking place in Muslim communities all over the world. This is encouraging, inspiring & increases your faith in God. The testimonies are truly miraculous.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Miraculous Movements: How Hundreds of Thousands of Muslims Are Falling in Love with Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I was so encouraged.

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
SeekingtoknowHim
Location:Upstate New York
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After seeing this title advertised in the 30 Days of Prayer booklet I ordered and read.
I was so encouraged to see how the Spirit of God is working
to show the truth of the Word to Muslim people in many lands.
Anyone who is interested in this subject will be amazed by the stories in this book but also will learn many valuable lessons in the importance of building solid relationships with those we wish to share our faith with.
I bought several copies after I read this book so that I could share with others who have the same heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Miraculous Movements: How Hundreds of Thousands of Muslims Are Falling in Love with Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A very worthwhile book, but read it critically

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Annie Kate
Location:Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the last few decades, and especially since 9/11, the Muslim world has seemed both invincible and dangerous, not only to the West but even more to Christians. Miraculous Movements is a compelling and heartening reminder that God is in control.
Rather than living in dread of persecution by their neighbors and countrymen, Christians are successfully reaching out to them. Former Muslims are overjoyed to experience the love, hope and freedom that only the Lord Jesus Christ can give.
This movement is huge and is especially impacting disillusioned Muslim leaders who seem to realize better than anyone else how empty and uncertain their faith is. Trousdale relates many stories of individuals as well as whole families and even communities turning to the Lord. Throughout, he points to a ‘new’ approach to missions that is uniquely effective in the Muslim world.
While giving full credit and praise to God, Trousdale states that the blessing on the Disciple Making Movement is due to missionaries following New Testament directives rather than modern mass evangelism techniques. You’ll have to read the book to fully understand these ideas, but here are some of the main ones.
1.In the Great Commission Jesus tells his followers to make disciples of all nations…teaching them to obey all I have commanded you. The church has been very successful in teaching ideas, but it has often assumed that obedience would automatically follow. This does not always happen, and having knowledge without obedience creates a toxic spiritual dichotomy. However, obedience to God is the very purpose of all Biblical knowledge.
2.People are not taught a legalistic set of rules, nor are they told to earn their own salvation. Rather, they are shown how to study the Bible together, and after learning and studying each Bible story, they ask themselves, “If we believe that this passage is from God, how must we change?”
3.Whether sharing with their neighbors or entering new villages as friends, ordinary people are spreading the Word, even in very hostile areas. They pray for the area and its people very specifically as they walk through it, they ask God to show them a ‘person of peace’, and when they find one, they share God’s Word with that person and his or her network of family, friends, and neighbors. This way of evangelization is modeled on the 12 and the 70 that Jesus sent out.
4.Obviously, many of the people in Muslim areas are illiterate and very few have any contact with Christianity. When people do not have access to his Word, the Lord seems to use dreams and miracles to awaken people to his truth and to confirm their faith in the face of almost certain persecution. The new believers learn Bible stories and form simple churches, often underground, that are focussed on learning and obeying the Bible.
5.Prayer, specific, focussed prayer, is the cornerstone of this missionary. New believers learn prayer by example and by participating. Then they go out and spread the Word, many in their everyday lives, and some as missionaries in other places.
This is a paradigm-shifting book in many ways, giving new perspectives on outreach, life, faith, and even parenting. I have not finished thinking about it, but the review needed to be written.
Here are some points I am still contemplating:
1.Not all the mission work in the New Testament followed this model. There are other ways of doing mission work, although God seems to greatly bless this method for Muslims living in their own countries. Furthermore, there is much to be critically examined and understood in this book.
2.Western Christians, like their culture, are individualistic; other cultures are more family and community oriented. It is better in such situations to teach the Bible to a group rather than an individual.
3.It is better for new converts to organize simple churches where the people are than to ‘come to church’ to a Western-style Christian church. In fact, due to cultural issues, new ex-Muslims would be highly offended by some accepted church practices. As the people grow in faith, ‘they will find healthy ways to relate to the traditional churches around them.’
4.Having Biblical and theological knowledge without obedience creates a toxic spiritual dichotomy. We cannot assume that knowledge will lead to obedience. This is undoubtedly true, for James as written the same thing. However, this statement as emphasized by Trousdale has staggering implications for all of life. How does one make it work without being legalistic? And, after all, knowledge is crucial. Remember, God has said that his people perish for lack of knowledge.
5.Trousdale warns against explaining Scripture to new believers. That makes us, not Scripture, the authority. We must trust that God’s Word and the Holy Spirit are enough, he says. My question is, “Why should we neglect God’s good gifts of confessions and the legacies of godly believers?” Of course, if they are not available, God can easily work without them. This point, together with the previous one, seems to downplay the value of Biblical knowledge.
This is a worthwhile book, especially for those involved in missions and outreach, but I urge you to read it critically as well as thankfully.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Miraculous Movements: How Hundreds of Thousands of Muslims Are Falling in Love with Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Banal
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book. It worths all the money. God is spreading His Gospel wonderfully.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Miraculous Movements: How Hundreds of Thousands of Muslims Are Falling in Love with Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent viewpoint

Date:June 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michael Colombaro
Location:Stafford Springs, CT
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It would be difficult to follow the review written above. I believe the information held forth in Miraculous Movements: How Hundreds of Thousands of Muslims Are Falling in Love with Jesus is doable in all outreach to whomever. The principles apply in all categories of peoples. Jesus can reveal himself to people and draw them to him; we need only point people in the direction of Jesus and honor the decision they make with him and concerning life in the Age to come.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Miraculous Movements: How Hundreds of Thousands of Muslims Are Falling in Love with Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is very moving

