Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Heart of the Artist

Zondervan The Heart of the Artist

Christian musicians are often valued more for what they do than for who they are---until questions of character arise. Examining topics like servanthood vs. stardom, teamwork vs. solitary confinement, and excellence vs. perfectionism, Noland provides a discipleship model to help your ministry team overcome challenges and joyfully serve in the body of Christ. 208 pages, softcover from Zondervan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Heart of the Artist
Review 1 for The Heart of the Artist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Eye opening book about the heart of an Artist

Date:June 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
inga
Location:Ft. Myers, Fl
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our choir is studying this book and it has been a real blessing in understanding the temperament of an Artist, using your gifts, being a team player, growing in your faith, etc. I think it is a great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Heart of the Artist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read and Re-Read

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Harmony
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot count the number of times I have read this book since it was first published! It is still my #1 recommended resource for any Christian artist (in and out of the church arena). Rory Noland addresses in love and truth the deep issues that face all creative type people in a clear straightforward manner. An excellent book for personal growth and for team devotions. bottom line: BUY IT and USE IT!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Heart of the Artist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very thorough!

Date:August 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
bebe
Location:Jeffersonton, Va.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book covers all the bases in the arts leadership arena. Study of this book should be a requirement for all who are involved in this specific area of ministry. I am currently a solo worship leader in my small house church and I will use this material with those that God will bring into this ministry to serve with me. I wish that I had the advantage of this study material when I was part of a larger team in a larger church. Thank you Brother Noland for being obedient to the leading of God to write this book and share your experience with all of the artists that God wants to use in His Kingdom work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Heart of the Artist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
LM Helms
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am reading this book bits at a time, but God's heart is definitely at the center of this book and every artist of song, dance, music, etc... that desires to use their gifts to glorify His great Name and to proclaim His praise and worship.
Well written. Glad I purchased it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Heart of the Artist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Poelker Kokat
This book is a must read for anyone who serves in the worship ministry at church - whatever area of ministry it is. Rory Noland hits the nail on the head over and over again as he tackles difficult subjects like the mantality of the "star" instead of the "servant." I am thoroughly enjoying this book and highly recommend it. It will get your heart and mind working together in service to the Lord who bestowed these talents to you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Heart of the Artist
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
James Ward
This devotional book has been a help to me as a music director. As I started my tenure as full-time staff member, I read it and have since recommended it to interns and re-read sections of it for my own spiritual health. My only reservation is that Noland's experience in such a large, homogeneous congregation takes away some of the edge of its application for those of us in smaller congregations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Heart of the Artist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Richard Wald
Me gusto mucho la Biblia con los devocionales pero si el cubierto era de piel o sea de imitacin de piel hubiera sido aun mejor .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Heart of the Artist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
David Whitehead
Great tool for any church. I've been using this with artists for over a decade. Always causes spiritual formation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Heart of the Artist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Roelien Kruger
I haven't finished the book yet but so far I cannot put it down. I am a dancer and a musician with a little vocals thrown in. I lead the praise and worship and dance ministry in our Children's church and this book has helped me tremendously. I love how honest and real Rory is. He doesn't hide anything and uses his own life experiences to illustrate his point. I recommend this book for any artist in the Kingdom. This book should be like a compulsory textbook for all artists in every church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Heart of the Artist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2003
Customer Avatar
Marie Janssen
I've read many books dealing with worship and the arts. This is the first book to skip generalities and dive head first into the character issues we all deal with. It truly is a "must read" for any artistic team in the church, along with those who simply want to understand and relate to the artists among them better. The questions at the end of each chapter provide thought provoking examination of one's heart. Whatever you do, buy this book! You won't regret it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Heart of the Artist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2001
Customer Avatar
Miriam Dobson
An invaluable asset to any worship & praise arts ministry team member, not just leadership! An excellent, candid approach to Christian artistry.It should be required reading for EVERYONE involved in arts ministries
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Heart of the Artist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2001
Customer Avatar
Julie Schroeder
I read the introduction, and had to go out to buy a highlighter and notebook. I am going to require my ministry team to read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Heart of the Artist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2001
Customer Avatar
Jason Ocampo
This book is incredible! It is a great book for anyone to read. It's a "must read" for anyone with artistic talents and pastors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Heart of the Artist
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2001
Customer Avatar
Darla Wilson
I love this book. I am a worship leader and am looking into having my worship team go through this book as a group! It's nice to see a leader go out on a limb and write something so powerful and truthful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.