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunny59
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved Miraculous Movements - it is very inspiring without focusing on the miracles. It is written in such a way as to draw attention to our great and mighty God first and then simply telling us what God is doing all over the world. No sensationalism, just story telling at its best!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Miraculous Movements: How Hundreds of Thousands of Muslims Are Falling in Love with Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very helpful book

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rena Nunley
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MIRACULOUS MOVEMENTS by Jerry Trousdale is a fascinating and challenging read for those who want to stay abreast of what is happening in Missions in other parts of the world, specifically the Muslim world. The author's "Disciple Making Method" is thought-provoking and merits consideration and prayer regarding how it might also be employed in non-Muslim contexts.
The Method's challenges on prayer, fasting, finding a person of peace to begin new works and utilizing laymen to start churches should help to sharpen churches and missionaries as they go about their work in an increasingly changing and difficult world.
(I requested my husband, Johnny, to read this book and write a review of it, which is what you see above.)
(I received this e-book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Miraculous Movements: How Hundreds of Thousands of Muslims Are Falling in Love with Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Truly Miraculous

Date:May 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adoption Mama
Location:Tampa, Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A transformed life. A radically transformed life.
It was a thrill to read Jerry Trousdale's book, Miraculous Movements. The entire book is a testimony to the changing of a soul from the darkest, most evil heart to a loving, caring human. Only God's grace can do this. But more than just a testimony, this book chronicles the church planting movement in Muslim Africa. The goal of these church planters are not to bring in a certain number, but to teach and equip these converts to study God's Word for themselves. That's where the amazing changing Power of Christ is seen.
Those of us in America, have a tendency to judge Muslims more harshly since 9/11. But, Mr. Trousdale helps us to see the truth behind the lost people group they are. God is doing amazing things in Africa. He is using amazing means to bring about true redemption in the hearts of the Muslim people and leaders. While helping us to view this revival, he also weaves throughout the book helpful Biblical tips as to how and why Christians have been able to reach this people group. The key is LIVING a transformed life, not just preaching it. This is a message the church abroad should heed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Miraculous Movements: How Hundreds of Thousands of Muslims Are Falling in Love with Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Miraculous Movements Touches All The Bases!

Date:February 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
David Parish
Location:Benton, KY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jerry Trousdale has done an important service in writing this new book. Miraculous Movements does a great job of chronicling the amazing move of God in bringing thousands of Muslim people to faith in Christ. The last 7 years have seen an unprecedented harvest of Muslims to Christianity on the African continent. This book tells the "big picture" story, but also is filled with amazing anecdotes and details of how it has happened.
But this book does even more. While focused specifically on the African Muslim context, it explains the principles that are involved in Disciple Making Movements anywhere in the world. Using the Muslim movements as an example, the clear, simple, and repeatable critical elements of any Disciple Making Movement are explained in simple and practical terms.
The final chapter is a kind of step by step instruction on how these principles can be applied. The principles are supracultural and can bear fruit in any context. I can attest to this, because I lead a ministry that is currently applying these very principles in Latin America and we are beginning to see fruit in that very different culture. In fact, I believe that an adaptataion of these principles can impact both the Global South (Africa, Asia, and Latin America) and the Western cultures as well.
The combination of up to the minute reporting (all of these movements have happened from 2005 to the present)and the clearly explained practical principles, creates a riveting story and a training primer on Kingdom expansion. If you desire to be a disciple maker and a world changer, by all means get this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Miraculous Movements: How Hundreds of Thousands of Muslims Are Falling in Love with Jesus - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Miraculous Movements should come with a warning!

Date:February 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
preacher4Him
Location:Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book will challenge many preconceived ideas of Evangelical believers. Too often our views of Muslims have been shaped by sensationalized media. Jerry Trousdale uses powerful stories to grab our imagination and open our imaginations to new possibilities by drawing us into remarkable testimonies of God’s move in Africa.
The author is transparent when he reveals that his assessment twenty years ago was that these kinds of breakthroughs were not possible during our lifetime. His perception was shaped by years as a missionary, pastor, graduate student and Christian publishing insider. Little did he know that God was calling a handful of cross-cultural missionaries back to the practices of Jesus and how their experiences were going to alter his views.
This book addresses several buzz words of Christian circles, but it presents nuanced connotations that challenge common usage. “Church Planting Movements” is a phrase that is being used widely, but at times it appears people are claiming it when they have planted as few as ten churches among a people group. Obviously the strategy addressed in this book is quite different since it holds a minimum threshold of 100 churches planted within a three-year period of time. Further there have to be churches that have started churches that have started churches. Waiting to call something a movement until it is at least three generations deep makes sense. It also fits that they are shifting toward calling these Disciple Making Movements to avoid confusion with the watered-down language, and also emphasizes the focus of making disciples.
Numerous writers are addressing the issue of making disciples. But I know of none that do more to inspire people to take up this calling of Jesus and couple it with a workable strategy to accomplish the work.
The greatest challenge is how biblical this material is. How have we missed these things for so long? Maybe we have taken too many of our strategies from the corporate culture rather than trusting that Jesus would know best how to make disciples. I hope many will read this book and take up the Gospels afresh and begin discovering how Jesus made disciples.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.